Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 13, 2009
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 389 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
342
Mixed:
21
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
ScottA.Dec 31, 2009
More playful than anything W.Anderson has done, but more disciplined, too, probably because he he's guided by his source material. This explains why it goes a bit off-the-rails emo-loony the way W.Anderson movies do when he creates an More playful than anything W.Anderson has done, but more disciplined, too, probably because he he's guided by his source material. This explains why it goes a bit off-the-rails emo-loony the way W.Anderson movies do when he creates an epilogue the movie never had. Still, there are the cute moments you would expect with an animated movie voiced by Clooney, Meryl, J.S., and Owen Wilson (the whackball tutorial is a highlight), even if the title character kind of comes off as kind of a selfish, self-satisfied a-hole. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
LouisaDec 4, 2009
A review for any people out there who wanted to see an animal movie: this is not it. To give some context for my review: I totally loved Bottle Rocket, Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, and The Life Aquatic. For me (my sister violently A review for any people out there who wanted to see an animal movie: this is not it. To give some context for my review: I totally loved Bottle Rocket, Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, and The Life Aquatic. For me (my sister violently disagrees) the Darjeeling Limited and its prequel, for all their magical sets and wonderful details, was just recycling the previous movies, and I found the Fantastic Mr. Fox, for all its amazing, unique animation, even more recycled. For a movie all about delightful detail, why do we have an opossum in Britain? a pair of foxes with only one cub? beagles without a trace of beagleishness? a rat the size of a fox? The reason is that this is not a movie about animals, it is a movie about people, and in fact this is a movie about people we've already seen in previous Wes Anderson movies. Several times I had an eerie (and not necessarily negative) feeling of deja vu, feeling that Anderson had literally recreated scenes from his live-action movies in puppet form. Roald Dahl is nowhere to be found ("The Fantastic Mr. Fox," which I only read out of curiosity after finding the movie so un-Dahl-ish, was for me not anywhere near the top 10 best Dahl stories, but I was interested to see it was almost completely different in its sense of humor and its priorities--it was really about a fox, for one thing, not a human in a fox's clothing). Anderson's characters' lack of animalness stands in sharp contrast to Pixar's recent terrific movie "Up," where the bird and dogs are wonderfully real and beast-like--even though clearly imaginary. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
CarolynM.Dec 4, 2009
Beautifully executed and essentially dull; 5 minutes after leaving the theatre we asked ourselves, "What was that about?"
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SausageJan 5, 2010
Fantastic Mr Fox has the quirkiness of most Wes Anderson movies which work wonderfully with the 1970's palett, unfortunately however it also has the forced, trying to hard, moments of the Darjeeling Limited. The feel of the movie works Fantastic Mr Fox has the quirkiness of most Wes Anderson movies which work wonderfully with the 1970's palett, unfortunately however it also has the forced, trying to hard, moments of the Darjeeling Limited. The feel of the movie works and certain scenes fit together just perfectly creating a "realistic" Roald Dahl world with a touch of charm. Pity then that Wes Anderson resorts to his "awkwardness" tool, which breaks the movies flow, stops the fun and pulls the rug under the feet of any child (or in my case; adult) trying to enjoy it!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
KennethSFeb 15, 2010
I felt it was just an average film with average characters that didn't move me at all. I appreciated the stop-motion animation and the beautiful score, but the story was boring and rather tedious. It's not as witty or humorous as I felt it was just an average film with average characters that didn't move me at all. I appreciated the stop-motion animation and the beautiful score, but the story was boring and rather tedious. It's not as witty or humorous as Roald Dahl's fantastic book. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TubieNov 2, 2010
This movie bored me to the point I almost fell asleep many times during it. The beautiful animation and style can only keep you entertained for so long. The story is just a poor excuse. I am sorry but this movie with the cast and director itThis movie bored me to the point I almost fell asleep many times during it. The beautiful animation and style can only keep you entertained for so long. The story is just a poor excuse. I am sorry but this movie with the cast and director it had should have been much much better. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
choopyJun 16, 2012
idk, i didn't see any comedy, any action, any anything in this movie, the only thing i found about it was it was boring. i mean, it seems to be aimed at children, but most of it is pointed at adults. so in all, it just wasn't my thing
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
QwertyNov 17, 2009
Mr. Fantastic just wasn't. The animation was awkward. The famous voices really added zip; they might have been anyone. As to its being a movie for kids: Mighty mixed messages (theft is okay if the victims are creeps?).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FujiforkerMay 16, 2012
Fantastic Mr. Fox was not terrible, but there was a lot happening that just didn't work for me. I was unpleased with the choices of voices they had for the characters (with a mighty exception of Willem Dafoe's Voice as 'The Rat'). TheFantastic Mr. Fox was not terrible, but there was a lot happening that just didn't work for me. I was unpleased with the choices of voices they had for the characters (with a mighty exception of Willem Dafoe's Voice as 'The Rat'). The animations were good and eye-catching, but I honestly think the fox characters would be a little bit scary for younger children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews