Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 310 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Mr. and Mrs. Fox live an idyllic home life with their son Ash and visiting young nephew Kristopherson. But after 12 years, the bucolic existence proves too much for Mr Fox’s wild animal instincts. Soon he slips back into his old ways as a sneaky chicken thief and in doing so, endangers not only his beloved family, but the whole animal community. Trapped underground and with not enough food to go around, the animals band together to fight against the evil Farmers - Boggis, Bunce and Bean - who are determined to capture the audacious, fantastic Mr. Fox at any cost. [20th Century Fox] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Witty and wonderful, Fantastic Mr. Fox is the perfect Thanksgiving entertainment.
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    100
    You don't want to watch this movie, you want to climb inside it and play.
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    88
    Most of all, it’s a magical feat, one that turns puppets into personalities and an English meadow into Anderson’s world.
  4. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    80
    Genuinely original: a silly, hilarious and oddly profound adaptation for adult-sized children.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    75
    It's an intriguing match of material and filmmaker. Dahl's distinctive, edgy storytelling seems to fit well with Anderson's idiosyncratic worldview and visuals.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Sorrento
    20
    The animals are often caught in a stare as if they, too, are looking for the tale that Anderson forgot.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 104
  2. Negative: 15 out of 104
  1. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Funny, this movie is just........different, Fantastic Mr Fox is a good example of how we can find stories in every single element of the nature, but this movies is not another stupid talking animal movie Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    A bombastic, unbarred children's tale whose only considerable flaw is that it is too much fun. Both Wes Andersen and George Clooney are at their peak.
  3. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    Fantastic Mr. Fox was actually even better than I imagined it to be. I thought it would lean a lot on the lead voices (George Clooney and Meryl Streep) I think the movie would have done fine with out them (not to say they weren't a great finishing touch). With a quirky storyline and witty dialogue, this movie will leave you entertained and satisfied. Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    On the same level as coraline in the world of stop motion. An incredible story from roald dahl that translates perfectly into this movie and the style fits it very well. From the voices to the details everything comes together perfectly to create this heartwarming story with a message! A real must watch for every age.

    Just my opinion
    Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Though I hear it isn't much like the book at all, when looking at it for the film itself it's nothing short of great. The characters are much deeper than that of a typical animated film. The has that typical Wes Anderson tone to it but in a claymation film. Nonetheless an overall great film with a lot of character. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2010
    7
    Fox retires from stealing chickens, becomes a journalist, wants to steal from three big farms, doesn't tell wife, farmers want him dead.
    Brilliantly animated adaptation of Roald Dahl's book which is helped by solid voice work from George Clooney, Bill Murray & co.
    The Stop-Motion reminded me of 1970's Eastern European fairytales which I'd seen when I was younger & really does add to the whole feel & setting of the film.
    Some nice music used throughout as well.
    Expand
  7. HMW
    Mar 7, 2012
    0
    I was so looking forward to this movie, everyone said it was so great but when I saw it, it was the worst movie I ever saw. The storyline made no since, the characters had no personality. Overall, do not see this movie, it is a waste of time. Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.
  2. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.