Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: August 30, 2002
4.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 190 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
79
Mixed:
1
Negative:
110
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
horcrux2007Aug 4, 2015
It's a bad sign when the highlight of your movie is when the stream starts buffering. I don't think I've seen a movie this lame since One Missed Call. FeardotCom follows two detectives, Mike and Terry, who investigate a series of murders thatIt's a bad sign when the highlight of your movie is when the stream starts buffering. I don't think I've seen a movie this lame since One Missed Call. FeardotCom follows two detectives, Mike and Terry, who investigate a series of murders that all link back to the awkwardly named feardotcom.com. If you visit the site, you die in 48 hours unless you can solve its mystery. Sound familiar? This movie is a complete rip-off of The Ring, except this has a two day time limit instead of a week, and it's a haunted website instead of a videotape. The "big reveal" at the end is incredibly similar to the one in The Ring, which makes this a very predictable thriller. Somehow, despite the fact that this "thriller" has so many inconsistent and just plain stupid twists, it managed to still bore me to tears. Everything about FeardotCom is so pathetic and lazy, from the laughable writing to the mediocre acting, that there just isn't anything to enjoy about this almost infuriatingly insipid film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
cookie93Jan 14, 2012
This movie was extremely boring and senseless there isn't nothing positive about this movie. The movie begins confusing and then you realize that it has a mindless plot.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
8
KeenanSJun 15, 2009
Despite what people had to say about it, I really enjoyed this horror flick. I liked the creepy special effects and strange imagery. The actors weren't too shabby and the music was rather enjoyable. It may not have a mind-blowing plot, Despite what people had to say about it, I really enjoyed this horror flick. I liked the creepy special effects and strange imagery. The actors weren't too shabby and the music was rather enjoyable. It may not have a mind-blowing plot, but I was kept interested throughout the film. Despite the negativity, I still really liked it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JulieK.Nov 28, 2004
Keep yourself interested by creating a mental list of all the good movies that this one shamelessly rips off, yet still manages to suck.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LewisC.Aug 6, 2004
This movie sucks balls, I too rented it a while back and christ I was pissed with the end result, yeah some parts looked ok but this doesn't save it at all...doesn't surprise me 13yr olds like when their parents are out but to be This movie sucks balls, I too rented it a while back and christ I was pissed with the end result, yeah some parts looked ok but this doesn't save it at all...doesn't surprise me 13yr olds like when their parents are out but to be honest, people who really enjoy a well directed/produced cult horror should steer so clear of this pile of crap! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarcisrightgoddammitOct 9, 2003
I think the term style over substance was invented for Feardot.com. it's so called plot was so converluted by 35 mins into the film i just wished that someone had given the film a virus. Awful (belive it or not it was worse than the I think the term style over substance was invented for Feardot.com. it's so called plot was so converluted by 35 mins into the film i just wished that someone had given the film a virus. Awful (belive it or not it was worse than the directors other flick House on Haunted Hill) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessT.Sep 14, 2003
This movie was great I think. If really sdcared me I think you should come out with feardotcom2. I really liked the actors. I enjoyed watching it and I had trouble sleeping but I liked to be scared. What ever the others say forget them I This movie was great I think. If really sdcared me I think you should come out with feardotcom2. I really liked the actors. I enjoyed watching it and I had trouble sleeping but I liked to be scared. What ever the others say forget them I loved it because it had a very good plot to it and it was really scary. I am 13 years old and I know I'm under age to be seeibg it but it was great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EmerysSep 7, 2003
PAIN. That describes this movie. I rented it a while back - I'm a horror movie buff, and a goth, thank you, and it STILL sucked. Every director seems to think that gore and tits is enough to really scare people. You have to have at PAIN. That describes this movie. I rented it a while back - I'm a horror movie buff, and a goth, thank you, and it STILL sucked. Every director seems to think that gore and tits is enough to really scare people. You have to have at least some semblence of continuous plot, even if that ends up being mainly bad plot. This was confusing, unresolved, with angst and love thrown in at the end to try and make it a "boo hoo, poor girl" thing. A very few parts of it had good camera effects... but the rest was awful. And just for the record, if anyone goes alone to an abandoned studio after getting an offer from a crazy "director" to act... Well. Cleansing the gene pool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BenW.Sep 6, 2003
ARRRRRRRRRRGH! this movie was unbearable, i feel sick for spending even 3 dollars renting this. this movie SO wishes it was "the ring" and it doesn't even come CLOSE. i feel so disgusted after watching this i had to sit in the shower ARRRRRRRRRRGH! this movie was unbearable, i feel sick for spending even 3 dollars renting this. this movie SO wishes it was "the ring" and it doesn't even come CLOSE. i feel so disgusted after watching this i had to sit in the shower for half an hour. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaraP.Jul 8, 2003
I think Fear Dot Com was a rather interesting movie, kept me in shock the whole time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ArneK.Jul 4, 2003
Horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarstenK.Jul 3, 2003
it was a sneak preview and we left after an hour. next time i burn my money instead of watching such s**t.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SumerB.May 8, 2003
This was the worst movie that i have ever seen in my entire life. It was the only movie that I have ever wanted to get up and walk out of the theatre. I dont get scared easily and that movie wasnt just bad it was HORRIBLE. Whoever directed This was the worst movie that i have ever seen in my entire life. It was the only movie that I have ever wanted to get up and walk out of the theatre. I dont get scared easily and that movie wasnt just bad it was HORRIBLE. Whoever directed that movie had an extremely STRONG stomach and a SICK mind. NO offense to the director or anything but that was the worst movie ever created. It should not be sold in stores. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianT.Feb 16, 2003
I rate Fear Dot Com A 10 because of the nudity especially that women who that man kept video caming her.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KatalinaL.Jan 4, 2003
This was by far the grossest movie I have ever seen with the torture scenes. The story was THE WORST EVER!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmL.Nov 26, 2002
With the wonderful output of fear.com, I was on the edge of my seat with the wonders of what was to happen next. Through it all, it was not disappointin. I only distasted the nudity scenes. Too much. Other than that.. Fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MattM.Oct 8, 2002
A dark, stylish horror film marred by a ridiculous ending and even more ridiculous casting. Scary at times with incredibly inventive visuals, but lacking in substantial scares. A mediocre thriller, nothing more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
YogelS.Oct 2, 2002
Sucked harsh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NeilH.Sep 28, 2002
Was there someone in the cinema with a high powered flash or was it just faulty electronics in the theatre. i mean why for god sakes cant people make a decent horor movie without flashing unsitefull images at viewers, and aren't Was there someone in the cinema with a high powered flash or was it just faulty electronics in the theatre. i mean why for god sakes cant people make a decent horor movie without flashing unsitefull images at viewers, and aren't subliminal images illegal? you tell me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaraldG.Sep 12, 2002
Super!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AppleH.Sep 10, 2002
Walked out of the theater with a bag over my head. It seemed as if both the actors and myself did not want to be recognized in this bad turkey. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BernieM.Aug 30, 2002
There is absolutely no point in seeing this movie. I've seen scarier Kodak commercials.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
K.T.Aug 30, 2002
This movie had amazing visuals and powerful scares. This is not a movie for everyone, but it was really good for horror fans. I found myself staring at the screen with my jaw dropped throughout the movie. It is not a movie of strong plot and This movie had amazing visuals and powerful scares. This is not a movie for everyone, but it was really good for horror fans. I found myself staring at the screen with my jaw dropped throughout the movie. It is not a movie of strong plot and Oscar winning acting, but it was a fun plot and had a terrifying atmosphere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful