Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: September 28, 2007
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 14 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
9
Mixed:
4
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
GerardZ.Sep 6, 2008
Unrealistic and gratuitous but you cannot help but enjoy Morgan Freeman. Also, there are no Deans of Philosophy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomM.Aug 7, 2008
Unusual structure, unusual tale, appealing storyline, complex and distinctly human characters, fine performances by Morgan Freeman and the entire cast all combine to transform Charles Baxter's unusual novel into a winner once again as Unusual structure, unusual tale, appealing storyline, complex and distinctly human characters, fine performances by Morgan Freeman and the entire cast all combine to transform Charles Baxter's unusual novel into a winner once again as screenplay and film. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RebeccaMar 25, 2008
I thought that this was a great movie. Its one of those movies that makes you think about love, just in general, it was really insightful. I think a lot of people can relate to the movie, and would enjoy it. It makes you feel even more I thought that this was a great movie. Its one of those movies that makes you think about love, just in general, it was really insightful. I think a lot of people can relate to the movie, and would enjoy it. It makes you feel even more thankful for what you have in a relationship :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulH.Mar 1, 2008
It's very sad this movie did find an audience. It is not a romantic comedy but it is a romance. Perhaps, one day, people will see this movie for what it is. . . an actual attempt to get to the heart of love without the happily ever It's very sad this movie did find an audience. It is not a romantic comedy but it is a romance. Perhaps, one day, people will see this movie for what it is. . . an actual attempt to get to the heart of love without the happily ever after we've been force fed as the only kind of after that matters. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Feb 12, 2008
Young love, interracial love, adulterous love, loveless love, same-sex love; all accounted for, all made explicit in "The Feast of Love", adapted from the National Book Award-winning novel by Charles Baxter, never satisfies the heart the way Young love, interracial love, adulterous love, loveless love, same-sex love; all accounted for, all made explicit in "The Feast of Love", adapted from the National Book Award-winning novel by Charles Baxter, never satisfies the heart the way it should. This film about...well, love, had the unfortunate luck of opening after "Little Children", a superior film about...well, love, that was also adapted from a high-profile novel and novelist. Because of Tom Perrotta's involvement with the adaptation(co-written by director Todd Field), we knew exactly who Sarah Pierce(Kate Winslet) and Brad Adamson(Patrick Wilson) were. The same can't be said about Bradley Thomas(Greg Kinnear), who tells a nurse how much he loved his first wife Kathryn(Selma Blair), despite evidence to the contrary(Bradley couldn't identify his wife's eyes as being hazel). Because of sloppy writing, Harry Stevenson(Morgan Freeman)'s offer to adopt Chloe(Alexa Davalos) as his daughter is unwittingly open for close scrutinization. He arrives at this decision right after observing a buck-naked, young couple singing their birthday songs in a sixty-nine cinch on football-field grass. Add May-December love as a latent guest to this feast. Since Morgan Freeman is rarely, if ever, portrayed as a sexual entity on-screen, the screenwriter assumes that audiences wouldn't second-guess Harry's love for Chloe as being something other than a fatherly one. Because of the advent of Viagra, and other erectile dysfunction pharmaceuticals, not to mention, the hyper-sexual atmosphere that we sometimes find ourselves embroiled in(e.g. the character Jack Black plays in "Margot at the Wedding" reads "Barely Legal" magazine, which may, or may not, have led to an affair with a barely legal girl), you can't readily dismiss the possibility that Harry's libido is still very much alive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
vidManOct 1, 2007
I enjoyed this movie a lot. I thought it had some interesting ideas about love and how people deal with it in different situations and different times in their lives.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarolynN.Sep 29, 2007
Sappy, but I loved every moment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful