User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 97
  2. Negative: 5 out of 97

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 10, 2012
    9
    This is the feel-good movie of the century.
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    Everything about this movie is a work of art. I laugh at everything that happens within this film. Whenever I'm showing a friend the amazingness of Ferris Bueller's Day Off, I quote everything before it happens. I'm annoying like that.
  3. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    This is a rare variety of Hollywood teen farce has aged pretty well since its birth 25 years ago, written and directed by the late John Hughes, it is a witty and awful jolly comedy without any vulgar intention like AMERICAN PIE franchise and heralds Hughesâ
  4. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    Such a great teen comedy easily my personal favorite of the john Huges films, The films full of heart wit and deeper meaning in my opinion and the dialog is superb and really shows how us teenagers intact with one and other and how we see the world around us
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    John Hughes made many great, intelligent, and wickedly witty films throughout the 80's. Bueller is one of his best, and its also one of the funniest movies I've ever seen.
  6. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    One of the most energetic, fun and entertaining movies I have ever seen. Matthew Broderick is perfect as cheeky Ferris Bueller, Alan Ruck is brilliant in the role of Cameron Frye who is always ill and worried. Even Charlie Sheen pops up as a teenager on drugs (he likes to stay in character long after filming is done). Ferris Buellers Day Off is one of the funniest most entertaining films I have ever seen I was never bored! Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is just a masterpiece. It captures the essence of high school and is incredibly to boot. I was directed and written by John Hughes (Home Alone, The Breakfast Club) and with all of his early work it balances comedy right along with the darker moments. It's only flaw is that I think it doesn't quite tie up all the loose ends, which leaves the viewer wondering but I still wanted to see more. Its comedic, dark, and has some of my favourite characters in film. Expand
  8. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    Ferris Bueller is Broderick's best role next to Election. The movie is flat out hilarious with clever acting from
    every actor. Ferris is as funny as The Breakfast Club and the movie is an 80's comedy classic. Ferris is one of the funniest movies from director John Hughes.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. 50
    That the film doesn't live up to our anticipation of a rolicking good time is only part of its disappointment. [11 June 1986]
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    70
    It's basically a mindless paean to goofing off, with interludes of dubious seriousness. [16 June 1986]
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    40
    The story and pacing of this offbeat comedy wear thin after the first 20 minutes.