User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 141
  2. Negative: 20 out of 141

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Warner Bros. took an interesting spin on the Final Destination film series. This film is set before the first (and therefore is a prequel) meaning this time the characters have to figure it out themselves, which is better than them knowing with no troubles like 4. With the idea of kill to survive, it is clear that Warner Bros felt they could take the series and twist it to their own. The ending makes you feel strangely nostalgic as it brings back the start of the original film. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    The most recent Final Destination, and in my opinion, the very best, This is a prequel, and has some of the best production value, actin and deaths. The bridge scene was amazing, and the interesting twist is intriguing, great movie, check it out if you haven't seen it. 8/10
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    2
    What happened to 'Final Destination'? even all this be just a festival of death, it is impossible not to notice the inexistente development of characters, in an attempt to expose a flawed romance and a lack of creativity to drive the story, everything the first 3 films had, here not even the smell.
  4. Nov 3, 2013
    5
    "Final Destination 5", which is directed by Steven Quale, actually has some really good 3-D scenes. Quale, being a second-unit director on Avatar, has some experience with 3-D and really impresses us. The characters, surprisingly, are more sympathetic. That being said, the story is still ridiculous (although there are humor with the bloody scenes in some places) and it's gross as hell.
  5. Oct 30, 2013
    1
    No tiene sentido seguir con una saga así, en verdad ya con una trilogía bastaba, hasta la tercera estuvieron buenas, pero de la cuarta hasta aquí un desastre tras otro peor, ya nos cansamos de ver gente muerta no sé que gracia le ven a una película en la que solo mueren personas, acaso les divierte hipócritas.

    Julián, Argentina.
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    3
    Brought in a couple of solid B level actors this time around but they couldn't help boost the poor acting by the rest of the cast. Actually tries to have a plot, as a couple sub plots, this time around, Which is a good thing, but again the poor acting by the cast hurts it quite a bit. The death scenes are rather gruesome at times, Which is a rare sight to see in most horror movies now-a-days and is a plus for me. The use of 3D is terrible and rather cheap and to be honest, Looks pretty awful at times. Overall, FD5 offers nothing new from any of the previous installments and if anything, It proves how stale this series has gotten. Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked it. I saw it in 3d and it was interesting. The deaths were unrealistic but it was enjoyable as a film. I really liked in the end that shows all the deaths from all the movies. To conclude, it was a brilliant idea what happened in the end of that film as it was a prequel of the first film. That really shocked me Expand
  8. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    Personally The Final Destination ended with a better bang then this. This the only 3 things I liked were The Big Bridge Collapse, The Fight in the Kitchen, and The Twist Ending. The death in this one were terrible and boring and extremely weak. Watch if you are a an of the series but watch in this order 3, 2, 4, 1, 5. The main reason we watch these films are for the deaths come on people the same film is basically the same just more clever deaths. Most clever deaths to me occured in The Final Destination but Final Destination 3 was written better. I do say watch but expect nothing amazing. 5-6 Expand
  9. Mar 18, 2013
    7
    This is the Final Destination movie I have been waiting for. It's funny, gross, and exciting. Unlike the other films in the franchise, Final Destination 5 attempts to add some humor to all the gross parts. Which it succeeded. The main thing that struck me was that this was the only Final Destination where you don't know how it's gonna end.
  10. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    The final film in the series, well for now anyway, certainly ends with a bang! It probably earns points just for that twist, but as a whole it's a much better film than the fourth and just as good as the first. The corny factor is toned down a little now which is good, and while it's still 'death' killing the deaths are a little more realistic. The acting/characters are also a lot better so improvements were made to make this the best of the series, and overall what a great series they were! Expand
  11. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    Most of franchises are followed by lots of sequels. Final Destination 5 is a prequel of the first film. Sam Lawton is a chef. One day he is getting on a bus and he feels a strange felling. I dont wont to spoil you the story but i can say DEATH never quit killing you. This film is the best of the franchise.
  12. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    It is filled with comic suspense, the gymnastic set piece being the highlight of this (and also the film as a whole). The deaths are elaborate, exciting and hilarious. It's all very tongue-in-cheek, but it works well.
  13. Aug 18, 2012
    6
    I was honestly expecting a lot more from this movie. Hearing that the producers claimed that this installment would be the darkest in tone since the first movie, I got pumped because it was great hearing that this movie wouldn't be go for the comedy route that the 4th movie took. Sadly, I was a little let down. The mediocre-to-bad acting was one thing, but the film had some jokes that I felt were a little forced and thus ruined whatever serious tone the film was going for. However, I must state that the use of 3D was surprisingly effective when I saw it in theaters. The death scenes are classic Final Destination as expected. There's some fun to be had here, but if the film took itself more seriously and perhaps different actors were chose for their roles, this could have been a really fun movie. Expand
  14. Jul 30, 2012
    7
    This is the most surprised I've been watching a movie in a very long time. I'm a fan of the Final Destination series, but in more recent years it has become a series like Saw that I once liked, but now just dutifully trudge through. That's why I was such a big fan of Final Destination 5. It's a shockingly good movie, and that's mainly because the characters are a touch above what you've come to expect from this series. The characters are likable, so you actually care about them and don't want them to get killed in these horrible ways. It's a shockingly simple difference between good and bad horror movies that so many films don't seem to understand. The deaths in this movie are really ingeniously tense, leaving the audience guessing where the death will come from and when they will happen. Other major positives for this film are the great score by Brian Tyler and the very smart and surprising twist ending. This is a strong revitalization for the series, and I hope it continues if they make anymore. Expand
  15. May 9, 2012
    6
    Probably the best of the bunch it what is ultimately a poor series of films. Some decent misdirections on the over-elaborate setups of the previous movie anyway,
  16. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Other interesting film, finally a great Final Destination. This fifth part is the better, the cast is interesting, and this new situation of kill for survive is funny, the best film of the saga.
  17. Feb 10, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. FD5 shows hope for the series. As the first four installments progressed, the series seemed to be getting dumber and dumber as it went on. Firstly, I really liked the bridge collapse of the opening scene. Very intense, very dramatic (though not very realistic; there should have been a huge amount of wind that made the bridge oscillate for a few minutes. Instead, we see a small gust and then nothing). Secondly, I like the idea of the twist that if you take a life, you get to live the years that person would have lived. It's a fresh new take on a concept that was really getting stale after the first four movies. However, there seem to be just as many things to complain about as there are to commend. Firstly, the movie continues the not-so-time-honored tradition of using gore just for the sake of showing it. Instead of calculating its usage more so that it has a better impact every time it is shown, the movie just tosses blood all over the place most of the time, and some deaths seem almost as stupid as those in The Final Destination (don't even get me started on that movie!), for example the death scenes in the gym and the spa, which seemed so ridiculous that I wondered if the movie was making some strange attempt at humor. Secondly and lastly, the movie seemed to go by really fast. Maybe this is just me, but it seemed like the movie had less in it in general then previous installments have. Maybe I just lost track of time or something, but when the movie ended I didn't feel as though I'd just sat through a feature length flick. Overall, I can say FD5 is better then previous installments, and appears to be a hopeful restart to a series in need of rejuvenating. Though some of the death scenes are just stupid, the opening bridge scene and the intriguing murder twist make this movie one that is definitely worth seeing if you're an FD fan (otherwise maybe not so much). Expand
  18. Feb 3, 2012
    5
    Stupid Movie! I liked the first two. This one was dumb just dumb. Can i say dumb one more time. Stop making these movies. The first two movies where good. The only good thing about this movie was the end. That is why i gave it a 5 out of 10. It has a twist. So watch at your own risk you could be bored to death.
  19. Jan 27, 2012
    4
    This 'Final Destination' starts with an effective use of visual effects and thrilling sequences. But that does not make up for the bad acting and ridiculous dialogues that accompanies the entire movie.
  20. Jan 10, 2012
    6
    Final Destination 5 is absolutely better then franchises previous two(FD 3 & 4) . The Bridge Scene was undoubtedly wonderful and its the second best accident scene (first being FD 2 car accident) of the franchise . The first half was so awesome . The first death was shown really well but after that all went kinda boring and too fast . It felt like the writer got really bored while he was writing it & also the director .It could have been am amazing film start to end but the second half was worst then FD 3 (FD 4 being the worst of all) . Cast was good , they played well but it wasn't enough . Like the first three film it wasn't so deep into the story . The whole movie was like a candy bar , You started slowly but suddenly you see its all gone .I gave 6 rating because I loved The Bridge scene and Its CGI quality so much. Without this scene I would give the film max 3.0 rating .BTW i loved the was they showed the last scene ...I was expecting this and they finally showed it this time . Expand
  21. Jan 6, 2012
    2
    Final destination 5 is horrible, because the special effects could be done because anyone and moreover has also planned the killings bad, of course not counting the blood so ridiculous and bad actors
  22. bdd
    Jan 5, 2012
    10
    I loved it so much. One thing is that in the end I had to pause and see what plane they are in. I saw the same characters from the first movie that they shot. I even saw the guy that had a vision. When Sam looked at the flight ticket and I paused it and saw the the ticket said Flight 180. It so crazy that I didn't know that they were going back where it started all. Once they were off, the flight etender asked what was going on. The passanger said that this guy had a vision that the plane was going to blow up in the mid-air. Sam had look around and there you go they died. I was supprised because when that scene was over they counted down from 5. It was cool. Good thing I got the blue ray dvd to keep for my life to see it again. Expand
  23. Jan 4, 2012
    6
    I love the original final destination. I think the sequels have been hit or miss. This one is no exception. However, this film is one of the better sequels and there were definitely some great scenes. It was thrilling but didn't take itself too seriously.
  24. Nov 18, 2011
    7
    Final Destination 5 brings the suspense that the fourth film had lost from the saga. Is not the best one (and it's far from that), but in details image, the movie is awesome with a good aplication of the 3D. And the musics themes are also very good.
  25. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    I've got to say I'm surprisingly impressed with the improvement from the previous movies. Steven Quale did an amazing job lifting up the standard of Final Destination franchise. It was a lot of fun to watch and the bridge collapse scene was amazingly impressive. Some scenes aren't as good as I hope. But I love the more complex plot than standard Final Destination style and am looking forward to having Quale as a direction of Final Destination 6 and 7 as well. Expand
  26. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This sequel (or shall I say prequel) of the highly successful, Final Destination series, has risen to new heights and now has become more awesome than ever.

    In this installment, Death is as deadlier as ever and is now hunting down and killing a group of co-workers after one of there co-workers has a premonition and cheats death. But now, itâ
    Expand
  27. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O filme Premonição 5 é um filme que pode ser considerado muito bom. Primeiramente, destaco a atuação de Nicholas D'Agosto, Emma Bell e Jacqueline MacInnes Woods, que foram boas. As mortes são criativas e originais. A experiência da ponte em 3D é muito boa, as coisas realmente saem da tela, é um ótimo 3D. O que mais nos impressiona é o final do filme, em que os protagonistas vão ao Voo 180, em uma viagem para Paris, descobrimos que tudo se passou em 1999, e podemos rever alguns personagens do Premonição 1 saindo do avião; Expand
  28. Sep 30, 2011
    5
    Seriously there's no something new on this movie. Same old same old. Band of people cheating death and they're killed by death's ridiculous plan. But it still fun, still creepy for me especially 'cause the sound. Even got better score from whole franchise, I still love the Roller Coaster.
  29. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    Una película que definitivamente nunca debió haberse hecho, lo peor del caso es que la Sexta y Séptima parte están en negociaciones a realizarse, así que habrá que ver si 6 o 7 películas serán suficientes para hacer de "Final Destination" mínimo una película palomera de esas que ves en lugar de las TV Novelas Expand
  30. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This sequel (or shall I say prequel) of the highly successful, Final Destination series, has risen to new heights and now has become more awesome than ever.

    In this installment, Death is as deadlier as ever and is now hunting down and killing a group of co-workers after one of there co-workers has a premonition and cheats death. But now, itâ
  31. Sep 13, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the incoming waves ripple nearby, an exhausted knight, recumbently inacitve on a rock-laden shoreline, starts to question the legitimacy of the cross, so proudly embossed on his chain mail vest, as he stares vacantly at god's kingdom, where from his vantage point on the primordial beach, sees only clouds and sky, and an eagle traversing across a gutted sky, recently secularized by the knives of devotional uncertainty. Next, he washes his face in the ocean, violently shaking off the **** from righteous hands which killed in god's name; red-stained hands that are guilty of spilling Muslim blood across a European battlefield. If Antonius Block, the skeptical mounted soldier in Ingmar Bergman's "The Seventh Seal", had the gift of premonition to foresee his own demise, like Alex Browning from the original "Final Destination", would he have bowed out of the crusade, and encourage his squire Jons, already a full-blown infidel, to do so likewise? For the sake of argument, let's say that Antonius cheated his ill-fated outcome, prompting death to come for the knight, who deserted the ongoing clash, thereby messing with the Grim Reaper's wicked designs. Newly informed by the "Final Destination" films, Antonius gets cast in a new light when death pays the knight a visit, solving, for some, a long-standing question as to why the shrouded figure comes for the crusader now, having just survived the most perilous of situations, only to be sentenced, somewhat unfairly, during peacetime. Like the bridge that collapses in "Final Destination 5", the unsavory side of life goes on, with or without Sam and his co-workers, as was the case with the Ninth Crusade, which when filtered through "Final Destination" and its sequels, continued on without the knight and his squire's participation. Antonius doesn't seem at all surprised by his black company, conceding that this expropriation was long in the making. "My flesh is afraid, but I am not," replies Antonius to death's question about his departure from the corporeal world, a blatant lie that directly addresses the disgraced knight's conflicting spirituality. Antonius, plagued with doubts about the existence of heaven, challenges the darkest adversary to a game of chess, in order to buy time for his devotional restoration, whose flagging conviction in god led to this crusader's resignation from the ranks of the soldiered brethren. For the knight, the visage on the witch's face, as the men prepare to burn the young girl at the stake, looks all-too-familiar. "Her poor mind is making a discovery," observes the squire. Antonius knows. He has seen the "emptiness", on the battlefield. Interestingly enough, "Final Destination 2" proposes the same godless diegesis as "The Seventh Seal", when during the film's opening credits, a talk-show guest differentiates death from the devil as the unseen malevolent force that struck down the survivors of Flight 180. Instead of chess, in essence, these captive participants are playing hide and seek. Of note, Clear Waters hides out at a mental hospital(and not a church). Moreover, tropes innate to this horror series can be applied retroactively to the Bergman classic. For the time being, death skips Antonius, intervening on the knight's behalf by agreeing to the proposed chess match, so as a result, Skat dies instead, when the black-robed figure fells the tree he was hiding in. It's really no different from the case of Billy, who in the original, gets decapitated near the rails, after Alex pulls Carter out of his car, which he left lying across the railroad tracks, just before the collision which prompts the errant scrap metal toward their once-headed friend's direction. The theater director, who runs off with a blacksmith's wife during his troupe's performance in a small hamlet, was slated to die anyways. Death skips him(and the married woman) because of the squire's calming influence on the cuckolded artisan. Jons also saves a mute girl from being raped and murdered by a corrupt clergyman. However, as death and Antonius near the endgame to their chess match, the black figure says, "No one escapes me,", but Jof and Mia, Skat's actors, give it a go, even though, like the "Final Destination" films, wind signifies death's presence, as they flee by horse and carriage, thanks to the knight who, once again, meddles with the plan by creating a distraction with knocked-over chess pieces. (Alas, the wind will return.) True to his word, Antonius and his friends follow death up a hill to their final destination; their hands interlocked, like a chain. It was predestined, but the knight changed death's plan. Jof sees them from afar. The actor may have been lying about seeing the Virgin Mary, but not this. To the knight's disappointment, in death, he's probably not going to light up like Patrick Swayze in "Ghost". Antonius Block won't be meeting the gymnast, or any of the other eviscerated victims in heaven. Expand
  32. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    Better than the last two movies and a nice ending that I liked, the story still did lack some meaning since the girl "was not supposed to die". Keep decent continuity, please :( If you set rules (she survived the first time so she should survive again), you need to stick by them.
  33. Sep 6, 2011
    2
    So, I was riding with my friend and I flicked an ash in his eye, causing him to crash into another car and flip on our side. Beforehand, we went to the gas station to get gas, but the gas pumper didn't tighten the gas cap properly, forcing it to come off. Someone helped me out, but for him it was sadly too late. A bolt of lighting hit the fuel, causing a fire that led to his car. For whatever reason, his door just didn't want to open he was unforgettably burnt alive. That was one year ago. Opps, I spilled water on my plugs. I'll have to clean them right now. Expand
  34. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Blood, guts, gore and violence - we all know what we're getting with a movie like Final Destination 5. Even though you have probably heard of this movie long, long ago, and even though you have probably seen one or two of its sequels, Final Destination as a movie franchise has always found a way to bring new viewers into theaters. I saw the trailer for the latest installation, and I was hooked. Is it the lure of death that calls to us? Are we morbid for watching movies like this? Perhaps. But any way you slice it, Final Destination 5 is an adrenalin ride from start to finish. The acting is passable - even laughable at times, and the character development is strictly B movie, but man, oh man, what a B movie. Some of the set pieces are actually pretty compelling - just when you think you know what's going to happen - *WHAMMO!* *SLICE!* *GROAN* Another victim of death is served up on a platter for all to see. There are plenty of "Oh My God" moments in this otherwise predictable movie, and the squeamish will indeed look away - a lot - during the kill scenes. This movie is meant to be fun, and it is fun. The plot is rather silly and contrived, and - let's face it - just an excuse to get to the killing. If you liked Nicholas D'Agosto in "Fired Up", then you'll love him in Final Destination 5. Nicholas plays it straight as Sam, and he even has a love interest, but you know what happens to EVERYONE sooner or later - they all die! The hook or deus ex machina for FD 5 is the clever way the characters try to cheat death - again. For a fleeting moment, even the audience is convinced it will work... But if it did, we would not have much of a movie! The deaths keep coming right up to the movie's end. Speaking of the end, could this be the end of the series? During the final scene, as a young man is escorted screaming from an airplane, my buddy shouted, "It's a prequel!" Sure enough, as the credits rolled, the entire series was flash-forwarded in gruesome scene after gruesome scene. The end... for now.

    - Chipper F. Xavier, Esq.
    Expand
  35. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    An often ridiculous film, as the Final Destination franchise usually is. The opening bridge collapse sequence wasn't as amazing as it could have been, unlike the rather fun motorway pile-up in Final Destination 2. Possibly the weakest of the group.
  36. Sep 1, 2011
    3
    Eleven years ago Final Destination took horror fans in a fresh new direction. The film had gruesome death scenes (not nearly as bad as the later installments.) But fate -and whether one could escape its plan- was where the real intrigue lied. Final Destination 2 traded character development for sillier death scenes, but at least some were mildly possible and interesting. I had the foresight to avoid what i felt would be ridiculously bad films in the third and fourth installments of the franchise. Something told me this one would be different. The film is directed by James Cameron's understudy, David Quale; who admitted the last films didn't live up to the first two. Quale claims to have attempted to use what worked in the first films to construct his fifth installment. One would think at the very least this film would have made brilliant use of the 3D technology that was, of course, extraordinary in Avatar. Horror movies are possibly the best genre for 3D -because you're meant to be jumpy- but this film attempts to ease us in through credits that slowly come closer and closer to the audience, but it becomes rather boring. Moving forward, Quale decides to splatter our cool 3D shades with blood and guts rather than use the technology to scare us. Sure... the bridge scene was nice, but after that the film stumbles from poor dialogue to atrocious acting to fantastically unbelievable death scenes. I know there are those who will say I should have seen that coming. Maybe they're right, but the first film wasn't nearly as grotesque and was written much better. Even the second installment looks very believable in comparison. The deaths are way too much, I wanted to scream at the screen in my best Mortal Kombat voice "finish him" (already). We always get plenty of plausible ways for characters to meet their demise, but instead we see something like a character getting their head knocked off by the torso of a deer being propelled by a tornado. Who am I kidding? That would be much too interesting for this film. One or two scenes should have surprised us by taking one of the more obvious deaths. Sam and his friends are mostly played by relative newcomers, but along the way, we meet some nice characters. Tony Todd (Candyman) is back as the coroner. He actually has a few terrifically ominous lines. And David Koechner (The Office) plays his usual oblivious character well. As a fan of the original I did enjoy the plot twist, which does something that I can't remember ever being done before. In the end, this installment may have done what it set out to do; make a better movie than Final Destination 3 or The Final Destination (the fourth film which claimed to be the last.) If the filmmakers wished for anything more however, they should have spent as much time crafting dialogue and story as they did dreaming up 1,000 ways to die. Expand
  37. Aug 31, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, the overlong credits at the beginning are so annoying. It's not a bad film - not great either - it's just trying too hard to up the ante. All the death scenes looked predictable but then came across as unwilling to be what was expected, which results in being unrealistic. Obviously it's ludicris to use the word "realism" with a film about 'Death' stalking the characters, but you get my point! The formula is slightly changed in this 5th instalment by the added feature of 'how to evade Death' by murdering someone else - which is what the franchise needed, to be progressive. With a film like this, you're not going to worry about the acting (really hammed up in some places), but some of the action sequences - particularly the bridge collapse sequence - was really good. The use of 3D was quite effective as well, much better than the 4th film. And the whole film was much better than the 4th film in every way - the deaths were more gory, more imaginative (and more funny!) It's also great as a viewer to look in the background for hidden messages of what might come next or what has happened in previous films (like the plane and truck models in the office scenes - from films 1 and 2 respectively.) The ending (of which I guessed!!) will please fans of the franchise, seeing how the films overlaps. Overall, the film is not going to win any awards or be voted favourite film of the year, but it's a good popcorn flick, doesn't require too much strenuous attention to plot, and supplies laughs as well as the jumps! Enjoyable. Expand
  38. Aug 30, 2011
    4
    Going into the movie I didn't know what to expect I hadn't seen the others so I had an open mind. After the first scene I thought the movie had a lot going for it.. Until they decided to go to cheap thrills for the rest of the movie. They even made the movie so predictable they told you what order the characters were to die in. Although I do give the director credit for creating some suspense in some scenes where any other director would have failed. On this one the script and the story let him down Expand
  39. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    Final Destination 5 was the worst of the entire collection, it was just horrible and painful to watch, the deaths were so stupid and didn't make sense a lot, especially candice's and isaac's, just stupid and boring, the only good part of the movie was the ending, nothing else.
  40. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    Don't try to comprehend anything about this flawed story except that people die and they do so dramatically. While the acting is often forced and poorly executed, the horror, magnified by 3D, makes it worth the buck. If you think you have become numb and unaffected by horrific scenes of blood, guts and mayhem-this will truly be a testimony to that. Keep a tight grip on your popcorn or chair handles for you're in for one-hell-of- a ride. Expand
  41. Aug 21, 2011
    6
    This movie is only for fans, and it takes back the best of the franchise with a new little twist. The 3D it's a must see, because many scenes were made thinking on it. It shows.
  42. Aug 21, 2011
    0
    As soon as it began I thought, "this is so stupid" and this thought is repeated throughout the movie along with a regret for spending money on it. I have seen all the FD. Even after 4, which was pretty bad, I came back to see if this was improved. It was NOT. Full of goriness true, but the story line was horrible, premonitions not believable or along with the great suspense of the main character getting them and trying to stop death from getting the others. And then to add, all of a sudden that they could cheat death by taking another person's life when in FD 2 they had said only a "new life" could break the chain...we all remember the pregnant character Sabella Hudson (portrayed by Justina Machado) was one of the survivors of the Route 23 pile up accident. Isabella was a delievery girl who was also nine months pregnant only to find out it was actually back from death to life...remember Kimberly sacrifices herself for Officer Burke's safety by driving the van she is riding to a lake, however Officer Burke rescues her and sends her to a hospital for recovery. I wondered if the people who wrote 1 and 2 were the same ones that wrote 5..I am officially DONE with Final Destination movies. This was a true disappointment. Expand
  43. Aug 20, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I went in thinking, what sights will i see, and picturing myself, saying "oh my God," as i heard this was the most violent and intense. The beginning credit sequence was pretty cool, which promised an intense and visceral premonition sequence. However, after the premonition was over, i thought, "that was it." The other Final Destination films, especially 2 were a lot better. In terms of the individual deaths, i almost laughed at how fake and preposterous the first one was. I am not a gymnast, never have been, but if i fell off a balance beam, i would just roll over in pain, not be broken in half. I know the deaths are supposed to be over the top, but this first one was just stupid. What followed was just many annoying characters dying in fake-looking ways, exactly the other other films (not inventive at all). Then end plane sequence was awesome as well as the collage of deaths from the other films. Even as a somewhat FD fan, i was not impressed. This was one of the less graphics films in the series. Expand
  44. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    A story little weak, but exciting, you're faced with an entirely new complex of suspense, which I never saw, in a way I am happy to say that the film was higher than the previous, well done, very well structured, unlike pecimos previous films David R Ellis, final destination 5 reveals that it is possible to continue without a interrompela saga, with a poorly made film and silly as The final destination, like it has a touch darker than the fear at first, but it comforts you to know that in one way or the other has a happy ending. Expand
  45. Aug 17, 2011
    2
    I hope this 5th installment into the dreadful final destination series is the final installment. This movie was just plain dumb and boring. It was exciting when somebody died but the rest of it just dragged on. The only reason i saw this was because its what my friends chose and because i work at the movie theater and it was free for me. I only gave this mindless film a 2 because its actually some of the best 3d effects ive seen in a movie in a long time, but other than that this movie was stupid. 2/10 Expand
  46. Aug 15, 2011
    3
    I've seen better Final Destinations, and the series is becoming very predictable in its attempts at unpredictability. Of course, the "predictable" cause of death is not going to do it. Just expect a head to explode in some kind of totally unforeseeable way shortly after that "close call." It's the lack of foreseeability that makes the movie not scary in the least. The best horror movies thrive on anticipation - this goes completely the opposite way - quick death with zero build-up. Gory? Sure. But scary in the traditional sense? Not at all. And this installment wasn't even all that funny to me. Rent the one with the subway accident. That at least had some fun social commentary. Expand
  47. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    In essence the Final Destination franchise is reality television come home to roost on the big screen. It is survivor island for teens and upstart adults. The brand has lasted for over a decade and has pulled itself out of the abyss just as the Saw franchise has. While there is nothing new about Final Destination 5 3D, it is amped up on 3D steroids. Every explosion and all of the carnage seem to be hurling at our faces at astronomical speeds. There is a reason why the paradigm remains the same for ordered deaths after death has missed its target; this episode pays homage to the series' roots and beginnings. It is essentially a mishmash of gore and pillaging that pays tribute to its predecessors. Frankly, the movie gave me a splitting headache, if you know what I mean!
    http://www.screenspotlight.com/movie-reviews-mainmenu-47/36-actionadventure/896-final-destination-5-3d
    Expand
  48. Aug 14, 2011
    8
    I watch every Final Destination movie, but I saw the IMAX 3-D version of #5 and it was so brutal, so much gore, and frankly it scares the hell out of me. But it's a fun movie. I don't know how many deaths occurred in the movie like there was an old man saying that death cannot be cheated. And so there's no vision, just pure bloodbath and no one is survived. The acting was great, the suspense kills me a lot, and I think it's the best movie since the first. I hope if it could be a success if it's #1 or not, then maybe they could do Final Destination 6 back-to-back. Final Destination 5 rocks and let the bloodshed continue. Expand
  49. Aug 13, 2011
    9
    If you are completely new to the Final Destination Series I would say this is a bad place to start. Go see the first 3 (See part 4 at your own risk, not as good as the rest). I was not expecting another film because the last one was titled "The Final Destination" Didn't even call it Final Destination 4. This movie has redeemed the quality of the series for me. One thing i really like is how every movie brought new up and coming actors/actresses and a lot have been good. Part 4 was so forgettable I don't remember any of the faces. Final Destination 5 is almost as good as part 2 But I enjoyed it a bit more then part 3. The story has the same formula which I do like but feared would make this one predictable. Instead they added a few more layers to the Story so as familiar as it feels it also feels new at the same time.

    The Special Effects are top notch, I am not talking a lot of flashy stuff I am talking a lot of Blending to make everything seem a lot more real. The death scenes are raising the bar, you would think with what we have seen 4 times that it would have desensitized us a lot more but the whole Theater went "OOoooooo". The actors brought a lot of fresh faces but they where really good, I feel a lot of these people could be future stars one day, but maybe my slandered are just very lowered due to how part 4 was (I need to stop mentioning part 4). Tony Todd (We all know him as the guy who played The Candy Man) reprises his creepy role as the Coroner who seems to be the only person who completely understands how Death works. I don't know about you but he still creeps me out after all these years, but hes a great actor non the less.

    The Sounds was incredible, very loud and detailed, enough to make you jump. I can't get the song "Dust In The Wind" out of my head now, that movie made that song Errie for life.

    The 3D portion was OK, Like part 4 you will see Guts and stuff in your face which really makes it that much more intense. But its not what makes this movie so if you have to catch it on DVD you wont miss too much, but I didn't regret paying more to see it in 3D.

    This is a movie where you want to go in as Fresh as possible, meaning you don't want to hear too many opinions about it or see too many clips, I have put the best Trailer at the bottom because the newer ones seem to show too much to me. Its been a while since I came out of the Theater happy after seeing a really awesome movie, at the end it received an applause (Which is the first i witnessed live at the movies) I Highly recommend this one to any Fans of the series, and to those new comers as I mentioned watch the first 3 movies first, if you enjoy them any you might like this one too.
    Expand
  50. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Final Destination 1-3 craved me, Final Destination 4 minimizes my addiction in this films, but they brought back my craziness to this film in Final Destination 5, they actually learned in every critics about their acting, those effects, etc. Horror standards are good, fantastic gory deaths, 3D usages. Fans will enjoy it ESPECIALLY when you watched the past films. SCARY yet FLEXIBLE. They got it, they deliver to good Final Destination. Expand
  51. Aug 13, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was honestly boring the whole bridge scenario was too similar to FD2 with the whole freeway thing. and the cast was ok. not all that. Some kills are LAUGHABLE!!! the way a gymnast girl dies is so unbelievably stupid!!!! and many things were so cliched! this movie is just for the money there isn't really a story to it and its unnecessary. The ending has a TWIST though. it shows that FD5 actually takes place in the beginning of FINAL DESTINATION 1... which doesn't make much sense because The "coroner" tells everyone to be careful because he's seen the whole cheating death scenario, and you'll eventually die! yet if THIS movie takes place BEFORE FD1. HOW DOES THE CORONER KNOW EVERYTHING HE DOES?!?!? hmm maybe a mistake? or SOME TWILIGHT ZONE SHI+ GOING ON!!! /////// overall its ok, the film is laughable, not scary but its somewhat of a good time if you don't have anything better to do! than waste 15 dollars! GO SEE RISE OF THE PLANET OF THE APES!!! OR 30 MINUTES OR LESS! Expand
  52. Aug 12, 2011
    7
    Regular movie, the previous Final Destination film was bad too, the first 3 were awesome, but it seems that they have lost interest in making them.

    However, this one is way better than its prequel, the fourth one.
  53. Aug 12, 2011
    7
    Final Destination 5 is stupid fun. Plain and simple. The visual effects are pretty spectacular, and the death sequences are well-staged and interspersed with bits of black humor and suspense. The 3D is occasionally surprising, if inconsequential. Overall, it's a pretty great way to get your gore on.
  54. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest films, with better acting and script than some of the previews ones (The Final Destination). Very good special effects and the 3D. The opening sequence was awesome, and the deaths where very scary with alot of suspense. One of the best of the franchise!!! :D Final Destination 5
  55. Aug 12, 2011
    6
    Final Destination 5 is quite a bit of a mixed bag. There are elements present that suggest that it should be a better movie than it actually is, but looking at each of the series' sequels, it's quite an accomplishment that this one manages to be as good as it is. The opening premonition (a bridge collapsing, if, for some reason, you don't already know) is easily the best sequence of any of the five Final Destinations. It's an amazing technological accomplishment that manages to create a palpable sense of dread; though you know the it's-only-a-premonition gotcha! is right around the corner, tension yields to pure fear as the bridge crumbles away in three dimensions. If you're an adrenaline junkie, this scene alone is well worth the admittedly bloated price of admission. The rest of the film doesn't live up to this sequence, but there are moments when the filmmakers know how to get under your skin, such as the well-advertised trapped-in-a-Lasik-chair and screw-on-a-balance-beam scenes. It's unlikely that you'll be able to guess the outcomes of the over-elaborate but still bizarrely jarring deathtraps the characters find themselves in. Much has been said about this entry's use of characterization, which, following every sequel, is understandable. Let's simply say that there *is* characterization. The characters are somewhat bland, but occasionally funny. The actors are all right, but wooden lines of dialogue (the ones that have been heard in each Final Destination film) still sound stilted. If nothing else, they convey full ranges of fear and terror, two emotions that likely won't serve them outside of the horror genre. The film includes some plot twists, but does little of interest with them; if you have seen the trailer, you know of one, and if you pay attention, the second one is frustratingly easy to guess. In the end, there's fun to be had here, but as a good number of the critic's reviews will tell you, you probably know whether you want to see Final Destination 5 or not. (A little forewarning to those who, like me, pick up on certain details: when the bridge collapses "for real," it collapses differently than in the premonition, which would, theoretically, change the order the characters "should" have died. The filmmakers don't make any use of this, so don't expect any curveballs of that sort. You can probably just regard it as what looks like a very expensive continuity error.) Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Aug 18, 2011
    38
    Isn't as novel as it hopes to be, but it gets the job done.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Aug 18, 2011
    40
    Can this be the end of Death? If only.
  3. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Aug 13, 2011
    70
    So tapped into its audience's giddy schadenfreude that beyond a kinkier-than-usual jolt of black humor and some clever red herrings, the formula remains rote.