Flight

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 349 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 349

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 14, 2016
    9
    A very entertaining movie to watch and what an awesome performance from Denzel.

    Watch this movie for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29bf6b-Flight-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
  2. Sep 29, 2015
    10
    This film is very good at character analysis and that it shows that things are not always what they seem to be with excellent performances from Denzel Washington. Flight is exciting - terrific, really - because in addition to the sophisticated storytelling techniques by which it keeps us hooked, it doesn't drag audience sympathies around by the nose, telling us what to think or how toThis film is very good at character analysis and that it shows that things are not always what they seem to be with excellent performances from Denzel Washington. Flight is exciting - terrific, really - because in addition to the sophisticated storytelling techniques by which it keeps us hooked, it doesn't drag audience sympathies around by the nose, telling us what to think or how to judge the reckless, charismatic protagonist played by Denzel Washington. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2015
    8
    With excellent performances from veteran actor Denzel Washington as the problematic Whip Whitaker, "Flight" tells the well-crafted story of his personal journey to rediscover the true man he is, above the addiction of alcohol.
  4. Mar 9, 2015
    7
    A good, solid story about the fall from glory of an arrogant pilot. It can be seen as a metaphor of addiction. Substance abuse makes you fly high, but you lose track of your limits and people around you start to dislike your self-centered attitude. Some of those people are lost forever; others may still be around to forgive you.

    The plot itself is about cocky airline pilot Whip, who
    A good, solid story about the fall from glory of an arrogant pilot. It can be seen as a metaphor of addiction. Substance abuse makes you fly high, but you lose track of your limits and people around you start to dislike your self-centered attitude. Some of those people are lost forever; others may still be around to forgive you.

    The plot itself is about cocky airline pilot Whip, who manages to save most of his passengers during a disastrous flight from Orlando to Atlanta. Despite (or because) being high on cocaine, Whip successfully performs a daredevil move and lands the plane on a field. There are six casualties though and legal actions to follow.

    Whip is in full denial of his addiction to cocaine and alcohol and manages to alienate everybody around him. Linked to the main story is a rather unnecessary subplot involving a female addict.
    Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2015
    9
    Wow! Oscar winning actor Denzel Washington plays a pilot! and then gets causes a plan accident cause he's intoxicated. Director Robert Zemeckis has an unique way telling stories, in this film he capture's Denzel's befuddle performance as the pilot. Grade B
  6. Jul 23, 2014
    9
    Flight is a cinematic masterpiece - it is emotionally captivating, a superb plot, and two oscar-worthy performances from its two oddly likeable leads.
  7. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    Flight just might be one of the best dramas of 2012. Denzel Washington plays a pilot who was able to save many people in a plane failure by pulling an amazing stunt. The plane was consisted doomed along with everyone aboard due to a mechanical malfunction. Denzel’s character was able to gain enough control resulting in the safety of many of the passengers on board. The crash scenario theFlight just might be one of the best dramas of 2012. Denzel Washington plays a pilot who was able to save many people in a plane failure by pulling an amazing stunt. The plane was consisted doomed along with everyone aboard due to a mechanical malfunction. Denzel’s character was able to gain enough control resulting in the safety of many of the passengers on board. The crash scenario the film portrays acts as only the driving point and set up for the following events. We soon find out the pilot may not be as heroic as the public views him, as information surfaces proving that the pilot was intoxicated. This leads to a very realistic series of events that builds tension and raises questions. Denzel Washington’s performance in Flight was spectacular and the way he unveiled his emotions was perfect. The cast was packed with excellent talent from John Goodman, Don Cheadle, and Bruce Greenwood all of whom played entertaining roles. The soundtrack was different than most dramas, but worked really well with the way it was edited together. My only major gripe with the film is the time taken to introduce characters that in the end didn’t really matter. Flight did an exceptional job of dealing with some heavy content, intense moments and heartfelt scenes. In the end, Flight soared. Expand
  8. Apr 28, 2014
    7
    A pretty well acted movie but I didn't enjoy the storyline to much. The characters in this movie were great and they were usually really funny. And I did really enjoy the plane crash and a couple other scenes but the movie wasn't amazing by any means. A couple and in particular one scene could have been removed and it could have lost its 18A rating and they were kind of un needed. A okA pretty well acted movie but I didn't enjoy the storyline to much. The characters in this movie were great and they were usually really funny. And I did really enjoy the plane crash and a couple other scenes but the movie wasn't amazing by any means. A couple and in particular one scene could have been removed and it could have lost its 18A rating and they were kind of un needed. A ok movie with good acting Expand
  9. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    While some may think Flight is just about a drunk, cocaine addict who has a drinking problem and confesses at the end, the film goes deeper than that. That is a very raw, unobserved way to put the storyline. While a narcissist might categorize the movie as a drug addiction film with drugs, beer, hooker and porn movies, I say, watch it again. Flight takes the tor of man who has addictionWhile some may think Flight is just about a drunk, cocaine addict who has a drinking problem and confesses at the end, the film goes deeper than that. That is a very raw, unobserved way to put the storyline. While a narcissist might categorize the movie as a drug addiction film with drugs, beer, hooker and porn movies, I say, watch it again. Flight takes the tor of man who has addiction problem, and add drama, suspense, and a kick-ass plane crash sequence to top it, probably one of the best scenes involving a plane ever. Denzel puts on his usual rock star performance, and the movie just goes into "flight" from there! Expand
  10. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    In this 2012 film, Director Robert Zemeckis shows-off his filmmaking chops in the film’s first forty-five phenomenal minutes. The plane crash in Flight is spectacular and original. A fresh new take and a welcome addition to the genre, it’s unlike any other plane crash I’ve seen before.

    Preparing for its final decent into Atlanta the MD-80 aircraft of Southjet Flight 227 severely
    In this 2012 film, Director Robert Zemeckis shows-off his filmmaking chops in the film’s first forty-five phenomenal minutes. The plane crash in Flight is spectacular and original. A fresh new take and a welcome addition to the genre, it’s unlike any other plane crash I’ve seen before.

    Preparing for its final decent into Atlanta the MD-80 aircraft of Southjet Flight 227 severely malfunctions. The elevator, the hinged wings on the plane’s tail stick downward, sending the plane into a steep dive. A disastrous crash is almost certain, but with ace pilot Captain Whip Whitaker (Denzel Washington) at the controls, he and his crew pull off a remarkable feat and save hundreds of lives.

    After the gripping first act, the rest of film the film is propelled forward solely by Washington who is in fine form, yet despite this, the film mostly drags on. Many long, unnecessary, and awkward scenes could have easily have been cut, and the film would have been better for it. Parts of the back-story of Whitaker’s life work great, while others are just too convenient to be believable.

    Flight tries to be more than just a plane crash film. The film delves deep into the destruction alcoholism can cause, and also attempts to tackle the question of what it is to be a hero.

    While drudging up some very interesting and heavy material, considering the film’s length of 2hr 18min, a much clearer statement of intent would have been nice. Since Captain Whitaker is an alcoholic, there is a ton of backlash against him, but the dialogue on the subject of whether or not a drunk can be a hero, is far from concluded.
    Expand
  11. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Ever since the movie Flight came out, people have been raving about it, but I didn't understand why until I actually sat down to watch it. Denzel Washington is one of my favorite actors, so I was going to see it either way, but I wasn't expecting it to be what it was. The previews and commercial all focused on the crash and the hero who made an impossible move to land the plane safely, butEver since the movie Flight came out, people have been raving about it, but I didn't understand why until I actually sat down to watch it. Denzel Washington is one of my favorite actors, so I was going to see it either way, but I wasn't expecting it to be what it was. The previews and commercial all focused on the crash and the hero who made an impossible move to land the plane safely, but in reality that's just a small part of the movie. The true focus of the movie is on the troubled life of pilot, Whip Whitaker (Washington), whose demons seem to find him wherever he goes. When he's in the air, Whip is at peace and away from a life of hardship and disappointments, but after the crash, he's unable to fly and has to face that life head on. The film itself was actually a bit slow after the thrilling introduction and the excitement on board the plane. At parts during this film, I was bored, but it's necessary to bring the story together into an unexpected conclusion. Sometimes, a film is slow and it's just not worth it to sit there, but Flight is different. The film may lack something in the middle, but it is well worth you're time. The story is out of this world and Denzel Washington shows that he hasn't lost a thing. This man brings such a strong presents to everything that he does, that often times I find myself overlooking the entire rest of the cast. There are a lot of big names in this film, that all become forgettable after the performance Washington gives. Even though this film came out at the wrong time, if he doesn't receive the Academies attention for this role, then there is a gaping flaw in their system. The story is fantastic, Denzel Washington is nothing short of amazing, and this story will stick with you long after the film is over, I can not recommend it enough! Expand
  12. Oct 5, 2013
    8
    Although I liked this film I did find it a little too long; in fact I have to admit that I watched it in two halves. From a totally stunning sequence at the start I felt it lost momentum for a while, that was until I became embroiled in the drama of Whip Whitaker’s story. It’s quite a tale and an excellent performance from Denzel Washington holds it all together quite brilliantly. I alsoAlthough I liked this film I did find it a little too long; in fact I have to admit that I watched it in two halves. From a totally stunning sequence at the start I felt it lost momentum for a while, that was until I became embroiled in the drama of Whip Whitaker’s story. It’s quite a tale and an excellent performance from Denzel Washington holds it all together quite brilliantly. I also thought Kelly Reilly did a pretty good job as well. But back to the opening sequence for a moment, for me it ranks as one of the best special effects driven sequences I’ve seen in a very long time and hats off to all involved. Taken as a whole, the film does take the audience on quite a journey and I know for some it couldn’t quite live up to that crash sequence. For me I thought it held together pretty well, mainly thanks to the acting skills of Mr Washington. Over all, definitely worth a watch but don’t get blown away by the crash sequence, there’s a lot more depth to it than that.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

    My score: 7.8/10
    Expand
  13. Aug 10, 2013
    7
    Flight is not what I thought it would be but was still a good movie. I have never seen Denzel or Don Cheadle in a complete bad movie so of course this was good. They list Nadine Velazquez like shes a big part of this movie but shes really not besides some exposing scenes.
  14. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Flight masters the most sincere and meaningful way to portray a man who we want to feel sympathetic towards, but find it difficult to so, as his reckless and arrogant behaviour plagues a tragic accident that he was directly involved with. The man in question is Whip Whitaker, an airline pilot, played by Denzel Washington, who gives an engrossing and driven performance as the damaged pilot,Flight masters the most sincere and meaningful way to portray a man who we want to feel sympathetic towards, but find it difficult to so, as his reckless and arrogant behaviour plagues a tragic accident that he was directly involved with. The man in question is Whip Whitaker, an airline pilot, played by Denzel Washington, who gives an engrossing and driven performance as the damaged pilot, who saves many lives after a mechanical failure results in the plane he is piloting to nose dive towards the ground, but with death comes responsibility, and Whip must answer many questions as to the events of the crash, especially when he was drunk and high while flying the plane.
    The film kicks it into high gear right from the beginning, as we see Whip holding his confidence in the tightest of situations, the spectacular scenes involving the plane being upside down and the excellent cinematography within the plane create quite a frightening and realistic experience, but the power of Washington's performance excels beyond this, he seems like a man possessed when danger arises, nothing like the nervous and ashamed alcoholic we meet as the film progresses, something which he shares in common with Nicole (Kelly Reilly), a struggling drug user who comes into Whips life as he begins to feel the effects of a 'survivor guilt' scenario, something which turns him back to the bottle.
    As mentioned, the film is a character study above everything else, its difficult to feel any sort of feelings of despair for the man on the screen when he will seemingly throw it back. Don Cheadle plays the attorney who is attempting to remove the toxicology report from a hearing scheduled for Whip, but as Whip continues to struggle with his demons, he leaves very little reason for anyone to help him.
    Stellar performances make this film what it is, Washington goes above and beyond to portray a man who is truly shocked and saddened by what happened, even if it is proven not to be his fault, but he finds nobody there to turn to. John Goodman seeks out his funnier side again to play the dealer for Whip, giving some comic tone to the otherwise thrilling film. Where the film doesn't succeed is its final act, which seems typically paced to suit the needs of those seeking a moral ending, because this wasn't a moral film, it was driven by one man and his mission to destroy himself to try and forget, and while it can be argued this was the case for his eventual moral side kicking in, it just felt entirely out of tone.
    But that aside, the film perfects telling a troubled story with great detail with an equally powerful performance from Washington, showing a man who is conflicted about life but confident in what he is good at.
    Expand
  15. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    Flight is an interesting and well acted movie about a man battling with alcoholism. The movie suffers a little by being overlong but overall it's a decent cautionary tale.
  16. Jul 22, 2013
    7
    Great story, a bit discouraging and kinda diced it in the end, perhaps they even tried to convince you in seeing some positivity in being locked up in prison. No, the end was ruined for me.
    I guess apart from that i can say i enjoyed it, (except for the real naked honesty in the beginning)...
  17. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    If you're judging this movie purely on the various elements of cinematic categories (such as acting, production value, plot development, etc.) it's an incredible movie. Denzel Washington delivers one of his best performances and that's saying something because he's one of the best there is or has ever been. The supporting cast of Don Cheadle, Kelly Reilly, Bruce Greenwood, and John GoodmanIf you're judging this movie purely on the various elements of cinematic categories (such as acting, production value, plot development, etc.) it's an incredible movie. Denzel Washington delivers one of his best performances and that's saying something because he's one of the best there is or has ever been. The supporting cast of Don Cheadle, Kelly Reilly, Bruce Greenwood, and John Goodman is fantastic as well. The special effects were also done incredibly well. The plane crash was impressive and looked amazingly realistic. The movie, while really long, didn't drag either because the plot developed well and the characters felt authentic. So why the just pretty good rating? Because what's the purpose of a movie? To me it is to be entertained and I have always had trouble enjoying a film when the protagonist is such a detestable character, which Washington's was. There was also quite a bit of completely unnecessary nudity. Sure, Nadine Velazquez is absolutely breathtaking but was that opening scene really necessary? It seemed forced and more for shock effect than anything else. Nonetheless, this was still a very good movie and I think most people would enjoy it. Expand
  18. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This is no Robert Zemekis movie. This is something much more. Truly, this is a different direction that Zemekis has taken, but he without a doubt pulled it off. Flight is an engaging movie that soars in both acting and storytelling. But for sure, Denzel Washington's portrayal of Whip Whitaker is what helps make the movie so magnificent. Also, the movie had some amazing screenplay. JohnThis is no Robert Zemekis movie. This is something much more. Truly, this is a different direction that Zemekis has taken, but he without a doubt pulled it off. Flight is an engaging movie that soars in both acting and storytelling. But for sure, Denzel Washington's portrayal of Whip Whitaker is what helps make the movie so magnificent. Also, the movie had some amazing screenplay. John Gatins is a pure genius. I hope he keeps writing these awesome screenplays. One supporting character that struck me was John Goodman. The movie's that he's been lately are for sure putting him back on the radar. This is the comeback of John Goodman. I can't wait for him to bring back Sulley in "Monster's University." The only thing about this movie is that I wish it was nominated for best picture. It really deserved it! Overall, it's a breathtaking story that soars. Expand
  19. May 22, 2013
    7
    Denzel Washington is the king of drama movies that's it no one could play that role better than him
    overall great movie and great story and Washington made it hard to not look at the screen.
  20. Apr 4, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The actions sequences in the beginning of the film are top notch. Denzel is excellent in his roll as he usually is. However I was disappointed in the plot flaws at the end. The coked up state he is put into to handle the questioning is far from believable and contrived for a "hip" plot twist.The questions about his opinion on a stewardesses sobriety in flight as the pilot are absurd. But even more so is his inability to answer a simple "I don't know" to the questioning. His unrealistic breakdown is an insult to intelligent viewers. Should have had an alternative finish. Expand
  21. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quite a good movie about a complicated character. He's obviously good at his craft of flying and because of that he saves the life of many people, but he does so while being high and drunk. If you've ever been close to someone who's an alcoholic or drug addict (or if you've been there yourself), it's quite hard to watch Denzel's character seemingly breakthrough and become sober, only to fall hard in the end. Well done, and well acted all the way through. Expand
  22. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    This is a good film not a great one. Denzel Washington gives a good performance that makes this film better then it is. So overall a good performance from Denzel that lifts this film to a 7 for me.
  23. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    Honestly, this was not what I expected going in, but all the same, it was a very good movie. Denzel Washington, as expected, was fantastic and the movie was captivating to the end.
  24. Mar 7, 2013
    7
    This is not an amazing movie, nor is it a bad movie. It is enjoyable with all actors involved portaying believable characters.

    The strongest parts of the film are the first 30 mins and the last 30 mins. Your brain can switch off during the middle as it is quite boring and doesn't impact the ending. Of particular note is the hotel rooms scene near the end. Really funny and brought
    This is not an amazing movie, nor is it a bad movie. It is enjoyable with all actors involved portaying believable characters.

    The strongest parts of the film are the first 30 mins and the last 30 mins. Your brain can switch off during the middle as it is quite boring and doesn't impact the ending.

    Of particular note is the hotel rooms scene near the end. Really funny and brought back memories.
    Expand
  25. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Ótima mescla de Drama e Ação, as cenas do avião são sensacionais, muito boa as montagens e sequencias, muito tenso. Denzel está num dos melhores, senão o melhor dos seus filmes, a batalha dele com as drogas e principalmente o álcool se refletir. Excelente Filme!!
  26. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    Robert Zemeckis is back to his live action finest with Flight, a film that deconstructs the life of a hero until there is nothing left. Sounds depressing? It kinda is, but like most Zemeckis movies its full of heart. The film tells the story of Whip Whitaker (Denzel Washington), a pilot who saves countless lives when his plane loses control. However when he hits the ground his life isRobert Zemeckis is back to his live action finest with Flight, a film that deconstructs the life of a hero until there is nothing left. Sounds depressing? It kinda is, but like most Zemeckis movies its full of heart. The film tells the story of Whip Whitaker (Denzel Washington), a pilot who saves countless lives when his plane loses control. However when he hits the ground his life is upended by the airlines investigation into the crash and his life, which threatens to reveal his alcoholism. While the film does feel opinionated and at times a little naive (the ending is exceptionally so) it is also one of the most engrossing studies of alcoholism ever devoted to film. Denzel Washington is captivating as Whip, a man like most alcoholics in denial. His commitment to the role is astonishing and there is not a moment in the film you don't truly believe this character is real, that he would exist in a real world. There isn't a moment in this film where you don't think Denzel deserves all the adulation he has received for this role, its by far his best performance to date. In fact I may be offending Daniel Day Lewis fans when I say that Denzel was by far the more deserving nominee at this years Oscars. Even from the beginning of the film you are captivated by not just the opening sequences but by this character because not only is he broken but hes also charismatic and dare I say it, charming. However the film also soars in its technical aspects as well as the film starts with a pure adrenaline shot as it shows you in full the crash, every little detail. The editing is fantastic but the direction by Zemeckis is what makes it exhilarating. His attention to detail makes the crash tense and genuinely terrifying. The films only action sequence is crafted lovingly and with great skill gripping you to your seat so you just have to watch the rest even if the film settles into a much more serious area of discussion for the remainder. Despite the fact he is supported by some great actors like Don Cheadle and John Goodman, this is Washington's film and Zemeckis shows him at his best. The only downside is the film finds the need to inject some Forrest Gump schmaltz into the film as it draws to a close when it really isn't necessary at all but its to be expected from Zemeckis and it only annoys in the moment as the rest of the film is so good you can't help but remember the many good things over the solitary mistake Expand
  27. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    In an epic tale of man versus booze, Denzel Washington takes flight in one of his best roles as a deeply disturbed alcoholic pilot. He takes the audience into a private struggle, one that can easily draw us to root for this man brimming with flaws, but inadvertently hailed as a hero. The lies he makes, and the way he tells them in almost self-convincing way is sometimes lightly humorous,In an epic tale of man versus booze, Denzel Washington takes flight in one of his best roles as a deeply disturbed alcoholic pilot. He takes the audience into a private struggle, one that can easily draw us to root for this man brimming with flaws, but inadvertently hailed as a hero. The lies he makes, and the way he tells them in almost self-convincing way is sometimes lightly humorous, although the persisting issue is a heavy one.

    Whip Whitaker (Denzel Washington) is a heavyweight drinker, with occasion cocaine sniffing as break in between, I was informed about many types of liquors just by watching him drink. In his line of profession as a pilot, in which he's extremely gifted, it's a serious offense. Certainly, flying with an intoxicated pilot is no way to start any vacation. However, in a time of emergency, he manages to land a crumbling plane, in a stylish way, to boot. This instantly makes him a hero, but the follow-up investigation might just reveal his addiction and pretty much ruin his life.

    Nicole Maggen (Kelly Reilley) is an attractive red haired drug addict whose life entwined with Whip's, solely because they are treated in the same hospital. Whip sees her as a somewhat an escape from real life, meeting her seems rather surreal, not to mention at such junction of his life. Ultimately Nicole realizes her addiction problem and tries to find help, which proved to be a rude awakening for Whip to face his own problem.

    Hugh Lang (Don Cheadle) is Whip's attorney in the investigation. He tries to save Whip’s career, partially because of duty and perhaps some appreciation for Whip, but he eventually finds himself weighted down by Whip's erratic behavior. Hugh is involved professionally, though he resembles an incidental ally at times. John Goodman, whose entrance is the song "Sympathy for The Devil", is Whip's crack dealer. A shady acquaintance, evil Santa, who gives dark respite for Whip at his darker times.

    With fast and highly engaging screenplay, it highlights the few days of alcoholic's life with interesting perspective. Often his deception shows much confidence, but he falters when he's alone, these scenes is wittily shown sometimes even with barely dialogues in them. The start and the end provide more bombastic scenes, the first plane crash sequence is very engrossing as it puts the audience right besides these characters in their desperate time.

    Flight could've been an entirely bleak or somber movie, but it takes us into a man's journey to face his demon, merely as audience and with tongue-in-cheek humor. As result, it is a brilliant tale of triumph.
    Expand
  28. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Denzel is hitting on all cylinders in this drama. The believability of Denzel's character is an A. The moral pitfalls that collide here will make many viewers question their own lives.
  29. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    A genuinely nerve racking drama which combines top notch performance from Denzel of the multilayered flawed hero and near perfect direction to match. And it is not only the admittedly very impressive flight sequence in the start of the film, but the dram that unfold that keeps audience on their toes.
  30. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    This movie actually surprised me. I thought it was going to be like Flightplan with Denzel but it actually was a sustainable thought out drama instead of a three star action movie. It was a great feat of showing alcoholism in a negative light with an interesting story line. Not incredible but a very good movie that will get some critical acclaim.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Jan 28, 2013
    80
    A welcome return to live-action filmmaking for Zemeckis, who hasn't lost his knack for a brilliant shot or for extracting great performances. It may not exactly be a first-class experience throughout, but there's nothing wrong with premium economy.
  2. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    Nov 7, 2012
    80
    We get tired of watching Whip fail, and we're caught between dismayed pity and a longing to see him punished. Only a great actor could have pulled off this balancing act. [12 Nov. 2012, p.94]
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 4, 2012
    75
    It may not be frivolously engaging but it is compelling.