Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 6, 1994
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1043 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
807
Mixed:
30
Negative:
206
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
nboley08Aug 17, 2010
One of the most American movies ever made. A brilliant tale of the American Dream narrated by a simple man with simple pleasures. Hanks is at his stunning best here, and Zemeckis proved that he's more than just a technological wizard when itOne of the most American movies ever made. A brilliant tale of the American Dream narrated by a simple man with simple pleasures. Hanks is at his stunning best here, and Zemeckis proved that he's more than just a technological wizard when it comes to making movies. A classic that deserves to be adored for decades to come. Expand
19 of 24 users found this helpful195
All this user's reviews
10
OviJ.May 27, 2006
A beautiful movie...by far the best i've seen yet... historically accurate (at least in most places) and has a great ending..though sad Everyone should watch this movie and give credit to its actors...especially Tom Hanks.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LeanneL.Apr 12, 2006
I loved this movie i thought it was super funny and i liked even though he was slow and ppl made fun of him because of it he still knew how to ignore them and didnt let it bother him he went on with his life and thats how it should be but as I loved this movie i thought it was super funny and i liked even though he was slow and ppl made fun of him because of it he still knew how to ignore them and didnt let it bother him he went on with his life and thats how it should be but as a overall rating i liked the movie alot! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
One_SIC_Ma666otAug 4, 2011
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------The--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------The perfect film, Tom Hanks at his finest. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BinkiJun 26, 2011
One of the best movies of all time. A must-see. Tom Hanks is simply fantastic. Everyone must see this film once in their lives, it's a real masterpiece.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
HenrikL.Jan 11, 2006
A great movie! Tom Hanks is an exellent actor and his performance as playing disabled is very good. As we go through Gump`s life, we also go trough modern American history!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MohithKOct 11, 2006
Good narration of the movie and an in depth feeling brought about in each character. The characters playing around had also been perfectly synchronized with Gump's life like Lt. Dan Taylor, a wonderful acting performance by Tom and Dan.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShaneK.Aug 3, 2006
Simply the best acting performance in the history of filmmaking.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RaikL.Sep 25, 2006
great great great, in English even more than in German.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DerekM.May 28, 2007
This captivating look at some of the most profound modern American history and pop-culture demonstrates a true storytelling experience, and expresses the idea that any one man can have a great impact on the world without the knowledge of This captivating look at some of the most profound modern American history and pop-culture demonstrates a true storytelling experience, and expresses the idea that any one man can have a great impact on the world without the knowledge of doing so, and that intelligence is not a lack of wisdom, or of character, and if possible, the child-like innocence captured by Gump's obvious handicaps make him more of a compassionate and loving human being than any lying and big-headed member of society gifted with intelligence. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulL.Aug 13, 2008
What a magical movie through the eyes of Forrest Gump. This is a phenomenon of a simple man who changed the world forever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
nandishhSep 13, 2009
One Of The Greatest Movie and Greatest Book Adaptation ever. Certainly among the Top5 films of the past 2 decades.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LargeNov 27, 2006
Best movie I have seen. Tom Hanks does excellent job as an actor, but the best part of this movie is the way of telling the story. In addition the whole story tells something about the history of USA. This movie has everything.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JuliOct 13, 2006
It's the best movie I have ever seen!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BitBurnDec 25, 2006
Any movie that has a deep effect on society...."run Forrest Run!" and "Life is like a box of chocolate; you never know what you gonna get!" deserves a perfect score!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EmilyE.Jan 31, 2006
This was one of the best movies i have ever seen in my whole life. I laughed, i cried, i was angry i really had real emotions during this movie one of the greatest movies that have ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BenS.May 18, 2006
I love Tom Hanks as he is realy fit and reminds me of myself!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KatherineJul 24, 2006
One of the greatest films Tom Hanks has done. I love the humore, the sadnest, the happinest. When it's sad, you can feel the pain that Forrest goes through. Or atleast I can. I always cry whenever someone dies. I can really feel his One of the greatest films Tom Hanks has done. I love the humore, the sadnest, the happinest. When it's sad, you can feel the pain that Forrest goes through. Or atleast I can. I always cry whenever someone dies. I can really feel his pain. A really great movie that everyone should see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JBAug 11, 2006
It's the story of a man who lived an epic life and didn't even realize it. One of the most original and truly worthwhile films in Hollywood history. A must see for film buffs.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinAug 21, 2006
This is an absolutely incredible movie. Every element of it is well done and it illustrates better than anything I've seen the American experience that we all can relate to. All around, it's the best movie I've seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 29, 2007
I can still remember sitting in the theater, watching this film. I was completely blown away by it. My reaction is still the same 13 years later. Tom Hanks gives a great performance as Forrest. However, my favorite character was Mama Gump, I can still remember sitting in the theater, watching this film. I was completely blown away by it. My reaction is still the same 13 years later. Tom Hanks gives a great performance as Forrest. However, my favorite character was Mama Gump, played perfectly by Sally Field. In my opinion, she should have won an Oscar for best actress. If you haven't seen this film, I highly recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelJApr 29, 2009
Stunning in every way imaginable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AhmedTMay 14, 2009
One of the best movies Ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ArielleF.May 23, 2009
One of my favorite movies of all time. It's worth buying on DVD, no doubt about it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
louisdJun 23, 2009
Forest gump is one of those films which even today is not dated and will never be. Tom hanks unlike Tom cruise can actually act in every way. I've seen this film many times and i love it. Like Forest this film will run and run into Forest gump is one of those films which even today is not dated and will never be. Tom hanks unlike Tom cruise can actually act in every way. I've seen this film many times and i love it. Like Forest this film will run and run into history as one of the greatest films ever made period. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BenAug 19, 2008
Probably the best movie I have ever seen in my life, and definitely my favorite movie of all time. Tom Hanks does an incredible job as Forrest Gump, definitely a buy for me!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShawnRJan 22, 2009
Absolutely one of the greatest films ever made! It's a movie about life and emotions we all go through at one time or another in life. Anyone who doesn't like the film is an OVER analytical moron missing the fun things in life... Absolutely one of the greatest films ever made! It's a movie about life and emotions we all go through at one time or another in life. Anyone who doesn't like the film is an OVER analytical moron missing the fun things in life... this movie being one of them. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JayTApr 17, 2009
Definitely one of the best movies out there. And about the part where some slow guy just happens to have one of the most successful life isn't a bad thing: it adds to the fun!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackKApr 23, 2009
3 words. Awesome, Outstanding and unforgettable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ajNov 28, 2005
One of the best movies i have ever seen. I like the way they mix historical events with comedy. Tom Hanks puts on an amazing performance as Forrest Gump.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyGuyNov 16, 2006
Quite possible one of the best movies ever made! A feel good movie with character. A movie like this only comes once a lifetime.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BorisPNov 28, 2006
What I enjoy most about this film is the theme of "creating your own destiny vs. fate." Because Forrest is kind of floating around on a whim the whole time- but is it because that's what he was destined to do? Or did it all just kind of What I enjoy most about this film is the theme of "creating your own destiny vs. fate." Because Forrest is kind of floating around on a whim the whole time- but is it because that's what he was destined to do? Or did it all just kind of fall into his lap? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
gm101Feb 23, 2011
This is one of the few non-summer blockbusters that I love. Tom Hanks did an incredible job here. And this movie definitely deserved its Oscar for Best Picture.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
This film is amazing. Tom Hanks was great in it and played the role perfectly. I think it also did a funny re-telling of some historical events. You cant help but love this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Beautiful, charming, a ironic and fantastic story told with big passion, a script which verge the surreal, but does the retract of a charismatic character, a anti-hero with charisma of a hero, a story which bring us to get enamored by theBeautiful, charming, a ironic and fantastic story told with big passion, a script which verge the surreal, but does the retract of a charismatic character, a anti-hero with charisma of a hero, a story which bring us to get enamored by the meter of the story. And the soundtrack? Damn straight, really flawless! A movie with Doors' music in the soundtrack already deserves my respect, and plus more than one, really impressive. Tom Hanks, really, embodies the character so exceptional! Very well directed too, might say in passing. I can't believe that I took so long to watch this film. I didn't know what I was losing. This movie is one of those which makes me remember why do I love so much movies. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MustisTheCatAug 2, 2011
For me this movie is just Tom Hanks. The story is there and it is fine, but everything depended on the 1st role actor. I hear often that is is easy for an actor to play an imbecil but I sure doubt that anyone could play it as well as Hanks.For me this movie is just Tom Hanks. The story is there and it is fine, but everything depended on the 1st role actor. I hear often that is is easy for an actor to play an imbecil but I sure doubt that anyone could play it as well as Hanks. At first I did not find the character believable. It seemed to have Hanks in the wrong flick. After like 15minutes of dubbing I found myself totally submerged in the story. A young, stupid boy who somehow managed to live his life with honor and without hurting anyone else. Everything thanks to his mother who loved him so much. This movie sneaks up on us like we never seen it and a simple little chain of events becomes a huge story of a man and life and what it is all about. Serious, funny and dramatic at the same time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Spielberg00Aug 27, 2011
If you've seen THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON (a life story made 14 years after this movie), think of that, then add some humor. I still don't see why this would win Best Picture, though...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FIlmsareawesomeAug 28, 2011
Tom Hanks Delivered the best performance of his career by portrying Forrest Gump. The idea of the movie was just amazing. "Run Forrest Run", this film was so inspirational, when I watched i couldn't believe it, I mean Forrest never stopped,Tom Hanks Delivered the best performance of his career by portrying Forrest Gump. The idea of the movie was just amazing. "Run Forrest Run", this film was so inspirational, when I watched i couldn't believe it, I mean Forrest never stopped, we always had to do something, and he chased for things, he wasn't waiting for them to fall off the sky, so for me that was special. The Relationship of Forrest & Jenny, and they encounters after years and stuff like that gave a original flavour to the whole movie. The Directing was awesome, this was truly the best film that Robert Zemeckis ever made. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
asbeloliverMar 6, 2012
This film has everything, love, conflict, drama, humor, unforgettable characters, an amazing script, revolutionary effects, funny moments, touching moments, values, teachings, Robert Zemeckis spectacular address the outstanding performance ofThis film has everything, love, conflict, drama, humor, unforgettable characters, an amazing script, revolutionary effects, funny moments, touching moments, values, teachings, Robert Zemeckis spectacular address the outstanding performance of Tom Hanks, was a overwhelming box office success, won the Oscar for Best Picture, is in Congress, is loved by millions of people around the world, what more could you want. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
spadenxDec 15, 2011
Its a great film, While there maybe a few parts that annoy you or make you lose interest, Its still worth the watch. Tom Hanks is amazing in this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobDec 26, 2012
A hilarious and touching comedy and one of the greatest films of all time. Forrest Gump is the kind of movie that you simply can not miss. It's a must watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JaySupertrampFeb 5, 2012
You can reach everything if you only want to!
Emotional and funny at the same time. A Masterpiece in movie history that no one should miss to watch. 10/10 Points!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Rhcploverxx833Jul 22, 2012
One of the best movies I've ever seen! Tom Hanks Performance is incredible. It made me look at some stuff in a whole new perspective. Forrest Gump is autistic and the way he sees life and understands it is so optimistic and different fromOne of the best movies I've ever seen! Tom Hanks Performance is incredible. It made me look at some stuff in a whole new perspective. Forrest Gump is autistic and the way he sees life and understands it is so optimistic and different from what we see it like when he's sent with the army to Vietnam and the shooting and bombings begin he goes back to rescue everyone and he is like "Bubba is my best friend I had to make sure he was ok" most people wouldn't even have a thought like that and that what makes him so amazing. The movie is charming and fantastic, the actors are great, the scrip is fantastic... The movie created a great balance between the whole emotions: one scene I can find myself laughing so hard and the next crying or feeling sad. I highly recommend this movie to everyone! it's a movie you must watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
broodyjokerSep 3, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this movie.
No No, this is not movie; this is life and love... and stupid :D
this movie brougth my tears :(
I love you Forrest, Forrest Gump!
a beautiful beginning, and end the tragic and very beautiful.
the best movie for all times...
if you did not see it, See it!

"Mama says: Stupid is as stupid does."
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KarryptoSep 7, 2012
"Forrest Gump" is just an epic movie that touches people throughout all ages and generations. The simplicity of this film is the main reason to love it. Everyone can lern something from this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Sheldonc1981Sep 29, 2012
In my opinion, Forrest Gump is the greatest film in American history. It makes clear references to historical events, but seen through the eyes of a mentally-handicap man. I am a history buff, so I loved it. Forrest is such a likeableIn my opinion, Forrest Gump is the greatest film in American history. It makes clear references to historical events, but seen through the eyes of a mentally-handicap man. I am a history buff, so I loved it. Forrest is such a likeable character and it makes it hard not to like him. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009Jan 5, 2014
Obra extraordinária.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZekeMarshFeb 24, 2013
A beautiful movie. Loved every single character in the movie and it gets real emotional as you progress through the movie. I could re-watch it infinite times and still shred a few tears and enjoy it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
SEROJJun 2, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is really meaningful! It has all the american history of 20th century in it! For me it was more comedy. But trust me, "Forrest Gump" could be a lot better! Why that girl broke up with him 4 times? Why during his speech about the war in Vietnam, some guy plugged out the cables? I thought he realized something and was going to say a great speech, when he turned around after he ran million miles! And my biggest question is why this movie has won 6 oscars? I think it's a good movie, but i really believe it's overrated and if you're wondering to watch it or not, let me warn you. This movie is philosophical! "Forrest Gump" is really smart movie, but my personal score is 5/10, because i wasn't impressed from what i saw. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
This charming and wondrous film is hilarious and at the same time, touching. Exceptional cast.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Jim222001Oct 11, 2014
It's pretty disrespectful that when this Best Picture was released in theaters recently; critics chose hate on it and put it down to 71% good reviews. No way is Forrest Gump a bad movie. It's a classic about just being yourself and how yourIt's pretty disrespectful that when this Best Picture was released in theaters recently; critics chose hate on it and put it down to 71% good reviews. No way is Forrest Gump a bad movie. It's a classic about just being yourself and how your actions make you stupid; not the size of your IQ. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Jul 12, 2015
Tom Hanks in a modern virtuous story of the unexpected milestones in life, as the title character with a mental disability and a lucky talent in running, football ,and ping pong who becomes involved in many important events that shaped ourTom Hanks in a modern virtuous story of the unexpected milestones in life, as the title character with a mental disability and a lucky talent in running, football ,and ping pong who becomes involved in many important events that shaped our future for the 21st century, in a spectacular triumph of the american dream in all men.

Robert Zemeckis' visionary direction and special oscar winning visual effects is a revolutionary act of chemistry that has changed my views of art forever, a film that makes the impossible possible!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
JLeighJun 25, 2015
A vile, offensive, lazy shambles of a film that is so saccharine its a wonder watching it doesn't give you diabetes. Please don't watch it if you haven't.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DanicaG.Jan 13, 2008
One of my favorite movies of all time! What an amazing story that is told which displays all of the joys, pains, and victories that Forrest's character has encountered throughout his life. What a beautiful story, one that I can watch One of my favorite movies of all time! What an amazing story that is told which displays all of the joys, pains, and victories that Forrest's character has encountered throughout his life. What a beautiful story, one that I can watch over and over again. You really feel connected with Forrest's character. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful
10
RossO.Nov 21, 2007
Has every element of a perfect film. Even Hitler would have melted at this.
7 of 8 users found this helpful
10
PierreC.Dec 3, 2007
When I rate a movie, I try to imagine the best possible scenario for that movie. Everything from the acting (e.g. Tom Hanks) to the cinematography was spectacular. I could honestly not imagine it done differently. It's an inspirational When I rate a movie, I try to imagine the best possible scenario for that movie. Everything from the acting (e.g. Tom Hanks) to the cinematography was spectacular. I could honestly not imagine it done differently. It's an inspirational and captivating film that everyone should watch in their lifetime. Pure gold! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
AlexJun 1, 2008
One of, if not the most inspiring movie I have ever seen. Has everything you could ask for from a film and more.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
MikeJ.Dec 17, 2007
I think that the people who dont like this movie arent really watching it like they should be. this movie brings together so much of what makes America, America. we have liberals and conservatives, good and bad, black and white, innocents I think that the people who dont like this movie arent really watching it like they should be. this movie brings together so much of what makes America, America. we have liberals and conservatives, good and bad, black and white, innocents and guilt, and that is what makes us who we are. by seeing our world through these views we find out who we are and what we believe in. so, if you don't like this movie, try watching it one more time and look for a deeper meaning. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
EdgarSep 22, 2007
its a really cool movie very entertaining, Forrest is a cool guy and the lieutenant Dan gives a fun touch to the movie
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AlmasI.Aug 22, 2007
This movie is amazing. I want to watch it again and again. One of the best movies what a mankind ever done.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
9
nicholas_danielDec 27, 2011
People often mistake nostalgia for sentimentality, as is the case with Forrest Gump, which exudes nostalgia. It is also easy for the cynic to scoff at the manipulative innocence of such a character as Forrest Gump. However, its effectivenessPeople often mistake nostalgia for sentimentality, as is the case with Forrest Gump, which exudes nostalgia. It is also easy for the cynic to scoff at the manipulative innocence of such a character as Forrest Gump. However, its effectiveness is undeniable. Forrest overturns every cornerstone in modern American history and allows us to rediscover what a wonder it was to live in 20th century America. All the while, Forrest takes no sides, judges no one, and holds no grudges. Of course, this does not make him a saint, because he appears to not have the mental capacity for such actions. Consequentially, he only has the capacity to see things in terms of those he loves rather than those he hates. Ideologically, he is a simpleton, but can anyone argue with the tangible results? Half of the comedic irony lies in the fact the he survives and lives to tell his story, with no regrets, despite being "slow". The films power lies in notions of right and wrong. In that regard, Forrest is a reflection of those he loves, namely Jenny and his Momma, and they are the ones who influence him. Because those who influence him are benevolent, he turns out to be what we all wish we could be; a lover rather than a hater, candidly honest rather than a liar, all the time. It's tough to imagine a world where everyone always chooses the alternative to malevolent hatred and deception. Whether out of pure righteousness, or because his "Momma" told him, Forrest gives us a glimpse of at least a microcosm of that world through his actions, and it is an experience I will never forget. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
StefanH.Mar 8, 2006
Just the very best movie ever made, apart from "The Godfather". Everybody rating it below 10 is not capable of understanding this movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AnshuR.Oct 28, 2007
it will be a sin to vote this movie any less than 10. Forrest Gump is a character any man on this earth can relate to. its a masterpiece of mankind's creation. there is not a single moment you will feel that you want to have a break it will be a sin to vote this movie any less than 10. Forrest Gump is a character any man on this earth can relate to. its a masterpiece of mankind's creation. there is not a single moment you will feel that you want to have a break while watching the movie. its filled with emotions, stupidity with humor and it touches the viewer's souls. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
CassieT.Jul 9, 2007
A great film. Forrest Gump's childlike attitude all through life is refreshing and funny 10/10 all the way
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
bananasquareJul 10, 2008
Tom hanks has performed unspeakably well!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MovieLonely94Sep 5, 2011
It is very easy to understand that I haven't read the novel in which this film was based on, but that doesn't take away anything about how much I liked this film.

I liked the whole story about Forrest Gump's life as it revolves around him
It is very easy to understand that I haven't read the novel in which this film was based on, but that doesn't take away anything about how much I liked this film.

I liked the whole story about Forrest Gump's life as it revolves around him and his personalities which makes it one of the best ones yet.

I'm telling you, this film is not only one of the finest movies ever made, but one of the greatest masterpieces of all time with great comedy, a very nice concept, amazing emotional sad moments, good development, and Tom Hanks' wonderful performance. Thumbs up from me.

10/10
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
L0stR3negadeJan 23, 2011
Great movie in every way from the actors to the story and the meaning behind the whole thing... A movie deffenatly worth watching if you havent yet...
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
SkROct 30, 2004
So mind-numbing, it's a travesty this film recieved the kind of adoration it did, and still does. The idea that great things are accomplished purely by chance, with no relationship to human will is horrific. Running away will bring you So mind-numbing, it's a travesty this film recieved the kind of adoration it did, and still does. The idea that great things are accomplished purely by chance, with no relationship to human will is horrific. Running away will bring you glory, you can escape Vietnam with nary a scrape, mental or physical, hippie boyfriend's are violent mysoginists. The film's lesson? Life teaches us nothing and you can achieve anything you want by doing and saying nothing because your luck and total ignorance to reality will get you by. What kind of crap is this? Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ToniCOct 12, 2005
This movie is so good that I nearly know the whole movie, and its only good movies that I ever remember.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Aug 24, 2010
Weird bloke at a bus stop relays his story to other people waiting by a series of flashbacks.
Very tongue-in-cheek piss take of American history & goes for the sentimental jugular throughout the film.
Tom Hanks & Robin Wright are good & the
Weird bloke at a bus stop relays his story to other people waiting by a series of flashbacks.
Very tongue-in-cheek piss take of American history & goes for the sentimental jugular throughout the film.
Tom Hanks & Robin Wright are good & the soundtrack is decent despite being a bit obvious.
Also seems like Gump has a bit of curse with him as most people he meets tend to die!
And surely the worst John Lennon impression ever!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BookmasterOct 3, 2011
You will cry tears of sadness. Tears of depression. Tears of hope. Tears of joy. Tears of optimism.. you will cry every possible way your tear ducts can cause, can make, and will do... God bless you Gump.. you lovable idiot..
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
One of the most heartfelt, warm spirited, and touching American movies ever made.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
jedwardsAug 30, 2015
This overly sentimental film has often been regarded as one of the finest in cinema history, which it is anything but. This is a badly acted,y written and executed film, that downplays American counter culture events in favour of a dim wittedThis overly sentimental film has often been regarded as one of the finest in cinema history, which it is anything but. This is a badly acted,y written and executed film, that downplays American counter culture events in favour of a dim witted story. The film is patronising to the audience and characters alike, with laughable quotes like "stupid is as stupid does." This is a very poor film, and easily one of the worst best picture winners to date. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RainbowDenixAug 5, 2016
Этот фильм шедевр, у него хороший сюжет, хорошая игра актеров и отличная режиссура. Роберт Земекис — гениальный режиссер у него полно хороших фильмов такие как: трилогия «Назад в будущие», «Смерть ей к лицу», «Изгой», «Кто подставил кроликаЭтот фильм шедевр, у него хороший сюжет, хорошая игра актеров и отличная режиссура. Роберт Земекис — гениальный режиссер у него полно хороших фильмов такие как: трилогия «Назад в будущие», «Смерть ей к лицу», «Изгой», «Кто подставил кролика Роджера» и само собой «Форрест Гамп». В фильме много жанров: драма, мелодрама, фэнтези, исторический, военный.

В фильме полно исторических моментов и было много исторических личностей например: Джон Кеннеди, Ричард Никсон, Джон Леннон, Элвис Пресли. Сам Форрест уникальный персонаж, в фильме он был чемпионом по футболу, ветераном войны, хозяином компании по ловле креветок, миллионером газонокосильщиком. Форрест не умный и наивный, но добрый, честный и благородный, да и его слова простые и наивные, но за душу берут. Форреста сыграл гениальный актер Том Хэнкс и сыграл его отлично.

Люди вроде-бо с нормальным умом, но за доброго, честного человека считают за тупого идиота. Фильм философский, он показывает то что жизнь может быть увлекательной, что в жизни бывают и взлеты и падения, грустные и веселые моменты в жизни.

Фильм шедевр, посмотрите «Форрест Гамп» и вы это поймете
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
ScraperDec 25, 2011
Wouldn't it have been better if Forrest had been shot to death in Vietnam? Too many good things happen to this righteous character. For those of us cynical and in need of any intensity, it's too hard on the brain to see this nitwit who youWouldn't it have been better if Forrest had been shot to death in Vietnam? Too many good things happen to this righteous character. For those of us cynical and in need of any intensity, it's too hard on the brain to see this nitwit who you know nothing bad is going to happen to him, just the way more interesting characters around him. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
3
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
A thought crossed my mind many years after viewing this picture: Forrest Gump cannot succeed as a sentimental message picture, because it's message is irresponsible. It is a message of ignorance through bliss, the idea that life would beA thought crossed my mind many years after viewing this picture: Forrest Gump cannot succeed as a sentimental message picture, because it's message is irresponsible. It is a message of ignorance through bliss, the idea that life would be inherently easier without our pesky brains and ideas. Hanks plays his role as best he could, but the film mistakes a remarkably sad existence for a happy one. Expand
9 of 30 users found this helpful921
All this user's reviews
1
raporgiOct 5, 2014
Stupid saccharine coated fantasy drivel that makes morons root for somebody less fortunate. This movie is literally for retards only! The charm and innocence of the main character sends the wrong message about the bliss of ignorance. TypicalStupid saccharine coated fantasy drivel that makes morons root for somebody less fortunate. This movie is literally for retards only! The charm and innocence of the main character sends the wrong message about the bliss of ignorance. Typical Hollywood **** that takes people away from the reality they have to live in. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
oscarrMar 12, 2012
I hate this movie with all my life.
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
0
ButteredPopcornNov 1, 2002
Who needs standardized tests. If you liked this movie, you're a moron.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JerryS.Jul 1, 2004
This is unvarnish garbage. The original book was laugh-out-loud funny and had not a breath of sentimentality. How a good story got made into this pap, I'll never know. One telling example: Forrest's "tag line" in the book is This is unvarnish garbage. The original book was laugh-out-loud funny and had not a breath of sentimentality. How a good story got made into this pap, I'll never know. One telling example: Forrest's "tag line" in the book is "bein' an idiot's no box of chocolates." He was also a hulking giant who had the unfortunate habit of beating the hell out of people that hassled his friends and family. There's not the slightest resemblance to the weakling, saccharine sweet pustle with which Tom "I'm a serious acteur" Hanks subjects the viewer. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
MaxO.May 30, 2007
One of the worst films I have ever seen. Pretentious, melodramatic, overly-sentimental, and manipulative. An obvious Oscar/credibility bid. It makes me weep that so many people have fallen for it.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
faustoabNov 5, 2013
The worst film ever made. How could it be consider better then "The Shawshank Redemption" No sense at all. How could it be better then Pulp Fiction No, not at all. I prefer "Attack of the Killer Tomatoes" then "Forest Dumb"!
2 of 14 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
2
MattC.Oct 6, 2005
Can it be more overrated? Hanks lays up his performance as a dolt. When will people learn that playing a simpleton or disabled person is not always cause for accolades?
1 of 7 users found this helpful
0
MattF.May 21, 2008
This was an awful, ignorant, simpleminded movie. Tom Hanks delivered his least nuanced and one-note performance to date, and he won the Oscar! What a disgrace. This is a terrible film whose message is to conform; black panthers and hippies This was an awful, ignorant, simpleminded movie. Tom Hanks delivered his least nuanced and one-note performance to date, and he won the Oscar! What a disgrace. This is a terrible film whose message is to conform; black panthers and hippies are evil. I hate this corny film. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful
2
AmyB.Sep 15, 2007
I have now seen the majority of this movie 4 times. The first time was in the movie theater. I absolutely hated it - as did my date. HURRAY!!! The second time a liked it a little bit better, but the third and fourth time I went back to my I have now seen the majority of this movie 4 times. The first time was in the movie theater. I absolutely hated it - as did my date. HURRAY!!! The second time a liked it a little bit better, but the third and fourth time I went back to my thoughts. It is the predecessor for so many movies that take aim at certain things I think should be left alone. Sure, I'm old fashioned. But proud of it. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful
0
thewisekingFeb 6, 2006
perhaps the worst film ever made. never before in the history of cinema has anything this mawkish, pretentious stupid, and manipulative ever been foisted upon us. there is not one single thing in this film which isn't false. it is so perhaps the worst film ever made. never before in the history of cinema has anything this mawkish, pretentious stupid, and manipulative ever been foisted upon us. there is not one single thing in this film which isn't false. it is so outrageously derivative and obviously manipulative that i honestly was hoping, praying, that they were kidding. alas, they were not. this should be preserved, and shown in film schools as an example of "movie making by committee" and as an indictment of the boomer generation and how they destroyed american film. Expand
1 of 14 users found this helpful
5
YoonMinC.Sep 27, 2003
More appropriately this ought to be called Forrest Dump. It's a human dog movie where we just can't stand to see Gumpy get hurt and so he doesn't. He spreads love and devotion, and everyone--from patriotic, disabled soldier to More appropriately this ought to be called Forrest Dump. It's a human dog movie where we just can't stand to see Gumpy get hurt and so he doesn't. He spreads love and devotion, and everyone--from patriotic, disabled soldier to ex-hippie chick--just can't resist his good nature and learn oh so much from his chocolately wisdom. This brain candy will leave your cranium hollow. A movie for neo-liberals and neo-cons, for all the toothless gutless middle-of-the-roaders who may read this movie any way they want. How many movies do you know that has been so eagerly hogged by liberals and Pat Buchanan alike? Compare this to It's a Wonderful Life where an intelligent man has everything go wrong and has to face the dark night of the human soul, and it shows what a totally manipulative pile of caca this is. The happy ending in It's a Wonderful Life is earned thru agony and pain whereas the neverending happy events in Gump simply come his way because God loves and rewards good people. Right? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
J.RyanG.May 29, 2005
One of the most aggravating things about "Forrest Gump" is how safe it is. It only goes to risky places in a way that anyone would find acceptable. For instance, it doesn't specifically name "AIDS" in the final scenes, and in one scene One of the most aggravating things about "Forrest Gump" is how safe it is. It only goes to risky places in a way that anyone would find acceptable. For instance, it doesn't specifically name "AIDS" in the final scenes, and in one scene it uses the slur "coon" rather than the N word. "Forrest Gump" is, finally, an exercise in sugarcoating: It covers as much territory as possible in twentieth-century American history with the express purpose of being charming and unoffensive. (Finally, the seemingless pointless running sequences towards the end of the movie have purpose--as a symbol for the film's pointless adventures in decency.) This movie says that all the bad, the good, and even the totally neutral (remember the happy face shirts) could have been committed by someone completely good-hearted and innocent rather than by people with complex character. Shame! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
voidersApr 30, 2013
My favorite movie ever! Its simple, beautiful, happy, sad... Every thing together.
The story show how life cam be complex and simple at same time, i like it. I have fun with this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KyleSApr 13, 2014
The very definition of epic. This is the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. It has everything, comedy, romance, tragedy, and spans the globe in this epic fiction tale that ties in with real world events. The music has to be the best inThe very definition of epic. This is the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. It has everything, comedy, romance, tragedy, and spans the globe in this epic fiction tale that ties in with real world events. The music has to be the best in any movie ever. It's moral is great too, it's about a man who wasn't given anything and had to fight for everything. He came from almost nothing and became the most influential and morally upright person ever born. He is everything I wish I could be, the greatest man to ever walk to the Earth. The Dos Equis guy doesn't have anything on Forrest Gump. Forrest is the most interesting man in the world, just ask the people at that bus stop. I've seen the movie at least a dozen times and I still cry when his Momma dies, when Bubba dies, and when Jenny dies and he's at her grave talking about their son. I don't understand why this movie is so low on the rating scale. It's much better than pulp fiction and better than Shawshank Redemption. I read a review where some guy said those movies are way better and I almost laughed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BarneyOnMTJan 6, 2016
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: The star of this classic show - Tom Hanks is brilliant here, every ounce of his character is so believeable and beautifully played. Match this with an amazing cast, an amusing but detailed and fantastic plot with realWHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: The star of this classic show - Tom Hanks is brilliant here, every ounce of his character is so believeable and beautifully played. Match this with an amazing cast, an amusing but detailed and fantastic plot with real sentimental value, as well as a great supporting cast, you've got yourself a film that stands the test of time for all the right reasons. Even now it doesn't feel dated
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Some of the themes are questionnable...
VERDICT: A well told tale of one man - thanks to Tom Hanks, 'Forrest Gump' is a real and emotional classic
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JoshuaR.Oct 3, 2003
I think that this was a funny movie, and yet sentimental. I think that it was overall a well written and acted movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MuhammadS.Jan 10, 2005
My all time favourite movie "forrest gump"... even as good as "dances with wolves" or other master pieces. This is the movie you can't watch every month or so. I did love it. Great Job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RosieK.Jun 29, 2002
I absolutely adored this film. It's very touching, and the makers of this film worked quite diligently for this film to prosper. A must-see film for the entire family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristijanA.Aug 16, 2002
INCREDIBLE!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoQ.Dec 4, 2003
Excellent....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoQ.Dec 4, 2003
Excellent....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HansA.May 4, 2004
It's 10 years old now, but still the best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MuhammadM.Sep 10, 2004
Everlasting Classic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
andyJul 7, 2005
Brilliant touched me in so many ways !
0 of 0 users found this helpful