New Line Cinema | Release Date: November 26, 2008
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 75 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
32
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JamesB.May 16, 2010
Not very festive.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Dec 4, 2008
Blink and you may miss it; it being the Rock 'Em Sock 'Em Robots in Brad's childhood room. Red robot. Blue robot. Red state. Blue state. Brad(Vince Vaughn) and Kate(Reese Witherspoon) grew up rooting for the red robot, but now Blink and you may miss it; it being the Rock 'Em Sock 'Em Robots in Brad's childhood room. Red robot. Blue robot. Red state. Blue state. Brad(Vince Vaughn) and Kate(Reese Witherspoon) grew up rooting for the red robot, but now they're backing the blue robot, ever since they left home to escape horrific childhoods that made them feel small. "Four Christmases" is a game of Rock 'Em Sock 'Em Robots, which disappointingly, ends in a muddling draw. At the outset, the blue robot brings it; he throws a few body blows to conservative ideology(Brad's brothers are named Denver and Dallas: two notably red state cities), knocking family values and the church into submission. But then, those twin pillars of Republican mind control receives its smelling salts by the red robot's trainer and rallies to rope-a-dope the blue robot. So the sparring match goes the distance, so it goes to the judges' decision. It's a draw. In Paul Thomas Anderson's "Punch-Drunk Love", Barry(Adam Sandler) survives a childhood marred by constant verbal(and perhaps, physical) abuse from his siblings, just like the Liberal Elitist in "Four Christmases", who was formerly known as Orlando. While the Sandler-Is-A-Serious-Actor vehicle never delves into the Emily Watson character's past, the audience can gauge that her childhood wasn't a particularly rosy one either, such was Kate's formative years, in which the fairer Liberal Elitist suffered the same low self-esteem issues at the hands of her family. Without realizing it, because they kept their "hick" pasts a secret, Brad and Kate are a perfect match. A "Punch-Drunk Love"-like storyline could have materialized, but it doesn't, because their trip to Fiji is thwared by fog(incidentally, Hawaii, the setting for Barry and Lena's vacation, gets a mention). In its place, echoes of Paul Schrader's "Affliction"(the final conversation between father(James Coburn) and son(Nick Nolte)) can be discerned as Brad talks to his hard-ass father(Robert Duvall) late in the film. "Four Christmases" is most convincing when the blue robot hits below the belt; then out of the blue, Kate's family suddenly becomes warmer and more nurturing at a new venue(her father's house), not soon after Kate's first confrontation with her sister(Kristen Chenowith) and mother(Mary Steenburgen), which ably explains why she hadn't returned home in years. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamesH.Jan 20, 2010
Decent Christmas movie, there are some funny scenes, some clunkers as well, but overall it was entertaining and it has a fine group of actors. The stars, Reese Witherspoon and Vince Vaughn have a good chemistry, Sissy Spacek is great in a Decent Christmas movie, there are some funny scenes, some clunkers as well, but overall it was entertaining and it has a fine group of actors. The stars, Reese Witherspoon and Vince Vaughn have a good chemistry, Sissy Spacek is great in a supporting role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LyleS.Nov 29, 2008
I'm putting my two cents in because the score really is far from the truth. This is a decent movie and most of the people in the theatre enjoyed it. It's definitely not a must see, but it's painless and good for a few laughs. I'm putting my two cents in because the score really is far from the truth. This is a decent movie and most of the people in the theatre enjoyed it. It's definitely not a must see, but it's painless and good for a few laughs. As long as you don't try and think too hard, this movie will entertain you and make you feel like it was 1.5 hours well spent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DebbieM.Dec 1, 2008
This movie seemed like it would be cute for adults but there is a lot of adult sexual scenes and content. I had my 13 and 12 year old with me and we had to leave the movie about 50 min. into it as it was way too inappropriate. And that was This movie seemed like it would be cute for adults but there is a lot of adult sexual scenes and content. I had my 13 and 12 year old with me and we had to leave the movie about 50 min. into it as it was way too inappropriate. And that was after letting about 4-5 sexual comments, etc. slide. Their is also a Santa spoiler so parents beware on this one. It's sad to me that this is what the movie industry feels is appropriate for 13 year olds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CollinJ.Dec 15, 2008
Not bad, for a Christmas movie. the only thing keeping me from giving it a higher rating is the fact that this movie is a little too predicable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
It's an absolute bore. We've got a bunch of good people working off a sucky script, and that always leads to bad stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Four Christmases.
A very unoriginal concept with very poor writing. The laughs are prevalent but not amazing, and the characters are over the top and unbelievable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lukechristianscDec 19, 2015
Reese Witherspoon and Vince Vaughn star in this unfunny Hollywood rom-com, they try to make this work but they can't because the script is flat, desperately unfunny, lame, obscene lazy rom-com. An unmarried couple Brad (Vince Vaughn) and KateReese Witherspoon and Vince Vaughn star in this unfunny Hollywood rom-com, they try to make this work but they can't because the script is flat, desperately unfunny, lame, obscene lazy rom-com. An unmarried couple Brad (Vince Vaughn) and Kate (Reese Witherspoon plan a Christmas vacation at Fiji, because they don't want to spend the holidays with their crazy families so they are forced to spend their Christmas with their families at once. We don't get any character development, don't know about the characters there just there, don't know anything about their jobs or them as a character. But it's charming. Vaughn tries too hard to be funny, he can be funny but with a clever script this one ain't it, Witherspoon in this film is nagging shrew. 2.75/4 stars Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews