Columbia TriStar Home Entertainment | Release Date: June 20, 2003
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 13 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
12
Mixed:
1
Negative:
0
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RobertS.Jun 30, 2003
A visually rich film of stunning beauty and exotic characters. Mesmerizing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SUPOTEAug 7, 2003
Very best thai film that I ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertC.Jul 4, 2003
For your few bucks spent on a ticket you certainly get your money's worth here. A splendidly mounted production offering a detailed view of a turbulent period in the history of a colorful country. HOWEVER - the ugly skeletons which are For your few bucks spent on a ticket you certainly get your money's worth here. A splendidly mounted production offering a detailed view of a turbulent period in the history of a colorful country. HOWEVER - the ugly skeletons which are unstintingly yanked from this royal family's closet are such that most families would strive to keep hidden. Murdering children - "Mommy, I'm scared - where are you?" as a covering is draped over a tiny prince's head and the executioner does a slow and elaborate approach with his huge "snicker-snee" of a sword. A heroine who poisons her loving husband, then sentences numerous innocents to torture and death as a coverup, and taunts her mate as he dies. A valiant death in battle is apparently expected to atone for her guilt. Well, I guess it has all been historically par for the course in ruling families worldwide. But, when being videotaped for a brief comment upon exiting the theatre I was so bedazzled (and not easily so, being a retired film editor) by the panoply of extraordinary battle scenes I gave what was wanted, a very favorable few words, taking all of the seconds allotted to me. This is the rest of my reaction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Aug 9, 2003
Suriyothai must be on the cutting room floor because there's not enough of her in this truncated version to care if she lives or dies during the final set piece. Yes, the elephants are real, more real than the actors. The difference Suriyothai must be on the cutting room floor because there's not enough of her in this truncated version to care if she lives or dies during the final set piece. Yes, the elephants are real, more real than the actors. The difference between young Suriyothai and old Suriyothai is that her smile loses its beatific quality. The elephants are fun to gawk at but they take you out of the movie. (1. You wonder if the elephants are properly tranquilized as the charges go off around them. 2. You can't hurt the elephants.) The Burmese army must be a pretty inept outfit if they can't hit a target, yes, the size of an elephant. But a second-rate epic is better than no epic at all. Worth a look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KlausVNov 27, 2003
A rich and stunning movie that succeeds well in recreating the past. It is a true epic, including romance, treason, murder, battles, and sacrifice. Especially the elephants are a delight to watch. Unfortunately, at least to western viewers, A rich and stunning movie that succeeds well in recreating the past. It is a true epic, including romance, treason, murder, battles, and sacrifice. Especially the elephants are a delight to watch. Unfortunately, at least to western viewers, the dialogue and the actor's expressions at times just seem too formulaic to be believable. Also, as the review by Robert C. shows, the audience can easily get confused, maybe because the two main female roles look too much alike in our eyes? So let me set Robert C.'s confusion straight: It was Srisudachan, High Consort of King Chai Raja (the one who previously had the child regent killed), who poisoned her husband in order to install her lover of U-Thang blood on the throne. She is the anti-heroine of the movie. Our real heroine, Suriyothai, who married the Prince of Tien, died with a clear conscience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PrateekG.Feb 25, 2005
The only Thai movie that I have seen is Anna and the King so I appreciated the glimpse I received into Thailand via this movie. I agree with some of the professional reviewers when they say that the movie seems disjointed. I did not know The only Thai movie that I have seen is Anna and the King so I appreciated the glimpse I received into Thailand via this movie. I agree with some of the professional reviewers when they say that the movie seems disjointed. I did not know that it was cut down from a much longer version. At many points it was difficult to tell who was who. The story was interesting enough to hold my attention in spite of the editing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KlausVNov 27, 2003
A rich and stunning movie that succeeds well in recreating the past. It is a true epic, including romance, treason, murder, battles, and sacrifice. Especially the elephants are a delight to watch. Unfortunately, at least to western viewers, A rich and stunning movie that succeeds well in recreating the past. It is a true epic, including romance, treason, murder, battles, and sacrifice. Especially the elephants are a delight to watch. Unfortunately, at least to western viewers, the dialogue and the actor's expressions at times just seem too formulaic to be believable. Also, as the review by Robert C. shows, the audience can easily get confused, maybe because the two main female roles look too much alike in our eyes? So let me set Robert C.'s confusion straight: It was Srisudachan, High Consort of King Chai Raja (the one who previously had the child regent killed), who poisoned her husband in order to install her lover of U-Thang blood on the throne. She is the anti-heroine of the movie. Our real heroine, Suriyothai, who married the Prince of Tien, died with a clear conscience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful