Walt Disney Pictures | Release Date: October 5, 2012
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 206 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
155
Mixed:
39
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 20, 2016
Either way, it still works as a strong holder for Tim Burton without Johnny Depp in his way. What to think about this is just another long review I won't talk about here and there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BrianMcCriticMar 11, 2013
Tim Burton is so hit or miss and with Frankenweenie the best you can say is that at least he's not adapting another remake. This was a decent film, but it's not the Nightmare Before Christmas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscJun 26, 2014
one of the most weird , creative director tim burton presents " Franken weenie " . the movie presents it self in a creative weird way like most of his creepy animated movies like ( Corpses bride and nightmare before christmas.) but in theone of the most weird , creative director tim burton presents " Franken weenie " . the movie presents it self in a creative weird way like most of his creepy animated movies like ( Corpses bride and nightmare before christmas.) but in the best way it has a very amazing imagination and good screenplay. Grade A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Feb 23, 2013
A fast paced creepy delight. Tim Burton and Danny Elfman do wonders together. The movie is neither complicated nor boring and is something that everyone can enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMar 16, 2013
Frankenweenie could have explored more plot points and made better use of its supporting characters. However, these are small critcisms. The overall film is beautiful, emotionally intense, and has a lot of charm.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobAug 13, 2013
While the film does not offer much in terms of characters and story it’s a nice film to show your kids. While I wish the film had offered something a bit more unique we still got a decent flick. Where the film lacks in characters and story itWhile the film does not offer much in terms of characters and story it’s a nice film to show your kids. While I wish the film had offered something a bit more unique we still got a decent flick. Where the film lacks in characters and story it makes up for it with a creepy tone and awesome character designs. If you want something cute and creepy to show your kids then I’d say check this movie out. If you want something more original I’d say skip and go check out Paranorman which has a more original story. While this film has a fantastic presentation its characters and story are not very original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
heyitsmegrif4Jan 13, 2013
Frankenweenie is a joyful, weird, funny, and sweet film. It isn't really a story with depth, but it certainly is Burton's best film he has made in the last few years even if it is a bit disappointing. I give this film 68%.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BikerjamesNov 2, 2012
Long live Whiskers the cat! Loved that character! Sometimes Burton's comedies aren't funny enough. No problem with Frankenweenie. I laughed a lot. The stop motion animation is first rate. The story is clever, especially when the animalsLong live Whiskers the cat! Loved that character! Sometimes Burton's comedies aren't funny enough. No problem with Frankenweenie. I laughed a lot. The stop motion animation is first rate. The story is clever, especially when the animals get morphed together. I like the decision to make it in black and white. Good enough for repeated viewings, so I will be purchasing the blu ray when it's released. This is my favorite Burton film since the underrated "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory". Collapse
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Aug 26, 2013
I'll be honest saying that I went into this movie, expecting not to like it. I've never been a fan of the monochrome approach (still not.) But Frankenweenie took every classic cliche in the book, and reused them in the most creative waysI'll be honest saying that I went into this movie, expecting not to like it. I've never been a fan of the monochrome approach (still not.) But Frankenweenie took every classic cliche in the book, and reused them in the most creative ways imaginable. This is just another boy and his dog movie, and more or less follows the traditional formula of this plot to the letter. But it seems to relish in it's own unoriginality, and, ironically, that is what makes it original.

Overall: While it is everything you can expect, it also throws allot of those ideas at you in creative ways. This is what makes it entertaining. I really enjoyed myself watching this movie and can recommend it to anyone.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Frankenweenie" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

The Good: Great animation and voice cast. Solid characterization and an amusing and cute idea. Essentially re-tells the story of Frankenstein's monster but with a boy and his dog, and you'd
"Frankenweenie" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

The Good: Great animation and voice cast. Solid characterization and an amusing and cute idea. Essentially re-tells the story of Frankenstein's monster but with a boy and his dog, and you'd assume that the predictability would ruin the film. It doesn't.

The Bad: Not quite as entertaining as I had hoped. While it is a great concept, Burton just didn't bring enough of his own unique ideas to add to the story. A little slower than I expected it to be.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyOct 5, 2012
Frankenweenie. One of my favorite animated movies of this year, I think that is fresh, original -yes I know that the movie is based on the Tim Burton's short-, the movie is really interesting, the development of the story is funny, and yes IFrankenweenie. One of my favorite animated movies of this year, I think that is fresh, original -yes I know that the movie is based on the Tim Burton's short-, the movie is really interesting, the development of the story is funny, and yes I think that is one of the best movies of this year. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
FreedomFightersDec 31, 2016
"Frankenweenie," Tim Burton's first animated effort since 2005's "Corpse Bride," was an animated film that I didn't have really high on my "most-wanted" list, but I was still interested in the film nonetheless. Good thing I chose to watch it,"Frankenweenie," Tim Burton's first animated effort since 2005's "Corpse Bride," was an animated film that I didn't have really high on my "most-wanted" list, but I was still interested in the film nonetheless. Good thing I chose to watch it, because the film is pretty great! Beautifully animated, great characters, charming, heartfelt, and well-written, this is Tim Burton being Tim Burton. Many say that Tim was on the decline with films like "Alice in Wonderland" and "Dark Shadows," but don't worry, Tim can still direct, and "Frankenweenie" proves that. It's a wonderful animated film for kids and adults alike! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Andys_ReviewsAug 10, 2013
I love Burton’s stop motion animation style; it really suits this type of tale. The fact it was in black and white was also a bonus for me; it made it look like the early horror films, many of which are referenced here. I also like that heI love Burton’s stop motion animation style; it really suits this type of tale. The fact it was in black and white was also a bonus for me; it made it look like the early horror films, many of which are referenced here. I also like that he made Mr. Rzykruski look an awful lot like Vincent Price; he was an early horror movie hero of mine. I haven’t seen the earlier 1984 film and so cannot make a comparison with that but I did like what I saw. Definitely well worth a watch for any horror fan; or even if you just want to be entertained; it’ll do that too!

SteelMonster’s verdict: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

My score: 8.7/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asthobaskoroNov 3, 2012
Tim Burton is always good when he enters in mainstream area, I find Alice in Wonderland was good. Frankenweenie was exceptional, black and white stop-motion animation with entertaining premise and spectacular 3D. Oh, Burton you so much win!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
EludiumQ36Feb 2, 2013
Definitely a film for your pre-teen, nothing in it for adults, in fact, the signature line in it "Sometimes adults don't know what they're talking about" is what kids suspected all along. I feel sorry for all the parents whose young kid nowDefinitely a film for your pre-teen, nothing in it for adults, in fact, the signature line in it "Sometimes adults don't know what they're talking about" is what kids suspected all along. I feel sorry for all the parents whose young kid now wants to bring their dead pet(s) back to life with lots of electricity. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
moonman1994Aug 2, 2013
Frankenweenie is reminiscent of the creepy charm of The Nightmare Before Christmas but it doesn't quite live up to the glory of that film Although good and creative and at many times funny Frankenweenie is lacking on a couple fronts largelyFrankenweenie is reminiscent of the creepy charm of The Nightmare Before Christmas but it doesn't quite live up to the glory of that film Although good and creative and at many times funny Frankenweenie is lacking on a couple fronts largely being that it has some qualities that are stereotypical of a Frankenstein parody. However the film is beautifully tied together by Elfman's score and is certain to satisfy any fan of Burton's work which is great considering some of Burton's other recent films have been a bit lacking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NedRyerson1Jan 24, 2013
Frankenweenie is the best animated movie from Tim Burton of all time, because apart from the typical gothic-expressionist environment and characters, we see that science is in between. First we have the signature character of this director,Frankenweenie is the best animated movie from Tim Burton of all time, because apart from the typical gothic-expressionist environment and characters, we see that science is in between. First we have the signature character of this director, who in this case is a misunderstood boy without friends, although here is expanded to other people of the story, unlike most of Burton pictures. In addition to Victor, there is Elsa (animated Winona Ryder), Mr. Rzykruski (animated Vincent Price), Edgar, Weird Girl, Toshiaki, Bob and Nassor; all these characters are very well physically constructed and have a defined personality. Second, the vision of the science that brings Tim Burton to the plot is awesome, and it is defined by two things that are said by Mr. Rzykruski: people like what science gives them but not the questions that science asks; and, science is not good or bad, but it can be used in both ways. Third, the idea of gothic mixed with science gives the film a fresh air and it is reflected in the moment when the other boys have their experiments. The thing here is that with these series of creatures, we notice the different approaches to science: love of Victor, ignorance of Edgar, over-confidence of Toshiaki, superiority of Nassor, fear of Bob and accident of Weird Girl. Other great things on this movie are the use of Frankenstein elements and the outstanding application of camera, in the picture are noticeable transitions from one images to another, flip over (360 turn) and the famous vertigo effect, formed by simultaneously dolly in and zoom out. Tim Burton could have a perfect film, but the end should be different. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
theahsanhaseebDec 21, 2012
Tim Burton always surprises me with his vision and unique ideas. Frankenweenie is a very different, emotional and a meaningful film, it has the strong message which is meant to be delivered to viewers of all ages as it discusses the emotionalTim Burton always surprises me with his vision and unique ideas. Frankenweenie is a very different, emotional and a meaningful film, it has the strong message which is meant to be delivered to viewers of all ages as it discusses the emotional attachment, the utilization of science and the jealousy. The film is about a boy named Victor whose dog 'Sparky' dies in an accident and then he brings Sparky back to life through science. The whole concept and plot of the film pays a direct homage to Frankenstein and it has been incorporated properly, just the right amount was needed and Burton did a great job. Animation is really, really amazing, I have never watched a black and white animation before and this was a new experience for me which proved to be really great. Voice acting is wonderful as always, the accents have been used in a real manner especially Toshiaki's accent, which made me laugh throughout the film. The major reasons why I'm giving it 8 marks are its freshness, originality and Burton's hard work. This is definitely a strong contender for awards season as it has already won so many critics awards and I wouldn't be surprised if it also wins the Academy Award for Best Animated Feature because it totally deserves it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusJan 18, 2013
What an UNORGINAL idea!! Take an old idea from a horror movie, shoot it in black and white, make it boring and you have "Frankenweenie" Stay way from this movie!
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
7
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
"Frankenweenie" does fall short when it comes to storytelling, but it's emotion between the main characters Victor and Sparky that truly makes this film shine.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Apemonkey666Jan 12, 2013
Stop-motion animation never looked this good! Going with Black & White realy ads to the charming look of this hartwarming film. The voice actors realy bring their A-game and the character animation is so good you sometimes almost forget it'sStop-motion animation never looked this good! Going with Black & White realy ads to the charming look of this hartwarming film. The voice actors realy bring their A-game and the character animation is so good you sometimes almost forget it's top motion. The movie is a lighthearted fresh take on the Frankenstein story but with many cool references to other pop culture films. Unfortunatly it didn't do loads of business at the boxoffice but it's a film that's not realy targeted at the largest possible audience but more at people who love cult films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
catcarloJan 29, 2013
Tim Burton deve essere stato un ragazzino molto solo e i suoi film pullulano di giovani maschi impegnati a fare i conti con un mondo su cui non sono sintonizzati. Questo vale anche per il Victor Frankenstein di
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
shaunmedFeb 28, 2013
a black and white animation? WTF? b/c they wanted it to be noir? i'm sure children appreciate that. stupid movie, waste of time from a one trick pony of a director.
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
7
barnet42Oct 15, 2012
Burton's best film since 1994's Ed Wood or even 1990's Edward Scissorhands. http://www.facebook.com/pages/Carrie-2013-has-hemorrhoids-/154149308058300
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
vernOct 7, 2012
Burton poured his heart and soul into this movie, and it shows. "Frankenweenie" is an entertaining, and emotionally resonant film that is a true return to form for Tim Burton. Although the plot is not seamless, this movie is appropriatelyBurton poured his heart and soul into this movie, and it shows. "Frankenweenie" is an entertaining, and emotionally resonant film that is a true return to form for Tim Burton. Although the plot is not seamless, this movie is appropriately atmospheric, meticulously detailed, and is filled with strange, quirky characters. A perfect movie for this time of year, "Frankenweenie" can be enjoyed by kids and adults alike. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
DollisOct 25, 2012
With its anti-intellectualism critique, classic horror film homages and beautiful production design, Frankenweenie is a great film for adventurous young audiences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
UtopianStuffMay 28, 2013
As a fan of Tim Burton, I was looking forward to Frankenweenie, but when I saw it, I hate to admit that I was unfortunately disappointing. The movie was good enough to keep me awake, but it just wasn't good, at all. It did have an interestingAs a fan of Tim Burton, I was looking forward to Frankenweenie, but when I saw it, I hate to admit that I was unfortunately disappointing. The movie was good enough to keep me awake, but it just wasn't good, at all. It did have an interesting premise, but I didn't care about the characters, the movies script is a little on the generic side and it just BORED me to death. I seriously did not like the movie, at all. And I know that people are going to give me heat for giving such an overrated movie a 4 out of 10, but it's my review. I just personally hated the movie, but I won't give it a negative rating because the acting was actually legitimately good, but other than that, the movie was not enjoyable, AT ALL. By far, Tim Burton's worst film. I don't know why its so overrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rodriqueOct 6, 2012
Yeah,the old Tim Burton is back with his best movie since Sweeney Todd.Frankenweenie is visually beautiful and very emotional,I have to say that what he done in Dark Shadows is forgiven here
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
coreyg007Oct 15, 2012
Frankenweenie is just in time for the Halloween season! I absolutely adored the animation, the storyline, and the outcome. T. Burton is has definitely made a rebound from Dark Shadows!! Frankenweenie is probably going to be the first animatedFrankenweenie is just in time for the Halloween season! I absolutely adored the animation, the storyline, and the outcome. T. Burton is has definitely made a rebound from Dark Shadows!! Frankenweenie is probably going to be the first animated movie I'll purchase on Bluray once it's available for purchase. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HadrianusNov 17, 2012
I say that is a great animated movie.I think it'll be nominated to the Academy Awards for Best Animated Feature.The kids want to plagiarize the Victor's ''science project''?I don't know.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews