Screen Gems | Release Date: July 22, 2011
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 287 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
173
Mixed:
89
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ShiiraAug 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ad nauseum, in rom-com after rom-com, the man inevitably arrives at that moment when everything becomes crystal clear, in regard to the woman he loves yet carelessly let slip away. As a corrective measure to his mistake, the man saves the relationship by proving his love with the right words to the woman, who only moments ago, stood in resignation with her dashed hopes. Usually the woman is standing in an airport terminal. Usually the man gets there by some mode of frantic transport. Usually they seal the deal with a kiss. Reared on formulaic filmmaking, it's no wonder that Tom Hansen in "500 Days of Summer", continues to misread the ending of "The Graduate", his favorite film about true love which he shares with Summer Finn, as happy. Except for the people who understand that Benjamin Braddock and Elaine Robinson are not in love, nobody has ever said, "Shut up, Katherine Ross, you stupid liar!" Especially Summer, who can plainly see the ambivalence forthwith, grow among the young folks in the back of the bus, when only a moment ago, the part that Tom, after all these years, is still reeling from, shows Benjamin crashing Elaine's wedding, plaintively crying out her name while he rattles the big church window with his fists. In a flash, however, the emotional high of stealing the bride from the groom, peaks when young Ben traps the angry congregants by barricading the doors with a cross, the Christian icon he uses as a weapon against institutionalized love, waving it around like a bat. On the bus, the moviegoer waits for him to kiss the runaway bride, but he doesn't even touch Mrs. Robinson's daughter, let alone, hold her gaze for more than a heartbeat. Using selective memory, Tom tries to pigeonhole "The Graduate" with any other romantic comedy, most of which depict love as a byproduct emanating from the grand romantic gesture, usually in a public place with adoring onlookers. Summer, however, in that repertory house, doesn't miss a thing; she sees the film's authorial commentary, an in-film post-script, about the artifice of movie love, and breaks it off with Tom later over pancakes. At the diner, Summer compares themselves to Sid and Nancy, an apra pro allusion to the punk rock aesthetic of the Nichols film, in the sense that Benjamin and Elaine are nihilists for rebelling against convention. Don't blink, and you'll see how "Friends with Benefits", like the tagline for "500 Days of Summer" states, ultimately, "is not a love story," as well, with its "Graduate"-esque coda, ergo a deconstruction of the romantic comedy in the last frame. Too conventional for the label "meta-film", the film has just enough subversiveness to trump its climactic scene at Grand Central Station, where Dylan tells Jamie, without a trace of irony, that he's in love with her, turning their lives into the very thing(a romantic comedy), they both had agreed was fictive; merely a Hollywood construct which damages people with its unrealistic idealism pertaining to relationships. In an earlier scene, Jamie convinces Dylan to scale the Hollywood sign, representational of the fact that the executive recruiter believes in celluloidal love, although at times the woman forsakes the faerie tale, like when she publicly rails against Katherine Heigl, the scapegoat of her romantic woes. Meanwhile, the art designer gets stuck up there and requires the services of a helicopter, analogous to the rescue being executed by the film's satirical form, whose self-awareness is supposed to set the movie apart from contemporaneous examples of the genre, such as "The Ugly Truth". But just because the film foregrounds the artificiality of the "meet-cute", it doesn't make the "meet-cute"(where Jamie chases an I.D. sign on the baggage carousel) go away. A trope is still a trope, even when it's filmically italicized. As a result, the film can hardly be called a satire, not with a touch so light that the skewering comes off less as a criticism of genre convention than a reason for optimism where life could imitate art. Luckily, although the two leads are far from being the next Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn(the referencing of Amazon.com alludes to "Desk Set", a 1957 film about computers which was dead wrong in predicting the relevancy of people), they're also equidistantly ahead of Heigl and "Killers" co-star Ashton Kutcher, as well. To it's credit, the film gets real in the final scene, where Dylan and Jaime, now, supposedly more than friends with benefits, suddenly look awkward and bored, as they share a booth in the cafe. They're the couple from "The Graduate", but with a crucial difference. Instead of extending the silence, they reach across the table and tear into each other, in essence, updating "When Harry Met Sally" by faking love instead of an orgasm. They're not meant for each other, as advertised, but unlike Benjamin and Elaine, it won't stop them from having sex. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
dz9Jul 26, 2011
There will be no comparisons to "No Strings Attached," this movie is rather easy to review. Although the movie technically has two parts. The first 45 minutes of the movie is a laugh riot, and it manages to capture some of the the raunchyThere will be no comparisons to "No Strings Attached," this movie is rather easy to review. Although the movie technically has two parts. The first 45 minutes of the movie is a laugh riot, and it manages to capture some of the the raunchy vulgar comedy that the movie sets out to accomplish. However, this is only the first half of the movie, the rest of the movie barely manages to keep its head above the water of cliches. The second half of the film gives only a few quick chuckles, but in between them, the movie might actually put you asleep. Where the first half would get a 9, the second half would barely hit a 5, so I give this movie a 7. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
williamalariceAug 11, 2011
I will appreciate the work done by Mila kunis. She's my favorite and made me laugh alot. I must say a good comedy and drama movie that i have seen after a long time. For full reviews read here:I will appreciate the work done by Mila kunis. She's my favorite and made me laugh alot. I must say a good comedy and drama movie that i have seen after a long time. For full reviews read here: http://www.moviesfunzone.com/download-friends-with-benefits-movie Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FIlmsareawesomeAug 31, 2011
Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake were a very good team to watch, the film was actually very pleasant. The arguments were often funny and good, off course that the whole concept of this film is kind of cheap and stupid, but Will Gluck was ableMila Kunis and Justin Timberlake were a very good team to watch, the film was actually very pleasant. The arguments were often funny and good, off course that the whole concept of this film is kind of cheap and stupid, but Will Gluck was able to make movie enjoyable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
rafael14Sep 9, 2011
Is a very good movie, because it has a beautiful story that infects all who watch the film. Even the end is not any surprise, but that did not stop him from being a great movie
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sgleason91Sep 7, 2011
This movie is amazing! It one you can go see with the girls or with you guy, both would enjoy it. One of the best romantic comedies of the year. Mila Kunis and JT work so well together. When previews first came out, i was a little nervousThis movie is amazing! It one you can go see with the girls or with you guy, both would enjoy it. One of the best romantic comedies of the year. Mila Kunis and JT work so well together. When previews first came out, i was a little nervous because of the recent release of No Strings Attached, but this movie by far was one of the best! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
CorneliaLJul 22, 2011
This will inevitably draw comparisons to No Strings Attached (the Ashton Kutcher-Natalie Portman pals-doing-the-nasty comedy from earlier this year), so let's just get one thing out of the way: FWB is actually kinda GOOD, unlike NSA. Here'sThis will inevitably draw comparisons to No Strings Attached (the Ashton Kutcher-Natalie Portman pals-doing-the-nasty comedy from earlier this year), so let's just get one thing out of the way: FWB is actually kinda GOOD, unlike NSA. Here's what's good about it: Witty, sharp dialogue that's well delivered, great chemistry between the actors, good acting, engaging side characters and side plots. The actors and their characters are likable. The ride is enjoyable and has just enough seriousness to give the plot weight and make the characters not seem like vapid singletons living in a New York bubble. Also, the jokes are funny and often smart, without being snooty. The pacing is also good, although I'll be honest and say it loses some momentum towards the end. It's predictable enough, as all romantic comedies ultimately are (and isn't that why we see them?) so think of this movie as more about than the journey than the destination. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
kalvinmj34Jul 23, 2011
Justin Timberlake and Mia Kunis are so good together. I laughed soo hard throughout the movie, but it wasn't just a comedy, if you are a sucker for a good love story this ones for you. I thought it was great. I will probably buy it when itJustin Timberlake and Mia Kunis are so good together. I laughed soo hard throughout the movie, but it wasn't just a comedy, if you are a sucker for a good love story this ones for you. I thought it was great. I will probably buy it when it comes out on DVD! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
ZacharyMatsonJul 22, 2011
A very impressive romantic comedy, then again I wouldn't really call it a 'romantic' comedy, more of a dramatic comedy. I was quite surprised at the amount of drama in this film because the trailers made it look like a flat out comedy. ButA very impressive romantic comedy, then again I wouldn't really call it a 'romantic' comedy, more of a dramatic comedy. I was quite surprised at the amount of drama in this film because the trailers made it look like a flat out comedy. But I'm glad it did have the drama aspect because it gave the film so much more depth and character. I very much enjoyed this film and Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis make a great comedic duo, I laughed my butt off. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
DobbyJul 25, 2011
Once you get past the fact that the storyline isn't that original, this is a terrific movie...definitely one of my favorite romantic comedies in the past few years. The dialogue is hilarious and witty and kept me laughing during most of theOnce you get past the fact that the storyline isn't that original, this is a terrific movie...definitely one of my favorite romantic comedies in the past few years. The dialogue is hilarious and witty and kept me laughing during most of the movie. The casting is terrific. Mila Kunis really shines in her role and Justin Timberlake is a natural. Looking forward to getting this on DVD. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ImNotPaid4ThisAug 28, 2012
A truly heart-warming story of friendship and passion, wrapped up in a nice bouquet and delivered by hand by Timberlake and Kunis. The most underated actor and actress of our time team up to produce an inspiring movie about the trials andA truly heart-warming story of friendship and passion, wrapped up in a nice bouquet and delivered by hand by Timberlake and Kunis. The most underated actor and actress of our time team up to produce an inspiring movie about the trials and tribulations of todays society. An enjoyable film that will bring a smile to your face every time. I bought this on blu-ray and DVD just so the creators of this masterpiece got the money they deserved for this genius piece of writing and acting. A lovely family movie that will keep everybody entertained through-out. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
AwesomeReviewerMay 6, 2012
â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FireworkPeacockAug 27, 2011
Chemistry and funny in its own ways. Parts of it were super hilarious but Its more of a romance than comedy to me at-least. I enjoyed the film and its great! WATCH IT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
txrangersfan72Apr 1, 2012
Essential to a good romantic comedy are: a believable chemistry between the protagonists; a story that is real enough to make you think it could happen; humor that is generally appealing enough to maintain levity through the majority of theEssential to a good romantic comedy are: a believable chemistry between the protagonists; a story that is real enough to make you think it could happen; humor that is generally appealing enough to maintain levity through the majority of the movie and emotional enough to care about the characters situation when not smiling; the setting or locale is almost a third party in the relationship. When Harry Met Sally, Pretty Woman, etc. Down with Love is one of my all-time favorites too, but not exactly realistic, but still adorable. Friends with Benefits fits the criteria better than I've seen in years. In the Rom-Com genre, the film is near perfect. The chemistry between JT and Kunis is flawless and believable. The use of New York and Los Angeles were reflections of both their personalities and, thus, enhanced an understanding of the characters. The writing is smart, the editing makes the movie flow seamlessly and it even finds a way to make fun of itself and its genre. I enjoyed the film from the opening scene to the final credits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nutterjrMar 16, 2012
It is interesting that the two main actresses of the Oscar winning Black Swan both follow it up with a rom com with a bit of a spice in it (Portman did the No Strings attached). This is the better of the two mainly thanks to Mila Kunis whoIt is interesting that the two main actresses of the Oscar winning Black Swan both follow it up with a rom com with a bit of a spice in it (Portman did the No Strings attached). This is the better of the two mainly thanks to Mila Kunis who is truly adorable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJul 26, 2011
Justin Timberlake & Mila Kunis agree to a sex-only friendship, but the inevitable happens. A film like this depends on clever writing and good chemistry and this one has both. There are plenty of funny lines and some enjoyable supportingJustin Timberlake & Mila Kunis agree to a sex-only friendship, but the inevitable happens. A film like this depends on clever writing and good chemistry and this one has both. There are plenty of funny lines and some enjoyable supporting characters (loose mom Patrician Clarkson and big gay jock Woody Harrelson), but it's the electricity between Timberlake and Kunis that gives it that extra spark. Interesting: JT is sans clothes in many scenes, while Mila remains modest (nary a nipple). While there's nothing exceptional about this movie, it's an entertaining and enjoyable summer hit. NOTE: Stay thru the credits for outtakes from the movie-within-a-movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jimbot21Jul 31, 2011
Good film, not great but good. The chemistry between Kunis and Timberlake is superb. As predictable as the story is it's worth the watch with some inspiring, funny and meaningful parts. Kunis looking as good as ever. Go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beelzie14Sep 25, 2011
Great fun. I sense that critics won't give it the review it deserves as it is no Oscar contender, and doesn't make us think particularly hard about life after seeing it. But for us normal folk ... it is a great rom-com with outstandingGreat fun. I sense that critics won't give it the review it deserves as it is no Oscar contender, and doesn't make us think particularly hard about life after seeing it. But for us normal folk ... it is a great rom-com with outstanding symmetry and synergy between the leads.
Kunis is her beautiful, breathtaking self but it's her acting which always impresses me. So natural and unforced with genuine amiable humour. Timberlake is really growing as a great actor who is able to inject a fair degree of depth into his character.
A great story which makes you feel good ... or embarrassed when you realise that the tongue-in-cheek mocking of Hollywood rom-coms is in fact just mocking all those who watch it and think we will all experience the fairy tale at some stage! Most of us won't ... not with Mila anyway which makes me very sad!! :)
Highly recommended
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
scrieciuJul 30, 2011
This movie actually pulled it off after '' No Strings Attached '' since it's the same type of romantic comedy, or if you prefer, '' sex buddies ''. Well, I liked more '' Friends with Benefits ''. It was enjoyable, you can see a reelThis movie actually pulled it off after '' No Strings Attached '' since it's the same type of romantic comedy, or if you prefer, '' sex buddies ''. Well, I liked more '' Friends with Benefits ''. It was enjoyable, you can see a reel connection between the characters. Mila Kunis (as Jamie) was fantastic ! She delivered a great comic performance and she looked gorgeous. Also, I liked the ending. It was ironic because everything that they were believing at the beginning, turn out to be the opposite. Well sure it was kinda predictable, but it worked for this movie. You will know what i'm talking about after seeing it. An other thing that was awesome in '' Friends with Benefits '' is the situations (when there talking, etc) between Dylan and Jamie, which I found less cliche than most of romantic comedies. That's why this one stands out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CBZJul 23, 2011
I had very low expectations when I went to watch this movie but I have to say it was better than I thought. Timberlake and Kunis deliver good acting and it feels very natural and not forced like in many other movies these days.
Its a good
I had very low expectations when I went to watch this movie but I have to say it was better than I thought. Timberlake and Kunis deliver good acting and it feels very natural and not forced like in many other movies these days.
Its a good romantic comedy to go with your couple.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pb2008Jun 30, 2012
One of the best rom-coms in several years. Witty dialogue and fun performances by both Timberlake and Kunis. And they have great chemistry together, which really makes it work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asthobaskoroFeb 11, 2012
What you expect from movie about sex buddies without end up being laid and love each other? Chemistry between Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis is almost enough to carry the movie, don't forget about the smart dialogue and cool soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jmacnugentDec 16, 2011
A welcome surprise. Thoughtful, well written and definitely moments of good laughter to be had. There is clearly an authentic connection between Kunis and Timberlake as their feelings evolve layer upon layer. You find yourself rooting forA welcome surprise. Thoughtful, well written and definitely moments of good laughter to be had. There is clearly an authentic connection between Kunis and Timberlake as their feelings evolve layer upon layer. You find yourself rooting for them even though its clear from the start how things will net out them. A must rent! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gfnyJul 25, 2011
An enjoyable film with good chemistry between Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis. The production was excellent and the direction spot on. It moved along at a good pace with many fun lines.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MorriBeyAug 6, 2011
This is a good movie. I was not expecting too much but its a very real and funny movie. The story about the Dad is very touching. Its a guy meets girl movie coupled with the blue humor of Californication , the fast paced fun of entourage ,This is a good movie. I was not expecting too much but its a very real and funny movie. The story about the Dad is very touching. Its a guy meets girl movie coupled with the blue humor of Californication , the fast paced fun of entourage , and a bit of Wilfred thrown in. I like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RoscoSep 12, 2011
I found myself quite surprised at how this movie turned out. The trailers made Friends With Benefits seem like an all out laughfest but underneath the laughs lies quite a bit of drama which gives this film a much more depth and allows theI found myself quite surprised at how this movie turned out. The trailers made Friends With Benefits seem like an all out laughfest but underneath the laughs lies quite a bit of drama which gives this film a much more depth and allows the characters to flourish. The plot is simple and straightforward. Dylan (Justin Timberlake) and Jamie (Mila Kunis) are singletons in the Big Apple and come to the decision to be friends who sleep together. (I.e Friends With Benefits) And ofcourse the film explores the effects this has on them both. The chemistry between Timberlake and Kunis is superb and ultimately one of the keys to how good the film is. The film also has great dialogue thats performed terrificly by the cast, and thats another area where the film excels the some of the side characters, Woody Harrelson in particular, are awesome and obviously the humour is very well done as the jokes will make you LOL! FWB is a decent length but its enjoyable throughout and provides some genuinly funny moments. Importantly though the serious side of the film shines through when needed and gives it enough all the way through and allow the characters to be likeable and not seem to be the stereotypical cliched couple in so many movies. The film does become predictable as it nears its conclusion, afterall it as a romantic-comedy and it does slightly lose some of the momentum but that doesn't prevent this from being another fine comedy from Mr Gluck in what is a fine follow up to Easy A and easily one of the best rom-com's of recent times. I haven't even mentioned the clincher; Mila Kunis, enough said! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
fryzeeSep 1, 2011
Yes it is very similar to no strings attached, but all in all it is a good modern romantic comedy that can be enjoyed with the wife/husband and girlfriend/boyfriend, I personally saw this at the drive in cinemas and it was a very fun night,Yes it is very similar to no strings attached, but all in all it is a good modern romantic comedy that can be enjoyed with the wife/husband and girlfriend/boyfriend, I personally saw this at the drive in cinemas and it was a very fun night, mila and justin play the roles very well but they only negative I found was that the jokes didn't make me laugh that often and the characters families didn't really suit all that much, but that's just me, overall a generally good romantic comedy with the occasional laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lususgreeneAug 1, 2011
I'm not usually into romantic comedy movies (thats girls stuff! JK lol) but this was a well written well acted movie. It literally brightened my day a little bit. I don't even like Timberlake but after this movie he may want to drop thatI'm not usually into romantic comedy movies (thats girls stuff! JK lol) but this was a well written well acted movie. It literally brightened my day a little bit. I don't even like Timberlake but after this movie he may want to drop that "music" career and be an actor. Good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Codyk4545Jul 28, 2011
Not having seen No Strings Attached, I can't compare Friends with Benefits to it. Perhaps this is a good thing, as it seems that a comparison between the two films is happening a lot in reviews and word of mouth alike. I can say, however,Not having seen No Strings Attached, I can't compare Friends with Benefits to it. Perhaps this is a good thing, as it seems that a comparison between the two films is happening a lot in reviews and word of mouth alike. I can say, however, that Friend with Benefits is an entertaining movie, that has a few good laughs, and some heart in there as well. Would I see it again? No. But it was fun while it lasted. Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis both did well in their lead roles of this sexy romantic comedy. I predicted that the plot was going to be predictable (as most films of this genre are) and my predictions were correct. They did throw a curve-ball. A Hail Mary attempt at tugging at our heart strings just a tad more than most summer romance comedy's do. This was done with Justin Timberlake's father in the film. It seemed that they were really trying to get us on that one, and to some, maybe it will be successful. The film has a good message, and a lot of charm that grows as the movie progresses. It's not the best comedy that's been released by a long shot, and it didn't break any ground. But it's a fun little film with funny moments that some people may really enjoy.

7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EddyMacSep 1, 2011
While surroundings itself with the overused cliche that is "friends with benefits," the movie does not disappoint. Making up for the failure that was Ashton Kutcher's "No String Attached" this movie actually portrays the cliche in a humorous,While surroundings itself with the overused cliche that is "friends with benefits," the movie does not disappoint. Making up for the failure that was Ashton Kutcher's "No String Attached" this movie actually portrays the cliche in a humorous, if not entirely PG rated way. The excessive montage of almost sex scenes probably don't do Kunis fans justice, but the characters, especially Woody Harrelson and Patricia Clarkson that give the film at least an 8/10 Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TommyboyAug 6, 2011
Hilarious! This movie jumped off the screen on a level I did not expect, it will have you in tears of laughter and sadness. Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis really have excellent chemistry in this dramatic/romantic comedy. The comedy side ofHilarious! This movie jumped off the screen on a level I did not expect, it will have you in tears of laughter and sadness. Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis really have excellent chemistry in this dramatic/romantic comedy. The comedy side of the movie was soo funny I just couldn't stop laughing, even the next day when I replayed the scenes in my head and would embarrassingly laugh out loud... in public... The drama in the movie was unexpected and in my opinion very moving. You see a lot of good emotion and a touching love story that makes this comedy a movie you could watch over and over. This is a DVD buyer for certain! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Anotherday1787Aug 12, 2011
This movie is absolutely fantastic. Refreshing, smart and most importantly, funny as hell, Friends with benefits is a wonder. It's interesting to see two similar movies released within a common time frame. No Strings Attached dropped the ballThis movie is absolutely fantastic. Refreshing, smart and most importantly, funny as hell, Friends with benefits is a wonder. It's interesting to see two similar movies released within a common time frame. No Strings Attached dropped the ball and Friends with Benefits surpasses it every way. Kunis and Timberlake shine and play off of each other like old pros. What is even more amazing is the true heart of it. Both characters have to deal with family issues that are real and honest. My one problem is believing that these characters are damaged, which they will repeatedly tell the audience. This however can be easily overlooked in favor of casting, plot, and chemistry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CharityLeGalAug 13, 2011
Well Friends With Benefits. I'm not really a big fan of it. I mean it was kind of interesting, but the story line just didn't get me. I mean there were some parts that i found brilliant, but others just didn't make sense to me. I mean i loveWell Friends With Benefits. I'm not really a big fan of it. I mean it was kind of interesting, but the story line just didn't get me. I mean there were some parts that i found brilliant, but others just didn't make sense to me. I mean i love romantic stories and this was one of them. I just didn't really follow on the whole thing. I mean i wouldn't really call it a romantic comedy. I would call it more of a dramatic comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AkkharDec 24, 2011
Friends with Benefits survived only because of the amazing cast . The story is so much smiler to No String Attached(2011) . Both had amazing cast but Friends with Benefits got on top coz its funnier then that one . As for Rom-ComFriends with Benefits survived only because of the amazing cast . The story is so much smiler to No String Attached(2011) . Both had amazing cast but Friends with Benefits got on top coz its funnier then that one . As for Rom-Com Crazy,Stupid,Love was way better then this but still its worth seeing . Good acting and Justin was good also Mila But Woody Harrelson was the funniest . as for the story .....Sucks . So Friends with Benefits is a funny Rom-Com with an amazing Cast and a sucky Story . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
tiah143Aug 19, 2011
I thought it would be hilarious, but that wasn't the case. It's cute but not a good comedy if that's what you're looking for. A few parts are too predictable and boring. Some fun scenes though. But let me just say I had a hard time stayingI thought it would be hilarious, but that wasn't the case. It's cute but not a good comedy if that's what you're looking for. A few parts are too predictable and boring. Some fun scenes though. But let me just say I had a hard time staying awake unlike the movie I saw after it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
deenezAug 26, 2011
this is an awesome movie i guarantee u won,t be bored from the start to the end ,and the beginning is awesome and smart ,who ever wrote the conversations in it between the leading stars is original, hat off for every one helped direct thisthis is an awesome movie i guarantee u won,t be bored from the start to the end ,and the beginning is awesome and smart ,who ever wrote the conversations in it between the leading stars is original, hat off for every one helped direct this one
but still i thought there was too much porn in it, yet again the movie called Friends with BENEFITS
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
melissanfordSep 11, 2011
I loved this movie. I thought it was well done. After the movie No Strings Attached I thought this one would be bad too and it really surprised me. It had a much better story like then No Strings. And of course Justin Timberlake is hilariousI loved this movie. I thought it was well done. After the movie No Strings Attached I thought this one would be bad too and it really surprised me. It had a much better story like then No Strings. And of course Justin Timberlake is hilarious which makes it great, and Mila Kunis is such a great actress they both really worked well together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
hoops2448Nov 6, 2011
Its not a timeless classic but it works as a comedy, even before it works as a romantic comedy. The first thing to realise about Friends With Benefits is that although its story is incredibly similar to No Strings Attached, it couldn't beIts not a timeless classic but it works as a comedy, even before it works as a romantic comedy. The first thing to realise about Friends With Benefits is that although its story is incredibly similar to No Strings Attached, it couldn't be more different. The endless comparisons between the two were bound to happen and to an extent thats a good thing because it shows how much better Benefits is. Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis prove to be worthy leads as Timberlake has charm as well as natural talent while Kunis is a force to be reckoned with (If you forget Max Payne that is) who has some exceptional comic timing. The supporting characters help flesh out the characters through a well written script which allows for a nice pace while also giving some much needed back story which Strings failed to do. Richard Jenkins will always be the supporting actor with so much more to say (see Burn After Reading and Let Me In) but he film manages to make that work through his characters problems. The only real problem with Benefits is that its predictable but then again all romantic comedies are. The ending is rushed but manageable and the 3rd act takes longer than it really should but overall its a decent comedy with some extremely raunchy comedy that works in the films favour. Oh and Flashmobs are just stupid. You're better than that Friends With Benefits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaOct 15, 2012
I have to admit, nobody expect (including myself) Justin Timberlake to be a good actor....but he actually is. Mila Kunis has always been a great comic actress (and probably, one of the most beautiful actress of her generation). Both castI have to admit, nobody expect (including myself) Justin Timberlake to be a good actor....but he actually is. Mila Kunis has always been a great comic actress (and probably, one of the most beautiful actress of her generation). Both cast members have so much chemistry that it carries the movie along, making it one of the better Rom Com in recent memory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CharlieGCarrFeb 5, 2012
Brilliantly funny with witty comedy, Sadness and madness. A brilliant film with brilliant acting from all the people involved. If you were expecting a large appearance from Emma Stone, you will be disappointed.
A Must Watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
allmoviesJan 5, 2012
Dylan (Justin Timberlake) and Jamie (Mila Kunis) think it's going to be easy to add the simple act of sex to their friendship, despite what Hollywood romantic comedies would have them believe. They soon discover however that getting physicalDylan (Justin Timberlake) and Jamie (Mila Kunis) think it's going to be easy to add the simple act of sex to their friendship, despite what Hollywood romantic comedies would have them believe. They soon discover however that getting physical really does always lead to complications. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SShaoDec 29, 2011
[MILD SPOILER] A-MA-ZING. Although cheesy and predictable, the cast for this movie brought it all the way home for me and left me smiling and satisfied with the "happily ever after" ending. There was no doubt that they were going to fall in[MILD SPOILER] A-MA-ZING. Although cheesy and predictable, the cast for this movie brought it all the way home for me and left me smiling and satisfied with the "happily ever after" ending. There was no doubt that they were going to fall in love with each other and get together by the end of the movie - however just every little detail and every cute thing made it that much cuter and entertaining to watch. Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis look really good together. HOWEVER; the trailer is slightly misleading - the trailer depicts a much more sexual side of the movie while the whole movie is sappy and cute. Overall, the cast had great chemistry and the acting was well done. I'm glad I watched it; it's totally worth the time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
A_NorthernerJan 5, 2013
Knowing anything regarding the plot, it will probably be pretty obvious to all how the story ends and unsurprisingly Friends With Benefits stays true to expectations. That said, what happens prior is largely enjoyable thanks to a strongKnowing anything regarding the plot, it will probably be pretty obvious to all how the story ends and unsurprisingly Friends With Benefits stays true to expectations. That said, what happens prior is largely enjoyable thanks to a strong script, energetic performances from the leads and fantastic chemistry between Timberlake and Kunis. Woody Harrelson turns up as a gay sports editor to some amusement. I did get a little frustrated at how flippant and **** the pair are in assuming that their friendship will be unaffected, especially when as a viewer you know what's around the corner, perhaps that's the whole rub of the film though I guess. The writers try unashamedly hard to pitch their characters as the coolest inner city hipsters, Jamie from N.Y. and Dylan from L.A, listening to Semisonic, with flash mob contacts and friends with street artists. As the pair make fun of romantic film stereotypes, the writers just about avoid falling into the traps they mock. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
charlieW24Jul 14, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very good rom-com, poking fun at the cliches of the genre, and creating a different take on the story. It also doesn't straight the way throw us in with a love story, which provides laughs, and proof that they are falling in love subtly and very well. If the film had just stayed this way, it would have been one of the best rom-coms in a long while, but the film eventually falls into the cliches it was making fun of. But it still provides laughs, and a fun film, and even though there are faults, it is the best rom com of this year and the best out of a couple of years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake have great chemistry in Friends with Benefits- a montage of feel good fun, and easily the romantic comedy of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MarickJun 30, 2015
It's really a very good movie. I liked very much, especially the "couple" that. Worth seeing .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews