Roadside Attractions | Release Date: March 9, 2012
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 66 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
29
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
BUTCHYPIEMar 10, 2012
This RomCom will appeal to both genders. Jennifer Westfeldt brings a fresh, voice to the genre; you forget that relationships are at the core of the film, because it's so funny. Just like "Kissing Jessica Stein," this film is unexpectedlyThis RomCom will appeal to both genders. Jennifer Westfeldt brings a fresh, voice to the genre; you forget that relationships are at the core of the film, because it's so funny. Just like "Kissing Jessica Stein," this film is unexpectedly entertaining. I'd recommend it to just about anyone. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JoelVBMar 26, 2012
I loved this movie and would recommend everyone to see it. I disagree with every reservation expressed by the critics. Unlike them, I feel this was a perfect movie. Jennifer Westfeldt, who wrote, directed, and acted in this movie deserves aI loved this movie and would recommend everyone to see it. I disagree with every reservation expressed by the critics. Unlike them, I feel this was a perfect movie. Jennifer Westfeldt, who wrote, directed, and acted in this movie deserves a lot of credit for doing so many tasks so well. I'm guessing that it was a labor of love.

The script, which is the backbone of any movie: * was centered around an important issue (what do singles do about having a family as they're getting older), * advanced the action naturally from one scene and dilemma to another, * contained dialogue and repartee that was natural and witty

The direction: * kept us continually engaged - there wasn't one moment that I was just waiting for the next thing to happen - even though I was eager to find out * kept the dialogue flowing between 6 actors - which is not an easy task * had all the actors act perfectly without any false notes * integrated the kids into the action - another difficult directing task

The acting: * was great. All the actors were funny, exasperated, mean, kind, caring, and loving in turn with no false notes

Go see it! See if I'm right and the kvetchy critics are wrong!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 9, 2012
An incredible film, is funny, emotive, ingenious, the cast is amazing, and the performance of Megan Fox is wow, amazing, I never believe that. Friends with Kids is abig sorprise.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
MatteoMar 22, 2012
Rarely does a movie present characters that you identify with everyone of them or have been everyone of them at some point in your life. Yet somehow you want to be none of them. That is life. Humor, truth, emotion, and the impossible dilemmasRarely does a movie present characters that you identify with everyone of them or have been everyone of them at some point in your life. Yet somehow you want to be none of them. That is life. Humor, truth, emotion, and the impossible dilemmas of life rarely rear their heads together in one story, but they do here. Though the directing is nowhere near Woody Allen's Hanna and Manhattan, and the climax is very hollywood, the majority of the film would make Woody very proud. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
kristen58Sep 29, 2012
I loved this movie! I had really low expectations, but it was so good! I should say, that I'm also a big fan of romantic comedies. So, if you're a fan of romantic comedies, you'll love it. If you're not into romantic comedies, youI loved this movie! I had really low expectations, but it was so good! I should say, that I'm also a big fan of romantic comedies. So, if you're a fan of romantic comedies, you'll love it. If you're not into romantic comedies, you probably won't like it, since there's not that many laughs. It's just really sweet and cute, and refreshing that it's a bit more adult than most romantic comedies. I really liked it and would even watch it again. I'm only giving it a 9 and not a 10 because it could have been funnier. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
ReviewCriticMar 11, 2012
A happy rom com that I believe is probably the only good movie Megan Fox has ever been in.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscJul 30, 2015
Friends with Kids is a happy rom com that'll give you big laughs than will give you scars. The co-writer/star Jennifer Westfeldt's debut as a solo writer and director, gives us smart dialogue also a funny story of parents. In the wake ofFriends with Kids is a happy rom com that'll give you big laughs than will give you scars. The co-writer/star Jennifer Westfeldt's debut as a solo writer and director, gives us smart dialogue also a funny story of parents. In the wake of their friends' marriages, longtime pales Julie (Jennifer Westfeld) and Jason (Adam Scott) want to have a child together but don't want to become a couple. When they become a "time share" they reason, they can experience the joys of parenthood without significantly curbing their personal freedom. However, when they both become involved with each others, they discover they secretly have romantic feelings for each other. It's cliche'd but Westfeld's script and the performances save this cliche'd rom-com. Grade B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleMar 10, 2012
Seems tough to believe that after the hundreds of rom coms that have been done that we'd see an original concept floated, but that's what this movie brings us. The lead actors are terrific, and the supporting characters (Bridesmaids II) areSeems tough to believe that after the hundreds of rom coms that have been done that we'd see an original concept floated, but that's what this movie brings us. The lead actors are terrific, and the supporting characters (Bridesmaids II) are excellent - though I'm getting the feeling the John Hamm is really a one-role (DD) guy. The movie drags a bit 3/4 of the way into it, but otherwise it's a solid movie with plenty of laughs and hide-your-face moments. Even Megan Fox does a decent job. Worth seeing. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
dijavantewowApr 16, 2013
Quite well done. This movie was funny in many places, and had a lot of heart in it as well. It's actually mostly formulaic, but it's a different type of romantic-comedy, that was enjoyable to watch rather than just ridiculous. As I'm gettingQuite well done. This movie was funny in many places, and had a lot of heart in it as well. It's actually mostly formulaic, but it's a different type of romantic-comedy, that was enjoyable to watch rather than just ridiculous. As I'm getting older and seeing friends get married and have children, it's very easy to relate to each the characters. Like it a lot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
asthobaskoroNov 15, 2012
Funny, absurd and also heartwarming. Friends With Kids premise sounds silly, but here it is, the movie was absolutely good. I bet you can't **** your best friend without emotionally attached. Friends with benefits is ****
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 29, 2014
Jennifer Westfeldt's second time around is delightful. Although at times it appears to be a reunion of the film Bridesmaids, the characters are touching and profoundly hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JW00042Aug 8, 2012
My wife loves the Rom-Com genre therefore I am indulged in the often horrendous spectacle that is ROM-COM. This movie isnt that bad though. Thay make some histerical spot on observations of married life and the general misery most AmericanMy wife loves the Rom-Com genre therefore I am indulged in the often horrendous spectacle that is ROM-COM. This movie isnt that bad though. Thay make some histerical spot on observations of married life and the general misery most American couples live. Its witty, calls out hypacritical bull shart of societal expectations in a unique and funny way. Most of the acting is acceptable, some is so bad you wonder how it made it through editing. Just like every ROM-COM they always muck it up when it comes to the happy ending. In my option it ruins the genre because no matter what the main characters always end up together. CHANGE THE FORMULA! I guess the only other option would be for the movie to end with everyone miserable. Not ideal but maybe worth a try as a change of pace. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews