From Dusk Till Dawn Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: George Clooney and Quentin Tarantino star as the Gecko brothers -- two dangerous outlaws on a wild crime spree. After kidnapping a father (Keitel) and his two kids (Lewis), the Geckos head south to a seedy Mexican bar to hide out in safety. But when they face the bar's truly notorious clientele, they're forced to team up with their hostages in order to make it out alive. (Dimension) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. 89
    This is horror with a wink and a nod to drive-in theatres and sweaty back seats. This is how it's done.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A deliriously trashy, exuberantly vulgar, lavishly appointed exploitation picture, this weird combo of road-kill movie and martial-arts vampire gorefest is made to order for the stimulation of teenage boys.
  3. 75
    It's great fun, but certainly not great art.
  4. On a mindless exploitation level this is pretty good, but on other levels it seems to make promises that it fails to deliver on; none of the deaths carries any moral weight, and the climactic special-effects free-for-all tends to drown out all other interests.
  5. Reviewed by: Jeff Giles
    60
    Robert Rodriguez's second effort is a funny, craftily written piece of low-grade horror crapola.
  6. Plenty of surprises, almost all of them nasty.
  7. Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez had their fun with From Dusk Till Dawn, and now they need to stay away from each other. For their own good. Forever.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    To me, It's incredibly rare for a movie to not only to suck you in but to keep you interested and entertained through out and this movie really did it for me. I loved it. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    George Clooney and Quentin Tarantino shine in this great vampire flick. Starts as a movie about two criminals on the run. The thing about this movie is it the first and second halves could be their own films. The first half is a interesting tale of two brothers in crime. About midway it turns into a highly entertaining vampire movie. Great quotable dialogue, memorable scenes, some decent performances and vampires. What more could you want? Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    This movie is directed by Robert Rodriquez and has a screenplay by Quentin Tarantino who also has a role in the film. This is actually one of the first movies by Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino that I watched and from then on I pretty much became a fan of them both. So, when it came out on Blu-ray a while ago I had to get it for the collection of course.

    When I and my dear wife first watched this movie we did not really know what it was all about. We thought it was just another robbery/criminal story and the first half of the movie it is indeed
    Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers. This film was absolutly fantastic for just over an hour. Literally one of the best things I'd ever seen, clever, funny, cool, well acted. Aaand then this lady turns into a vampire, tarentino dies and the whole thing goes to hell. I've never been so disappointed. Collapse
  5. Aug 20, 2014
    6
    Suitably sleazy entertainment. The first half of the movie is a grindhouse style crime-thriller, while the second is an over-the-top and goofy vampire movie that doesn't take itself seriously at all and is filled with extremely gory kills. The only things that stay the same throughout are that it's completely vulgar and it's main characters are violent and deranged.

    It can be stupid, offensive, or at times just downright gross. Surprisingly though that's what makes it fun. Watching it turn from a crime-thriller with two deranged leads (Clooney and Tarantino himself) into a dumb, b-movie horror flick feels surprisingly natural, and it's just overall a decent amount of trashy and stupid fun. It's definitely not for everyone, but there's something about it that still makes it worth a look. Just keep in mind this is far from high-art. I give it a 6.8/10.
    Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2014
    6
    From Dusk Till Dawn is extremely trashy, cheesy, vulgar entertainment. This is real 80's pulp mashed together is laughably bad script and screenplay. It's trashy but fun. George Clooney plays Seth Gecko and Quentin Tarantino playes Richard Gecko- another word for rapist in movie history. These brothers care about crime, when the tables turn in an attempt to rob a gas station, the brothers find themselves in big trouble after every cop in the state looks for them. When the boys find a RV to escape- they find three family members in it. Jacob Fuller, played by Harvey Keitel- Kate Fuller, played by Julliete Lewis and Scott Fuller played by Ernest Liu. The story progresses as they go to a club called the **** Twister and get a sexy dance by Salma Hayek. Yeah, that's it. But the second half is about fighting vampires rather than focusing on the story and characters. It wastes too much time. The story is absurd and most people wont like it- especially Tarantino fans. But the real cringe to the movie is this the acting and the all time fun you have in this cheesy flick. It's the most fun you'll have but still- it's flawed. I would say give it a rent and check out your brain at the door. Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    Another bunch of sicko crap from Tarantino, who is one of the sickest wackos ever to come out of Hollywood. Having Clooney in it only made it worse - if that was possible. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews