From Hell

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 116
  2. Negative: 39 out of 116

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BJ
    Sep 23, 2002
    10
    The best movie about Jack the Ripper.
  2. Mar 25, 2011
    4
    Was this supposed to be a detective film, a thriller, or a horror story? Because it fails at all three at them. Johnny Depp has been miscast into a bland and uninteresting character while all other characters are simply uninteresting to begin with. Not bad, but completely forgettable.
  3. MichaelH.
    Oct 20, 2001
    2
    Two hours seemed like six. It is a collection of tiresome, disjointed side stories that neither advance the characters nor plot combined with hackneyed storytelling that is neither engaging nor clever. It is a constant barrage of unnecessary extreme close ups, unmotivated crane shots, and a carriage in slow motion. Watching a conversation between two characters is akin to watching a Two hours seemed like six. It is a collection of tiresome, disjointed side stories that neither advance the characters nor plot combined with hackneyed storytelling that is neither engaging nor clever. It is a constant barrage of unnecessary extreme close ups, unmotivated crane shots, and a carriage in slow motion. Watching a conversation between two characters is akin to watching a tennis match shifting from one side of the screen to the other with each sentence uttered and realizing they had nothing to say. In the end I cared nothing for the main characters, the victims, or their plight. This seems to be the Cliff Notes version of a story in which the Hughes Bros. didn't read the book or the notes. Accurately titled, it truly is the movie "From Hell". Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Watch it!!! Perfect!!!! A masterpiece!!!! It's one of my favourite thrillers!!!! Johnny Depp is always perfect in his movies!!! He has a gift!!!!! He's the best actor in the world!
  5. TylerG.
    Feb 16, 2003
    8
    Very entertaining, and the characters are intriguing. Depp is as cool as ever, and Heather Graham is stunning. Ian Holm is one spooky doc in this movie. I recommend the DVD and the special features if you are at all interested in the Jack the Ripper lore. Then you should go to www.casebook.org and you will be enlightened. Anyway the movie is as good as an escape as any you'll find out there.
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    5
    From Hell would almost be interesting if it wasn't for the bungled love story, awful accents and empty conclusion. There are a few nice things about this Jack the Ripper flick but overall it's a mess.
  7. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    Excelente Filme,Ótimo elenco,roteiro,direção e produção.
    Com atuações Brilhantes de Johnny Depp,Ian Holm,Heather Graham,Robbie Coltrane e Jason Flemying.
    Super Suspense,cheio de vida,supresas e terror.
    Brilhante Filme
  8. Sep 15, 2015
    7
    The atmosphere in 'From Hell' creates this stomach turning, graphic and this gothic universe where the Ripper lives, and that's why it gave this movie a unique look and feel to it. Johnny Depp once again brings a solid performance in this movie and the overall film is a decent watch.
  9. Jul 5, 2015
    10
    Curti,Muito bom,Excelente,Obra-prima E Perfeição. Eu acho que esses 31 individuos que deram votos negativos de 0 a 3 são retardados que não sabem o que é história e roteiro de qualidade podiam morrer.
  10. Jul 7, 2015
    10
    Mega-Ultra-Hiper Filmaço... Engraçado a dois dias atrás tinha 31 cidadãos que votaram negativo isto é de 0 a 3,aumentou dois retardados em apenas dois dias.
  11. MichaelF.
    Apr 1, 2002
    5
    I was truly disappointed. All that this film has to offer is some great visuals, nothing else. I totally forgetable film. I liked that most, all, of the violence is implied. The movie just gets a bit boring and loses one's interest. Zero character developtment, usually this is the actor's job. The movie had no, soul, well, more like, the movie seemed like nothing was keeping it I was truly disappointed. All that this film has to offer is some great visuals, nothing else. I totally forgetable film. I liked that most, all, of the violence is implied. The movie just gets a bit boring and loses one's interest. Zero character developtment, usually this is the actor's job. The movie had no, soul, well, more like, the movie seemed like nothing was keeping it up. There was nothing in paticular that kept this movie going. Went nowhere and said nothing. Expand
  12. SidneyM.
    Oct 29, 2001
    4
    Too much rings false. The sets look like sets. The characters act like characters. This is melodramatic nonsense dressed up for a bloody night on the town. I couldn't believe any of it. I finally gave up when Depp fell for Graham. And those accents! Has Heather ever taken an acting class? I found myself wanting to check the football scores on my pager rather than watch anymore.
  13. JakeM.
    Jul 2, 2002
    6
    This is not the greatest movie of all time but its still a movie worth watching. Although you do come out of the theater asking questions, its still pretty cool because of the horror. The Hughes Brothers did a good job at showing the evil in Jack's eyes. And thats about it. I think people will watch this movie just to get some more knowledge of one of the most famous killers of all time.
  14. GaborA.
    Jun 10, 2004
    5
    The Hughes brothers have an eye for detail and know how to work the camera, but the storyline was terrible. If you are a hooker whose friends are all being horribly murdered then would you still enter any mysterious carriage for some grapes and money? Also, despite the fact that this is suposed to be a murder mystery jonny depp's character does little solving. The crimes just happen The Hughes brothers have an eye for detail and know how to work the camera, but the storyline was terrible. If you are a hooker whose friends are all being horribly murdered then would you still enter any mysterious carriage for some grapes and money? Also, despite the fact that this is suposed to be a murder mystery jonny depp's character does little solving. The crimes just happen until finally the killer gives himself away knowing that clues are apparently non existent. Interesting but story line falls short very much. Expand
  15. GinoE.
    Jun 19, 2004
    5
    "From Hell" is a modern serial killer police mystery, that is trying to be hip by taking an old London setting. The accents are terrible. Johnny is really trying, but obviously not good enough. Sometimes too bloody. Too many characters are beeing introduced who has nothing to do with the storyline at all. No wonder this film is 45 minutes too long. Nobody wants to watch long scenes about "From Hell" is a modern serial killer police mystery, that is trying to be hip by taking an old London setting. The accents are terrible. Johnny is really trying, but obviously not good enough. Sometimes too bloody. Too many characters are beeing introduced who has nothing to do with the storyline at all. No wonder this film is 45 minutes too long. Nobody wants to watch long scenes about town hookers and their daily problems and lesbian escapades. Loads of other cliches come to mind, but are not worth mentioning. There is one nice scene, that has nothing to do with anything, but pays a nice tribute to David Lynch's "Elephant Man". Overall: Enjoyable if you're bored, but after all, it's another "Let's-guess-who-the-killer-in-question-is" flick, that we've all seen before. Expand
  16. IsaacD.
    Nov 1, 2001
    10
    From Hell was the most stylish and frightening horror film that I have seen in years. The film was visceral in atmosphere and I was on the edge of my seat for the entire 2 hours and twenty minutes. This is definitely one of the most clever horror films that I have ever seen.
  17. PaulP.
    Oct 21, 2001
    9
    This movie was full of suspense. This was even though I saw it late at night.
  18. DonD.
    Oct 21, 2001
    5
    Dark characters abound in this story, starting with Johnny Depp in a stupor at a London hash house. The viewer gets no relief from the violence and gore which is deeply disturbing, not scary. The characterization of the Ripper was superb and well hidden until the end. But Depp seemed to sleep walk through his role, only expressing great emotion when his new hooker friend, Heather Graham, Dark characters abound in this story, starting with Johnny Depp in a stupor at a London hash house. The viewer gets no relief from the violence and gore which is deeply disturbing, not scary. The characterization of the Ripper was superb and well hidden until the end. But Depp seemed to sleep walk through his role, only expressing great emotion when his new hooker friend, Heather Graham, appeared to be in trouble. Coins for the ferryman fit the ending perfectly. Expand
  19. J.R.
    Jun 24, 2002
    0
    I found it boring and repetitive. Definitely a must not see.
  20. raVen
    Apr 11, 2004
    4
    Johnny Depp has this way of ingesting opiates and wading through pools of blood that makes you half suspect that this is what he does in real life between movies...But of course we all know he's REALLY a pirate. I was a big Depp fan before this movie, and I was still a big fan afterwards. But other than a good turn by Ian Holm, this movie didn't have much for me besides the Johnny Depp has this way of ingesting opiates and wading through pools of blood that makes you half suspect that this is what he does in real life between movies...But of course we all know he's REALLY a pirate. I was a big Depp fan before this movie, and I was still a big fan afterwards. But other than a good turn by Ian Holm, this movie didn't have much for me besides the aforementioned opiates and pools of blood. If I had to give it a grade I'd say O+. Collapse
  21. RhondaB.
    Nov 10, 2001
    10
    I loved it!
  22. Aug 16, 2016
    8
    I went into this having only seen 'The Book of Eli' by these directors, The Hughes Brothers. I quite liked that film, although I did feel their vivacious stylizations interfered with the telling of the story. Seeing this earlier film of theirs confirmed that suspicion, though it's still a fine film. Though Johnny Depp (the brothers' 5th choice for the lead) does a fine job as the film'sI went into this having only seen 'The Book of Eli' by these directors, The Hughes Brothers. I quite liked that film, although I did feel their vivacious stylizations interfered with the telling of the story. Seeing this earlier film of theirs confirmed that suspicion, though it's still a fine film. Though Johnny Depp (the brothers' 5th choice for the lead) does a fine job as the film's protagonist (I haven't read Alan Moore's graphic novel yet, so I can't say how this filmic adaptation compares), it certainly would have been interesting to see how any of their previous choices would have done (in order of their preference): Daniel Day-Lewis, Sean Connery, Jude Law and Brad Pitt (but especially either of the first two). It has a fine supporting cast, is beautiful to look at and is consistently intriguing. I especially liked Heather Graham (I think this is solidly amongst her best work), Ian Holm, Robbie Coltrane and, most significantly, Katlin Cartlidge. Boy, do I ever miss her in films made ever since. Expand
  23. Apr 4, 2016
    10
    ........................................................................................................................................................................................................................great
  24. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From Hell was the most stylish and frightening horror film that I have seen in years. The film was visceral in atmosphere and I was on the edge of my seat for the entire 2 hours and twenty minutes. This is definitely one of the most clever horror films that I have ever seen. Expand
  25. Sep 30, 2015
    4
    The problem I had with From Hell was that it felt like I was watching a movie about Jack the Ripper, set in London. I never got that immersive cinematic experience. While the production values were fine, the way things came off reminded me too much of History Channel dramatizations. I'd put that down to overacting on the part of the supporting cast; Heather Graham and Johnny Depp wereThe problem I had with From Hell was that it felt like I was watching a movie about Jack the Ripper, set in London. I never got that immersive cinematic experience. While the production values were fine, the way things came off reminded me too much of History Channel dramatizations. I'd put that down to overacting on the part of the supporting cast; Heather Graham and Johnny Depp were fine, as was the directing. I must admit that I ended up returning the disc early to get to the next one in my queue. I read spoilers for the rest of the film and the story sounds much more interesting than what I had seen up to that point. Expand
  26. Apr 4, 2016
    10
    ......................................................................................................................................................................Great writing and performances
  27. May 11, 2016
    10
    ................................................................................................................................................................Masterpiece Movie Everything Is Masterpiece the script, the acting, the end.... Who give negative reviews for this movie don't know what is a Great Script
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 7 out of 32
  1. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: Michael Sragow
    38
    A visionary sort of horror movie should ponder three words: "Bram Stoker's Dracula."
  2. It is deeply unpleasant to see women abducted, tortured and eviscerated by a methodical and meticulous butcher.
  3. 67
    A tug-of-war between a bracing vision of a truly infernal crime spree -- complete with engaging whodunit storytelling -- and a sometimes clumsy period drama.