Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 26, 2013
    100
    Wonderfully enchanting wintry fare.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Nov 26, 2013
    100
    The studio made a great film.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Nov 21, 2013
    100
    Frozen is fabulous.
  4. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Nov 6, 2013
    100
    As far as animated movies go, it doesn't get that much better than Frozen. It's a new Disney classic.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Nov 26, 2013
    90
    Frozen, for all its innovations, is not fundamentally revolutionary. Its animated characters are the same familiar, blank-faced, big-eyed storybook figures. But they are a little more psychologically complex than their Disney forerunners.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 26, 2013
    90
    Frozen is a delightful animated musical, a return to form for Disney animation with an intriguing story and terrific songs.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Nov 26, 2013
    88
    Disney’s Frozen works beautifully as a timeless fairy tale with a modern twist.
  8. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Nov 26, 2013
    88
    Has the ring of classic Disney seamlessly combined with a modern-day sensibility.
  9. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Nov 21, 2013
    88
    A great big snowy pleasure with an emotionally gripping core, brilliant Broadway-style songs and a crafty plot.
  10. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Nov 27, 2013
    83
    This may be yet another variation on the usual coming-of-age/sisterhood themes so familiar in Disney movies, but who does those better?
  11. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 27, 2013
    83
    Frozen impresses by conveying coldness in all its frostbitten beauty, from northern lights and blizzards, to ice magnifying, refracting and reflecting light. The movie is a lovely example for animation enthusiasts to study.
  12. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Nov 26, 2013
    83
    Frozen is a squarely enchanting fairy tale that shows you how the definition of what's fresh in animation can shift.
  13. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Nov 25, 2013
    83
    Engaging characters, an unforced pro-girl agenda and amusing songs make this at least the equal to last year’s “Brave.”
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 802 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 228
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    While we all love Disney and the happiness it brings to everyone, sometimes it over-shows ideals to young girls that might not come true in reality. "Frozen" addresses the meaning of love right from the start, with an adult Anna, who being separated from reality for her entire life has no idea what love truly means. .As an avid Disney fan, and as someone with two sisters, this is a movie that people of all ages will love to see. Full Review »
  2. Dec 23, 2013
    0
    Having loved Tangled, and seeing all those glowing reviews for Frozen I fully expected to enjoy this one, but alas I was severely let down by it.

    I have two major problems with Frozen: the story and the characters. Simply put, they're mediocre.

    Where Tangled had a very funny and well developed heroin, Frozen tries to juggle two heroins and fails miserably at it. None of them end up being developed at all, they come across as very generic and forgettable, which is not what you would want in a movie centered on characters. Same thing with the supporting characters, all very bland and generic except for Olaf, he's hilarious.

    Next the story, it's an absolute mess. In the first 20 mins, we experience three major dramatic moments and a 15 year time jump. Only to then have the rest of the movie with NOTHING going on until the last 20 mins. There's also zero world building, we see nothing of the world or the people inhabiting it, whereas in Tangled we did get to travel across the world and go on an exciting adventure with our characters. Here we see a castle and a mountain, and that's it. The themes of the story are also muddled and don't come through at all like in Brave for example.

    In the end Frozen felt rushed, unfocused and boring. A major step backward for Disney.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    Frozen is fantastic. Flawless animation and terrific songs combine to make it the best Disney movie in a decade, as well as one of the funniest. This is one I will watch over and over. Full Review »