Attitude Films | Release Date: March 11, 1998
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 185 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
92
Mixed:
12
Negative:
81
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
VictorMNov 19, 2009
Beautiful and brilliant. Cinema as an art, at its best. Not for the close-minded.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EnzoMJun 1, 2009
Apparently, not everyone got it. A worthy remake of the 1998 version.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisB.Jun 20, 2008
The fact that people are giving this a movie completely proves the point of the film. They walked into this movie wanting it to wrap up into a nice neat little package. I'm sorry it didn't give you just the right amount of violence The fact that people are giving this a movie completely proves the point of the film. They walked into this movie wanting it to wrap up into a nice neat little package. I'm sorry it didn't give you just the right amount of violence and then wrap up with the good guys winning. Sorry guys, but you're just gonna have to go jerk off to hostel for that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RebeccaB.Jul 4, 2008
Finally some harsh reality instead of a ridiculous happy ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AelieasMay 5, 2009
This movie is a success. Not a success in an everyone will love it kind of way, but a sucess in that the writer and director created a movie which conveys what they wanted to convey. This movie was not meant to entertain, so much as instill This movie is a success. Not a success in an everyone will love it kind of way, but a sucess in that the writer and director created a movie which conveys what they wanted to convey. This movie was not meant to entertain, so much as instill a large range of emotions and happiness or entertainment got missed. Right from the start the movie gives you an unnerving suspensful feeling that something is going to go wrong here. This isn't achieved through blatant hinting that common movies generally resort to but by a subtle undertone of eeriness in the storytelling and direction. Unsurprisingly, like all horror movies, things do start to go wrong but it is done in such a way that you don't feel like you have seen this all before. This movie presents you with common horror movie stereotypes and shatters them right in front of you. An example of this is the lack of music, which means that an terror or suspense you feel is completely due to what you are seeing. It is artistic and brilliant at what it does, which is make you wonder why you are watching it and finally make you hate it. This is why some people will give this movie a 0 without a second thought and it is because this movie requires a second thought. If you want a movie that tries to break the mold and suceeds with terrifying fervour, if you can see the artform behind movies, the underlying message, if you want a movie that will be unforgettable for better or for worse, then you should experience this movie. I can't say you'll like it, but hopefully you will appreciate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickL.Mar 14, 2008
I am positively shocked at the number of reviewers who are completely missing Haneke's point. Having seen both the original as well as the American remake (at Sundance), I must say: Both films are utter perfection, they aren't I am positively shocked at the number of reviewers who are completely missing Haneke's point. Having seen both the original as well as the American remake (at Sundance), I must say: Both films are utter perfection, they aren't meant to be entertaining, they are meant to call into question the artifice of modern torture-porn horror filmaking as well as our penchant for voyeurism. If you are trying to choose which version to see, I might recommend the remake because, as Cinematical's James Rocchi points out, "this new iteration isn't merely intellectually faithful to the original but also, in some ways, even more emotionally fearsome. You don't get to, as you did with the original, blunt the fear and terror of the movie by filtering the dialogue through your rational mind as you read the subtitles; instead, with every whimpered plea for mercy and sobbed demand to know why, the panic and fear leaps right into your reptile brain." Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristianCMar 15, 2008
Disturbing & brilliant! The entire cast is excellent! Naomi Watts, who is also credited as executive producer continues to show great range and Michael Pitt is also quite effective. Why isn't he used more? Sure it's a bit Disturbing & brilliant! The entire cast is excellent! Naomi Watts, who is also credited as executive producer continues to show great range and Michael Pitt is also quite effective. Why isn't he used more? Sure it's a bit manipulative, but after the recent onslaught of forgettable Hollywood trash like the Saw & Hostel series', why should we mind?! This one will make ya think and you will not forget it anytime soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MauriceMar 16, 2008
Brilliant For intelligent audiences only.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottMApr 1, 2008
Good lord. Haneke's is not a minister preaching hell and damnation to American movie audiences. He gives us what we want, and the film openly acknowledges it. It's not a black or white case where he is either being completely Good lord. Haneke's is not a minister preaching hell and damnation to American movie audiences. He gives us what we want, and the film openly acknowledges it. It's not a black or white case where he is either being completely ironic or extremely sadistic, it's both. We as the audience have the power to save the family by turning off the movie or walking out, but Haneke knows that more than likely we'll keep watching. Impeccably made, flawless for what it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoanneS.Aug 22, 2008
Wonderfully suspenseful thriller. A welcome change from the usual torture porn films of late. The director turns all the usual horror cliches on the head and is full of surprise twists and shocks. Wonderfully acted, if a tad slow in places, Wonderfully suspenseful thriller. A welcome change from the usual torture porn films of late. The director turns all the usual horror cliches on the head and is full of surprise twists and shocks. Wonderfully acted, if a tad slow in places, this is a surprisingly good addition to the genre. Well worth a look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoryGMar 14, 2008
It kept you guessing until the very end which you would have never known was the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
joshcMar 16, 2008
Small details like their matched white gloves and inconsistent names clue us (and Anna) into the fact that the invaders are up to no good. Paul borrows one of Georg's golf-clubs and uses it to kill the family dog then, during a minor Small details like their matched white gloves and inconsistent names clue us (and Anna) into the fact that the invaders are up to no good. Paul borrows one of Georg's golf-clubs and uses it to kill the family dog then, during a minor argument, to break Georg's leg. Paul announces a bet, that none of the family will be alive in nine hours time. The story is deliberately archetypal, borrowing from The Desperate Hours, Last House On The Left and Straw Dogs as an isolated "normal" family are invaded by psychopathic outsiders who arbitrarily torment them, forcing them to fight back. However, writer-director Haneke has ambitions to make more than just an edge-of-the-seat suspenser. It might well be accused of being too clever for its own good, and the ending isn't particularly radical, but this is a remarkable film. Haneke's earlier effort Benny's Video was about the numbing effects of media violence but adopted alienating devices that made it cold. Here, he plays the game far closer to the rules, encouraging identification with the victims (especially Lothat) and making villains (who seem to be students out for a lark) unforgettably creepy characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MBMar 16, 2008
The only film this year that isn't out to make you like it by brainwashing you and meeting your highest expectations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesusChristMar 19, 2008
Not for the morons.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobH.Jun 26, 2008
I'm conflicted about this film. On the surface it's a simplistic, straightforward kidnapping/torture/slasher flick with relatively transparent characters but a closer examination reveals a dark, brooding, unsettlingly I'm conflicted about this film. On the surface it's a simplistic, straightforward kidnapping/torture/slasher flick with relatively transparent characters but a closer examination reveals a dark, brooding, unsettlingly thought-provoking tale of sadism that's anything but conventional. It drags quite a bit in the last hour and leaves a lot to be desired, but this is a refreshingly dark flick that doesn't have to resort to Eli Roth-esque gore to make one feel uncomfortable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatriciaD.Jul 10, 2008
Having seen the original, I was curious to discover why Haneke wanted to re-make it, but in English. It is the same film as the original German, with the same creepy home invaders/murderers, the substitution of Watts and Roth for the parents Having seen the original, I was curious to discover why Haneke wanted to re-make it, but in English. It is the same film as the original German, with the same creepy home invaders/murderers, the substitution of Watts and Roth for the parents in the first film indistinguishable from the parents in the first trip down this road. The result is a beautifully made journey into Hell, if you find yourself sucked into the premise of the plot, mindless terror,with no point except to create fear. On that level it is very effective. Full marks for the staging and casting. Haneke, I think, achieved what it was he set out to achieve. But...to what end? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.Cory!Jul 3, 2008
I thought this was the funniest movie i saw last year. I had to see it when every worthless movie critic begged people to not watch it. A handful of people walked out of the theatre... but I couldn't stop laughing. People say that Funny I thought this was the funniest movie i saw last year. I had to see it when every worthless movie critic begged people to not watch it. A handful of people walked out of the theatre... but I couldn't stop laughing. People say that Funny Games is an exercise in violence... but it's really about a director f'ing with people's expectations.... and that's hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxwellAug 24, 2008
Dear everyone who gave this film a zero, Thank you for absolutely proving the director's point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonS.Jan 18, 2009
Excitingly original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NKJan 4, 2009
Intriguing, intelligent and some excellent performances. Well worth watching in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickOOct 9, 2009
I think a lot of people have missed the point here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
petrosAug 17, 2009
The comments for this film is proof that this world is divided unevenly in two categories - smart (just a few unfortunately) and unbelievably stupid (the majority) - go watch iron man and don't insult us with your ignorance. the The comments for this film is proof that this world is divided unevenly in two categories - smart (just a few unfortunately) and unbelievably stupid (the majority) - go watch iron man and don't insult us with your ignorance. the original is the best film ever made, haneke's only mistake was making a remake in order to approach a brader audience. he should know better. what do you expect from people who can't watch films with subtitles. nothing obviously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisL.Dec 20, 2008
you might be disappointed after watching it, because it is different. if you are looking for an everyday movie, you will have no trouble finding it every day. And this is what the movie is complaining about: If you like violence, think you might be disappointed after watching it, because it is different. if you are looking for an everyday movie, you will have no trouble finding it every day. And this is what the movie is complaining about: If you like violence, think twice. "Funny games" is about the victims, not the murderers. The murderers in this movie are the everyday consumers of violent movies. In any case, this movie has a message, and you won' t get it out of your head for quite some time. And that's quite something nowadays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriqueMar 14, 2008
It is as brilliant as the original German production, both directed by Michael Haneke. He delivers a faithfull version of the first one without making absolutely any concessions to general audiences. This is a masterpiece but certainly not It is as brilliant as the original German production, both directed by Michael Haneke. He delivers a faithfull version of the first one without making absolutely any concessions to general audiences. This is a masterpiece but certainly not for everyone. If you want a convencional horror movie with the usual thrills, take your crap to a mall multiplex, buy pop-corn and stay away from this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlbertoB.Mar 15, 2008
Almost as great as the German original thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanHefkoMar 16, 2008
Anthony Lane implies (New Yorker,
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyR.Mar 16, 2008
I think you either love this movie or you hate it. This movie isn't for everyone. It says something when the same movie that gets rated a 0 from critics also gets a 100. I'm giving this a 10 because I really think it was amazing I think you either love this movie or you hate it. This movie isn't for everyone. It says something when the same movie that gets rated a 0 from critics also gets a 100. I'm giving this a 10 because I really think it was amazing filmmaking/acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarryB.Apr 25, 2008
Never have I felt so tense while watching a movie (except maybe Bram Stoker's Dracula, but I was kid then). Haneke made a movie that most action, thriller, and horror movie lovers won't love, because it calls them out on exactly Never have I felt so tense while watching a movie (except maybe Bram Stoker's Dracula, but I was kid then). Haneke made a movie that most action, thriller, and horror movie lovers won't love, because it calls them out on exactly what they crave and why they crave it. In real life, the bad guys usually win. But the Mission Impossibles, the 8MMs, and the Hostels have tried to teach us that good guys prevail. They don't. Naomi Watts deserves an Oscar nomination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToddM.Apr 29, 2008
This is probably the best movie of 2008. it is incredible how it breaks all of the rules of movies. i will admit some parts are unnecessarily long but other than that this is an incredible film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkusBMay 27, 2008
As good as the Austrian (!) original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulR.Jun 19, 2008
People of course will not understand the brutal nature of a movie like this cross examining Americas constant lust for violence. I first saw the 1997 Austrian version about 4 years ago and it slammed me up against the wall making me think of People of course will not understand the brutal nature of a movie like this cross examining Americas constant lust for violence. I first saw the 1997 Austrian version about 4 years ago and it slammed me up against the wall making me think of violence in a whole new light. This version, also directed by Haneke is a Brilliant film on the exact same malicious level as the original. It is not meant to be a entertaining film experience, it is a lesson in pain. If you want a watered down version of Funny Games watch "The Strangers", which is horrific in how it's made. If you want an experimental horrific movie experience then watch this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidN.Jun 29, 2008
Clever and imaginative. This is a movie that tells a story about the killers and their sadistic craziness, but instead it compels to make you think the actual story is about an abducted family and their struggle for survival. Never saw that Clever and imaginative. This is a movie that tells a story about the killers and their sadistic craziness, but instead it compels to make you think the actual story is about an abducted family and their struggle for survival. Never saw that one coming! Its been a while since a movie actually shocked me. All of you 0% voters, go watch Iron Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleR.Jul 21, 2008
The movie was very clever and the acting is very very good,its like Heath's performance as the joker.i had myself laughing every time Peter And Paul said something and did.I must admit that it was slow in some parts.but that The movie was very clever and the acting is very very good,its like Heath's performance as the joker.i had myself laughing every time Peter And Paul said something and did.I must admit that it was slow in some parts.but that doesn't make a bad movie.in a underline note. If u haven't seen it.take the chance and watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanSJan 19, 2009
This is such a great film because it divides viewers into camps. those who think cinema is entertainment and those that think cinema is art. Read what people who rated the film badly have to say. It's always something to the effect of: This is such a great film because it divides viewers into camps. those who think cinema is entertainment and those that think cinema is art. Read what people who rated the film badly have to say. It's always something to the effect of: "this is so boring"; or, "the director must be some kind of sadistic person". They sound like little children who've been brought up on Batman and the Saw series. Grow up people. This film is really not much more than an assault on the entertainment diet of most of America (one of the most violent nations in recent times), and a nation that constantly sugar coats its film output to appease all the prudes out there. This film was made because America is in denial about their tastelessness in the arts, period. So called critics who berate this film are the same ones that regularly indulge in poor, titillating representations of violence and Haneke's approach conflicts with their film diet and they're just not ready to concede any praise to the film. It goes against their right to consume crap at the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
puppupOct 24, 2009
This is not "natural born killers" or any other gringo film. This is european. We're so bored with the usa violence even gore films. Thiss is true, though we know it's a film. Haneke wants to say: "don't you consider stupid This is not "natural born killers" or any other gringo film. This is european. We're so bored with the usa violence even gore films. Thiss is true, though we know it's a film. Haneke wants to say: "don't you consider stupid the lot of gringo films of this kind you've seen in your life". I'm spanish so, I think this never happen to me (I'm not sure or this, of course), but we always know this things only happens if you're a gringo: they consider themselves the best country, the best democracy, they do the best films, they are afraid (fear fear) of averything. We don't. We win. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
asthobaskoroFeb 18, 2011
Funny Games is not thriller-you-expected, unique. Deliver you funny scene, absurdity, surrealism and interactivity. Good performance by cast. I think it's good in the way but still not satisfying, I'm still curious with Michael Haneke's TheFunny Games is not thriller-you-expected, unique. Deliver you funny scene, absurdity, surrealism and interactivity. Good performance by cast. I think it's good in the way but still not satisfying, I'm still curious with Michael Haneke's The White Ribbon, Total Film called it masterpiece, hope get chance to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Jul 3, 2015
This movie was listed in the 1001 Movies to Watch Before You Die, so here I am. Funny Games is an Austrian thriller about an affluent family who are held captive in their house by two young men that force them to play sadistic games for theirThis movie was listed in the 1001 Movies to Watch Before You Die, so here I am. Funny Games is an Austrian thriller about an affluent family who are held captive in their house by two young men that force them to play sadistic games for their own amusement. Funny Games isn't really worried about a conventional story. The point of this movie is to satirize people's obsession with watching extreme violence in cinema and the pleasure they may get from that. While the movie itself isn't terribly violent, it's somewhat disturbing and has an incredibly morbid sense of humor. One of the young men, Paul, frequently interacts with the audience and breaks the fourth wall. About an hour into the movie, he tells the family that they haven't been killed yet since they're "not up to feature film length yet." He also asks the viewer their opinion about if the family will win a certain game or if they want to see even more violence. There's even a scene towards the end involving a remote control that completely destroys traditional storytelling and shows two different outcomes for the same game. I don't want to say much more than that since it's such a clever scene. As a lecture about the obsession of violence in cinema, it's a very striking and memorable film, while as a thriller, it's an unpredictable and visceral roller coaster until the very last shot. It's a movie everyone needs to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews