Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 19, 2013
    38
    So sadistic and disturbing, Games is easily the toughest movie to sit through since 1994's "Natural Born Killers."
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    In the end, the difference between "Funny Games" and Hollywood schlock horror may only be a matter of breeding. Funny Games is "Saw IV" with a PhD.
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    As shocking and deliberately manipulative as the original movie and -- some may reckon -- even more pointless.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    The new movie wears an air of old hat. I would absolutely defend Haneke’s right to relaunch his broadside on our voyeuristic vices, but he’s not keeping up with the times; he’s behind them.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    A patronizing, self-satisfied piece of work, Funny Games is Michael Haneke's way of chastising us for blindly following the traditional rules of entertainment.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 19, 2013
    25
    Just because it's a conscious commentary on other vile, useless, pointless cinematic exercises doesn't make it any less vile, useless and pointless.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 19, 2013
    25
    The joke is on arthouse audiences who show up for Funny Games, which is basically torture porn every bit as manipulative and reprehensible as "Hostel," even if it's tricked out with intellectual pretension.
  8. Reviewed by: J. Hoberman
    Mar 19, 2013
    20
    Professional obligations required that I endure it, but there's no reason why you should.
  9. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 19, 2013
    20
    The film calls attention to its own artificial status. It actually knows it’s a movie! What a clever, tricky game! What fun! What a fraud.
  10. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    Mar 19, 2013
    20
    That this relentless barrage of psychological and physical torture is extremely well made and powerfully performed--Watts hurls herself into her physically demanding role with heroic conviction--somehow makes it worse.
  11. Reviewed by: Jim Emerson
    Mar 19, 2013
    12
    Funny Games represents the laborious execution of an abstract notion. The concept is the movie, kind of like Andy Warhol's ''Empire'' (1964), an eight-hour stationary shot of the Empire State Building. You don't have to sit through the whole thing to get the point, unless you really want to.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 19, 2013
    0
    In addition to being borderline unendurable, Funny Games is inexplicable, and I don't mean in any philosophical sense.
  13. 0
    Haneke’s assault on our fantasy lives is shallow, unimaginative, and glacially unengaged--a sucker punch without the redeeming passion of punk.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    This movie knows what it wants to be and supports everything about itself. If you love movies with sarcastic evil funny characters and an interesting idea, this is for you. Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    5
    The remake (U.S) version of the film is not as good, let alone effective as the first. I found the film disappointing. Maybe because I originally had high expectations for it. I will say if your going to watch the film, lower your expectations a bit. Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    I think its name is "Funny Games" because is the film the one is playing with the watcher. Some parts of the movie are very boring, but is very realistic in so many ways. Full Review »