Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 19, 2013
    38
    So sadistic and disturbing, Games is easily the toughest movie to sit through since 1994's "Natural Born Killers."
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    In the end, the difference between "Funny Games" and Hollywood schlock horror may only be a matter of breeding. Funny Games is "Saw IV" with a PhD.
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    As shocking and deliberately manipulative as the original movie and -- some may reckon -- even more pointless.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    The new movie wears an air of old hat. I would absolutely defend Haneke’s right to relaunch his broadside on our voyeuristic vices, but he’s not keeping up with the times; he’s behind them.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    A patronizing, self-satisfied piece of work, Funny Games is Michael Haneke's way of chastising us for blindly following the traditional rules of entertainment.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 19, 2013
    25
    Just because it's a conscious commentary on other vile, useless, pointless cinematic exercises doesn't make it any less vile, useless and pointless.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 19, 2013
    25
    The joke is on arthouse audiences who show up for Funny Games, which is basically torture porn every bit as manipulative and reprehensible as "Hostel," even if it's tricked out with intellectual pretension.
  8. Reviewed by: J. Hoberman
    Mar 19, 2013
    20
    Professional obligations required that I endure it, but there's no reason why you should.
  9. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 19, 2013
    20
    The film calls attention to its own artificial status. It actually knows it’s a movie! What a clever, tricky game! What fun! What a fraud.
  10. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    Mar 19, 2013
    20
    That this relentless barrage of psychological and physical torture is extremely well made and powerfully performed--Watts hurls herself into her physically demanding role with heroic conviction--somehow makes it worse.
  11. Reviewed by: Jim Emerson
    Mar 19, 2013
    12
    Funny Games represents the laborious execution of an abstract notion. The concept is the movie, kind of like Andy Warhol's ''Empire'' (1964), an eight-hour stationary shot of the Empire State Building. You don't have to sit through the whole thing to get the point, unless you really want to.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 19, 2013
    0
    In addition to being borderline unendurable, Funny Games is inexplicable, and I don't mean in any philosophical sense.
  13. 0
    Haneke’s assault on our fantasy lives is shallow, unimaginative, and glacially unengaged--a sucker punch without the redeeming passion of punk.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Nov 7, 2014
    1
    Funny Games is for all intents and purposes a snuff film. I am not easily offended (I love A Clockwork Orange, for example), but this movie isFunny Games is for all intents and purposes a snuff film. I am not easily offended (I love A Clockwork Orange, for example), but this movie is the most vile and offensive piece of trash I have ever watched. I never saw the European original, but have read that it is identical to this one. There is no message, no lesson, nothing of value conveyed to the audience. What's more, through the use of the fourth wall, the director literally mocks the audience, telling the viewer that they are going to watch this poor family get tortured, and even when they finally get the upper hand, I'm going to hit the rewind button (literally) and replay the scene so the brutal sadism can continue. At this point you realize that you are just being toyed with, so what's the point of continuing to watch? Any "suspense" is a hoax; and you realize it was all just a bunch of red herrings to keep you focused on the family's hopeless demise, including the brutalization of a child. I don't know how anyone can find this "art house" film entertaining or engaging in any way. I give it a "1" only out of respect for the quality performances of Naomi Watts and Tim Roth. But whatever possessed them to take on this putrid film, I have no idea. Full Review »
  2. Jul 7, 2016
    10
    I find it funny that the original and this shot for shot remake with better actors had such different reception, both are terrific darkI find it funny that the original and this shot for shot remake with better actors had such different reception, both are terrific dark comedies with the same exact everything, and yet, the lesser minded often dismiss this great piece of cinema as pointless garbage, these people should stop watching movies.This is easily the best dark comedy of all time, an imaginative look at the philosophy of chaos. Full Review »
  3. Sep 13, 2015
    6
    Impossible to like but easy to admire for its craft and extraordinary cast. Funny Games is uncomfortable and you'll probably hate it. Watts isImpossible to like but easy to admire for its craft and extraordinary cast. Funny Games is uncomfortable and you'll probably hate it. Watts is superb though. Full Review »