Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 19, 2013
    38
    So sadistic and disturbing, Games is easily the toughest movie to sit through since 1994's "Natural Born Killers."
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    In the end, the difference between "Funny Games" and Hollywood schlock horror may only be a matter of breeding. Funny Games is "Saw IV" with a PhD.
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    As shocking and deliberately manipulative as the original movie and -- some may reckon -- even more pointless.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    The new movie wears an air of old hat. I would absolutely defend Haneke’s right to relaunch his broadside on our voyeuristic vices, but he’s not keeping up with the times; he’s behind them.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    A patronizing, self-satisfied piece of work, Funny Games is Michael Haneke's way of chastising us for blindly following the traditional rules of entertainment.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 19, 2013
    25
    Just because it's a conscious commentary on other vile, useless, pointless cinematic exercises doesn't make it any less vile, useless and pointless.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 19, 2013
    25
    The joke is on arthouse audiences who show up for Funny Games, which is basically torture porn every bit as manipulative and reprehensible as "Hostel," even if it's tricked out with intellectual pretension.
  8. Reviewed by: J. Hoberman
    Mar 19, 2013
    20
    Professional obligations required that I endure it, but there's no reason why you should.
  9. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 19, 2013
    20
    The film calls attention to its own artificial status. It actually knows it’s a movie! What a clever, tricky game! What fun! What a fraud.
  10. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    Mar 19, 2013
    20
    That this relentless barrage of psychological and physical torture is extremely well made and powerfully performed--Watts hurls herself into her physically demanding role with heroic conviction--somehow makes it worse.
  11. Reviewed by: Jim Emerson
    Mar 19, 2013
    12
    Funny Games represents the laborious execution of an abstract notion. The concept is the movie, kind of like Andy Warhol's ''Empire'' (1964), an eight-hour stationary shot of the Empire State Building. You don't have to sit through the whole thing to get the point, unless you really want to.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 19, 2013
    0
    In addition to being borderline unendurable, Funny Games is inexplicable, and I don't mean in any philosophical sense.
  13. 0
    Haneke’s assault on our fantasy lives is shallow, unimaginative, and glacially unengaged--a sucker punch without the redeeming passion of punk.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Nov 7, 2014
    1
    Funny Games is for all intents and purposes a snuff film. I am not easily offended (I love A Clockwork Orange, for example), but this movie isFunny Games is for all intents and purposes a snuff film. I am not easily offended (I love A Clockwork Orange, for example), but this movie is the most vile and offensive piece of trash I have ever watched. I never saw the European original, but have read that it is identical to this one. There is no message, no lesson, nothing of value conveyed to the audience. What's more, through the use of the fourth wall, the director literally mocks the audience, telling the viewer that they are going to watch this poor family get tortured, and even when they finally get the upper hand, I'm going to hit the rewind button (literally) and replay the scene so the brutal sadism can continue. At this point you realize that you are just being toyed with, so what's the point of continuing to watch? Any "suspense" is a hoax; and you realize it was all just a bunch of red herrings to keep you focused on the family's hopeless demise, including the brutalization of a child. I don't know how anyone can find this "art house" film entertaining or engaging in any way. I give it a "1" only out of respect for the quality performances of Naomi Watts and Tim Roth. But whatever possessed them to take on this putrid film, I have no idea. Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2014
    7
    This is a twisted piece of social commentary which test the audience's patience in a way I feel is beneficial to the film. All the charactersThis is a twisted piece of social commentary which test the audience's patience in a way I feel is beneficial to the film. All the characters are well played and there is a real sense of tension throughout.

    Not an easy watch, and not one to watch while in a good mood, but a very gripping film regardless.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    This movie knows what it wants to be and supports everything about itself. If you love movies with sarcastic evil funny characters and anThis movie knows what it wants to be and supports everything about itself. If you love movies with sarcastic evil funny characters and an interesting idea, this is for you. Full Review »