Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 19, 2013
    60
    Haneke's new Funny Games has a current of bleak humor that comes through more clearly when you're not reading subtitles. It remains a horrifying, implacable mind-fuck, liable to be widely misunderstood and widely despised.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    Mar 20, 2013
    50
    The film is merciless in its depiction of death and suffering, Pitt and Corbet are perfectly cast, and Watts, who also served as executive producer, gives a disturbingly raw performance.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Mar 19, 2013
    50
    Many American viewers may take Haneke at his word and walk out midway through this grueling ethics exam of a movie. But much as I may resent the facile polemics of Haneke's shame-the-viewer project, I have to respect the way that he nailed me, trembling, to my seat.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 19, 2013
    50
    Funny Games is fundamentally a bourgeois exercise in authorial sadism. As the methodical games grind on, the suffocatingly beige and white surroundings start to look like a mausoleum.
  5. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Mar 19, 2013
    50
    It’s one thing to make a movie filled with mayhem and then implicate the audience for watching it; it’s another thing entirely to come back ten years later with the same movie, hype it with a marketing campaign, and try to implicate the viewer again. One nice thing about America is that you can’t be tried twice for the same crime.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 19, 2013
    50
    If this is daring in theory, it's a failure in practice. Exactingly well-made, the movie is grueling and unpleasant in the extreme - that's the point - but it's also working from a specious premise, that film-school Brechtian devices can bring on mass enlightenment.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Nov 7, 2014
    1
    Funny Games is for all intents and purposes a snuff film. I am not easily offended (I love A Clockwork Orange, for example), but this movie isFunny Games is for all intents and purposes a snuff film. I am not easily offended (I love A Clockwork Orange, for example), but this movie is the most vile and offensive piece of trash I have ever watched. I never saw the European original, but have read that it is identical to this one. There is no message, no lesson, nothing of value conveyed to the audience. What's more, through the use of the fourth wall, the director literally mocks the audience, telling the viewer that they are going to watch this poor family get tortured, and even when they finally get the upper hand, I'm going to hit the rewind button (literally) and replay the scene so the brutal sadism can continue. At this point you realize that you are just being toyed with, so what's the point of continuing to watch? Any "suspense" is a hoax; and you realize it was all just a bunch of red herrings to keep you focused on the family's hopeless demise, including the brutalization of a child. I don't know how anyone can find this "art house" film entertaining or engaging in any way. I give it a "1" only out of respect for the quality performances of Naomi Watts and Tim Roth. But whatever possessed them to take on this putrid film, I have no idea. Full Review »
  2. Jul 7, 2016
    10
    I find it funny that the original and this shot for shot remake with better actors had such different reception, both are terrific darkI find it funny that the original and this shot for shot remake with better actors had such different reception, both are terrific dark comedies with the same exact everything, and yet, the lesser minded often dismiss this great piece of cinema as pointless garbage, these people should stop watching movies.This is easily the best dark comedy of all time, an imaginative look at the philosophy of chaos. Full Review »
  3. Sep 13, 2015
    6
    Impossible to like but easy to admire for its craft and extraordinary cast. Funny Games is uncomfortable and you'll probably hate it. Watts isImpossible to like but easy to admire for its craft and extraordinary cast. Funny Games is uncomfortable and you'll probably hate it. Watts is superb though. Full Review »