Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 19, 2013
    100
    A chilly and extraordinarily controlled treatise on film violence, Funny Games punishes the audience for its casual bloodlust by giving it all the sickening torture and mayhem it could possibly desire. Neat trick, that.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric D. Snider
    Mar 19, 2013
    91
    Some provocative filmmakers seem intent on irritating or turning off the audience. With Haneke, I get the feeling that once you understand what he’s up to, he’s glad to have you in on the joke. He certainly goes about executing it in a masterful way.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Mar 19, 2013
    89
    You can take a page from Wes Craven before he went flat and keep repeating, "It's only a movie; it's only a movie; it's only a movie." But is it?
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 19, 2013
    88
    Funny Games is not entertainment but it is an experience.
  5. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Mar 19, 2013
    88
    The experience of watching Funny Games, be it the original or this version, is never forgotten, whatever your ultimate impression of the film.
  6. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 19, 2013
    83
    Can a movie be gripping and repellent at the same time? In Funny Games, a mockingly sadistic and terrifying watch-the-middle-class-writhe-like-stuck-pigs thriller, the director Michael Haneke puts his characters in a vise, and the audience too.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    This movie knows what it wants to be and supports everything about itself. If you love movies with sarcastic evil funny characters and an interesting idea, this is for you. Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    5
    The remake (U.S) version of the film is not as good, let alone effective as the first. I found the film disappointing. Maybe because I originally had high expectations for it. I will say if your going to watch the film, lower your expectations a bit. Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    I think its name is "Funny Games" because is the film the one is playing with the watcher. Some parts of the movie are very boring, but is very realistic in so many ways. Full Review »