Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 19, 2013
    100
    A chilly and extraordinarily controlled treatise on film violence, Funny Games punishes the audience for its casual bloodlust by giving it all the sickening torture and mayhem it could possibly desire. Neat trick, that.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric D. Snider
    Mar 19, 2013
    91
    Some provocative filmmakers seem intent on irritating or turning off the audience. With Haneke, I get the feeling that once you understand what he’s up to, he’s glad to have you in on the joke. He certainly goes about executing it in a masterful way.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Mar 19, 2013
    89
    You can take a page from Wes Craven before he went flat and keep repeating, "It's only a movie; it's only a movie; it's only a movie." But is it?
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 19, 2013
    88
    Funny Games is not entertainment but it is an experience.
  5. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Mar 19, 2013
    88
    The experience of watching Funny Games, be it the original or this version, is never forgotten, whatever your ultimate impression of the film.
  6. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 19, 2013
    83
    Can a movie be gripping and repellent at the same time? In Funny Games, a mockingly sadistic and terrifying watch-the-middle-class-writhe-like-stuck-pigs thriller, the director Michael Haneke puts his characters in a vise, and the audience too.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Nov 7, 2014
    1
    Funny Games is for all intents and purposes a snuff film. I am not easily offended (I love A Clockwork Orange, for example), but this movie isFunny Games is for all intents and purposes a snuff film. I am not easily offended (I love A Clockwork Orange, for example), but this movie is the most vile and offensive piece of trash I have ever watched. I never saw the European original, but have read that it is identical to this one. There is no message, no lesson, nothing of value conveyed to the audience. What's more, through the use of the fourth wall, the director literally mocks the audience, telling the viewer that they are going to watch this poor family get tortured, and even when they finally get the upper hand, I'm going to hit the rewind button (literally) and replay the scene so the brutal sadism can continue. At this point you realize that you are just being toyed with, so what's the point of continuing to watch? Any "suspense" is a hoax; and you realize it was all just a bunch of red herrings to keep you focused on the family's hopeless demise, including the brutalization of a child. I don't know how anyone can find this "art house" film entertaining or engaging in any way. I give it a "1" only out of respect for the quality performances of Naomi Watts and Tim Roth. But whatever possessed them to take on this putrid film, I have no idea. Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2014
    7
    This is a twisted piece of social commentary which test the audience's patience in a way I feel is beneficial to the film. All the charactersThis is a twisted piece of social commentary which test the audience's patience in a way I feel is beneficial to the film. All the characters are well played and there is a real sense of tension throughout.

    Not an easy watch, and not one to watch while in a good mood, but a very gripping film regardless.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    This movie knows what it wants to be and supports everything about itself. If you love movies with sarcastic evil funny characters and anThis movie knows what it wants to be and supports everything about itself. If you love movies with sarcastic evil funny characters and an interesting idea, this is for you. Full Review »