Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 31, 2009
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 224 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
129
Mixed:
51
Negative:
44
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
DotFailDec 19, 2009
This would've been much better if Apatow had left his wife, kids and 30 minutes out of it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
RichardWAug 2, 2009
If Apatow knew what and when to edit, this would be a perfect movie of loneliness, sarcasm, humor and redemption.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ScottA.Aug 2, 2009
The movie was a little long and could have been cut shorter but that would have left out what Apatow was trying to accomplish here. I found it to be very funny, comedy and drama is interwoven throughout the entire film, sometimes The movie was a little long and could have been cut shorter but that would have left out what Apatow was trying to accomplish here. I found it to be very funny, comedy and drama is interwoven throughout the entire film, sometimes unfortunately making the viewer feel a little distracted from the subtext of the film. I would for sure recommend the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
thelordoffilmAug 19, 2010
Funny People is a intelligent, funny adult film. Now a days the genre of comedy is now sex. We get a number of new movies every year trying to milk the success of Judd Apatow films. Some of them are good and I can name a few. However theyFunny People is a intelligent, funny adult film. Now a days the genre of comedy is now sex. We get a number of new movies every year trying to milk the success of Judd Apatow films. Some of them are good and I can name a few. However they need to rely on crude and vulgar actions to get laughs. We get so many of those antics to the point of feeling disgust for the characters, but when the third act comes up we have to cheer for them it's dumb. Apatow's movies are different there fresh in orignatly and the crude and vulgar comedy is kept to a restrictive level. Thus giving us time to know the characters in between the big laughs. The movie starts with George Simmons played by Adam Sandler, he's a successful comedian and actor. He has stared in many films and is a prodigy to all standups. He lives alone and does mostly everything alone. One day he's sitting in a doctors office getting the news that he's been diagnosied with a rare form of cancer. His doctor firmily says it, he needs to try out expermental medicine. We then meet Ira played by Seth Rogen who's a up and coming comic trying to get out of the deli that he works at. One day George performs at a standclub that he has'nt been in three years. He notices Ira's performance and takes him under his wing as a assistant. They form a friendship and where George goes Ira goes. He trys to make ammends with his famliy and with the girl that got away, played by Leslie Mann who is married to someone else. So when George is thinking the worst his doctor tells him your getting better and tells him get a hold of your life again. You must think in a clinched kind of way he changes his personality and treat people better and go for the girl right? wrong, he exploits his condtion and tries to go for the girl. These are characters in a realistic plot. With problems and smart dialouge. Yes theirs crude and vulgar actions but it's done in a way that everyday people talk, with your friends, with your spouse. Judd Apatow did a very mature film proving you can mix vulgar and adaptable characters. This movie is based on everyday people with the only difference is that there Funny People. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
carlsAug 3, 2009
Movie was waaaay too long. Boring. They should have copied South Park and put a counter so that they could count the number of times they used the F word. It's not shocking. It's not offensive. It's just stupid. The fim maker Movie was waaaay too long. Boring. They should have copied South Park and put a counter so that they could count the number of times they used the F word. It's not shocking. It's not offensive. It's just stupid. The fim maker needs to grow up. Sandler sucked in this film. Will never pay for another Sandler film until I know exactly what it is. This one was the worst film I have seen in 10 years. That's no joke. And neither was (un)funny people. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LeoS.Aug 3, 2009
Far too long and NO one in the theater laughed at any of the lame jokes. Was it necessary to use F... so often?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SolomonG.Aug 8, 2009
Relentlessly repetitive. Frustrating for what it promises but never delivers. Watch Peter Falk...Cassavetes, if you want an American experience of a existential European film. Biggest sin: it is rarely funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AtticusMOct 14, 2009
One of the most unnecessarily depressing and brutally unfunny movies in a very long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MiKEDec 23, 2009
Why do these movies have to be so vulgar? It sucked at the begingiing. But it got better at the end. still a bad movie. Not Funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RayCAug 3, 2009
It made me laugh and it touched me. It was deeply moving. Plus it felt completely original to me. Believe it or not, Adam Sandler actually has talent. The dirty jokes are hilarious. Great movie, great story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertSAug 3, 2009
This is an amazing movie. People's taste in humor will obviously vary. I imagine that anyone from older generations that never managed to get comfortable with anything vaguely sexual or crude will probably not find the movie to their This is an amazing movie. People's taste in humor will obviously vary. I imagine that anyone from older generations that never managed to get comfortable with anything vaguely sexual or crude will probably not find the movie to their liking. People in Apatow's core demographics - i.e. young men - will love it. It is a bit long, but I think most people are willing to spend time with quality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EvinCAug 12, 2009
I love Judd Apatow but this fillm is a step down from is others. It let me down but it was a good flick. I hope the next film is better. Seth Rogen is my favorite person in the entire world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlennPAug 10, 2009
This is the best film of the year. This is definitely not a typical Judd Apatow formula comedy, instead it's more of a "Dramady". The result of this effort is just wonderful and refreshing in a Hollywood where absolute garbage films This is the best film of the year. This is definitely not a typical Judd Apatow formula comedy, instead it's more of a "Dramady". The result of this effort is just wonderful and refreshing in a Hollywood where absolute garbage films like "GI Joe" and "Transformeras" are more the norm. Adam Sandler delivers an Oscar-worthy performance as the emotionally tortured comic George Simmons, providing a depth of character and insight into the character that makes one believe the movie really is in large part about Sandler and not Simmons. Seth Rogen holds his own in a supporting role as Ira Wright, an up and coming comic that dreams of having the life George Simmons leads until he sees it up close. This film is as I said, the best film of the year by a country mile. It takes chances American films rarely take, and even at its length of over 140 minutes it holds the audience's attention and makes us care about the characters. A truly amazing achievement for Apatow and company. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JerryBAug 2, 2009
Good for what it was a little to deep for a comedy. Hangover and Bruno still take comedy of the year for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanDAug 2, 2009
It upsets me that people aren't giving it great reviews. I loved it. Really funny and its got heart too. I don't know what people were expecting that hated it. Yeah some parts should be trimmed down, but that doesn't make it It upsets me that people aren't giving it great reviews. I loved it. Really funny and its got heart too. I don't know what people were expecting that hated it. Yeah some parts should be trimmed down, but that doesn't make it worse than Transformers. It's intelligent, witty, and yet casual and warm. It's great go see it. And this is the first time I've reviewed on here so I'm going to vent, should there ever really be a 0 for a movie like Dark Knight when it was on here? Or a 10 for Transformers. A 10? It's insulting to other movies. A 0 should be saved for a Nazi snuff film or Hottie and the Naughty 2. Be realistic people. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrystalRAug 2, 2009
Another great one from Apatow.... I loved Seth Rogen's character... the movie had meaning and "touched" you on a deeper level. The jokes are grade A and the story is a mix of funny and serious. All I have to say is "Judd, keep these Another great one from Apatow.... I loved Seth Rogen's character... the movie had meaning and "touched" you on a deeper level. The jokes are grade A and the story is a mix of funny and serious. All I have to say is "Judd, keep these movies comin!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeGAug 2, 2009
A self-serving disaster. Apatow casts his wife, his kids, his friends and hopes the whole thing will work out. So puzzling is the fact that the standup sequences lack insight and, worse, actual funny jokes. A better title would have beeN A self-serving disaster. Apatow casts his wife, his kids, his friends and hopes the whole thing will work out. So puzzling is the fact that the standup sequences lack insight and, worse, actual funny jokes. A better title would have beeN "Cocks & Cameos." Sandler's performance was fine, at times wonderfully dramatic, but his story is cheapened by a ridiculous subplot involving (surprise) Apatow's wife and snockering kids. It's a conceit that derails the whole picture. Shame. And certainly not funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesPAug 3, 2009
Knocked Up still remains Apatow's best, but Funny People is Apatow in prime form and for the first time in five years, Adam Sandler finally does a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
goAug 3, 2009
It has being a long time since I saw great movie this year maybe too long.Apatow will be critize for the simple fact that he breaks the barries that he thy self form this is his best movie.Is a drama that starts in very familiar ground but It has being a long time since I saw great movie this year maybe too long.Apatow will be critize for the simple fact that he breaks the barries that he thy self form this is his best movie.Is a drama that starts in very familiar ground but in its development for something very unique with that said I am here to proclame that funny people is one of the best film we have seen so far this year.With Adam best performance of his life and Seth giving us something that many of had doubt that he has the ability to perform in dramas.Also the script maybe a bit loosing at the end but the the end it self was superior and open minded that give you a sense of future to come.Funny People comes from an unexpected source Apatow let away the childish comedies and grew to something superior and vast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MegLAug 30, 2009
The premise was good, but seemed a little self-indulgent on Apatow's part. Way way way too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattFOct 18, 2009
Brilliant, funny, a true masterpeice. A great comedic film with just enough depression to make it a drama flick and still be funny. I laughed and cried at the same time, if judd apatow movies are your nitch its a must see. Dont give it a bad Brilliant, funny, a true masterpeice. A great comedic film with just enough depression to make it a drama flick and still be funny. I laughed and cried at the same time, if judd apatow movies are your nitch its a must see. Dont give it a bad review if you just dont like judd apatow, its his style its definately a really good flick for its style. 10 out of 10 (p.s. people think about what you put before you review something). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KristianPOct 19, 2009
One of the more underrated films of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VivecaBOct 19, 2009
The worst film I have ever seen. I was in the cinema with about 50 other people...who were actually trying to find funny bits to laugh at. We were all sat in silence. People started leaving after an hour. A complete waste of money. It just The worst film I have ever seen. I was in the cinema with about 50 other people...who were actually trying to find funny bits to laugh at. We were all sat in silence. People started leaving after an hour. A complete waste of money. It just went On an On and On and On and On and On. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexBDec 29, 2009
The most boring movie of the year. My wife gives it 0.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AbhinavROct 2, 2009
At 2:20, Funny People is much too long (by about 40 minutes) but is made up for by quite good comedy and a decent storyline. However, many scenes were irrelevant and could have been cut out quite easily. I much more enjoyed Knocked Up, The At 2:20, Funny People is much too long (by about 40 minutes) but is made up for by quite good comedy and a decent storyline. However, many scenes were irrelevant and could have been cut out quite easily. I much more enjoyed Knocked Up, The 40-Year-Old Virgin and Pineapple Express better than this. Possibly Apatow's worst film to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeC.Jul 31, 2009
Way too long and not believable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnN.Jul 31, 2009
Critics have been dying to pan Apatow. Some of these 30s and 40s are just embarrassingly obvious that they want to be clever. The problem is... the movie is fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HubertW.Aug 1, 2009
Apatow's best film! you can tell he really put his heart into this one and he hit a homerun. an epic and brilliant comedy with an all-star cast that nail their roles! it has depth not seen in his prior films but not at the cost of anyApatow's best film! you can tell he really put his heart into this one and he hit a homerun. an epic and brilliant comedy with an all-star cast that nail their roles! it has depth not seen in his prior films but not at the cost of any comedy. you will laugh your ass off and be left with something to ponder and reflect on. hangover was great, but there is no question this is the best comedy of the year...critics don't know sh.t about rating comedies. they never have...so many of them miss the boat entirely (case in point: Dumb and Dumber rated 39 on Metacritic) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jamiehAug 1, 2009
I really enjoyed this movie. Very funny and somewhat touching, has to be one of Adam Sandler's best performances. The only knock against it is it was about 20mins to long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BowenMAug 1, 2009
Can't say enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful