Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 24, 1997
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 315 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
296
Mixed:
15
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JustitoCorderoMar 30, 2014
I am not exaggerating when I say Gattaca is he most underrated and unappreciated movie of the last century. Andrew Niccol has crafted a truly beautiful, intelligent and poetic film, accompanied by Michael Nyman's stunning score, it just getsI am not exaggerating when I say Gattaca is he most underrated and unappreciated movie of the last century. Andrew Niccol has crafted a truly beautiful, intelligent and poetic film, accompanied by Michael Nyman's stunning score, it just gets better and better with age. Thurman, Hawke and Law are painfully beautiful and al together wonderfully compelling. Part sci-fi, murder mystery and film noir carefully rolled into one, at it's core lies a simple story about the redemptive power of love. Practically ignored by critics, cinema goers and film buffs upon it's release, one day it may receive the respect and adoration it deserves. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
oliver1hFeb 9, 2013
This can easily be our future. I like those science fiction/dystopian movies which show how technology can affect our future in a realistic way. Jude Law's most subtle acting yet. Ethan Hawk was also good. Very emotional and realistic. TheThis can easily be our future. I like those science fiction/dystopian movies which show how technology can affect our future in a realistic way. Jude Law's most subtle acting yet. Ethan Hawk was also good. Very emotional and realistic. The low budget did not hurt the movie at all in my opinion. Recommended! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 12, 2014
This is a really good science fiction film. Ethan Hawke, Uma Thurman, Jude Law, and Alan Arkin, turn in great performances here and you can really feel the emotion in their performances. The score is also brilliant and the thrills/intrigueThis is a really good science fiction film. Ethan Hawke, Uma Thurman, Jude Law, and Alan Arkin, turn in great performances here and you can really feel the emotion in their performances. The score is also brilliant and the thrills/intrigue are provided quite capably by this one. In addition, the sets are effects are really well done. However, where this one truly excels is in its message. A warning about eugenics, Gattaca is not really a science fiction film or a thriller. Rather, it is an inspirational film as it shows that no matter what people think, you can achieve your dreams if you work hard enough to do so, even if there are things that could/will hold you back. In terms of the science fiction, the futuristic elements and technologies are all really well done and developed, plus all are very interesting ideas that may seem implausible now, but could be fact in just a matter of time. The thriller element was also interesting, but since I do not want to spoil too much, I will not mention what I like about it, but it keeps you on edge as you try to see if the cops will figure everything out or not. Overall, Gattaca is a smart, thrilling film that grabs a hold of you early on and does not let go until the film is over. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
SamWDec 13, 2008
This movie was excellent, portrayed an important message perfectly, and had a unique biopunk art style in a leauge of its own. If we could have more of original titles like this, in stead of cookie cutter blockbuster and endless disney This movie was excellent, portrayed an important message perfectly, and had a unique biopunk art style in a leauge of its own. If we could have more of original titles like this, in stead of cookie cutter blockbuster and endless disney sequels, movies would be far better than they are today. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PolvorinJul 28, 2009
I can't believe how under-appreciated this brilliant work of art is.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JohnnieWJan 9, 2013
When I was initially exposed to this film in biology class at fourteen or so, it struck a very deep chord within me. It championed the ideals of perseverance, discipline, and overcoming societally-imposed limitations. It dealt heavily withWhen I was initially exposed to this film in biology class at fourteen or so, it struck a very deep chord within me. It championed the ideals of perseverance, discipline, and overcoming societally-imposed limitations. It dealt heavily with identity, and the repercussions of eugenics screening, genetic discrimination, and transhumanism. With a talented cast, well-written dialogue, and a moving score, Gattaca is an inspiring and touching film that everybody should see at least once. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
UncleEarlDec 1, 2013
Great soundtrack and acting. A couple points in the movie where you roll your eyes but the plot is still strong and engaging. The "follow your dreams" theme has been implemented to death already by other movies but this one really did theGreat soundtrack and acting. A couple points in the movie where you roll your eyes but the plot is still strong and engaging. The "follow your dreams" theme has been implemented to death already by other movies but this one really did the idea justice. Very motivating and heartwarming. It's a 7.5 but the lack of attention it gotmakes me want to help it out and lend it an 8 Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MSYJan 18, 2014
One of the best science fiction films ever made. It excels where many other science fiction movies falter and in my opinion, this movie is up there with Carpenters The Thing and Alien. The story is original and the acting superb, it gotOne of the best science fiction films ever made. It excels where many other science fiction movies falter and in my opinion, this movie is up there with Carpenters The Thing and Alien. The story is original and the acting superb, it got everything right. An underrated gem. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
WilliamJan 21, 2008
This film portrays a realistic possible future, and it explores many important themes. I didn't think much of it when I first saw it, but years have past since then and I still frequently bring it up in all sorts of conversations. It is This film portrays a realistic possible future, and it explores many important themes. I didn't think much of it when I first saw it, but years have past since then and I still frequently bring it up in all sorts of conversations. It is amazing relevant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
pinattarDec 26, 2011
a really under-rated sci-fy film set in a dystopian society. great acting all round , really intriguing premise and excellent set design and cinematography. the only problem i have is how come no one recognizes ethan hawke?, that reallya really under-rated sci-fy film set in a dystopian society. great acting all round , really intriguing premise and excellent set design and cinematography. the only problem i have is how come no one recognizes ethan hawke?, that really bothered me. other than that great film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DoxideOct 18, 2012
Every time I meet some self proclaimed "movie buff" who has never seen this movie I find myself shaking my head in amazement. This gem of a film not only paints a very intelligent picture of our near future, but also succeeds in telling aEvery time I meet some self proclaimed "movie buff" who has never seen this movie I find myself shaking my head in amazement. This gem of a film not only paints a very intelligent picture of our near future, but also succeeds in telling a truly beautiful story. Everything from the performances, to the socially relevant themes, to the wonderful soundtrack, combines to make this one of the greatest sci fi films of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Nesbitt10Dec 16, 2012
Intelligent, thought provoking science fiction drama that works because of it's meticulous details accompanying an inventive, plausible screenplay with impressive performances by a stellar cast. In the future, society has been categorized byIntelligent, thought provoking science fiction drama that works because of it's meticulous details accompanying an inventive, plausible screenplay with impressive performances by a stellar cast. In the future, society has been categorized by genetically inferior humans (ones whose lives have already been determined by genetic engineering), or the normal under-classed human. whose fate is determined by knowledge and education. A genetically inferior man Vincent (Hawke) assumes the identity of a superior one (Law) in order to achieve his dream of space travel. Presents a variety of weighty, intriguing topics for introspection. For additional reviews visit http://www.rottentomatoes.com/member/Nesbitt10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuFeb 27, 2013
Gattaca is one of the most beautiful, unique, intelligent and heartbreaking science fiction films of all time. The visual aesthetic, music and acting are all absolutely perfect. The movie's lofty metaphors give it credence beyond mereGattaca is one of the most beautiful, unique, intelligent and heartbreaking science fiction films of all time. The visual aesthetic, music and acting are all absolutely perfect. The movie's lofty metaphors give it credence beyond mere entertainment and it packs a powerful emotional punch. Gattaca is just simply phenomenal. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gsohJan 30, 2016
This movie actually motivated me to create an account for Metacritic. I just hope that more people find this great piece of art by helping to raise the score.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ALFAug 28, 2011
One of the finest science fiction films to ever hit the screen. It is most certainly in my top five. I think "Noop" needs to watch this again. "No essence." What are you on about?. Of course the essence was there and it was in the quiteOne of the finest science fiction films to ever hit the screen. It is most certainly in my top five. I think "Noop" needs to watch this again. "No essence." What are you on about?. Of course the essence was there and it was in the quite insipid form of discrimination based on a humans DNA which has already started to some degree and in the film relegates those without perfect DNA to the scrap heap and dead end jobs. It is not to hard to imagine the losses to human civilization if such discrimination had existed a hundred or so years ago. For example, Albert Einstein would have been on the scrap heap. Makes you think doesn't it. An excellent script with superb performances by the cast, particularly Jude Law. Again I find myself wishing I could push the scorer further to the right. 10 out of 10 does not give justice to this superb film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticJun 21, 2014
It's ideas have a substantial depth to them, and the acting and writing add up to a, not the most extraordinary, but significantly underrated sci-fi film.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
PaulM.Dec 7, 2006
I was forced to watch this in human genetics class so like any teenager, I was not thrilled at being forced to watch something but this was really cool and held my attention throughout the entire movie..pretty original and entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FranciscoC.Jan 28, 2007
The ideas that the director wanted to give behind this story line is fantastic. A future where the human society and civilization would depend upon the diference of genes, and that because a human wasent artificially created genetaly it does The ideas that the director wanted to give behind this story line is fantastic. A future where the human society and civilization would depend upon the diference of genes, and that because a human wasent artificially created genetaly it does not mean it can have a bright soul and perspective of life. Niccol as well did a tremendous job in briging close to us to his world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
xciterApr 20, 2011
The movie is just brilliant. Great story great direction.....futuristic retro buildings and cars. And above all great actors.....so underestimated. Definitely a must ... to see
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avatar16Oct 15, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Des films d'anticipation, il y en a eu un bon nombre. Chacun avec un sujet différent et intéressant, mais qui a été souvent gâché par un long-métrage, au final, bâclé. Pour Bienvenue à Gattaca, il est heureux de voir qu'il échappe à ce sort, haut la main. Que pourrais-je bien trouver de mauvais sur ce véritable chef-d'oeuvre (c'est bien le mot adéquat) d'Andrew Niccol? Si l'on veut être pointilleux, on pourrait critiquer légèrement quelques longueurs. Mais là, ça serait être assez dur (et je le suis souvent) envers ce film quasi parfait, au scénario incroyablement intelligent, aux acteurs talentueux, à la direction artistique exemplaire et à la mise en scène splendide qui offre au film une ambiance qui lui est bien spécifique. Bienvenue à Gattaca reste à ce jour le meilleur film d'anticipation qui puisse exister et peut s'en vanter! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RegOzApr 6, 2012
A good sci-fi movie...I can relate it with Aldous Huxley's a Brave New World, which is one of my favourite books ever. Ethan Hawkes and Uma Thurman's performances were excellent. My favourite, however, was Jude Law. Good to see him in thatA good sci-fi movie...I can relate it with Aldous Huxley's a Brave New World, which is one of my favourite books ever. Ethan Hawkes and Uma Thurman's performances were excellent. My favourite, however, was Jude Law. Good to see him in that role. I highly recommend it. Not an excellent film, but certainly a good one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Jun 9, 2013
Movies in the future are always strange to watch but this one is quite exceptional. The people appeared to have limited personalities but the story is perfect for a science class.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Rich with ethically and scientifically complex thematic material, "Gattaca" not only provides a satisfying narrative, but a thought-provoking one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
diogomendesNov 28, 2014
"Gattaca" benefits from its well rounded cast and an extremely thought-provoking story, making it an entertainingly inventive sci-fi thriller, even if it gets a little predictable at some parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Dootz86Jan 16, 2015
Enjoyed it thoroughly. Beautifully made with a believable plot and great acting talents from Hawke and Law. Thought he was going to miss his flight at the end :). Cant believe I have only discovered this film. The underdogs sometimes are the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
horcrux2007May 15, 2016
Uma Thurman pre-Bride and Ethan Hawke pre-stuck doing every Blumhouse movie star in a high-concept thriller about the human eugenics controversy. Gattaca takes place in the near future where "designer babies" are a social norm where parentsUma Thurman pre-Bride and Ethan Hawke pre-stuck doing every Blumhouse movie star in a high-concept thriller about the human eugenics controversy. Gattaca takes place in the near future where "designer babies" are a social norm where parents can choose the most desirable traits of their unborn babies (athletic, tall, intelligent, etc.), and people with undesirable genetics are discriminated against. One man, Vincent, has dreams of space travel, but because of his inferior genetics, he is relegated to being the janitor at the Gattaca Aerospace Corporation. A chance of a lifetime comes his way when an employee at Gattaca offers to allow Vincent to assume his identity for a trip Titan. However, the murder of the mission director and a blooming romance with another employee threaten to reveal Vincent's true identity. Gattaca deftly blends its more dramatic moments with unique sci-fi thrills to give a smart little thriller. Although, because of its lofty ambitions and concept, the plot has to force some things to just work out so that it can keep moving forward. A couple of these instances could have been more thoroughly explained in a short scene since the running time isn't terribly long anyway. Another tiny issue is that the reveal of the murderer is pretty anticlimactic. With all the buildup, you'd expect a big surprise, but when it's revealed, it's quickly acknowledged and then forgotten about. The best thing about Gattaca, though, is its incredible writing. There's a lot of quotable lines that I'm sure have led to its status as a cult flick. Along with its ambitious ideas and engrossing plot, Gattaca is a taut, memorable cult sci-fi thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews