• Studio:
  • Release Date: Nov 15, 2013
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Mar 27, 2014
    60
    The idea here isn’t to titillate with tawdry teen hormones, but to offer an outlet for all that mental distress young people take on while trying to find their place in the world.
  2. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Nov 21, 2013
    60
    Sweet, slight and frequently familiar, Geography Club, based on Brent Hartinger's novel about sexual identity among suburban teens, often feels as if it's circling its expiration date.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Nov 14, 2013
    60
    The film is at its strongest when Russell and Kevin face tests of their character brought on by their interactions with homophobic students.
  4. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Nov 14, 2013
    60
    If the characterizations are perfunctory, the performances give them unexpected weight.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 14, 2013
    60
    Geography Club almost makes up in good intentions what it lacks in technique and execution. Almost.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Dec 22, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The geography club starts with an interesting storyline and the premise is promising, but the plot gets lost and the romance between Russel and Kevin just becomes disturbed by all other less important sub-plots and it kond of gets nowhere. At the end of the movie you are left with a big question mark in your head. any way the romantic relationship blossomed in a very nice way but ended vaguely and left the questions unanswered. At the end I was like WTF?! Full Review »
  2. May 2, 2015
    2
    Movie was completely uncooked.... there was a lot missing from this movie. Some of the performances were not good. There was good intentionMovie was completely uncooked.... there was a lot missing from this movie. Some of the performances were not good. There was good intention there, but didn't quite reach its potential. Full Review »
  3. Apr 21, 2015
    0
    The worst movie I've ever seen. A very crappy adaptation of pretty crap source material, so I don't know what I was expecting... perhaps theThe worst movie I've ever seen. A very crappy adaptation of pretty crap source material, so I don't know what I was expecting... perhaps the character connections and solid storytelling the book lacked? Full Review »