User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 51
  2. Negative: 21 out of 51
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ashleigh
    May 20, 2007
    0
    Awful Awful Awful. Even Jane Fonda's performance (which I thought was good) could make me give this anything but a zero. Maybe I disliked it so much because I feel it was horribly mis-marketed.
  2. GeorgeB.
    May 27, 2007
    0
    How could so much fine acting talent be lured into this very junior version of a bad Off-Off-Broadway play? Step onstage from another room, say something, turn around and return off-stage. Adding Hull Idaho added nothing - sorry but its mountain and lake beauty was overwhelmed by this bad production. Looking for a place to go if you don't have air conditioning - think of any other How could so much fine acting talent be lured into this very junior version of a bad Off-Off-Broadway play? Step onstage from another room, say something, turn around and return off-stage. Adding Hull Idaho added nothing - sorry but its mountain and lake beauty was overwhelmed by this bad production. Looking for a place to go if you don't have air conditioning - think of any other movie first. Expand
  3. Mike
    May 7, 2007
    2
    I saw a screening of this and it's just awful. Lindsay Lohan is so strident, Felicity huffman is annoying and I just felt sory for Jane Fonda. I think Gary Marshall has never visited a small town. The supporting characters were cliche stock characters and there were so many bad wigs in this movie. Such a waste of time and money.
  4. Oct 15, 2010
    3
    This one freaked me out. Especially Lindsay Lohan trying to show her stuff... ew. There were a lot of weird moments, and I don't know why I even sat through the whole thing.
  5. Shawn
    May 8, 2007
    1
    Terrible cliched mess of a movie.
  6. Hannaj
    May 9, 2007
    0
    Dreadful mishmash of acting styles and genres. none of them interesting enough to make this film worthwhile.
  7. ZakeW.
    May 12, 2007
    3
    Nothing impressive. Wait to rent this one if interested in seeing this, though I do not even recommend it.
  8. JuneH.
    May 13, 2007
    0
    Terrible. Lohan looks like she's 35 in some scenes and there are uncomfortable parallels with her real life party girl image. the girl needs a better director than Garry Marshall to get a real performance out of her. Felicity Huffman comes off even worse in a shrill, embarrassing portrait of an alcoholic. Jane Fonda shoulda stayed retired if this is the sort of script she's Terrible. Lohan looks like she's 35 in some scenes and there are uncomfortable parallels with her real life party girl image. the girl needs a better director than Garry Marshall to get a real performance out of her. Felicity Huffman comes off even worse in a shrill, embarrassing portrait of an alcoholic. Jane Fonda shoulda stayed retired if this is the sort of script she's being offered. Expand
  9. MarkB.
    May 14, 2007
    3
    Georgia Rules are household commandments set down by conservative-but-feisty Hull, Idaho resident Georgia (Jane Fonda), and include the notion that while dropping f-bombs in everyday speech is more or less acceptable, using the Lord's name in vain (even very mildly) earns you a mouthful of Lifebuoy. She left out a couple of important guidelines relating to moviegoing that would serve Georgia Rules are household commandments set down by conservative-but-feisty Hull, Idaho resident Georgia (Jane Fonda), and include the notion that while dropping f-bombs in everyday speech is more or less acceptable, using the Lord's name in vain (even very mildly) earns you a mouthful of Lifebuoy. She left out a couple of important guidelines relating to moviegoing that would serve all of us well here, starting with the Cleopatra Addandum, which advises that movies in which the offscreen misbehavior of one or more participants (in this case, Lindsay Lohan's hard-partying antics) fills the tabloids and trades are usually best avoided. Then there's the Garry Corollary, stating that if your film deals with such extremely sensitive topics as alcoholism, pathological teen promiscuity and child molestation, the man who brought you Laverne & Shirley is NOT your go-to guy. Garry Marshall, a specialist in mostly forgettable feel-good fluff, has knocked it out of the park twice in 15 tries: Pretty Woman is a genuinely charming modern-day adult fairy tale, and Nothing In Common, a tremendously perceptive comedy-drama about an adult's responsibility toward his parents that was the first big-screen indication that Tom Hanks was more than just a comedian as well as a fine swan song for Jackie Gleason, was also one of the most underrated American movies of the 1980s. Georgia Rules, on the other hand, ranks right down there at the bottom of the Marshall Meter with 1994's astonishing S & M-com Exit to Eden...and at least THAT one wasn't going for warm and fuzzy. Georgia Rule has dozens of problems but if I had to pick a central one it would be the character of Hull visitor Rachel, a truly odious, sexually sadistic little tease who in many other movies would be the villainness, but whom Marshall and screenwriter Mark Andrus (As Good As It Gets) perversely try to pass off as sensitive, funny and sympathetic--the latter because she was sexually abused by her stepfather at age 12 (or was she?) However, it would be amiss to go without mentioning this movie's blatant, bigoted Mormon-bashing and stereotyping (the LDS guys are unbelievably clueless and naive; the girls are stuck-up snobs) which is so pervasive that if Mitt Romney becomes our next President, he might do well to go over Marshall's, Andrus's and producer James G. Robinson's last 25 years of IRS returns with a barbershop full of fine-toothed combs. (That would help him get MY vote!) Fonda and Felicity Huffman (who plays Lilly, Georgia's daughter and Rachel's mom) triumph over the material with excellent performances; Marshall is often credited for working well with actresses, and sometimes this is deserved (if anyone did more to make Julia Roberts an incredibly beloved actress and superstar, I'd like to know who)...but honestly, how much coaching do two such consistently fine performers as Fonda and Huffman truly need? Lohan's portrayal is a lot more problematic; given the extent and notoriety of her behavior over the last couple of years (at the rate she's going it's just a matter of time before she really runs afoul of the law just like Paris Hilton, and unfortunately just as many people polled will think she should also do time) it's hard to tell whether, in playing this deeply troubled but genuinely nasty young woman, Lohan is really acting or just "playing herself". If the latter is the case, I really miss the sweet kid from Freaky Friday, Mean Girls and, in her childhood, the Disney remake of their Parent Trap, and I hate that a system that can be so hazardous to actresses at such a tender, formative age seems to have completely eaten her alive. That's truly sad...but just as pathetic is the realization that Morgan Creek Productions and Universal Pictures are so out of touch that they truly believed that this thoroughly disagreeable, distasteful debacle was the perfect movie to release on Mother's Day weekend! Expand
  10. Rev.Rikard
    May 28, 2007
    3
    A poor attempt at creating an updated "Ordinary People" style film. However in the Mary Tyler Moore/ Timothy Hutton classic the truth begging for its day in court was not shrouded in a murky story with unbelievable, wooden characters engaged in conversations spiced with stale "American Pie" slices of adolescent humor. Consequently, so many interactions in this film are tasteless. Conrad, A poor attempt at creating an updated "Ordinary People" style film. However in the Mary Tyler Moore/ Timothy Hutton classic the truth begging for its day in court was not shrouded in a murky story with unbelievable, wooden characters engaged in conversations spiced with stale "American Pie" slices of adolescent humor. Consequently, so many interactions in this film are tasteless. Conrad, Hutton's character in Ordinary People, was not only so believable the audience could identify with his tormented scream for truth to rear its liberating head, we easily recognized that truth. We were mesmerized by its destructive power to slither its way in and through the lives of the entire family. Truth hidden is no longer truth; it is repressed torment. We joined Conrad in pleading for truth to move from the shadows of repressed pain and liberate him. His honest interaction with his therapist revealed conversations that could find expression in the life of every viewer. In Georgia Rule the truth is a tease. "So that's the truth; no, that's the truth!" This is the mental and emotional exercise invoked by this film. This technique works in great mysteries. However, rather than offer us dialogues of substance, Lohan's character attempts to shock everyone with sophomoric sex-sated insults that are intended to shock everyone out of denial. At some point we no longer care about Lohan's character. She is not only a recognizable character from any teen sex movie, she is so unlike most of us we cannot know her. The ultimate insult lies in the fact that the truth lurking beneath this tangle of dysfunctional characters is a serious social/family issue. Toying with an issue laden with horrific pain angered me, and I am sure many viewers. When at last the moment of epiphany comes, we are not sure what has been accomplished, and what this film has said about repressed truth and family life. In Ordinary People, the moment of epiphany was touching and haunting. The great rule in Georgia Rule should be to avoid this formula if one wants to make a relevant film about a serious family issues that impacts culture. Expand
Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 29
  2. Negative: 18 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    40
    There's almost no rescuing this wobbly movie from its showdowns and insights. Except, that is, when Lohan's around.
  2. Proves to be more prone to malfunction than dysfunction.
  3. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    30
    No offense to either of them, but Georgia Rule suggests an Ingmar Bergman script as directed by Jerry Lewis. The subject matter is grim, the relationships are gnarled, the worldview is bleak, and, at any given moment, you suspect someone's going to be hit with a pie.