Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 11, 2007
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 53 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
2
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MitchellMay 12, 2007
Strong acting. Lindsay is a knock out. Enjoyed every moment of her on screen. Movie has it's flaws, but it doesn't deserve the backlash its been getting. Go see it for yourself. Great mix of comedy and drama with strong Strong acting. Lindsay is a knock out. Enjoyed every moment of her on screen. Movie has it's flaws, but it doesn't deserve the backlash its been getting. Go see it for yourself. Great mix of comedy and drama with strong performances by all the leading ladies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomC.May 13, 2007
The negative reviews are somewhat surprising. I thought the movie was excellent and Lindsey Lohan's performance simply astounding. All the bad press she gets is a great disservice to her acting ability.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekMay 15, 2007
I can see what the reviews mean when they mention the tonal shifts, but this movie is still great. Lindsay is, by far the most underrated young actress to come around in a long time because people get too caught up in her public image. I can see what the reviews mean when they mention the tonal shifts, but this movie is still great. Lindsay is, by far the most underrated young actress to come around in a long time because people get too caught up in her public image. I've been saying it all along, and now she has proved it with a real character, not a sugary Disney one. Although this movie does have its flaws, I can tell you from personal experience that Lohan's performance rings absolutely TRUE. If you've ever met someone like her character in your life, then you know what I am talking about. No, not everyone deals with her character's circumstances the same way.. some people are healthier about it. But her character is a very realistic depiction of the other way that people can go. I do not want to get into it too much and ruin it for those that haven't seen it though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Sarahk.May 20, 2007
When going to see this movie, I had a completely different idea of how the movie would be. But, it turned out to be really good, and I was really impressed with the plot line, and the acting. I think Lindsey Lohan did a great job, better When going to see this movie, I had a completely different idea of how the movie would be. But, it turned out to be really good, and I was really impressed with the plot line, and the acting. I think Lindsey Lohan did a great job, better then expected. There was also a lot of things that allowed you to keep guessing and kept you interested in the movie. A definite go see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YvonneB.May 9, 2007
Wow, what a suprise. You think you know what happened and then.. . Garry Marshall - great job in dealing with such a sensitive issue and seeing Jane Fonda - THANK GOD she has returned to the screen!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregR.May 11, 2007
Good Acting, good story, too much reality of Americans for American audiences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaylorMay 14, 2007
I have no clue why this movie is getting negative reviews. I thought it was an excellent movie, and I can't wait to see it again this week. YES AGAIN! Felicity Huffman did such a wonderful job playing Lilly, her as a drunk is pretty I have no clue why this movie is getting negative reviews. I thought it was an excellent movie, and I can't wait to see it again this week. YES AGAIN! Felicity Huffman did such a wonderful job playing Lilly, her as a drunk is pretty hilarious! I loved the movie no matter what anybody says so GO GEORGIA RULE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JS.Jun 18, 2007
This was a fantastic movie. Do not believe all of this negative hype. It all comes from people expecting the wrong kind of movie. They marketed this as a comedy and while there are funny parts its very dramatic. THIS IS A MUST SEE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MirandaJun 26, 2008
Its tough to comment on a movie like this. I think if you wanted to see it you should although it is by no means what I expected it to be it is good but different. People say Lindsay was by no means identifiable but they may not know how Its tough to comment on a movie like this. I think if you wanted to see it you should although it is by no means what I expected it to be it is good but different. People say Lindsay was by no means identifiable but they may not know how victims of molestation since they were young act, because she actually portrayed it well from my knowledge og the situation. How can felicity huffman be a bad drunk aren't drunks supposed to be bad actors??? huh! anyways I think it was worth watching and maybe to real for "real" Americans as stated in a few previous comments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
This was an amazing movie! The premise of the movie is a troubled family sending their insane daughter to live with her hard-nosed Grandmother in Idaho. From the previews, I was expecting a lame, even raunchy comedy, boy I was I wrong. WhileThis was an amazing movie! The premise of the movie is a troubled family sending their insane daughter to live with her hard-nosed Grandmother in Idaho. From the previews, I was expecting a lame, even raunchy comedy, boy I was I wrong. While it had it's comedic aspect to it, it was so much more than that. It was the story of trust and redemption that centers not around Georgia and her rules, but rather around her granddaughter played by Lindsey Lohan. I don't like Lohan, her previous roles, or even how she is as a person, but in this movie, she's terrific. I think it's because she was actually playing herself. A smart but troubled girl, who acts slutty and stupid to keep up appearances and hide from her own misery. This movie was smart and funny as well as deep and emotional. It's a can't miss film that everyone should see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 10, 2015
The acting was okay and the subject matter was interesting but some events and characters were not believable which made the movie sometimes boring.Overall it was an okay entertaining film starring Lindsey Lohan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews