Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 34
  2. Negative: 26 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Aug 29, 2013
    67
    Gomez is a nonstarter as an actor, alternating dully between petulance and indifference. Hawke compensates with a vivid, ferocious performance that doesn’t go over the top.
  2. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Aug 28, 2013
    42
    For the most part, Getaway lacks tension and violence. Strobe cuts rob the stunts of any sense of motion; twisting metal, seen in half-second snippets, becomes abstracted texture. While it’s possible to appreciate this stuff on an individual level, it doesn’t quite add up to an action-movie whole.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Aug 30, 2013
    38
    The car chase thriller Getaway has a wild premise and few good moments, and if there were an Oscar for wrecking police cars, it would absolutely win.
  4. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Aug 29, 2013
    25
    Though always speeding forward in some gear of ridiculousness, the film is a lot more fun when it's completely nonsensical, before its baddie's motives and harebrained plot are funnel-fed to the viewer.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Aug 29, 2013
    25
    You've probably seen this movie before, watching a child play with his toy Hot Wheels cars after eating multiple bowls of sugary breakfast cereal.
  6. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Aug 31, 2013
    20
    The smash-and-crash chase scenes are numbingly dull.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Aug 28, 2013
    0
    It's understandable that larger scale movies will want to spawn sequels, but this is about two degrees away from being a movie that premieres on Cinemax on a Friday night, sandwiched between two soft core porn movies with funny titles. Getaway is stuck in neutral. And that's where it'll stay.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 42
  2. Negative: 23 out of 42
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Love this movie...don't know why everyone is hating on Selena, she was great. Maybe it was a little hard but really? She's only 21, cut herLove this movie...don't know why everyone is hating on Selena, she was great. Maybe it was a little hard but really? She's only 21, cut her some slack. Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    I'm a car guy and i love any car chase movie, and I've seen allot of car movies. For this being a movie that was portraying a 70's car movieI'm a car guy and i love any car chase movie, and I've seen allot of car movies. For this being a movie that was portraying a 70's car movie in 2013. I must say best car chase movie I've ever seen Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    Was not good and not to bad. The acting are so poor and the movie was to silly with that Selena Gomez that act like a child statue because sheWas not good and not to bad. The acting are so poor and the movie was to silly with that Selena Gomez that act like a child statue because she looks like Kristen Stweart in the Twilight Movies. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    3
    Who doesn't love a car chase? But a whole movie about a car chase? Well, it worked for the "Fast and Furious" franchise and those are guiltyWho doesn't love a car chase? But a whole movie about a car chase? Well, it worked for the "Fast and Furious" franchise and those are guilty pleasures of mine but this movie was just sloppy. The edit is so chaotic and uneven that it's hard to tell what is going on most of the time, the story is completely generic, Ethan Hawke looks like he's just not trying the entire film and Selena Gomez is unbearable in her performance that is basically her just using a bunch of tech buzz words and yelling like the escort character in a video game escort mission. The only things I enjoyed about the movie is the fact that Hawke did his own stunt driving and the movie's final chase--that was filmed entirely from the perspective of the hood of a car--looked cool and was exciting. Beyond that, the movie is just a waste of time. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2013
    1
    Sad about this movie because was not great. I was thinking that this movie was gonna be a good one, but was not. Very disappointed with thisSad about this movie because was not great. I was thinking that this movie was gonna be a good one, but was not. Very disappointed with this Was too silly for me, and the Selena Gomez acting was very poor because she's a other big Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    1
    There's nothing much worse for Getaway as if Ethan Hawke and Selena Gomez would've been hijacked at a strip club. I'm just saying. Yeah, IThere's nothing much worse for Getaway as if Ethan Hawke and Selena Gomez would've been hijacked at a strip club. I'm just saying. Yeah, I thought Getaway was supposed to be a great movie. It turns out that this is a Taken/Drive ripoff. The chemistry of Hawke and Selena is very simple just like in R.I.P.D. bad acting, terrible script, the action scenes were pretty bland because Ethan Hawke is no Ryan Gosling or Liam Neeson, but he should've known better. I really like Selena's raunchy performance in Spring Breakers and Mavis in Hotel Transylvania, but there's one problem. I don't think an action film might be a good choice for her and that's why Getaway should be my pick for the worst movies of 2013 along with Scary Movie V and After Earth. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Interesting plot is ruined by weak dialogue. Terrible acting, Mostly from Gomez because she seems so very uninterested and bored through outInteresting plot is ruined by weak dialogue. Terrible acting, Mostly from Gomez because she seems so very uninterested and bored through out the course, She is one of the bigger reasons why this movie sucks so much. The film's biggest flaw is the piss-poor job done editing it. Cutting away from a main action scene to another shorter scene from a different angle, It just ruins the flow of the film and never allows the viewer to get a true look at the action through out. I think if it were re-edited, and they actually take their time with it, it'd at least be more watchable.

    Overall, Getaway is a massive disappointment and that's a shame because this film had the potential to earn 2-3 times it's budget in theaters. People, like myself, love action packed low budget films that just jumps right into the action without having wait a half hour or longer to do so. It was just so poorly done that it absolutely killed all hope for it.
    Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers