Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 258 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Nicolas Cage reprises his role as Johnny Blaze in "Ghost Rider Spirit of Vengeance." In this new vision for the character, Johnny is still struggling with his curse as the devil’s bounty hunter - but he may risk everything as he teams up with the leader of a group of rebel monks to save a young boy from the devil... and possibly rid himself of his curse forever. (Columbia Pictures)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Feb 23, 2012
    60
    This doesn't lack for crazy charm, particularly when Nicolas Cage (in his go-for-broke Bad Lieutenant mode) and Ciaran Hinds (playing the devil) try to out-weird each other with broad, even cartoonish performances.
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Feb 17, 2012
    50
    Spirit of Vengeance is so focused and, as a result, so impoverished that you actually feel bad for Cage. The actor tries to bring the weird (though at this point one wonders if he can even do anything else) but the film more often than not leaves him high and dry, saddling him with standard-issue action hero lines and boilerplate action set-pieces.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 17, 2012
    50
    Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance offers Cage plenty of opportunities to tap his inner circus geek, to twitch, cackle and flail without shame, going full tilt batwing crazy. Not since he danced in a pagan bear suit in The Wicker Man has Cage appeared this unconcerned about what the audience will think.
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Feb 16, 2012
    40
    Like "Ghost Rider: Low Voltage," this is a surprisingly underpowered excursion into Marvel's mad world by Neveldine and Taylor. More purgatory than hellfire.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Feb 17, 2012
    40
    The first "Ghost Rider" film, directed by Mark Steven Johnson, was sort of a fizzy goof, the kind of movie where you don't expect much and then think, "Hey, that was actually kind of fun." Spirit of Vengeance, though, is undone by increased expectations, as promising more only makes it feel they are somehow delivering less.
  6. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    Feb 17, 2012
    33
    Most of the movie's action-horror set pieces play like lame Gwar music video outtakes, and Cage's signature mix of irony and off-the-rails mugging only works when you can see the actor's face. In Ghost Rider form, his character is just a skeletal automaton with neither a tongue nor a cheek to put it in.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 17, 2012
    0
    One look at the dreadful mess that is Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance will turn your whisper into a primal Cage scream: MAKE THIS MOVIE STOP!

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 101
  2. Negative: 49 out of 101
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Ladies and gentlemen, how could you possibly prefer the first ghost rider movie? it had NOTHING to do with the comics, it just tried to stitch elements from TWO DIFFERENT STORY ARCS onto a mediocre western story which also has nothing to do with the comics, the first film just falls apart the moment it tries to move forward, spirit of vengeance, however, actually gets it right, neveldine/taylor mostly focus on ONLY ONE STORY ARC, that of johnny blaze, and the new appearance is ACTUALLY CREEPY, the VFX are phenomenal, and the rider's bike is ACTUALLY THE BIKE HE HAS IN THE COMICS, not some cheesy... THING they gave us in the first film, not to mention they actually get the villain's appearance right this time, seriously, look it up, blackout actually looks like he does in the comics, i grew up on these comics, so did my brother, and this film has finally restored my faith that we, the devoted fans, can still be given the adaption that we deserve, and the sad thing is that most people on here overlook this... Collapse
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Coolest movie, i've ever seen, screw everyone who doesn't like this
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    4
    To be honest, I wasn't expecting much more than badly directed action sequences that makes a mockery of the character of Ghost Rider. In that sense, Spirit of Vengeance delivered. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All I can say is that this is a horrible movie that made me appreciate the first film even more. I didnt read Ghost Rider too often, but I knew Blaze's origins and I knew they at least tried to get it as close as possible at the front of the first film. Of course, the first film had its issues, but they are small compared to the garbage that this brings to the table. This film is called Ghost Rider... but he is only in for about Fifteen minutes. Unlike the first film, the action scenes are slow, and have no tension to them once you see the Rider just standing there with a bad guy who he's grabbed by the collar for over a minute and a half while said bad guy's mates are standing there doing nothing but looking dumb. Another mistake I noticed was that not only did they make Ghost Rider get hurt by explosives, but they make him immune to them less than twenty minutes later in the best action scene in the film which is far too short to be satisfying. The pace of this film by the way is simply unbearable. The story is garbage, and the plot takes too long to go somewhere. We are stuck in a church for what feels like an eternity explaining origins of the Ghost Rider and how to rid one of the curse (which I wont spoil, so true fans can simply rent the film). The effects are a mixed bag. Some of the time they look cool, but at other times they just dont look right at all. And there are some things I dont like that they were unable to do due to the STUPID budget constraints put on the film (you cant make this with fifty mil, its that simple). Things like Blazes bike not transforming when he becomes the rider anymore, or how when he takes over other mechanical objects like a truck, the only thing that changes is that they light on fire. Whatever, in the end the movie just feels really unfinished, and I know the minds behind Crank 1 and 2 are capable of much better things. The best part for me was in the middle of the film when Ghost Rider just lays destruction upon everything he sees with a giant piece of construction equippment. I at least got that out of it. Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2012
    1
    There is no reason this movie should exist, no one asked for it and people want it to go away, you can very well tell Nickolas Cage is in it for the money, which is a shame. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    This film is one reason why Nic Cage should be banished from Hollywood. No offense, he was good in Face Off and just OK in the National Treasure films, but this film is utter garbage. The first scene of the film was mediocre with Idris Elba battling some bad guys with some average effects. The movie turns to crap the moment the Johnny Blaze enters the film. From lame jokes to dumb facial expressions, Nick Cage gets the whole thing wrong. I think that he just killed the Ghost Rider Franchise. So sad that I wasted over 10 bucks to see this garbage. If you thought the original was bad (which it was), then prepared to hit with something even worse. Or should I say pissed on! (Yes, you must endure Nic Cage pissing fire. LAME!) Expand

See all 101 User Reviews