Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The greatest love story ever told, starring... garden gnomes? In the upcoming "Gnomeo & Juliet," Shakespeare's revered tale gets a comical, off-thewall makeover. Gnomeo and Juliet have as many obstacles to overcome when they are caught up in a feud between neighbors. But with plastic pinkThe greatest love story ever told, starring... garden gnomes? In the upcoming "Gnomeo & Juliet," Shakespeare's revered tale gets a comical, off-thewall makeover. Gnomeo and Juliet have as many obstacles to overcome when they are caught up in a feud between neighbors. But with plastic pink flamingos and thrilling lawnmower races in the mix, can this young couple find lasting happiness? (Touchstone Pictures)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 10, 2011
    80
    This lively little film, a comic take on Shakespeare's tragedy, is really entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Sean O\\\\\\\'Connell
    Feb 11, 2011
    75
    Any film that dares to cast the bat-chewing heavy-metal legend as a gentle, ceramic reindeer named Fawn is okay in my Bard book.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    A welcome dose of honest silliness at a time when most family-oriented toons settle for smart-alecky.
  4. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Feb 10, 2011
    58
    Far too much of the film is devoted to eye-rolling pop-culture gags and long montages set to recycled Elton John songs.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Feb 11, 2011
    50
    The movie is nothing if not anxious to please. There's a big, diverse, celebrity voice cast – Maggie Smith, Hulk Hogan and Dolly Parton as well as Caine and Osbourne.
  6. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    The script feels workshopped to death yet still hits only a single broad note of irony-drenched whimsy, but the voice-work sparkles and the action-heavy animation clips along fluidly. There's charm in the backyard, but it's still of a garden variety.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Feb 10, 2011
    11
    Novelty alone does not a good idea make, and in the case of Gnomeo and Juliet, it's rather a disturbing, even fetishy one.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 10 out of 37
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    endearing and fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    gnomeo and juliet is amazing cartoon, first i thought it would be lame and boring, but it turned out just the opposite! movie is great, it hasgnomeo and juliet is amazing cartoon, first i thought it would be lame and boring, but it turned out just the opposite! movie is great, it has a happy ending, that's the most important thing, at least for me. although i was a bit disappointed because some parts of movie doesn't make sense at all. Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2011
    8
    My husband took me to see Gnomeo (Long story...), and we both found it to be really cute. It is made for kids, so no traditional old-worldMy husband took me to see Gnomeo (Long story...), and we both found it to be really cute. It is made for kids, so no traditional old-world language, but I recognized lots of lines from the play and really enjoyed how everything was woven together. The animation and 3-D was gorgeous, and I loved the Elton John soundtrack (Pay attention to what song is playing during several scenes, they are chosen with care!). The kids in the theater all seemed to enjoy the show, and the adults looked pretty relaxed and happy as well. Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers. I went to this movie with my younger siblings expecting a disaster. It ended up being a (somewhat) entertaining hour and a half. Some of the character development was lame, and some scenes dragged on. The "dance party" at the end of the movie was atrocious. However there were some surprisingly funny moments, and I loved the Shakepeare statue. Wasn't as bad as I thought, but I'd wait till Cars 2 for a really good animated movie. Collapse
  5. Mar 11, 2011
    4
    This movie is totally forgettable. Sure, the kids will love it and the sound effects were really well done. Other then that, there's not muchThis movie is totally forgettable. Sure, the kids will love it and the sound effects were really well done. Other then that, there's not much to say. Some moments were fun to watch, the rest was quite boring. The main reason why I really wanted to see '' Gnomeo and Juliet '' it's because of the ending. Of course, in the original story they both die, but I was curious to see how this new version will end (because it's for kids). I thought it was okay. But at least the children will enjoy it. Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2011
    3
    Because of nothing better out and my four year old wanting to go to the theater, the two of us saw Gnomeo and Juliet. Now, I don't go to anyBecause of nothing better out and my four year old wanting to go to the theater, the two of us saw Gnomeo and Juliet. Now, I don't go to any of these animated movies with my daughter expecting anything other than something entertaining for her to watch. Colorful characters? Check. And....thats about all I got from it. I have read Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet three times because I am a true fan of the story, and I feel like this children's adaptation has completely butchered it to the point where it should not have been made at all. But then again, it isn't about me, but my daughter who should enjoy it. Its just that I can think of dozens of ways to have better spent that $25 dollars for her amusement. I would avoid this movie if possible. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2015
    0
    Awfully crappy. Silly as JB. Avoid!!!!! IT AT ALL COSTS!!!Awfully crappy. Silly as JB. Avoid!!!!! IT AT ALL COSTS!!! jdjdjdjjdjdndjdnndjdmdjdjdmdjdmdcjfjndnfdbdmdjdndndjdmndmdjdmdmdjdmdmdjdmdjdmdjdndmdjdmdmdndmdmdndndndndmd!!!!!!!!!!! Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Trailers