• Studio:
  • Release Date: Apr 11, 2014
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    Go with Le Flo is a charming, eclectic romantic comedy, a generous collaboration by filmmakers Michael Glover and Robyn Rosenkrantz with the assistance of many talented friends. I adored this film and am very excited to share my views. The story with its picturesque locations including a Parisian style shop in Berlin - "Le Flo" - is delightful. It was filmed entirely in Berlin and stars actors Denis Aubert and Marina Senckel. The French actress Leslie Dubreuil added a refreshing interpretation that was enjoyable to see - like Cameron Diaz in "Something about Mary". A fun film, Go with Le Flo is full of vigor and laughter that might also draw tears near the films end. This is a movie for the discerning mind. I especially enjoyed scenes in the bakery between Gabi and Jenny, Florian on his scooter and the action that leads up to the big finale. There are many great moments worth mentioning - I just can't list them all. Special kudos to Bright Blue Gorilla for their original film scoring that was simply beautiful. Good filmmaking like Go with Le Flo is necessary to humanity. Thank you to the crew, film executives and actors for a job well done. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    This is a pleasant romantic comedy. I found myself smiling almost the entire movie and laughing out loud a few times. There's an atmosphere that pervades the film that I couldn't put my finger on. But when I saw the outtakes at the end I figured out what it was: They actually had FUN making this. That percolates throughout the film. I also speak German so I got a take on the film that not every American does: Glover and Machrowiak's dialog is written the way people would like to be able to talk. (Like the old-style movies used to do.) It's witty and perfectly timed - like a song. If only we could do this in every day life... The dialog style would be tricky for many actors, but Denis Aubert (Florian) and Marina Senckel (Jenny) make it work. One character who seems quirky and quick enough to almost be this witty is Tina - the shop assistant - played by Roberta Bianchini. Her job interview scene and the back and forth about the trials of dating - with Florian - is a comedic highpoint. It's only occasionally that the humor is paid for at the expense of credibility. But this is a screwball comedy, not a historical drama, so credibility is not the number one priority. Overall, I think it's a worthwhile movie to watch and I give extra points for the lack of guns, violence, explosions or profanity. (Very rare indeed in 2014.) Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2014
    8
    Set in a breezy Berlin, "Go with Le Flo" is a charming, romantic comedy about the pursuit of misguided love that leads the audience on a romp through smiles, laughter and good music.

    On his search for a soul mate, our bemused food shop owner hero encounters delightful customers, residents and visitors to this buzzing international city, along with pratfalls, stuffed sausages and a
    rather slippery plate of sauerkraut.

    I recommend this joyous, well acted film that harkens back to a gentler time and is reminiscent of the wonderfully human Italian film "Bread and Chocolate". Do yourself a favor and "Go with Le Flo" to the German capital.
    Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    I laughed and laughed and laughed when watching Go With the Flo. I loved the depiction of French and German characteristics and the love story made me feel uplifted. Certainly a film that needs to be watched!
  5. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    Watch it! I found this to be an absolutely delightful and funny film. The characters are true to life, and I found myself thinking they were much like people I know. It is a charming story about a love between two shopkeepers, Florian and Jenny, who are unaware of this love that everyone else sees. I was unprepared for this story to be so funny, but I found myself laughing out loud, from the very beginning at the rejection scenes of the main character, Florian, as he gets various things hurled at him from a collection of girlfriends. If you like the old screwball comedies from the thirties from Hollywood, and if you love romantic French films – I think you will love Go with Le Flo. The story flowed seamlessly, as we are shown the various characters bit by bit. Goofy and romantic Florian runs a French delicatessen, sweet and kind Jenny, a bakery, and they both have assistants who give them advice – Florian's is flighty and funny, and Jenny's is young but very insightful, with advice you can't argue with like "When it comes to love, men are idiots." Florian's proposal to his current girlfriend does not go off so well, and Jenny is set into a motion by her shop keeper to try to tell Florian how she really feels about him. I don't want to spoil it for you, but there is a chase scene of sorts that is really funny, and I found myself laughing quite abit and then almost moved to tears. Watch it, you won't regret it, unless you need car chases and explosions….and this even has some funny scenes with a car. I found it to be very well written, the dialog seemed to be very natural and realistic, and the camera work and editing seem simply perfect. There is nothing at all low budget about this production, every actor and actress seemed to be perfect for their roles. It isn't often I watch a film where the story seems so real and believable, it is almost as if you were a friend watching all this happen. Perhaps it is because the characters are so much like people I know in my life, played by very competent actors and directed by people who care about telling a story. I can tell the folks who made this love good old movies, yet there is something still fresh and original about this one, it isn't some story simply dusted off and changed around a bit. I enjoyed this very much and will watch anything else I can find made by them – this was easily the best new film I've seen all year. Go watch it! Expand
  6. May 28, 2014
    10
    Go With Le Flo is a charmed romantic comedy, where the tight budget does not at all restrict the filmmakers’ big hearts. They’ve assembled a talented cast of German actors, who clearly relish bringing this lovely story to life. Denis Aubert plays the owner of a renowned Berlin sausage shop who is in love with a feckless and self-involved woman. His ‘best friend’, played by the pretty and down-to-earth Marina Seneckel, owns the bakery down the street. It isn’t a surprise that the baker is secretly in love with the sausage maker, or that she will spend the film finding a series ways, both comic and touching, to pursue him. What does surprise, is how effortlessly the story is told and how engaging it all turns out to be. Michael Glover has written a screenplay rich in detail and character nuance, and has directed the piece in a sensitive, loving and unrushed way. He draws the audience in by spending time with his characters. It’s time well spent. We start to care because we get to know all of these funny, big-hearted and idiosyncratic characters on a deeper level than most films will allow. Glover lingers, for instance, on Mr. Aubert‘s wonderfully comic face, and Aubert pays him off by turning in an outstanding performance. The guy is irresistible, and he and Ms. Seneckel are a marvelous team. Go see this movie! Expand
  7. May 17, 2014
    9
    Really enjoyed --super fun--it contains a playful quality in spirit that made me smile and laugh from the time I saw the preview. I thought all of the acting, setting, costumes, & production qualities were well done...I loved seeing in the credits that the cast & crew came together from 20 countries...There is love in this project...even more than in the plot.
  8. May 13, 2014
    9
    Since I prefer indie films over formulaic studio fare, I really enjoyed this refreshing comedy. I hope there are more indie comedies in the works by Michael Glover and his talented team.
  9. May 10, 2014
    10
    Go With Le Flo! is delightfully entertaining - a wonderful blend of romance and comedy. Much of the fun and intrigue takes place in a French delicatessen in Berlin, but there is little that is delicate about the misguided approach to love of the main character Florian. He is half German and half French and perhaps that helps explain his calamitous handling of romance. In the end of course all goes well, or does it? There are so many twists and turns that you don’t know what is coming next. I thoroughly recommend that you find out for yourself what happens.
    There was a fitting testimonial at the end of the film when the entire audience applauded. How often do you hear that?
    Expand
  10. May 9, 2014
    10
    Cinematic comedy is a classic art form that has suffered abuse in recent decades from crude applications and generally clueless efforts on the part of commercial movie makers. It is therefore a welcome sight to behold Michael Glover's enchanting independent romantic comedy Go With Le Flo, which reminds us that genuine humor and hilarity are still achievable when the right creative minds are at work behind and in front of the camera. Defying cultural barriers which would have intimidated most filmmakers, the American Glover has fashioned a European screwball comedy (in German and French no less!) celebrating the delirious insanity of love and romance among a troubled circle of Berliners. Denis Aubert ideally captures the clumsy romantic Florian whose idiotic pursuits of a vain actress frustrate his lovestruck friend Jenny (the perfectly matched Marina Senckel). Glover and co-writer Mea Machrowiak have accomplished the near impossible: a 21st century comedy that is tender, delightful, sincere, and, when we least expect it, uproariously funny, as it conjures up the spirits of Lubitsch, Wilder, and Sturges.

    Max Alvarez, film historian, author, former contributing film critic for The Washington Diplomat, The Milwaukee Journal, and Shepherd Express.
    Expand
  11. May 9, 2014
    7
    Knowing the limited resources and micro budget this production had, I was pleasantly surprised to be completely engaged in the film, both times I watched it. The story and performances felt very genuine. It's rare to see so much talent in front of the camera in a movie of this scale while wonderfully written and orchestrated by up and coming director Michael Glover. Where many independent films start to drag on and get boring, this film
    picks up the pace with fun slapstick charisma. And new characters are
    delightfully introduced, grabbing at the audience in witty
    confrontation.

    The film closes with what may seem to be a cheese ball flair of
    emotion. But in keeping with the style of the film, it doesn't come off
    that way at all. It plays as tasteful humor, mixed with relatable heart
    warming fun, in a well crafted slapstick fashion.
    Expand
  12. May 8, 2014
    9
    This was a most charming and enjoyable movie. It is reminiscent of Amelie but with more humor and fun. From the love stricken plot to the succinct clever dialog to the quaint accordion music, this movie captivates one to Go with Le Flo..
  13. May 7, 2014
    8
    Sweet, fun, funny! Saw it twice, once with a lady, once with a guy friend. Good both times. This is a sweet, unpretentious comedy that uses lighthearted humor, impossible situations, absurdity and a little tongue in cheek delivery to bring a very clean, delightful story to the screen. The setting is charming. The subtitles are well paced. Take a break from Hollywood tedium, and try something creative and fresh.

    Go With Le FLo!
    Expand
  14. May 5, 2014
    10
    I love this film. I'm disappointed with a lot of the Hollywood cookie-cutter fare the studios seem to be intent upon force-feeding us, and this film, Go with Le Flo, was a helpful antidote. I agree with the Lubitsch/Wilder comments. It's certainly a homage to those geniuses. But, hey, if you're going to emulate somebody, why not emulate the greats! If you like Some Like It Hot, or Ninotschka, or Bringing Up Baby (to bring in Howard Hawkes for a moment - who, I would venture is on director Micheal Glover's favorites list) then you'll probably like Go With Le Flo. The actors are great and the writing is excellent. It's a fine film and goes miles past the borders of the average low budget film. No stars in it but I think that's a plus. You judge the characters as characters and don't have to pretend that George Clooney is a lowly shop-keeper and not a Millionaire movie star. Nice job by the way by the actors who play Florian and Jenny. Ah… to have someone who loves you like Jenny does! What a dream… (Great speech at the end for Jenny too… Won't say anything else because I hate spoilers.) Go see it! Expand
  15. May 5, 2014
    10
    Go With Le Flo is a charming romantic comedy. The movie is in German and French (English subtitles) and takes place in Berlin - excellent choice of setting. I found the writing to be witty and the comedic timing excellent - I do a lot of stage comedy so I appreciated that. The cast is superb and, according to what I found on the web, they come principally from the Berliner Ensemble, the theatre founded by Berthold Brecht. Whatever their source, they are a gifted cast. The style is retro and seems to be drawing on the 1930's - 1940's. Some writers say the director draws from Lubitsch and Wilder which seems a fair assessment. I'm a fan of both of these directors so the "Lubitsch Touch" certainly works for me. The story is paced very well and I found that the 90 minutes flew by. No small feat with a low budget movie. Audience loved it too and it's always nice to be surrounded by people who appreciate a film. Sometimes I'm the only one laughing in a cinema and this time I wasn't. Third Act has an excellent change of tome - I won't spoil it here - suffice to say the ending delivers on the promise of the first two acts. Expand
  16. May 5, 2014
    10
    I saw this at the cinema downtown. The audience was laughing through the whole thing. It is a great rom com, is really clever and sweet, and is extra cool because it's a FOREIGN rom com. I think this added a certain flavor that is missing in a lot of rom coms of late. The writing is really clever in Go with the Flo and the actors are really believable and excellent. I thought the movie flowed (!) really fast. great pacing. Berlin is the perfect backdrop for romance too because it's such a great new modern city. (If you haven't been there lately maybe you don't know what I mean but now it's really a magical place.) I won't give any spoilers but the ending is wonderful. Great job to the Go with Le Flo people! Expand
  17. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    As the writer/director of "Go with Le Flo" I must point out that we have had RAVE reviews from "The Independent Critic", New York Film Historian, Max Alvarez, "Nuo Magazine UK", "Herald de Paris", "Film Yap", "German World" magazine, "Immigrant Magazine", "Tacoma Weekly", "Crime, Guns, and Videotape", and more. Much more important, to me, is the audience reaction. I've watched Go with Le Flo with 8 audiences in Berlin, Los Angeles, Carmel CA, Indianapolis, and they universally LOVE the film. The laughs are strong throughout. The audience comments during Q&A are as positive as can be. This bitter writer hired by the L.A. Times neither represents the type of person I write and make uplifting films for, nor does he represent the experience of every audience member - and other critics - I've come in contact with. Yours Sincerely, Michael Glover Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Apr 10, 2014
    30
    [An] amateurish, terribly acted piffle, which devolves from dull conversations behind store counters into witless farce on a movie set.