Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 8, 2012
    58
    Ellis (The Good Wife's Graham Phillips), an alienated teen, smokes weed and hangs out with a goat-obsessed, pot-cultivating surrogate father (David Duchovny, hidden by hair). New Age details aside, though, Ellis is easily identifiable as a distant cousin-by-genre to J.D. Salinger's Holden Caulfield.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    If Mr. Neil had the tonal mastery of Wes Anderson, Goats could have been so much more than an episodic sequence of whimsical little psychodramas.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 9, 2012
    0
    Goats is just b-a-a-a-aad.
  4. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Aug 8, 2012
    50
    Ms. Farmiga is the only one who seems to be having any fun, as an aging flower child stuck in an earlier decade and addicted to healing vortex workshops and primal screams. Mellow, but very much a work in progress, Goats has a bland but overcrowded menu that could benefit from a little feta.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Aug 12, 2012
    50
    It all remains remarkably free of memorable comic situations, dramatic tension or emotional insight. Adolescence may be bruising, crazy or normal, but it's rarely this staid.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 7, 2012
    20
    Incapable of energizing Mark Poirier's leaden script (based on his own novel), Christopher Neil directs with a mechanical blandness made more tedious still by a score of gentle guitar strumming so aggravatingly benign it might inspire you to partake in one of Wendy's climactic, cathartic primal screams.
  7. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Aug 7, 2012
    60
    Farmiga persuades as a kooky monster of a matriarch, while Javier is an ideal vessel for Duchovny's laconic line readings (he's grown into an even more deadpan Bill Murray). Goats may cover an all-too-familiar terrain, but at least it grazes it well.
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Jul 28, 2012
    40
    This monotonously deadpan coming-of-age comedy has little to recommend it beyond some beautiful widescreen cinematography and the momentary kick of seeing David Duchovny looking like a stoned Jesus as Goat Man.
  9. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Jul 28, 2012
    58
    Overall, it's not that Neil's directorial debut is boring or even disappointing, it's that it's just unexceptional – almost exactly the sort of dime-a-dozen growing-up story that's become a Sundance/ independent film world cliché.
  10. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Aug 10, 2012
    50
    First-time director Christopher Neil (a Coppola cousin) scores points for scenery: The treks in the Arizona desert are shot beautifully - as is Duchovny's chiseled, oft-naked bod.
  11. Reviewed by: Kalvin Henely
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    Christopher Neil's film is more location-scouted and photographed than directed and acted.
  12. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Aug 8, 2012
    50
    It's a strange stunt of a role for Duchovny, who even when playing characters indulging in sex, drugs, or conspiracy theories, has the air of a savvy urbanite, a quality he can't submerge while trying to act as a perpetually high mystic.
  13. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Jul 28, 2012
    40
    A coming-of-age story without any clear epiphany, Goats meanders rather aimlessly through 92 minutes of running time.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Sep 2, 2012
    6
    I think you have to be a fan of he book to really enjoy the movie, since the author of the book wrote the screen play. And I got that feeling when I watched the movie, there were parts that didn't really make sense to me, things happened that seemed pretty important but were no explanation as to why they happened (mainly near the end). That being said I did enjoy the movie, it wasn't great, but Graham Phillips (Ellis) was an interesting and well acted character that kept me interested. I really liked the scenes with him at the school interacting with his roommate (Nicholas Lobue) and scenes with his father (Ty Burrell) and his girlfriend (Keri Russell), all of whom acted really well. I would have liked to see more scenes with them. I didn't really care for the parts of the movie that took place in Arizona, but the parts also David Duchovny enjoyable. In all it's a good movie, well acted, directed and really good dialogue but I would have probable liked the movie more if there won't as many loose ends as there were and if it had a better ending. By the way this is not a comedy like the trailer makes it seem, its more of a light drama. 6.5/10 Full Review »