Magnet Releasing | Release Date: May 11, 2012
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 110 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
78
Mixed:
20
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
LeZeeMar 9, 2017
Nabbing a few bad fellows along while saying goodbye to the world.

Well, I did not expect it to be this good, even after knowing it was praised by many. From the writer, director of 'World's Greatest Dad'. Another black comedy and this even
Nabbing a few bad fellows along while saying goodbye to the world.

Well, I did not expect it to be this good, even after knowing it was praised by many. From the writer, director of 'World's Greatest Dad'. Another black comedy and this even better. About an ordinary middle aged divorcée who hates everything around him, but could not do anything about it. One day when he got fired from his job, followed by discovering he has a tumor, he thinks to put an end his life right away. But then decides to do cleanup the society before his time comes up. Hence begins the path of violence, later a young woman joins him and how long it all goes was briefed.

Seems very familiar, but still worked so good. It's not your 'Bonnie and Clyde' or 'Pretty Poison'. In fact, you can drag as many titles as you can, but still it is quite simple and entertaining. Obviously predictable, including the main twist and several scenes, but the rhythm of the narration was great, keeps us hooked to it for the way it was filmed. It's not about the moral science. It is pretty much a confused or misunderstood situation based theme, especially the conclusion clears out that. So if you don't care anything about those things, particularly in a film, then it is for you.

Unfamiliar faces, but they both in the lead were excellent. The same film with some popular stars would have made a better headline and collection. Not seen quite a nice B film like this in the recent time. I got what I wanted from a film. Especially for a small film like this its exemption in a few areas due to the tight budget, but this film did not have any trouble, just amazing. Yeah, a well made film, from writing to direction, performances, this is a decent hidden gem of its kind.

7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ScraperDec 18, 2016
The hypocrisy of God Bless America lies in the fact that the whole film rails against the death of creativity in American life and the conceptual solution, the murder of everything and everyone that toxically feeds upon the ignorant, is tooThe hypocrisy of God Bless America lies in the fact that the whole film rails against the death of creativity in American life and the conceptual solution, the murder of everything and everyone that toxically feeds upon the ignorant, is too easy in itself. The fact that the vapid morons populating the headlines are more entertaining than artists and scientists is indeed frustrating, but the beauty of this world is that anything worth doing is difficult. This movie takes the easy way out and probably appeals more to those same ignoramuses who are hungry for drastic comedy over intelligence. I can appreciate the originality and a few agreeable rants, but it was best left as a daydream, I'm positive, Goldthwait had one afternoon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DeputyDoomJun 19, 2016
This is easily the best movie ever created. From the writing and casting to the acting, music and symbolism, this film is honest about the destructive and cruel nature of our society, and the unwillingness of most to do anything about it.This is easily the best movie ever created. From the writing and casting to the acting, music and symbolism, this film is honest about the destructive and cruel nature of our society, and the unwillingness of most to do anything about it.
This film is not meant to be taken literally - if you are offended, you clearly don't get it. It is a brilliant piece of social commentary that I think should be required viewing for every American over the age of 15.
Brilliant from start to finish.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JeanDuchampJan 13, 2016
Gorgeous! A brilliant satire on the modern society. I'm really happy to have seen at last something genuine and truly funny at once. A real gem, for all who esteem a good dark comedy and not alien to traditional values.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cylentstormMar 14, 2015
It's a well-deserved and darkly comic slap in the face to a mostly-hollow and superficial society. Is it the best flick that I've ever seen? Not really. I love it anyway. God Bless America jerks you out of your comfort zone, and that isIt's a well-deserved and darkly comic slap in the face to a mostly-hollow and superficial society. Is it the best flick that I've ever seen? Not really. I love it anyway. God Bless America jerks you out of your comfort zone, and that is something that I think everyone needs--whether they like it or not.

Frank: "It's the same type of freak-show distraction that comes along every time a mighty empire starts collapsing. "American Superstarz" is the new colosseum and I won't participate in watching a show where the weak are torn apart every week for our entertainment."
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Jan 11, 2015
Its absurdity and no-holds-barred cultural criticism might turn some away, but there's something undeniably/strangely satisfying about Bobcat Goldthwait's jet black comedy road trip "God Bless America."
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JoshRobertsApr 25, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. God bless America is easily, in my opinion, one of the best combinations of Dark Comedy and Drama I have seen in Years. Watching this film was a great Experience, and it was easily one of the best independent films I have ever seen. The Plot is a dark spiral of Hilarious Insanity and Turmoil, filled with some of the best Social and Political Commentary, Exquisitely handled Themes, and Ridiculously dark (And Funny) Shock Humor, a good example being in a fantasy scene where the Protagonist imagines killing his neighbors, and shoots their baby with a 12 Gauge shotgun when The Mother tries to use it as a Human Shield. In my opinion, there are two major selling points to this film. One is the Social Commentary, and overarching theme. Which portrays a man seeking to rid the world of Stupidity and, seeing how he thinks he is dying, develops a sort of Jigsaw Complex, which drives him to make a difference by eradicating the source of it, albeit in a very Morally Ambiguous way. While i don't Condone the actions, it is something that could be debated if this sort of action could be considered something that could be a step in the right direction or not, which is one of the highlights of the Film. The other reason why this Movie is worth watching is the Female Protagonist. This is easily one of the best Characters I have ever seen, which is also eloquently portrayed by the Actress's skill to emote, and convey with subtlety. She's Independent, Insane, and wants to see idiocy destroyed, and she's the best Driving Force to help Frank find the strength to stand up for his cause. The Ending is exquisite, being reminiscent of Bonnie and Clyde, combining with them going out in an absolute blaze of glory, being the rebels against stupidity. Also, the plot has a great way of connecting all the events in a relatively seamless way, and does a great job at keeping everything coherent for a Comedy. Naturally, though, there are a few problems. The Dialogue can be a little stilted, some of the jokes don't hit bulls-eyes, and the Social Commentary, to some, will be offensive, but honestly, it needs to be. This is a great statement about where we are headed, and how we need someone to stand up for intelligence and decency, albeit in a more...... diplomatic way. But honestly, if Frank and Rory came through, and asked me to join with them, I would. It might not be the most ethical thing, but at least someone would be trying. Over all, this Film is exquisite, and honestly, I love every second of it, and easily gets my Seal of Approval.

God Bless America is My Pick for the Best Modern Dramatic Comedy Ever Made.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
S2G047Dec 8, 2013
I know there is a lot of trash around us all the time but that does not means that we start killing every such person we don't like. No two persons can ever be same, that is what defines being human and not machines. The leads are terroristsI know there is a lot of trash around us all the time but that does not means that we start killing every such person we don't like. No two persons can ever be same, that is what defines being human and not machines. The leads are terrorists and if you are rooting for them then God bless You. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
EnpatsuNov 3, 2013
A good movie for present the american mentality. Main story is a bit strange but funny. I realy enjoyed this movie and laugh at some parts but the ending could be better
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
MattCipolla926Jul 14, 2013
I laughed a good amount and the dialogue is witty and acerbic throughout and the story works, but only for the first 35-40 minutes. The two leads are very good with what they have and the two main characters are likable for who they are andI laughed a good amount and the dialogue is witty and acerbic throughout and the story works, but only for the first 35-40 minutes. The two leads are very good with what they have and the two main characters are likable for who they are and how psychotic they are portrayed as, the main girl is specifically great. The thing is that after a while, it actually gets to be too much. If the audience is actually rooting for the two main characters past the two-thirds point, then the audience is essentially rooting for Eric Harris, Dylan Klebold, James Holmes, Adam Lanza, Seung-Hui Cho and terrorists. The film succeeded in what it set out to do but it left me upside-down due to how incredibly amoral and dark it gets. Seriously, this movie is dark as hell, way darker than any drama or horror film I've ever seen. 6.3/10, one thumb down, meh, okay, etc. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Trev29Jun 9, 2013
This a shallow preachy attempt to denounce everything that is supposedly wrong with America. The characters are completely unlikable and in the end, the movie isn't funny or engaging. This movie is pathetic.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Jan 27, 2013
God Bless America is one of the most unrealistic movies I have ever seen. The movie has its ups and downs but when you strip away everything, the movie has a profound and true statement; that this country is completely screwed up today.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
libbycritiquesSep 25, 2012
Where the film falls short is in its lack of character and plot development, both are strong at the beginning but neither go anywhere. This results in what seems like a sermon on the state of affairs without offering hope or a solution,Where the film falls short is in its lack of character and plot development, both are strong at the beginning but neither go anywhere. This results in what seems like a sermon on the state of affairs without offering hope or a solution, leaving the audience fairly depressed and uninterested. I was far more amused by the trailer, which offered the whole story with all the funniest bits in under five minutes. Perhaps it would have worked better as a short film, but as is, Sorkin Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RedrealSep 24, 2012
Funny, sad and twisted , brought up some very valid points with today's society. Although I cannot condone murder I understand the point of the movie.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
hodubJul 21, 2012
Just finished watching the DVD after picking it up at my local Blockbuster. I admit I feel a bit guilty watching this just two days after the latest tragedy in Colorado. But I don't believe Goldthwait's intention was to turn his audience intoJust finished watching the DVD after picking it up at my local Blockbuster. I admit I feel a bit guilty watching this just two days after the latest tragedy in Colorado. But I don't believe Goldthwait's intention was to turn his audience into homicidal maniacs. I think his intention was to express frustration and discontent with the malaise that is our current American culture, albeit in an exaggerated manner. Nonetheless, I can empathize with said frustration of the film's antiheroes. Now the hard part for me isn't resisting the urge to go on a killing spree, with America's most conceited, bigoted, self-absorbed idiots out there as targets. The hard part is willingness to throw my Android phone off a bridge into the water below. Either way, I find God Bless America to be the most entertaining film of 2012 so far. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
Apemonkey666Jul 8, 2012
This film is a satirical **** You' to American mainstream media, their intollerant right-wing patriotic society and the general retarded simple-mindedness of people. It does this without being too preachy or without coming of as left wingThis film is a satirical **** You' to American mainstream media, their intollerant right-wing patriotic society and the general retarded simple-mindedness of people. It does this without being too preachy or without coming of as left wing propaganda. You could call it a road movie, and the pace isn't very high but the acting of the 2 main characters is simply exellent. And the scenes where the **** of the world' get gunned down are just so much fun they alone almost make watching this little gem worthwhile. Highly recommended! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
valid8Jul 8, 2012
I personally enjoyed this one...

It kinda reminded me of Falling Dawn with Michael Douglas (if you haven't seen it, and liked this one, I seriously advise you to watch it :), only that the main characters where pretty much sane through the
I personally enjoyed this one...

It kinda reminded me of Falling Dawn with Michael Douglas (if you haven't seen it, and liked this one, I seriously advise you to watch it :), only that the main characters where pretty much sane through the whole part of the movie, and what they where doing was the right thing to do in a decaying materialistic brainwashed society like America...Overall it could have been written somewhat better, but the package still delivers till the end which by the way was also IMHO rightfully inevitable.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
KodyxDestroyerJul 8, 2012
I'd gone into this movie with high hopes thinking that it would be generally funny, and for the first half hour it was. After you get through the intro of the movie, including the first killing, it goes down hill from there. The movie thenI'd gone into this movie with high hopes thinking that it would be generally funny, and for the first half hour it was. After you get through the intro of the movie, including the first killing, it goes down hill from there. The movie then takes a turn to twenty minute monologues before anything important actually happens, all the while it is incredibly obvious that the writer is only trying to push a political agenda. The movie turns from being genuinely funny, to just being plain pathetic by trying to force comedy through their sad "political jokes" that stereotype people as much as you can. The characters are extremely unlikable and make it very hard to relate to them. Especially the girl, she swears up a storm, typically for no reason, by saying things, like **** you frank" just to reply to the him. Frank the main character, brings no life to his role whatsoever. He is supposed to be a man dying from a brain tumor, but really all he is, is a poor actor that can't show any emotion, and always talks in a monologue voice. The story, could have easily been written by a middle school student. It is poorly written, and extremely shallow. This is why I've given the movie a two out of ten. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
4
TheDRauchJun 30, 2012
God Bless America, a dark comedy involving a depressed middle-aged man who goes on a killing rampage on those who 'deserve it' with a teenage girl has its morals all twisted up. The film attempts to make statements about what's wrong with popGod Bless America, a dark comedy involving a depressed middle-aged man who goes on a killing rampage on those who 'deserve it' with a teenage girl has its morals all twisted up. The film attempts to make statements about what's wrong with pop culture and America and, while some of the declarations are affecting, it is mostly just wrung out with hypocrisy, as the characters enacting the killings are no better themselves. It starts out with promise, making some good points, but then we begin to realize that about every scene contains a drawn out monologue of, not so much nihilism, but hating everything for no backed up insightful reason. While the plot is self-aware and ridiculous, the character of the teenage girl is absolutely unlikable, foul-mouthed, mean, and with no background to suppport her behavior. Enjoy God Bless America for its dark/funny massacres but not its moral. I don't think we are meant to anyway. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DalekJun 23, 2012
This movie is hilarious. Killing the ones who deserve it. Just perfect.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
LunaCityMay 27, 2012
Ultimately a snuff fantasy for the kind of people who spend their evening watching Jon Stewart and Rachel Maddow. Sure is fun to imagine yourself going on a killing spree to wipe out FOX news commentators, reality TV show stars, and insultingUltimately a snuff fantasy for the kind of people who spend their evening watching Jon Stewart and Rachel Maddow. Sure is fun to imagine yourself going on a killing spree to wipe out FOX news commentators, reality TV show stars, and insulting judges on American Idol. But ultimately, the film's ccharacters are no better than the targets of their wrath. The is one way I could givev this movie a 10. If you interpret it as a condemnation of the people who will get off on it. In a way, the ending reminds me of the ending of Inglourious Bastards, where the audience is watching a film in which the heros massacre an audience full of Nazis trapped in a theater watching a film in which the hero kills their enemies. I'm not sure the film is really smart enough to have that double edge to it, though. There are numerous occasions when the protagonists rant and rave about the vulgarity of the culture, before immediately revealing themselves to be nothing but the flip side, another example of the vulgarity they condemn. As if going on a killing spree to protest incivility isn't sufficiently ironic. Collapse
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
EdmankMay 17, 2012
One of the best movies of the year in my opinion. While the story is not easy to take seriously, its not meant to. The plot relays a message that needs to be said about todays society. The break out performance by Tara Lynne Barr isOne of the best movies of the year in my opinion. While the story is not easy to take seriously, its not meant to. The plot relays a message that needs to be said about todays society. The break out performance by Tara Lynne Barr is phenomenal. I enjoyed every second of this movie. *note this movie will not go over with you as well if you are 1) a Santorum style republican 2) A member of the Real housewives show 3) a member of the Westboro Baptist church. Im Commander Shepherd and this is my favorite movie on the citadel. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
muse6May 15, 2012
A searing indictment of current American culture that is at times funny, sad, and terrifying. The action in God Bless America is almost cartoonish in its presentation, but the message is serious and clear - America is becoming an angryA searing indictment of current American culture that is at times funny, sad, and terrifying. The action in God Bless America is almost cartoonish in its presentation, but the message is serious and clear - America is becoming an angry nation where bigotry, sensationalism and selfishness rule. This film is a call for kindness, albeit delivered with a sledgehammer. See it with someone you love. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
nascentMay 14, 2012
Idiocracy meets Super, without the good writing. Flip-flops between unfunny parody of tv shows and scenes with characters complaining about modern culture for a few minutes at a time.

Overall entertaining and generally satisfying, but not a
Idiocracy meets Super, without the good writing. Flip-flops between unfunny parody of tv shows and scenes with characters complaining about modern culture for a few minutes at a time.

Overall entertaining and generally satisfying, but not a particularly well made, profound movie or especially funny movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
Friskytiger81May 11, 2012
Not ridiculous enough to justify the running time, the film is an overlong rant that has validity in some of its points, but isn't ridiculous enough to survive the bad indie filmmaking and a story that tries too hard to create a story whenNot ridiculous enough to justify the running time, the film is an overlong rant that has validity in some of its points, but isn't ridiculous enough to survive the bad indie filmmaking and a story that tries too hard to create a story when there really isn't one. Don't bother watching this before midnight. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews