User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 164

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. WakoJako
    Nov 16, 2005
    0
    BOOOOOOORRRRRIIIIIING!!! Unless you are a middle aged old fart with soft spot for those particular times, this movie will put you to sleep. It lacks plot or any other device that makes a movie what it is supposed to do. Do not waste your money on this piece of crap.
  2. ForaO.
    Oct 15, 2005
    1
    Within the first 5 minutes I knew what a horrible experience watching this movie would be. Not only was the movie extremely boring, it was an excruciating experience to watch it. I found myself constantly checking the time to find a way to put myself out of my misery. If you have problems sleeping this is the movie for you. Never have I fallen asleep during a movie, but this film was just Within the first 5 minutes I knew what a horrible experience watching this movie would be. Not only was the movie extremely boring, it was an excruciating experience to watch it. I found myself constantly checking the time to find a way to put myself out of my misery. If you have problems sleeping this is the movie for you. Never have I fallen asleep during a movie, but this film was just the lackluster performance to do so. Unless you are over 70 years of age, this is a nightmare of a movie to see. Trust me the theater was filled with old farts who laughed at the corniest jokes that it made me wantt to puke. Don't put yourself in the pain I endured trying to watch this movie. Expand
  3. LadyLiberty
    Dec 25, 2005
    1
    Can a movie be more boring? I walked out after an hour. Simply awful.
  4. OlegM.
    Jan 27, 2006
    2
    What is this movie about, I wonder? How the dour journalist upset McCarthy? (unconvincing, that). How freedom of speech rules in the US? (it does indeed; but CBS is hardly the beacon of free speech). It is about how Clooney assembled a great team of actors and failed to come up with a clear message. Let alone an good story. Very un-entertaining and un-elucidating effort. Clooney should What is this movie about, I wonder? How the dour journalist upset McCarthy? (unconvincing, that). How freedom of speech rules in the US? (it does indeed; but CBS is hardly the beacon of free speech). It is about how Clooney assembled a great team of actors and failed to come up with a clear message. Let alone an good story. Very un-entertaining and un-elucidating effort. Clooney should stay in the Sexiest-Man-Alive list and not venture anywhere. Expand
  5. AddisonD.
    Nov 19, 2005
    3
    An unusual format, pseudo-documentary, taking us back to the supposed style and mood of the '50s. However, the movie is overburdened with sanctimonious liberalism as well as historical distortions. For persons with even the slightest conservative orientation or appreciation of what the Cold War was like, don't bother with this production.
  6. Monty
    Dec 9, 2005
    3
    Well-intentioned political drama about Edward R. Murrow is unfortunately fumbled by a script that doesn't work hard enough and direction that - I hate to say - is plain weak. One wonders what this film might have been like in more expert hands - but, then, it took the clout and integrity of a George Clooney to make it happen. A solid performance by David Strathairn gives the material Well-intentioned political drama about Edward R. Murrow is unfortunately fumbled by a script that doesn't work hard enough and direction that - I hate to say - is plain weak. One wonders what this film might have been like in more expert hands - but, then, it took the clout and integrity of a George Clooney to make it happen. A solid performance by David Strathairn gives the material some gravitas but it never rises to the potential of its compelling subject. Seems like a tv movie; and not a terribly good one, unfortunately. Expand
  7. AndrewT.
    Apr 2, 2006
    3
    Sorry, this is just not entertaining. I do not go to the movies to be lectured to. Although the acting is excellent and the 1950's setting is realistic, the focus on CBS's fight with McCarthy does not make a very compelling movie.
  8. ShannonP.
    Jul 9, 2006
    3
    Way over-rated. This film presupposes that you know details about McCarthy and Murrow, and that you agree the former was pure evil and the latter a saint. It then invites you to wallow in the resulting pious sentiments. McCarthy may well have been a bad man and Murrow a good one, but this movie lacks the context necessary to show why. It's not so much a story as a self-indulgent Way over-rated. This film presupposes that you know details about McCarthy and Murrow, and that you agree the former was pure evil and the latter a saint. It then invites you to wallow in the resulting pious sentiments. McCarthy may well have been a bad man and Murrow a good one, but this movie lacks the context necessary to show why. It's not so much a story as a self-indulgent exercise in political correctness. Expand
  9. Lindsey
    Nov 12, 2005
    2
    The acting is superb and the period is captured perfectly. Then why such a low score you ask? As I sat through this black and white recreation I felt as if I was watching a documentary and not a movie. Instead of giving the viewer an inside look at the two major characters and what drove each to the left and right, instead we get a tedious slow moving boring documentary. I felt as if I The acting is superb and the period is captured perfectly. Then why such a low score you ask? As I sat through this black and white recreation I felt as if I was watching a documentary and not a movie. Instead of giving the viewer an inside look at the two major characters and what drove each to the left and right, instead we get a tedious slow moving boring documentary. I felt as if I was watching paint dry or moss grow on a rock. Part of the audience started walking out after 45 minutes. If you are looking into the soul of the characters you will be greatly disappointed as no one is home. Avoid. Expand
  10. Adrian
    Nov 16, 2005
    0
    Walked out after an hour. Just a bunch of stiff acting but little insight.
  11. M.Mills
    Apr 15, 2006
    2
    A disappointing failure to portray Murrow as a brave journalist in a social and journalistic context. The film is a collection of Murrow vignettes that touch upon the issues of McCarthyism and growing corporate control of television. The acting is one-dimensional, the plot partially developed and the pacing uneven. The choppy editing is stitched together with a jazz thread which adds A disappointing failure to portray Murrow as a brave journalist in a social and journalistic context. The film is a collection of Murrow vignettes that touch upon the issues of McCarthyism and growing corporate control of television. The acting is one-dimensional, the plot partially developed and the pacing uneven. The choppy editing is stitched together with a jazz thread which adds nothing to the drama. Murrow and the values he stood for deserve better. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Phil Hall
    20
    Clooney has littered his film with such a high quantity of mistakes that it is hard to know where exactly to begin finding fault.
  2. The biggest little movie of the year - and one of the best ever about the news media.
  3. Clooney may be a specialist in embattled camaraderie--he helped revive "Ocean's Eleven," after all--but as in that caper remake, there's no depth to these characterizations, and Downey and Clarkson are squandered in a goes-nowhere subplot about their secret marriage.