Good Will Hunting

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 369 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 369

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 4, 2016
    10
    The magical feeling you get by watching "Good Will Hunting" will make you question the meaning to filmmaking and life as a whole. When Sean Maquire (Robin Williams) states "you'll have bad times, but it'll always wake you up to the good stuff you weren't paying attention to" leads me to think of the negative moments in my life that inspired me to be a big-time movie fan. Good Will HuntingThe magical feeling you get by watching "Good Will Hunting" will make you question the meaning to filmmaking and life as a whole. When Sean Maquire (Robin Williams) states "you'll have bad times, but it'll always wake you up to the good stuff you weren't paying attention to" leads me to think of the negative moments in my life that inspired me to be a big-time movie fan. Good Will Hunting will express the deepest emotions your mind can possibly experiences by bringing you tears, laughter and even anger.

    Rating: 10/10

    A+ = 10
    A = 9
    A- = 8
    B+ = 7
    B = 6
    B- = 5
    C+ = 4
    C = 3
    C- = 2.5
    D+ = 2
    D = 1.5
    D- = 1
    F = 0
    Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2016
    2
    Alright, I am going to go straight ahead and say that in no way do I understand how people manage to like this movie.

    Absolutely everything in this film is outright terrible: the premise of two grown men going out of their way to help some guy "because he's a genius", the cliché boring love interest and friend subplots, young Damon showing his "intellect" by citing old books with a
    Alright, I am going to go straight ahead and say that in no way do I understand how people manage to like this movie.

    Absolutely everything in this film is outright terrible: the premise of two grown men going out of their way to help some guy "because he's a genius", the cliché boring love interest and friend subplots, young Damon showing his "intellect" by citing old books with a super-serious face, Affleck picking up girls (extra cringy!), Williams remembering his wife's farts (literally), Minnie Driver's story about geriatric blowjobs, Casey Affleck jerking off (not shown explicitly, thankfully), the battered "do what you really like, don't miss your true love" morale... The list could go on forever, or for about two hours, to be exact.

    The only bright spot is Robin Williams (when he's not remembering his wife's farts, obviously), his performance is solid, his smile heart- warming, his wrists very hairy.

    What I also don't get is why people have doubts whether Affleck and Damon actually wrote this piece of trash. I mean come on, saying that someone isn't capable of even coming up with something as bad as Will Hunting is probably the worst insult there is.
    Expand
  3. May 28, 2016
    8
    It's over-long for a film of its nature, but despite the length, the film does not lag. In fact, it is beautifully filmed, exceptionally acted, brilliantly written, and---in the end---extremely heartwarming. It is a triumph.
  4. Apr 19, 2016
    8
    Good Will Hunting is one of the greatest American Movies of all time. It is both Robin Williams and Matt Damon's best performances, and Robin Williams won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor. Good Will Hunting is both wise and deep. It really makes you stop and look at yourself and life.
  5. Feb 14, 2016
    9
    Simply PRICELESS! No matter how many times you watch it... the dialog will not stop to amaze you!

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-967-Good-Will-Hunting-online-free
  6. Jan 16, 2016
    10
    A compelling, funny, and ultimately moving examination of life's priorities, with mesmerising performances from Damon, Affleck and the late Robin Williams.
  7. Dec 9, 2015
    5
    Unoriginal and slow. It's easy to tell how the film is going to end and how events are going to play out within the first 10 minutes of watching. The film unrealistically portrays mathematics as being something easy to grasp for someone with such a high intellect. No "super genius" can solve complex math problems the way Will does. Matt Damon's and Robin William's performances are exceptional.
  8. Dec 6, 2015
    7
    Let's be honest. Everybody at one point in hist life wants to be that smart boy in the bar who teaches a lesson to that **** prick who is picking on his friend.
  9. Nov 27, 2015
    9
    This is a really good movie. The plot and the characters are really interesting and make for a great watch. Matt Damon and Ben Affleck do a great job.
  10. Jul 29, 2015
    10
    This film taught me to never give up when in hard times and that if I go threw abuse, is not my fault. One of my favorite YouTubers, MrRepzion, loved this film because it taught him the exact same moral. I wish Robin Williams could see this review so he could know what a great job he did
  11. Jul 29, 2015
    10
    The only negative reviews I hear of this movies are by people who either cant stand violence or strong language (and one about it being to simple from the guy who watched inception and still has his mind blown). This movie is very real to me, though the genius of the main is hyperbolized (in my opinion) It just goes to display the internal struggle of what to do with your natural gifts,The only negative reviews I hear of this movies are by people who either cant stand violence or strong language (and one about it being to simple from the guy who watched inception and still has his mind blown). This movie is very real to me, though the genius of the main is hyperbolized (in my opinion) It just goes to display the internal struggle of what to do with your natural gifts, and just how much negative influences during your childhood effect your growth. Plus the Jokes in this movie are HILARIOUS! Even if you didnt like this movie you cannot tell me you didnt like the apples joke, or the old couple. Expand
  12. Jul 26, 2015
    8
    Heart-warming, lovely, smart but not boring, Good Will Hunting is an excellent example for the talents of Matt Damon, Ben Affleck, and Robin Williams.
  13. Jul 2, 2015
    10
    Probably one of the greatest movies ever made. Brilliant acting, heartfelt story, emotional ending, and a truly perfect script make this movie a masterful journey!
  14. Mar 17, 2015
    4
    For what it is, Good Will Hunting isn't bad. Robin Williams is okay, the message is inoffensive, it serves fine in that respect. But by no means is it special. Even if it was relatively original for its time, this is just another hefty serving of Robin Williams ego-porn. "He's a genius". "This is unorthodox". The whole stupid slew of quirky-but-good nonsense audiences eat up to make themFor what it is, Good Will Hunting isn't bad. Robin Williams is okay, the message is inoffensive, it serves fine in that respect. But by no means is it special. Even if it was relatively original for its time, this is just another hefty serving of Robin Williams ego-porn. "He's a genius". "This is unorthodox". The whole stupid slew of quirky-but-good nonsense audiences eat up to make them feel like they've achieved something. The protagonist is bland, annoyingly shallow and eerily 2d. He exists purely for the audience to relate to so when he is told he is oh-so-bloody-great the audience will feel complimented, proud, and therefore enjoy it. Anyone looking for a story however will find bland, unoriginal pandering and little else. It may have been one of the first films to do this trope, but today with all the times we see this bland predictable little sketch it simply can't be justified to watch unless you have some deep personal connection with Robocop. I mean Matt Damon. I mean WIll. Bland, competently well done, mostly well-acted but in the end utterly forgettable and lacking substance.

    And don't go all artsy on me, that symbolism they toss in is clumsy and obvious as it gets. I was told "You'll like this. It's a smart movie." It isn't. It's ego-porn. Make no mistake.
    Expand
  15. Mar 6, 2015
    6
    The movie itself is OK, and some of it is really interesting. But, two Afflecks in the same movie? I mean, whose idea was this? Was it suposed to be funny?
  16. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever seen. I applaud Matt Damon and Ben Affleck for being able to create a true masterpiece at such a young age. This movie made both these boys look like veterans. I couldn't take my eyes off the screen throughout this movie. Robin Williams plays his best role in his career as Sean McGuire and Damon is no slouch either. I also enjoyed Affleck's role despiteOne of the best movies I've ever seen. I applaud Matt Damon and Ben Affleck for being able to create a true masterpiece at such a young age. This movie made both these boys look like veterans. I couldn't take my eyes off the screen throughout this movie. Robin Williams plays his best role in his career as Sean McGuire and Damon is no slouch either. I also enjoyed Affleck's role despite settling for a smaller part. Good Will Hunting is a must watch for anyone. Expand
  17. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    This movie was released befor I was born. I watched it as a child - didn't understand several things.
    Watch it with sixteen when university will be an important part of my life and see the movie much different.
    The best moment for me was the baseball match when I was younger. Now it's the great monologue of Robin Wiliams.
  18. Oct 27, 2014
    8
    Good Will Hunting is pretty good. The story is predictable but what makes it enjoyable are the characters, the acting, and the relationships (particularly Will’s relationship with Williams’ character as well as his relationship with Ben Affleck’s character). It’s a nice feel good movie. My only issues come from the last third/fourth of the movie where we have to sit through a lot ofGood Will Hunting is pretty good. The story is predictable but what makes it enjoyable are the characters, the acting, and the relationships (particularly Will’s relationship with Williams’ character as well as his relationship with Ben Affleck’s character). It’s a nice feel good movie. My only issues come from the last third/fourth of the movie where we have to sit through a lot of arguing as well as moping and doping even though its obvious that the film will end on a happy note and what that note will be specifically. Since this is a Robin Williams movie where he plays a teacher that inspires a pupil, I feel its fair to compare it to Dead Poet’s Society, which is a better film. I found the arc of the students’ in that film to be far more interesting and I like how the happy ending comes at the cost of some tragedy. Additionally, that film was not as predictable. With all that said though I still enjoy Good Will Hunting it’s a heart-warming film with a good message that pulls at your heart strings. It makes you laugh and cry as well as remember a time when cell phones did not exist and the Dunkin Donuts logo looked different. It is cliché and predictable but I’m willing to overlook it because the characters are likeable and the relationships are fantastic especially in the first half (second half/third is where the clichés fall in). This is definitely a movie that everyone should see at least once in their life. Expand
  19. Sep 30, 2014
    7
    Was good but also really boring at times. Fell asleep twice in the movie. Matt Damon and Robin William's performances were excellent though. 7/10 (good)
  20. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    I can't believe what I had been missing! This movie is a great and powerful film. The performances are spot on, especially Matt Damon and Robin Williams. And the chemistry between those two were dynamite! I completely understand why this is Williams and Damon's best film. The screenplay is refreshing the characters have you put on an emotional journey through oneself. Easily now one of myI can't believe what I had been missing! This movie is a great and powerful film. The performances are spot on, especially Matt Damon and Robin Williams. And the chemistry between those two were dynamite! I completely understand why this is Williams and Damon's best film. The screenplay is refreshing the characters have you put on an emotional journey through oneself. Easily now one of my all-time favorites! I give this masterpiece an A+! Expand
  21. Jun 5, 2014
    8
    The underrated and smart Gus Van Sant's Good Will Hunting has one of the best improvisational sequences that i have seen. Robin Williams gives one of the smartest performances of his career and Matt Damon is so good at living with the character of Will, great perfomances from Affleck, Driver and the supporting cast.
  22. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    Good Will Hunting is a very endearing movie; you can really feel Will's internal struggle, and every emotional scene in the film feels authentic rather than sappy. Bravo.
  23. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    Everything a drama should be. Well written, charming characters, dialogue that ranges from impressively authentic to strikingly smart, and a very satisfying ending all add up to one of the best films I've seen in a long time. The screenplay is smart, the direction is sensitive, and the performances are all very good. I really liked how natural all of the relationships between theEverything a drama should be. Well written, charming characters, dialogue that ranges from impressively authentic to strikingly smart, and a very satisfying ending all add up to one of the best films I've seen in a long time. The screenplay is smart, the direction is sensitive, and the performances are all very good. I really liked how natural all of the relationships between the characters seemed. They gave the film a very easygoing and comfortable atmosphere. I can't stress how important that is for this genre. Needless to say, I think every film lover needs to see this movie. Expand
  24. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Undeniably genius. This movie is true to its core, lacking pretense. It brings you to an emotional roller coaster too. Thanks to the brilliant and phenomenal actors, it pulled off a great storyline. It's been a while since I get speechless by good movies, but this movie is just one of them. It's mind blowingly good, not to mention a good moral lesson to be learnt.
  25. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    Very emotional movie. Great performance by Matt Damon and Robin Williams, pretty complex characters with their own stories. One of the movies which makes you look at life from a different angle.
  26. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    Marvelously original, and bolstered by a strong performance of Damon, and a equally strong, sarcastic, and cynical role by Robin Williams. Minnie Driver is interesting in her role, playing this half-sophisticated, and half-normal character, one who can go to Stanford and still make a joke about a blow-job. Ben Affleck and everyone else helps give the film it's stance. Love this movie
  27. Aug 11, 2013
    7
    I thoroughly enjoy this movie along with its characters. Robin Williams steps into a more serious role where he delivers a very strong performance. I mloved watching the interactions between many of the characters, especially Damon's and William's.
  28. May 26, 2013
    10
    Absolutely marvelous. Matt Damon and his cast of friends, Robin Williams, and every other actor turned in outstanding performances. At many points, you're not entirely whether you're rooting for or against the kid seemingly determined to ruin his life. However, the movie had numerous good messages, such as pushing through your hardships to reach your potential. Fantastic directing andAbsolutely marvelous. Matt Damon and his cast of friends, Robin Williams, and every other actor turned in outstanding performances. At many points, you're not entirely whether you're rooting for or against the kid seemingly determined to ruin his life. However, the movie had numerous good messages, such as pushing through your hardships to reach your potential. Fantastic directing and writing here, just a feel good kind of film. Expand
  29. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    I recently had the opportunity to see Good Will Hunting for the second time. I had not seen it since its video release in 1997. It's funny how 15 years can change your opinion about a movie. I was lukewarm to the film back then, but now 15 years wiser I see it in a new light.

    I had initially dismissed this film as a two hour study of a bunch of unlikeable and unbelievable people. But
    I recently had the opportunity to see Good Will Hunting for the second time. I had not seen it since its video release in 1997. It's funny how 15 years can change your opinion about a movie. I was lukewarm to the film back then, but now 15 years wiser I see it in a new light.

    I had initially dismissed this film as a two hour study of a bunch of unlikeable and unbelievable people. But now it is evident that Matt Damon deserved his Oscar nomination for his portrayal of the title character, the good Will Hunting.

    Damon does a yeoman's job making us believe in someone who is not only a math genius with a photographic memory, but a barroom-brawler, cynic, janitor, lover, and all-around down-to-earth working-class Joe. Damon and his compadre Ben Affleck also deserved their Oscar screenplay win for creating a character more fantastic than any from the mind of J.R.R. Tolkien.

    Robin Williams also deserved his Oscar win for having us buy his interpretation of an all-knowing beard-sporting eye-glinting joke-cracking-but-no-nonsense psychologist.

    Affleck, director Gus Van Sant, and the rest of the cast merit mention as well for trying to get us to like and accept all the unappealing and implausible characters who populate this fantasy world.

    All this leads me to believe that I should revisit films like Showgirls, The River Wild, Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, and The Greek Tycoon. Maybe I was a little too harsh in my initial assessment of these as well.
    Expand
  30. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    A film that can easily be looked up to, Good Will Hunting is an underdog story in a sense, but its the battle within that is the most significant part of this fantastic film.
    Matt Damon delivers a spellbinding performance as Will Hunting, a working class kid from Boston, and also a janitor, who, in his spare time of course, is a mathematical genius. The problem with this is that Will
    A film that can easily be looked up to, Good Will Hunting is an underdog story in a sense, but its the battle within that is the most significant part of this fantastic film.
    Matt Damon delivers a spellbinding performance as Will Hunting, a working class kid from Boston, and also a janitor, who, in his spare time of course, is a mathematical genius. The problem with this is that Will seems very reluctant to be noticed for his remarkable talents, but famed lecturer Gerald Lambeau (Stellan Skarsgård) takes it upon himself to mentor the young but flawed genius, who has a knack for getting into countless fights and all other forms of bad behaviour with his best pals Chuckie (Ben Affleck), Morgan (Casey Affleck) and Billy (Cole Hauser).
    As Lambeau attempts to put Will through therapy, Will makes a mockery of the process, so Lambeau decides to send him to a longtime friend, Dr. Sean Maguire (Robin Williams), a roommate Lambeau's younger years. Sean immediately notices the similarities that he and Will share in regards to family life and past problems.
    Written by Damon and Affleck, Good Will Hunting tells a trial and error story of how our pasts most definitely matter and make a difference to how our futures may take shape. Will is frightened to let anybody into his life, even giving up his remarkable abilities just so he can remain with people he trusts, and not get hurt again the way is troubled and horrific past show.
    But the film is also cleverly funny, with the chemistry between Damon and Williams electrifying, bouncing off each other in fast-paced successions of dialogue and humour.
    Robin Williams gives a magical and emotional performance as Will's eventual therapist, he holds troubles quite dear to himself that he could never speak about until this kid came along, something that certainly taught both characters a lesson.
    The film does play out in a very predictable and often feel-good manner, but this isn't a bad thing, Will's character needed to develop and evolve to the new people in his life, including a girl (Minnie Driver) a student who falls for Will. With an Oscar for Damon and Affleck for their screenplay and a well-deserved Oscar for best supporting actor in Robin Williams, Good Will Hunting has all the ingredients of a well crafted, gifted and defining piece of cinema that still goes down as one of the best films of all time.
    Expand
  31. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    one of the best writing i have ever watched in a movie sure Ben affleck acting skills wasn't in the place but some how that worked he look like a shy guy who take care of his friends i loved Casey affleck performance they gave him an awesome character and since then I'm into his movies overall great movie and astonishing performance by robin Williams
  32. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Ample with truly heartwarming themes and chock full of some supremely well-written dialogue, "Good Will Hunting" is a modest, yet undeniably faultless drama.
  33. Jun 7, 2012
    5
    The premise and Robin Williams are great, but the rest is utterly a disappointment.
    http://themoviefreakblog.com/2012/06/02/review-good-will-hunting/
  34. May 28, 2012
    10
    Incredibly well written and well executed piece of art. Feel good movie on the level of the story but also on the level that there are still true writers and films out there that don't need lame special effects and corny action to compensate for the terrible script.
  35. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    i dont like robin williams but his performances here is worth commending. he played his character perfectly about man in pain very naturally. the movie is about will (matt damon), facing his trials and tribulations in his life despite being a genius. good acting from the cast too.
  36. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    Good Will Hunting is one of the greatest American Movies of all time. It is both Robin Williams and Matt Damon's best performances, and Robin Williams won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor. Good Will Hunting is both wise and deep. It really makes you stop and look at yourself and life.
  37. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    The complexity of the characters in Good Will Hunting is astounding with it taking multiple viewing to truly understand the depth of character (even for some of its more minor characters). Good Will Hunting tells the story of (believe it or not) Will Hunting, An underachieving genius who works as a janitor at MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology to us non Americans). When one of theThe complexity of the characters in Good Will Hunting is astounding with it taking multiple viewing to truly understand the depth of character (even for some of its more minor characters). Good Will Hunting tells the story of (believe it or not) Will Hunting, An underachieving genius who works as a janitor at MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology to us non Americans). When one of the professors (the always impressive Stellan Skaarsgard) notices him he suddenly finds his way out of his life but at the same time is sabotaging himself due to the problems of his past. The movie has a strong emotional richness as the film covers everything from love and family to abuse and heartbreak. The writing (by Matt Damon and Ben Affleck) is brilliant as it has the ability to be mundane and colloquial only to turn suddenly to something eloquent and articulate. The film has a tendency to give you speeches instead of conversations but they are so well written you cannot help but listen in awe as these characters wax lyrical. The cast is sensational with Matt Damon being a solid lead as Will. Stellan Skaarsgard portrayal helps us empathise with his character despite the fact he is incredibly arrogant. Even Ben Affleck whose early career has been peppered with terrible performances gives everything as Willâ Expand
  38. Jan 8, 2012
    7
    Although the film does have a very depressing back story and the film suffers from awkward mood changes, Good Will Hunting is entertaining, emotionally rich and benefits from powerful performances from Williams, Damon, and Driver. I give this movie 71%.
  39. j30
    Dec 1, 2011
    9
    Good Will Hunting is a dumbfounded wonder of a movie. With exceptional performances from Robin Williams, Matt Damon, and wait... Ben Affleck (oh and he co-wrote the movie with Matt Damon).
  40. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This was superb. A best cast ensemble and a very planned out story from Matt Damon and Ben Affleck has made this film more favorable to the fans of Matt Damon and his films.
  41. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    This one of my all time favorites movies.
    C'est un film original et qui traite de beaucoup de sujet tout en gardant de la fraicheur et de la surprise.
  42. Oct 5, 2011
    5
    I saw this movie for the first time last night and I'm sad to say it has not held up well. The audience is meant to believe that Matt Damon's character is smart because he writes mathematic gibberish on a black board conveniently placed in a walk way for a janitor to draw on, I was never convinced he was the genius the movie claimed him to be. The movie has good acting if you considerI saw this movie for the first time last night and I'm sad to say it has not held up well. The audience is meant to believe that Matt Damon's character is smart because he writes mathematic gibberish on a black board conveniently placed in a walk way for a janitor to draw on, I was never convinced he was the genius the movie claimed him to be. The movie has good acting if you consider characters yelling and swearing at each other for 3 quarters of the movie for little reason and for nothing you will care about. In the end I never cared about the films characters nor did I find them relatable. Pass Expand
  43. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    It comes quite clear that the critics that gave the movie a negative review did not understand the excellence of the acting. Especially from Robin Williams, has he ver made a movie like this? No. The intelligence of this movie is outstanding, no fancy effects or crazy dramatic turns, just human life at it's peak. A beautiful movie, don't over analyze it, but do recognize how it makes youIt comes quite clear that the critics that gave the movie a negative review did not understand the excellence of the acting. Especially from Robin Williams, has he ver made a movie like this? No. The intelligence of this movie is outstanding, no fancy effects or crazy dramatic turns, just human life at it's peak. A beautiful movie, don't over analyze it, but do recognize how it makes you look deep into life. Expand
  44. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Brilliant script and great direction, Good Will Hunting is a must-see movie. Amazing performance by Matt Damon. The Greatest Math Janitor Film Of All Time
  45. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    Great performances & dialogue with Robin Williams in fine form as psychologist Sean Maguire.
    I still have a strong dislike for Ben Affleck though he did co-write this so fair play to him.
    Also nice soundtrack with lots of the late Elliott Smith featuring.
  46. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Of the works of art I have experienced, this has struck a deep impression within me and remains to be my favorite film of all time. To begin with, the story is not only a wonderful concept but also devoid of idealistic cliché. It was the kind of story that carried itself through the journey; situations fabricated to nudge the plot along were very sparse. The entire movieOf the works of art I have experienced, this has struck a deep impression within me and remains to be my favorite film of all time. To begin with, the story is not only a wonderful concept but also devoid of idealistic cliché. It was the kind of story that carried itself through the journey; situations fabricated to nudge the plot along were very sparse. The entire movie flowed out smoothly, avoiding the impression of multiple disjointed scenes, instead following a cohesive line of thought, and yet integrated within was a well-paced emotional rampage. It balanced on the edge of fact and fiction, using â Expand
  47. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    This is a great movie. I got out of it that it is a sham that without pushing that a life would be wasted and I can"t stand wasted lives. he wasn"t even on drugs. It also stresses the importance of getting your emotional stuff in order. Untill that was in order, he had no faith in himself. I guess your environment really really determines that. Great movie. you can learn so muchThis is a great movie. I got out of it that it is a sham that without pushing that a life would be wasted and I can"t stand wasted lives. he wasn"t even on drugs. It also stresses the importance of getting your emotional stuff in order. Untill that was in order, he had no faith in himself. I guess your environment really really determines that. Great movie. you can learn so much from it. That is why I am not into action movies because I can"t learn much from them that I can"t use in life if you know what I mean. Expand
  48. PeterI.
    Jan 4, 2009
    2
    What a bunch of pseudo-intellectual claptrap. This is a movie written from the perspective of a college undergrad who thinks he's impossibly clever, but is really just a big dummy full of stupid ideas (e.g. the Howard Zinn and Chomsky references -- are there two bigger moral imbeciles on the planet earth than those two twits?). Matt Damon's character is a witless jackass. Who What a bunch of pseudo-intellectual claptrap. This is a movie written from the perspective of a college undergrad who thinks he's impossibly clever, but is really just a big dummy full of stupid ideas (e.g. the Howard Zinn and Chomsky references -- are there two bigger moral imbeciles on the planet earth than those two twits?). Matt Damon's character is a witless jackass. Who could possibly care about this goon? The rest is so absurd that it's laughable. The film positively groans under the weight of its pretentions. There are few things worse than patently ignorant people showing off their "intelligence," such as it is. This is the sort of film that does serve a purpose, however. If anyone likes it, you know right away they really have no clue about what makes a good film. And they probably really enjoy congratulating themselves on how smart they are. Collapse
  49. JackS.
    Dec 17, 2008
    8
    Great movie! Heart breaking, romantic, and had some good humor in it. Truely a great movie about a brillient kid who gets in a little to much trouble. It inspired me to reach for my goals. Overall a great movie.
  50. Samantha
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    This is one of my all time favorite movies. The grit and grime of the kind of life that most wish to look away from. Matt Damon was truly inspiring in his performance and insight. I wish that more movies were as real as this one (with the exception of 'Will' being a genius).
  51. Toml.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    A great movie. Matt damon did way more on the screenplay than Ben Affleck. It's clear they realized who was more talented some time ago.
  52. TylerC.
    Aug 5, 2006
    0
    I waited a whole decade to finally see this movie. It was horrible. Why is it called "Good Will Hunting?" There is a scene where Will holds a man down and beats him until there is blood coming from not just the victims nose, but his mouth as well. If I were to do that to someone, would I be considered "good"? I sure hope not.
  53. Vic
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Solid performances all around, especially by Damon and Robin Williams. It's a touching and inspirational film that explores several issues in life.
  54. Sam
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    This movie is one of the best movies I have seen. After seeing it a second time and seeing some of the unaccidental coincidences by the producer, the movie shows many different angles. This is one of the cleverest movies I have seen, very intriguing.
  55. TysonB.
    Dec 3, 2005
    9
    Amazing movie, great acting, perfect screenplay. And I think I speak for a lot of people when I say, I think it's time Damon and Affleck hooked up again on a screenplay.
  56. Ethan
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    Great movie. Learn to be more mature and get past the use of the 'f' word as you love to call it, otherwise go watching finding nemo.
  57. RodC.
    Nov 15, 2004
    2
    Way too many "f" words; the viewer understands how street-dwelling 20-somethings behave. Likewise the scene about viewing porn in Mom's bedroom had too much info. I gave up at this point. Wish I could have seen it all, but couldn't stomach it. I hope the next Miramax film I see is much less offensive.
  58. PatC.
    Jan 8, 2004
    4
    Nobody seems to want to ask the question, so I will: How twisted do you have to be to want to go out of your way to help this obnoxious young man? It was so impressive when he comprehended complex equations, but in the end people cared about him, not because he was gifted, but because they weren't. I prefer to not glorify personalities who in real life are insufferable. Don't Nobody seems to want to ask the question, so I will: How twisted do you have to be to want to go out of your way to help this obnoxious young man? It was so impressive when he comprehended complex equations, but in the end people cared about him, not because he was gifted, but because they weren't. I prefer to not glorify personalities who in real life are insufferable. Don't get me wrong. It's OK if they do it in Boston. I don't live there. If they want to hunt for the good in Will, fine, but I would shoot this turkey. Expand
  59. AngelaW.
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    This movie can speak to anyone who has gone through stuff in their life. The powerful message about his struggle to become a better person is very inspiring.
  60. [Anonymous]
    Feb 13, 2003
    9
    NOTE: Didn't write that below. But, Good Will Hunting is a good-spirited high-hat script with more "f" words than Jay and Silent Bob's life story. Unecessary, but the movie still manages to wiggle it's way out of tight spots and make a damn good picture.
  61. RyanM.
    Oct 13, 2001
    10
    Makes you wonder, then fascinates you, and then you find it's one of the best movie's you've ever seen.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Mr. Showbiz
    Reviewed by: Kevin Maynard
    90
    Intelligently written, sharply directed, and beautifully played.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    80
    Gus Van Sant, working from the tangy, well-written script, gets so much humor, grit and emotional truth out of this tale that the familiar formulas behind it simply fall away.
  3. Portland Oregonian
    Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    91
    With its sweet soul and sharp mind, it's one of the most heartening films of the year.