USA Films | Release Date: December 26, 2001
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 120 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
98
Mixed:
9
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
eva3si0nJul 17, 2017
The fine movie about quiet English life between world wars. The movie detective story in which murder and investigation in general is a background and the main emphasis is placed on relationship of the nobility and their servants. AbbeyThe fine movie about quiet English life between world wars. The movie detective story in which murder and investigation in general is a background and the main emphasis is placed on relationship of the nobility and their servants. Abbey Daunton left 9 years later) the Culmination and an outcome are fine, and here the tie very slow and stretched, isn't present an intrigue too, closer to the end it becomes clear who potential murderers and their motives. Well and in general in the movie almost all "cream" of the English cinema has gathered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PetitBikiniOct 29, 2016
I liked "Gosford Park". Watching it was like reading a novel - the film's structure and atmosphere are really astonishing. I recommend watching it if you like costume dramas like "Downton Abbey".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Oct 14, 2016
This pseudo-precursor to "Downton Abbey" acts as one of the many testaments to director Robert Altman's keen ability to juggle several characters' story lines throughout the course of one single film. What separates "Gosford Park" from filmsThis pseudo-precursor to "Downton Abbey" acts as one of the many testaments to director Robert Altman's keen ability to juggle several characters' story lines throughout the course of one single film. What separates "Gosford Park" from films like "Nashville" and "Short Cuts," however, is the lush set direction and costume design, which helps build the completely immersive period setting for the audience to get to know the characters in. The strong performances also help sharpen this carefully paced study of class, infidelity , and relationships within society's upper crust. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 18, 2016
Once again, another movie that users can't get it right. Instead of enjoying a wonderful movie, they take the blame to insult on this movie. Pitiful because I actually enjoyed Gosford Park just as critics enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleNov 25, 2014
Overall, Gosford Park is an alright film. The technical aspects are all a success, such as the cinematography and costume design. Both are beautiful and perfect for a period drama of this kind. In addition, the acting is pitch perfect and itOverall, Gosford Park is an alright film. The technical aspects are all a success, such as the cinematography and costume design. Both are beautiful and perfect for a period drama of this kind. In addition, the acting is pitch perfect and it is always a great thing to see such a large cast and have everyone do so well in their individual roles. The second half is also brilliant. The societal inequity theme is in full view here and really bolsters the murder mystery element of the film. It is also very nice to see all of the details from the first half of the film come into play and then be put into action. As everything starts to come together, this one reaches the heights I hoped it would. However, where this one falters is in the first half, which is exceedingly boring. Necessary, possibly, but entirely dull and dry. It fails to command your attention, even though you need to pay attention, which is always a tricky thing as a viewer. I am glad I stuck with it (not that there was much debate about giving up), but that first half really does a number on you at times. If the first half was either shorter or filled with something not dull as hell, this one would be rated higher by me. As it stands, this one is a brilliantly made film that could stand to be shorter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
badwebdiverSep 11, 2014
Lifeless mess of a comedy which totally screws up a murder mystery. And absolutely no sense of comic timing anywhere. I hated this the more I watched it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Robert Altman and Julian Fellowes together create cinematic bliss with Gosford Park. The precursor to Downton Abbey, this film beautifully explores high-class England during the 1930s. Maggie Smith, Clive Owen and their cast mates make forRobert Altman and Julian Fellowes together create cinematic bliss with Gosford Park. The precursor to Downton Abbey, this film beautifully explores high-class England during the 1930s. Maggie Smith, Clive Owen and their cast mates make for engrossing entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aics119Mar 17, 2012
One of the smartest films I have seen in a while. I found myself captivated by the drama surrounding these characters and by the numerous plot twists. The brilliant cast also contributes to making this the excellent film that it is.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
lasttimeisawJan 17, 2012
No doubt GOSFORD PARK is Robert Altmanâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ZorglyFeb 9, 2011
I won't blame you for turning this movie off after the first hour. It has the LONGEST set up I have ever seen in a movie. Once the murder FINALLY happens is it all worth it? absolutely. It's intelligent and very well acted, with awesomeI won't blame you for turning this movie off after the first hour. It has the LONGEST set up I have ever seen in a movie. Once the murder FINALLY happens is it all worth it? absolutely. It's intelligent and very well acted, with awesome twists and turns. The setting is also perfectly executed with scenery and costumes that are flawless. But the fact that I was, well, completely bored for the first portion of the movie means I simply cannot give this higher than an 8/10. See it and judge for yourself. Tedious start and a truly mesmerizing second half Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Billed as an elaborate murder-mystery, Gosford Park is not so much that (the murder doesn't occur until well over halfway through the film) but rather a dense societal study, as would be expected of Altman. In this endeavor he succeeds,Billed as an elaborate murder-mystery, Gosford Park is not so much that (the murder doesn't occur until well over halfway through the film) but rather a dense societal study, as would be expected of Altman. In this endeavor he succeeds, creating a web of characters in which every passing interaction solidifies the whole ensemble. However, it fails to strike any dramatical nerve, and the unveiling of the mystery is delivered as more of a necessary exposition rather than a turning point. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewS.Jun 19, 2007
The people who dislike this film are just dumb. Not every movie is like a Will Ferrell comedy!!! Gosford Park is a smart film with intricate plots abound. It's pretty easy to understand if you are not stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
isilSep 27, 2006
Wonderful movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithM.Jul 9, 2006
I wonder if we all watch the same movie when we sit in the dark together. A disingenuous statement, of course: our attitudes, expectations, distractions, taste, intelligence, knowledge, biases, and the state of our bladders after consuming I wonder if we all watch the same movie when we sit in the dark together. A disingenuous statement, of course: our attitudes, expectations, distractions, taste, intelligence, knowledge, biases, and the state of our bladders after consuming pails of Coke all ensure we see something different. With Gosford Park I read of tedium, familiar territory, tiresomeness, boredom. What I saw in my several viewings was an embracing yet acerbic melange of genres polished to a single piece through a screenplay larded with wit, superb filming, and masterful performances. I think that as an indictment and acknowledgement of a period at its end and its denizens, it is as fine a movie as The Rules of the Game. Olympian. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamL.May 20, 2006
A quick scroll through the user comments and you'll find there's little middle ground in assessing this film. Most people loved it or hated it. I'm in the "loved it" camp. I saw it in theaters and I own the DVD which I A quick scroll through the user comments and you'll find there's little middle ground in assessing this film. Most people loved it or hated it. I'm in the "loved it" camp. I saw it in theaters and I own the DVD which I recently watched three times - once by itself and two more times listening to different commentaries. It is a beautifully filmed, wonderfully acted, witty satire about upper and lower class with delightful music as well. And while I enjoyed this in theaters, I also like watching on DVD so I can turn on the captions -- that way I can catch all of the dialogue that goes on in this film which is made in a way that the viewer seems to be eavesdropping on household happenings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaD.Apr 7, 2006
Wonderfully sly, subtle and rich, this movie is a miracle and destined to be considered a classic wherever there are people who would rather not be led by the hand through a storyline. Those who come to the closing credits wondering what it Wonderfully sly, subtle and rich, this movie is a miracle and destined to be considered a classic wherever there are people who would rather not be led by the hand through a storyline. Those who come to the closing credits wondering what it was all about are many. Those who watch it over and over to catch just one more little bit that adds to their understanding of the plot are just as many. Yet, this is not a movie that encourages viewers to make up their own interpretation, but rather, hides all the answers in plain sight in a delightful puzzle. Perhaps Altman's use of multiple small stories woven together, yet told simultaneously, has put many people off. They are certainly difficult to follow at first. But the construct is elegant and well-worth a second look for anyone interested in movie-making of the highest caliber. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregA.Apr 5, 2006
What grabbed about this film was the fly on the wall approach in a 1930's setting. I was transported back in time and was able to suspend all disbelief. This was wonderful. I particular liked the drawing room scene in which everyone was What grabbed about this film was the fly on the wall approach in a 1930's setting. I was transported back in time and was able to suspend all disbelief. This was wonderful. I particular liked the drawing room scene in which everyone was talking at the same time - so real! After about 45 minutes of letting myself mentally wonder about in the 1930's, I realised there was a plot line. To be frank, this wasn't that hot and if people watched it for the mystery it wouldn't score that highly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JustinM.Jan 27, 2006
This film is a period drama billed as a murder mystery. The murder event is almost incidental to the rest of the film. The plot is, as stated by others, difficult to follow thanks to Altman's wandering camera and microphone and the This film is a period drama billed as a murder mystery. The murder event is almost incidental to the rest of the film. The plot is, as stated by others, difficult to follow thanks to Altman's wandering camera and microphone and the characters' thick accents. There were memorable performances, by Maggie Smith in particular, but this film has very limited appeal for the average moviegoer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jojojoNov 20, 2005
I have a high IQ so this movie is great! I have a low self esteem so I'm going to rave about this movie and say how my IQ is better than others here.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
mrjaslerNov 20, 2005
This is the worst movie EVER!!! I am stunned that this movie has a high rating. I like movies that have a witty story line but in reality this movie feels like its made for those that are in their late 60's. Extremely Boring, I almost This is the worst movie EVER!!! I am stunned that this movie has a high rating. I like movies that have a witty story line but in reality this movie feels like its made for those that are in their late 60's. Extremely Boring, I almost fell asleep several times. Worst Movie EVER! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeMOct 24, 2005
This is the problem with movie watchers these days, it is all about 'self gratification', not stories. All about 'direct and to the point', not 'involved and make you think'. All about mono-sylabic plots, not This is the problem with movie watchers these days, it is all about 'self gratification', not stories. All about 'direct and to the point', not 'involved and make you think'. All about mono-sylabic plots, not seamlessly woven complex plots. As for the people that couldn't follow the humor, it is called wit, something that is too hard for our soceity to grasp these day. You probably just need more swearing to make you laugh...... Excellent plot, excellent cast, excellent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndrewM.Aug 12, 2002
This was a film, not a movie. I'll grant it that. But I resent the notion, propogated by "Ariana," that one is a typical American moviegoer if one does not love this film. While Gosford Park was artistically well done, and the This was a film, not a movie. I'll grant it that. But I resent the notion, propogated by "Ariana," that one is a typical American moviegoer if one does not love this film. While Gosford Park was artistically well done, and the screenplay was good, it just didn't flow very well. The plot was all over the place, and the fantastic acting talent was wasted, in my opinion. With thousands of intricate personal tragedies and scandals to keep track of, and the only underlying theme being social injustice, this film did not live up to what it promised: a murder mystery. I didn't expect Clue, mind you, but I did expect some trace of the intended genre. And this was not delivered one bit. The acting was good, the ambiance was fantastic, but the plot left a lot to be desired. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful