Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: This ensemble murder mystery satire, set in 1930's England, revolves around an elegant hunting party weekend at a country estate, featuring an aristocratic family and their friends.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. This territory is familiar if you remember the great BBC miniseries "Upstairs Downstairs," but Altman gives it a new twist with his restlessly roaming camera and incisively satirical approach. He's still near the peak of his powers.
  2. 100
    Altman achieves his dream of a truly organic form, in which everyone is connected to everyone else, and life circulates around a central group of ideas and emotions in bristling orbits. [14 Jan 2002, p. 92]
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    100
    The movie is so fun that it wouldn't need the mystery to be top-notch entertainment.
  4. There are even more characters of interest here than in "Nashville."
  5. 88
    So deliciously absorbing and well done.
  6. 80
    As with Altman's best movies, Gosford Park is above all an entrancing hum of atmosphere and texture.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    30
    Tedium overwhelms caring well before this endless film finally concludes.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 86
  2. Negative: 32 out of 86
  1. PamL.
    May 20, 2006
    10
    A quick scroll through the user comments and you'll find there's little middle ground in assessing this film. Most people loved it A quick scroll through the user comments and you'll find there's little middle ground in assessing this film. Most people loved it or hated it. I'm in the "loved it" camp. I saw it in theaters and I own the DVD which I recently watched three times - once by itself and two more times listening to different commentaries. It is a beautifully filmed, wonderfully acted, witty satire about upper and lower class with delightful music as well. And while I enjoyed this in theaters, I also like watching on DVD so I can turn on the captions -- that way I can catch all of the dialogue that goes on in this film which is made in a way that the viewer seems to be eavesdropping on household happenings. Expand
  2. isil
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    Wonderful movie!
  3. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    One of the smartest films I have seen in a while. I found myself captivated by the drama surrounding these characters and by the numerous plotOne of the smartest films I have seen in a while. I found myself captivated by the drama surrounding these characters and by the numerous plot twists. The brilliant cast also contributes to making this the excellent film that it is. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2011
    8
    I won't blame you for turning this movie off after the first hour. It has the LONGEST set up I have ever seen in a movie. Once the murderI won't blame you for turning this movie off after the first hour. It has the LONGEST set up I have ever seen in a movie. Once the murder FINALLY happens is it all worth it? absolutely. It's intelligent and very well acted, with awesome twists and turns. The setting is also perfectly executed with scenery and costumes that are flawless. But the fact that I was, well, completely bored for the first portion of the movie means I simply cannot give this higher than an 8/10. See it and judge for yourself. Tedious start and a truly mesmerizing second half Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2010
    7
    Billed as an elaborate murder-mystery, Gosford Park is not so much that (the murder doesn't occur until well over halfway through the film)Billed as an elaborate murder-mystery, Gosford Park is not so much that (the murder doesn't occur until well over halfway through the film) but rather a dense societal study, as would be expected of Altman. In this endeavor he succeeds, creating a web of characters in which every passing interaction solidifies the whole ensemble. However, it fails to strike any dramatical nerve, and the unveiling of the mystery is delivered as more of a necessary exposition rather than a turning point. Expand
  6. AndrewM.
    Aug 12, 2002
    5
    This was a film, not a movie. I'll grant it that. But I resent the notion, propogated by "Ariana," that one is a typical American This was a film, not a movie. I'll grant it that. But I resent the notion, propogated by "Ariana," that one is a typical American moviegoer if one does not love this film. While Gosford Park was artistically well done, and the screenplay was good, it just didn't flow very well. The plot was all over the place, and the fantastic acting talent was wasted, in my opinion. With thousands of intricate personal tragedies and scandals to keep track of, and the only underlying theme being social injustice, this film did not live up to what it promised: a murder mystery. I didn't expect Clue, mind you, but I did expect some trace of the intended genre. And this was not delivered one bit. The acting was good, the ambiance was fantastic, but the plot left a lot to be desired. Collapse
  7. mrjasler
    Nov 20, 2005
    0
    This is the worst movie EVER!!! I am stunned that this movie has a high rating. I like movies that have a witty story line but in reality This is the worst movie EVER!!! I am stunned that this movie has a high rating. I like movies that have a witty story line but in reality this movie feels like its made for those that are in their late 60's. Extremely Boring, I almost fell asleep several times. Worst Movie EVER! Expand

See all 86 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.