Green Lantern

Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 17, 2011
    75
    So what we have is a movie that will make at least two important groups happy. New Orleans boosters can cheer Green Lantern for its local roots and for the possibility that the inevitable future installments could return to town. And the purists can cheer, knowing that Campbell and crew have done Green Lantern justice.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 16, 2011
    70
    For all the CGI action sequences and butt-rocking Dolby sound effects, in fact, Green Lantern is most satisfying when it sticks close to stodgy comic-book archetype.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jun 15, 2011
    70
    Serves up all the requisite elements with enough self-deprecating humor to suggest it doesn't take itself too seriously.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 17, 2011
    67
    It's not only light, it's thin. It's self-deprecating to a fault. Reynolds is required to practically wink at the audience, as if to say,"I know this looks silly."
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 16, 2011
    63
    Green Lantern does not intend to be plausible. It intends to be a sound-and-light show, assaulting the audience with sensational special effects. If that's what you want, that's what you get.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 555 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 214
  2. Negative: 51 out of 214
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    0
    I came into the movie expecting it to be bad but reasonable summer movie entertainment. Being an avid metacritic reader, I was fully aware ofI came into the movie expecting it to be bad but reasonable summer movie entertainment. Being an avid metacritic reader, I was fully aware of score of 40 and the bashing the critics gave this movie. What drove me to what the movie was the trailer (which seemed reasonable) and the fact that the user score was 6.7, suggesting that this movie is full of mindless but fun action.

    And how I was wrong. Really Really wrong.

    This movie lacks action. For a movie about a lantern who's powers were only limited by ones imagination; a fittingly ironic plot considering the lack of imagination in the writing, storytelling, acting and CGI found in this movie. I counted only 3 action scenes of 30 secs each in this whole movie, all of them nicely summarized in the trailer. On might thing me shallow and argue that a focus on character development could be interesting, like in Ironman. This would be possible if not for the terrible writing AND acting in the story. None of the characters were believable if you are over the age of 6. I guess knowledge of the characters prior to the movie might help fill in the backstory which was never really explored in the movie. It seems mos of the people who enjoyed the movie were fans that grew up with GL. Unfortunately for me I do not fit this category . Honestly, 10 minutes into the movie I was already bored. The actors were all cliches and none of them were even convincing. The same plot lines were repeated around 30 times and again and again. I honestly felt like walking out of the cinema because it was that bad. Overall, stay far far away from Green Garbage and watch Xmen again if you have to.

    I feel bad for contributing to the revenue of this movie. For those who enjoyed this comic, watch it and feel free to disregard what I say.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2011
    5
    The movie started off well enough and seemed to introduce some interesting concepts but the movie felt rushed. It really felt like wholeThe movie started off well enough and seemed to introduce some interesting concepts but the movie felt rushed. It really felt like whole scenes were missing. It was almost like they edited two movies into one and chopped it down, the end result is like someone trying to smash puzzle pieces that don't fit together. Some parts didn't make sense but it was...enjoyable, I guess? I didn't leave fully disappointed, just slightly disappointed but I wasn't expecting very much to begin with. Stiff acting at times and hammy performances at others, they special effects were actually way better than I expected. I liked the ring on ring action sequences the best but the ending monster battle just sucked. Full Review »
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    What can I say, I'm a sucker for comic book movies. If you're going into this expecting "one of the most brilliant films of our time", youWhat can I say, I'm a sucker for comic book movies. If you're going into this expecting "one of the most brilliant films of our time", you might want to just go get your money back, but if you're looking for an eye-popping, action-packed, good time, then you picked the right movie. You may not enjoy this film as much as I did, unless you're like me and grew up on the Green Lantern comics and cartoons, but I do think you will enjoy Martin Campbell's marvelous take on the world of the Lanterns, and the Lanterns themselves. Full Review »