Universal Pictures | Release Date: March 12, 2010
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 223 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
128
Mixed:
64
Negative:
31
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 25, 2011
The movie is realistically constructed compared to those war movies that spent millions of dollars with famed stars labeled in it. But problem with "Green Zone" is, they take things too seriously.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
3
MarkMMar 20, 2010
I really wanted to like this film. I'm as liberal as anyone but this was way over the top in my opinion. "Wish fulfillment" is the best diagnosis of what went wrong here--with crappy dialog and overly simplistic, one-dimensional I really wanted to like this film. I'm as liberal as anyone but this was way over the top in my opinion. "Wish fulfillment" is the best diagnosis of what went wrong here--with crappy dialog and overly simplistic, one-dimensional characters (poor Greg Kinnear) it felt like a 12-year-old writing a historical-fiction war story for a creative writing assignment. Normally like Ebert, but he was way, way too kind to this film. Entirely forgettable film meant to cheaply evoke frustration over a national tragedy for commercial gain. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
7
Billc.Mar 13, 2010
It's a little hard to follow if you don't rememebr , or care to remember the Iraq War and the search for WMD. It is part fact & part guesswork plot wise. If you believe George Bush was a good president , than don't see this It's a little hard to follow if you don't rememebr , or care to remember the Iraq War and the search for WMD. It is part fact & part guesswork plot wise. If you believe George Bush was a good president , than don't see this film. Our Iraq war was a mess and history has already shown that whatever happened and why , the whole reason behind the invasion was a hoax. The movie is one persons attempt to explain why we wasted all that time,money, and lives. Dick Chaney would not give this film thumbs up. I thought it was well done. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JoshWMar 14, 2010
This movie is driven purely by politics, complete revisionism covered up with cosmetic truths about the beginning of the war. Again Hollywood insults us with the belief that we care about their political opinions.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GregFMar 13, 2010
It's not surprising that Damon would agree to star in a movie that is just another slice of 'progressive' pie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JasonBMar 13, 2010
Anti-republican propaganda at it's best.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
Paul Greengrass up until around 2001 no one knew whom this Irish up and coming director was that is until he directed the second of the three Bourne films "The Bourne Supremacy"(2004) that became the highest grossing film for the series atPaul Greengrass up until around 2001 no one knew whom this Irish up and coming director was that is until he directed the second of the three Bourne films "The Bourne Supremacy"(2004) that became the highest grossing film for the series at that point. one of Greengrass' most critically acclaimed films following on the heels of his universally acclaimed "Bloody Sunday"(2002). Three years later Greengrass directed one of the last decades most acclaimed and most controversial films "United 93"(2006) based on the true story of the heroism of the passengers and there tragic death when they forced the plane into a nose dive causing it to crash near Shanksville, Pennsylvania. The film was a massive critical success but meet with extreme criticism form audiences alike over its touchy source material. The year after Greengrass and actor Matt Damon re-teamed to star and direct the third(and possibly final installment) of the hugely successful Bourne series with the "Bourne Ultimatum"(2007) which proved to be the highest grossing and biggest critically acclaimed hit of the series bringing a crashing final close to the saga of Jason Bourne. For nearly three years Greengrass was working on a new project that while may lack the enthusiasm of his early works is no less thought provoking or thrilling as his earlier works. This film is one of his best and a film that not only gives you the views of why we go to war but if the reasons we do go to war are really for the right reasons. When I first heard of Paul Greengrass' "Green Zone" back in late 2009 I can say that I was extremely excited to see Greengrass and Damon back together again making a big action picture again I could almost picture how this film would have played out in my head(no thanks to my limitless imagination). I saw Damon playing a solider fighting against another Government conspiracy involving some sort of political assassination or cover up that he exposed. I was eager with anticipation however, when I found out the release date of this film my anticipation dwindled. It dwindled not because I found out the film might not be as good as it appears but it dwindled because I would have to wait three months into 2010 to see one of my most anticipated films of 2010. After nearly two months of waiting I finally was able to see Paul Greengrass' "Green Zoneâ Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
rocketpackpandaAug 7, 2013
What happened to the smart intelligent adaptation of Imperial Life in the Emerald City, which we were promised? Not here I can tell you that. Instead of a critical examination of the role of civilian leadership in the reconstruction ofWhat happened to the smart intelligent adaptation of Imperial Life in the Emerald City, which we were promised? Not here I can tell you that. Instead of a critical examination of the role of civilian leadership in the reconstruction of Baghdad, we get a rah-rah-rah, there is no WMD in Iraq and we've all been duped! No look at Matt Damon act passionate and champion a cause after it is already mainstream. This isn't analysis of the political leanings of the film or cast, rather this is an outline of the plot structure. Formulaic and so overtly black and white that it is cringe worthy. Their is no moral grey, the bad guys are simply bad guys and the good guys have no moral flaw, beyond "they're too just!". The characters are so cookie cutter that you can't root for the good guys and the bad guys are so generic that you don't care if they get away with it or are killed. The resolution of the film is empty, because it so blatantly puts an oversimplified message ahead of a good story and characterization. That is the biggest problem in the film, by taking a political non-fiction book and turning it into a fictional military 'thriller' that is heavy handed in its message it loses all meaning and turns you away from caring. Where a subtle hand was needed, we got a megaphone wielding wacko screaming from the roofs. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
SeriosityDec 18, 2012
Green Zone is essentially what you find in the Bourne films with an underwhelming and heavy-handed script. The action and direction is solid, but political agenda is misplaced.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
IsaacV.Jun 22, 2010
Just didn't really enjoy it. not deep enough and the action is pretty sensless. Very little good things to say about this film.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
5
JoeSMar 15, 2010
This Matt Damon's worst movie ever for me I think when people go to see it they may be disapointed, I was, I went in there thinking it was going to be a whole different genre and had come out of it thinking that's not what I was This Matt Damon's worst movie ever for me I think when people go to see it they may be disapointed, I was, I went in there thinking it was going to be a whole different genre and had come out of it thinking that's not what I was expecting at all . Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JamesF.Mar 12, 2010
Silly hyper liberal BS. Newsflash folks, we won.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
EddieMar 13, 2010
Complete distortions of the facts!! Hopefully this movie will bomb!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
KenPMar 20, 2010
This is Matt Damon's movie! He owns it! Even though we all know there will be no WMD's, and the movie has a tragic ending for the future of Iraq and reminds us how George Bush's private lie-of-a-war cost 4000 American lives, This is Matt Damon's movie! He owns it! Even though we all know there will be no WMD's, and the movie has a tragic ending for the future of Iraq and reminds us how George Bush's private lie-of-a-war cost 4000 American lives, Matt's acting and the movie's good directing keep us involved and hopeful for a better outcome for truth. This is a documentary with plenty of added action. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnPMar 16, 2010
Great movie. lol@ James F. We did not win, we have not won, we cannot win if we continue to lie and mislead. Why should the truth be considered liberal, unless of course anything spoken by a conservative is lies, lies and more lies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NazguleroNov 22, 2012
That was one good movie. It kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Matt Damon is one heck of an actor. By the way, does anybody know what happened to all the WMD ? Even if nobody seems to care anymore, I would like to know where they are...
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
0
MendaxJul 19, 2011
I've long believed that the more incompetent the Director, the more likely he/she will cut a film into untold billions of cuts. Loved the first Bourne movie. Nos. 2 & 3? No. And no-er. Do you really need 6 or 7 different 1 second shotsI've long believed that the more incompetent the Director, the more likely he/she will cut a film into untold billions of cuts. Loved the first Bourne movie. Nos. 2 & 3? No. And no-er. Do you really need 6 or 7 different 1 second shots showing a suitcase being put into a locker, or of someone entering a cab? Green Zone? Worthless. Irrespective of Ideology, a film should be viewable, watchable. Paul Greengrass, by this metric, is a complete hack. And this is the last movie of his I will ever see. Methinks Porn is his calling. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Not a war movie, no. But an elegant, perfectly paced thriller? Yes. Paul Greengrass has accomplished something here that he couldn't with the Bourne films, because the audience can believe everything he's telling them.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ChadSMar 16, 2010
Stephen Glass, the reporter who fabricated articles for The New Republic, never killed anybody with his lies. He can be forgiven. "Hack Heaven" didn't result in wounded flesh and shattered bone. In "The Green Zone", Amy Ryan portrays a Stephen Glass, the reporter who fabricated articles for The New Republic, never killed anybody with his lies. He can be forgiven. "Hack Heaven" didn't result in wounded flesh and shattered bone. In "The Green Zone", Amy Ryan portrays a Wall Street Journal reporter named Lawrie Dayne, who is obviously a stand-in for the New York Times journalist who sold the WMD story to the public. Disappointingly, the film goes easy on her, since Lawrie is depicted as a victim, a burned writer, misled by her fellow countrymen. Clark Poundstone(Greg Kinnear), a Pentagon Special Intelligence agent, gives Lawrie the run-around on the airport tarmac when she requests a meeting with Magellan, Clark's informer. Thereafter, the naif scribe notices Warrant Officer Roy Miller(Matt Damon) talking to a senior CIA officer, and subsequently, in her hotel room, she admits to filing a story based on hearsay. While the character of Roy Miller functions like Oliver Stone's take on New Orleans D.A. Jim Garrison in "J.F.K.", our anger towards Lawrie is tempered, because the filmmaker cushions the blow of her war propaganda by giving this opportunistic journalist, SOME scruples. Across her visage, there's a look of humiliation while she relays her shaky reporting methods to the dumbfounded soldier. Lawrie was the government's tool, but she believed her story; believed in Clark. He betrayed her trust. Although "The Green Zone" is a superior action film with camerawork that can only be described as virtuoistic(perhaps, genius), the story should be told through the reporter's eyes; a reporter who is the anti-Woodward, the anti-Bernstein. "The Green Zone" may be a conspiracy movie, but the filmmaker doesn't go far enough. It's too fair, too balanced, since in all probability, the real-life Lawrie Dayne was "The President's Woman". If moviegoerswants to see Matt Damon kick ass, they can watch any of the three Jason Bourne movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RogerJMar 19, 2010
evaluated as entertainment with some bonus for being grounded loosely in real events, it succeeds and is consistently engaging. Taking a large story and creating a central character as a hero is nothing new.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanaMMar 20, 2010
Revisionist history but great action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BradVMar 20, 2010
Was quite enjoying it till i had to leave because my wife got nauseous from the camera work!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevonCMar 12, 2010
Green Zone is another Matt Damon/Paul Greengrass camera-shaking actioner. Although this one lacks originality, it still gets the job done. It is exciting, pulse-pounding, and great popcorn fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnNMar 13, 2010
Worst Iraq/Afghan movie, ever! Not realistic in the least. Boring and slow. I actually walked out of the movie, because the identity of "Magellan" was to obvious....and, the scenes are just not anywhere close to authentic. Really, troops Worst Iraq/Afghan movie, ever! Not realistic in the least. Boring and slow. I actually walked out of the movie, because the identity of "Magellan" was to obvious....and, the scenes are just not anywhere close to authentic. Really, troops riding around with no doors on the vehicles? Bikinis and beer? Really?!? Not a shread of research was done to make this movie reflect the actual conditions in Iraq. Zilch. I was angry, and sleepy---so, I left. Don't waste your money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LukeTheDukeMar 19, 2010
All in all a good film. Effects a little on the cheap side, you get the feeling your on a sound stage, not in a Baghdad alley way. But, still a good film, demonstrating the arrogance of the DC power structure, and a film that will make all All in all a good film. Effects a little on the cheap side, you get the feeling your on a sound stage, not in a Baghdad alley way. But, still a good film, demonstrating the arrogance of the DC power structure, and a film that will make all but the staunchest hawk wonder WTF we are doing in Iraq. Damon was charmingly good, the rest of the cast competent. An engaging two hours of film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SPMar 21, 2010
Boring movie. Wish I hadn't gone to see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyCMar 22, 2010
A thrilling film that should serve as a reminder to all of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
tjhMar 30, 2010
This movie was better than I'd heard it would be. It's not as good as the Bourne film by Greengrass or United 93, but worth seeing in the theater. I think it's best for viewers to just let the story be a thriller set during This movie was better than I'd heard it would be. It's not as good as the Bourne film by Greengrass or United 93, but worth seeing in the theater. I think it's best for viewers to just let the story be a thriller set during the initial stages of the Iraq War--don't nitpick it for being fully accurate historically. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobC.Mar 12, 2010
Moves along very well, the 'idealistic message' is nicely balanced with 'real politics', believable, makes its point while not lecturing. Plus: guns, explosions, martial technology, and large Hollywood names willing to Moves along very well, the 'idealistic message' is nicely balanced with 'real politics', believable, makes its point while not lecturing. Plus: guns, explosions, martial technology, and large Hollywood names willing to risk reflection concerning 'how this mess all came about'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.R.HMar 12, 2010
Gotta give it a ten because it's political. Some critics compare it unfavorably to Hurt Locker for that reason Hurt Locker let us know that there is still room for the Good Cowboy -- out there in the wilds of Iraq -- inscrutable, deep, Gotta give it a ten because it's political. Some critics compare it unfavorably to Hurt Locker for that reason Hurt Locker let us know that there is still room for the Good Cowboy -- out there in the wilds of Iraq -- inscrutable, deep, superior competence with things that hurt and kill, solitary like Shane and Hondo, misunderstood by lesser men, killer of faceless, bad by definition, Natives, moved to affection, compassion and honor by young boys, seems in some deep way to know why the Wild West and the Desert Sands are ours. If we have a man like that there, how can it be Bad? So clearly, Hurt Locker was not political. Green Zone's politics are its MacGuffin. That we were lied to is unfortunately old news, but the action is fast, the lines are not bad -- Damon's a very good soldier. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
vargvMar 12, 2010
This movie was fantastic. The story builds a what-if scenario about why we didn't find WMD's and runs with it to make a great thriller. I don't think this film was made to get the Bush administration incarcerated. So ignore This movie was fantastic. The story builds a what-if scenario about why we didn't find WMD's and runs with it to make a great thriller. I don't think this film was made to get the Bush administration incarcerated. So ignore all the negative reviews bashing it as liberal propaganda. Sure its got very critical interpretation of the way the war was handled, but demonizing the U.S. government makes for much better than a bunch of Iraqis. That would be a cowboys and indians movie, and those are boring. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinDMar 12, 2010
Wow, was I surprised. This movie is not what you think it is. "Green Zone" is one of the best pictures of the year and has fundementally changed the actioner archetype. It's the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillKMar 12, 2010
Unbelievable stunts and great action. It is mesmerizing and stunning from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerHMar 13, 2010
Fantastic action movie that ties its political message in very well without forcing it or over doing it. Whether you agree with it or not, its still a very well done movie. Obviously James F. below must be one of the people who will blindly Fantastic action movie that ties its political message in very well without forcing it or over doing it. Whether you agree with it or not, its still a very well done movie. Obviously James F. below must be one of the people who will blindly follow orders because thinking hurts. I have several friends in the military and have no ill will against the men/women who serve, I thank them for there service and intentions, but to say we won is a joke. Tell me, what did we win? What do we have to show for it? The government throwing around the lives of are citizens for there own agenda must stop... and this movie portrayed it extremely well. Matt Damon was perfect for this role. As it was said in the movie, "The reasons we go to war always matter". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnFMar 13, 2010
If you believe that Bush lied us into war and we fought it "because of WMD" in order to impose a "modern Democracy" there, you will love this film. Amazing that this crude, awful script was greenlighted, even by these Brits (Greengrass, If you believe that Bush lied us into war and we fought it "because of WMD" in order to impose a "modern Democracy" there, you will love this film. Amazing that this crude, awful script was greenlighted, even by these Brits (Greengrass, Fellner, Bevan, etc.). Loved the last shot of the oilfield, guys. And really clever having Judy Miller work for the Wall Street Journal instead of the NY Times. One cliche after another, including the handheld visuals which were a carbon copy of "Hurt Locker"'s. It was, quite simply embarrassing to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GarrathBMar 13, 2010
Slick Bourne style action set in an Iraqi War Background with the focus on the myth of WMD's. Excellent film, but it helps to know a bit more about the war.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
OliverHMar 13, 2010
Excellent thriller, pulls no punches about the real reason we invaded Iraq. Newsflash, folks, the fact that we won doesn't make it right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RingoSMar 14, 2010
It's like Greengrass is trying to shoot this movie from a kayak. Enough with the wobbly camera, Paul! This technique has had its day. It's understandable in the 'Cops' TV show, but let's get back to trying to explain It's like Greengrass is trying to shoot this movie from a kayak. Enough with the wobbly camera, Paul! This technique has had its day. It's understandable in the 'Cops' TV show, but let's get back to trying to explain stuff happening on the screen instead of going for the 'you are there' effect. Greengrass's Bourne movies, while great, were hurt by this silly camera ploy. It's film-student-esque. Anyway, the rest of the movie is good--plot, acting and action. I still recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamHMar 14, 2010
Very Good movie....Fast paced thriller with a bold story to the Iraq war.....and to James F who said: "Sily hype liberal BS. Newsflash folks, we won." what exactly did we win? A war based on false pretense? To quote...." it's not up to Very Good movie....Fast paced thriller with a bold story to the Iraq war.....and to James F who said: "Sily hype liberal BS. Newsflash folks, we won." what exactly did we win? A war based on false pretense? To quote...." it's not up to you to decide what goes on here(Iraq)." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamSMar 14, 2010
I gave it a nine as it was a respectable film a Matt Played His Rolw Well Great Film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CharlieCMar 14, 2010
It was pretty mind numbing, though a taught military/political thriller. The camera work was very jumpy, and several patrons left after the first few minutes. A scopalomine anti nausea patch might be helpful! The quasi historical basic plot It was pretty mind numbing, though a taught military/political thriller. The camera work was very jumpy, and several patrons left after the first few minutes. A scopalomine anti nausea patch might be helpful! The quasi historical basic plot involved a search for the WMD in Iraq, and then a search for the source who had given intel to the US. I have no idea if it was based on fact or part of the "great left wing conspiracy" (think Oliver Stone). So 4/5 stars, with reservations for the squeamish or for those with a need for historical acuracy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillySMar 15, 2010
We won? What air-craft carrier are you living on. This movie may be fiction, but it seems like a documentary on Dick Cheney in his very own wonderland. I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyEMar 15, 2010
This movie was great! My husband and I havent been out on a date since our 2 year old son was born. We went to see this movie last night and we had our doubts but this movie was awesome. I don't favor action movies but this movie i This movie was great! My husband and I havent been out on a date since our 2 year old son was born. We went to see this movie last night and we had our doubts but this movie was awesome. I don't favor action movies but this movie i could see over and over again! Matt Damon always brings great things to the table. Green Zone has a great plot and wonderful actors. You never know what will happen next, and it keeps you wanting more even at the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeeSMar 16, 2010
Top film, great action good political commentary. It's not left wing it's true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KristineY.Mar 20, 2010
Thought it was a pretty watchable movie; the storyline was somewhat believable even though I may/may not have fully agreed with its political message.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DavidP.Mar 22, 2010
Live Review! Alright, the opening scenes were pretty well done...great use of sparse visuals to convey the chaos of the beginning of the war. Script not so much...very heavy handed. Ok, this is getting pretty silly. Action is well done, and Live Review! Alright, the opening scenes were pretty well done...great use of sparse visuals to convey the chaos of the beginning of the war. Script not so much...very heavy handed. Ok, this is getting pretty silly. Action is well done, and the direction continues to impress. Very reminiscent of director's other work. However, the script is soooo weak. It seems like it's trying to boil all the problems about the war down to a few archetypal characters: the cynical old expert that no one listens to anymore, the close minded younger administrator that refuses to see the big picture, the crusading grunt that follows the good no matter where it leads...none of these people are developed as...people. Everyone does a pretty good job with what they have to work with, however. I think we are sliding further and further out of reality. This film is certainly no "Hurt Locker." It is more fun, to be sure. The "truth about WMD" is the apparent heart of the story, which everyone watching this film already knows, and this might be the weakest link in the film, from a strictly 'thriller' standpoint. 1:11:00 into the film and Bush is declaring victory. It's these moments that pull you out of the fantasy of the 'thriller' aspect of the film and remind you that what it's using for fodder is a war that cost thousands of American and allied and hundreds of thousands of Iraqi lives, and to accomplish a completely imaginary goal . Not a plus for getting lost in the story, which continues to be heavy handed and rushed. Good scene between Damon and Iraqi General character. However, the narrative which has been slowly shifting from WMD to the beginning of the insurgency is unfortunately lacking in lots of elements, attempting to blame the coming violence on debathification and the disbanding of the military alone. This is a gross oversimplification, and if you are trying to inject a message into your action film, you are going to have to be judged by the message as much as the action. Ok, the film's over, and here's my verdict. The direction was great, and the actors all put in good performances. The story was very spotty. The weighty message of the film seemed to be "America wanted the war and duped it's own military into fighting it for spurious reasons." This story has been told much better and much more honestly by filmmakers and media alike. I suppose if you enjoy your talking points with explosions and chase scenes, then this film is definitely your cup of tea, assuming you agree with said talking points. I enjoy a good thriller and I enjoy a good exposé but mixing the two very rarely succeeds, and this film is no exception. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamT.Mar 22, 2010
Very Good, Intense thrilling, good Action excepted that the plot is all politics that its an anti-war movie. I'm sick of those guys. Supposedly it would have been better if Paul Greengrass did the script since he did an excellent job on Very Good, Intense thrilling, good Action excepted that the plot is all politics that its an anti-war movie. I'm sick of those guys. Supposedly it would have been better if Paul Greengrass did the script since he did an excellent job on United 93 instead of Brian Helgeland who didn't know anything about the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobertPMar 26, 2010
So-so movie. So many guns & ammo & explosions that you'd think Tarentino directed,. Didn't expect much & wasn't disappointed. So wait for the DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ReeceNApr 2, 2010
General same-y sort of action film. Doesn't really bring anything new to the table of movies, and its a plot that sounds like bbc movie night, with a bigger budget! I almost fell asleep multiple times and the only think that woke me up General same-y sort of action film. Doesn't really bring anything new to the table of movies, and its a plot that sounds like bbc movie night, with a bigger budget! I almost fell asleep multiple times and the only think that woke me up was when I went to the toilet, and stopped off at the candy counter on the way back. Although through this, I thought the filming and camera work, although nauseating at times, was quite good, but acting was really the same old action star stuff, not too persuasive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
billtApr 2, 2010
Simply the best movie of the year. The best war/ political thriller of the decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
iainm.Apr 3, 2010
A very powerful and thrilling film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerW.Jun 25, 2010
Very well done. What this film offers is a fictional accounting of the true cynicism and naiveté the Neocons used to prosecute the Iraq War.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Mar 12, 2010
Kick ass thriller that has brains when it comes to the action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidC.Mar 13, 2010
W"Green Zone" is a well-directed action movie that manages to create some narrative interest in a mystery--where are the WMDs?--whose solution is already old news. I believe it's also the only American war movie about Iraq to make the W"Green Zone" is a well-directed action movie that manages to create some narrative interest in a mystery--where are the WMDs?--whose solution is already old news. I believe it's also the only American war movie about Iraq to make the obvious point that we are not "the deciders" of what happens there, that the Americans are not the only significant actors in this story, that, basically, it's not just all about us. Don't listen to the commenters who are furiously denouncing this movie, probably without even having seen it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnRMar 13, 2010
Action packed, but plot was predictable to the point of near boredom. See it at a theater, at least that makes a night of it. Not sure who the bad guys were/are.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DJRMar 14, 2010
The action and drama mixed with Damon's "Bourne" experience saved this film. The overpowering liberal agenda was a bit too much to stomach at times. Would have liked to see a little less politics and a little more action. Camera work The action and drama mixed with Damon's "Bourne" experience saved this film. The overpowering liberal agenda was a bit too much to stomach at times. Would have liked to see a little less politics and a little more action. Camera work was a little overdone as well with too much shaking at times to try to draw in that documentary affect, which fell short. Overall this movie was a ploy for a liberal hollywood writer trying to take a stab at the right wing and in doing so fell rather short of making a spectacular film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasonMar 15, 2010
The plot was very simple. The acting was aweful, and the action wasn't even that great. Add to that some nonsense about a government conspiracy that led us to war, and you get one bad movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonB.Mar 17, 2010
This movie was incredible. It keeps you guessing all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BryanFMar 19, 2010
Anyone giving this a low score because they try to throw political bs in the mix should be reminded that they went to go see an action movie, not a bias documentary. Entertainment is much differentthnqn politics, and this movie is clearly Anyone giving this a low score because they try to throw political bs in the mix should be reminded that they went to go see an action movie, not a bias documentary. Entertainment is much differentthnqn politics, and this movie is clearly (and very effectively, might I add) entertaining. Great acting, a suspenseful story, and chaotic action sequences all pull together to make a hell of an action-drama. Please do not compare to The Hurt Locker, because it is NOT the same topics and clearly not the same type of cinematography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaP.Mar 21, 2010
Intensely patriotic film keeps the viewer captivated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JudeH.Mar 21, 2010
This film illustrates the absence of honesty that occurs in too many of those with power.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanSMar 21, 2010
As a movie, it could have had a better ending, but none would be as appropriate. One of the best elements of this movie is the challenge for all of us in the U.S. to think from a perspective outside of our own indoctrinated "American" views As a movie, it could have had a better ending, but none would be as appropriate. One of the best elements of this movie is the challenge for all of us in the U.S. to think from a perspective outside of our own indoctrinated "American" views of the world. To James F., we won a needless war and have since struggled to win any kind of peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BitBurnMay 22, 2010
Here's the thing, as an action/thriller it is brilliant. But I just can't ignore the fact that the suffering of Iraqi civilians, the bullshit war on terror and Bush's inexistent WMP is being turned into a Hollywood movie Here's the thing, as an action/thriller it is brilliant. But I just can't ignore the fact that the suffering of Iraqi civilians, the bullshit war on terror and Bush's inexistent WMP is being turned into a Hollywood movie script for our entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BobLJun 24, 2010
One of the worst movies I've ever witnessed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
halbJun 25, 2010
Overall, a big disappointment. I found myself oddly detached throughout all the herky-jerky action sequences... and there's no one you're really rooting for here, except maybe for the Iraqi translator (Freddy). A highly simplistic Overall, a big disappointment. I found myself oddly detached throughout all the herky-jerky action sequences... and there's no one you're really rooting for here, except maybe for the Iraqi translator (Freddy). A highly simplistic (dumbed down) take on the whole 'where were the WMD?' question... An a hugely naive closing scene. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KundKAug 27, 2010
Too preachy for my taste ("OMG, they LIED to us!"), but still good old pseudo-documentary Bourne-style military conspiracy - tense, disillusioned and shaky of cam.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
NatDurmanAug 14, 2010
Paul Greengrass is a man youâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
sapient254Aug 27, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Green Zone is an obvious anti-Republican movie aimed at slandering the Bush party's decisions to invade Iraq. It portrays senior Republican leaders as oil-focused fact-creating greedy war-mongers that will do anything to keep the American public believing that WMDs exist in Iraq. From the start, the movie's agenda is painfully obvious as Matt Damon's character, Roy Miller, is in charge of a special task force whose sole purpose is to seek out Iraq's WMDs. As they go from site to site, donning chemical masks and special equipment designed to retrieve them, they constantly come up short. As Miller looks through his intelligence reports, once phrase continues to pop out at him (mostly because it's written in bold red text): "A source has confirmed that chemical and biological weapons are stored..." etc.
"What's the source?" Miller asks during an intelligence briefing. "These intelligence packets have all been vetted. They're good.", says a high ranking puppet of the Bush party. "You're job's to execute them, not worry about how they're put together." As the movie progresses, we are led to believe that High ranking military officials, senior leaders of Special Intel Units at the Pentagon, and members of the Special Forces are all working together to cover up the truth about the existence of WMD's in Iraq. Do the creators of this movie believe we are all so gullible? Do they honestly think that we are to believe that our senior leaders used made-up intelligence and sacrificed countless American and Iraqi lives as a front to invade Iraq for the sole purpose of tapping into their oil reserves? Though the creators of this movie did not mention oil at all during the course of the film, they made their statement obvious during the ending credits as Damon drives off into the distance with a nice oil refinery backdrop. Again we come across Hollywood's pathetic attempts to use their seemingly countless movie-funds as a weapon against those who are unsure of their political stance, or those just too ignorant to know better. Well I for one am not won over, nor am I fooled.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
psychdoctorJan 24, 2011
In short: Trash. I went into this movie cold; not knowing the plot or movieâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RazvOct 16, 2010
Matt Damon's performance was very good but the movie, overall, was pretty bad. The plot was slow-paced, boring and the action was unrealistic. I expected much more of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
S-WillNov 25, 2010
This movie was disappointing. The anti war message was overused and heavy handed. The combat scenes were boring and inaccurate. This film had a lot of potential and could have been much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TonyOct 12, 2010
Remarkable cinematography from Barry Ackroyd ("The Hurt Locker") and very clearly a Paul Greengrass film, but ultimately not as successful as it could be because of a story that lacks the emotional punch it needs and is awfully predictable.Remarkable cinematography from Barry Ackroyd ("The Hurt Locker") and very clearly a Paul Greengrass film, but ultimately not as successful as it could be because of a story that lacks the emotional punch it needs and is awfully predictable. And couldn't they give Amy Ryan more to do? A waste of her talent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviefreak12Jan 23, 2011
A great war movie over all. The fighting scenes where intense but the plot and pace of the Green Zone where to me was horribly slow. ice burgs moved faster. It was so slow i was having a had remembering what happen at the beginning. On theA great war movie over all. The fighting scenes where intense but the plot and pace of the Green Zone where to me was horribly slow. ice burgs moved faster. It was so slow i was having a had remembering what happen at the beginning. On the other hand its keeps you guessing who will win right up till the end and is that not what we want out of a thriller. In the end go see this movie its worth the money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Ruler101Dec 1, 2010
I thought it was a very good action packed movie that still shows that these are the movies for Matt Damon!! Almost a flash back to the "Bourne" trilogy. This movie i think made us think about the current event "The Iraq War." Did we reallyI thought it was a very good action packed movie that still shows that these are the movies for Matt Damon!! Almost a flash back to the "Bourne" trilogy. This movie i think made us think about the current event "The Iraq War." Did we really go in because of a mistake/set-up?? How will we know?? Simply we never will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KurukJan 25, 2011
Matt Damon hits and misses in the "Green Zone" with obvious political preachings it makes the viewer think twice about what we here on the news everyday and thats exactly what the directer Paul Greengrass wants you to think and its not a badMatt Damon hits and misses in the "Green Zone" with obvious political preachings it makes the viewer think twice about what we here on the news everyday and thats exactly what the directer Paul Greengrass wants you to think and its not a bad hook. Now while some of you may think hay I thought this was an action flick, yes well you be right it does indeed have a hand full of awesome action scenes but its the intriguing plot that will keep you enticed in-till the end. I give "Green Zone" a 7 out of 10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuMay 24, 2011
Always going to be compared with the Bourne movies and unfortunately it does not hold up. On its own merits its not a bad movie, plenty of drama, plenty of action but it never quite makes the jump up to the great movie state. Damon isAlways going to be compared with the Bourne movies and unfortunately it does not hold up. On its own merits its not a bad movie, plenty of drama, plenty of action but it never quite makes the jump up to the great movie state. Damon is believable but not outstanding and there's good support from the rest of the cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CharlottePApr 13, 2011
I was ill-disposed towards this film almost from the start due to a physical aversion to the jerky camera work which now seems to plague every film of a certain type: spending millions of dollars to make it look as though the action scenesI was ill-disposed towards this film almost from the start due to a physical aversion to the jerky camera work which now seems to plague every film of a certain type: spending millions of dollars to make it look as though the action scenes are filmed by a passer-by who's less than familiar with how to use their video camera (jumping up and down, unable to hold the thing still even in a static setting, zooming in and out of focus, on the wrong settings at night, and so on). All totally unnecessary, and guaranteed to induce queasiness almost immediately. Had the film been better, perhaps it wouldn't have mattered; but unfortunately this was an over-simplified, unconvincing and frequently irritating movie which raised many more questions than it answered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HalfwelshmanFeb 29, 2012
Green Zone makes for an intermittently entertaining conspiracy-based war film. Like all of Paul Greengrass's work, it looks great, the audience is dragged right into the heart of the action, and the hellish images of war-torn Iraq are quiteGreen Zone makes for an intermittently entertaining conspiracy-based war film. Like all of Paul Greengrass's work, it looks great, the audience is dragged right into the heart of the action, and the hellish images of war-torn Iraq are quite effective. The cast's performances are relatively decent, but by no means exceptional. The only one who really stands out is Khalid Abdalla, who plays "Freddie", an Iraqi ex-soldier and amputee who helps Chief Miller (Damon) to unravel the mystery as to why intelligence on WMD is so unreliable, and why the US went to war in the first place. Abdalla's performance is head-and-shoulders above the rest of the cast - it's complex, emotional and moving. Where Green Zone fails is in its writing, and in the fact that for a political thriller, it has a surprising lack of thrills. While Brian Helgeland's screenplay is perfectly reasonable on face value, it simply isn't brave or clever enough. Instead of having the courage to point the finger of blame for the Iraq War at the real culprits, Helgeland instead chooses to substitute real-world villains with Hollywood creations (Greg Kinnear's morally dubious Pentagon man and Jason Isaacs' brutal handlebar-moustached spec ops commander). While I understand the need for dramatic licence to make a film work as a piece of entertainment (it is not, after all, an informative documentary) I don't understand how Kinnear and Issacs' characters turned out so dull. The real masterminds behind the Iraq war, the politicians that duped us all into thinking there was some sort of justification behind invading Iraq are far more interesting characters than these screen creations, and ultimately far more evil. If only Greengrass and Helgeland had the courage to say something really divisive about the Iraq War, rather than just re-affirming what we already know, that the WMD intelligence was made up, a convenient excuse for toppling an oppressive dictatorship. Even with this unremarkable underlying message, the film could have still stood out if had a decent plot, something to rival the truly great Hollywood conspiracy thrillers. Unfortunately, the story is simple and linear, and you can see the only major twist a mile off. Technically, Green Zone is flawless, and you really feel like you're going into Baghdad with the American soldiers, and living and fighting alongside them - Greengrass is a master of establishing, then maintaining a particular tone in his films. The high-quality cast all do their job, but the only one to really stand out is the excellent Khalid Abdalla, and the filmmakers' characterisation can come across as a little lazy. Greenzone's main problem is that it has not approached its highly controversial subject matter with enough commitment or bravery - nothing new is said, and it doesn't leave you thinking at the end, just non-plussed. Paul Greengrass's latest film is competent but uninspired, diverting but not memorable - in short, nothing special. His Bourne films had far more to say about evil politicians, shady military operations and human rights infringement than Green Zone ever does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
davenbettridgeSep 25, 2011
The message and central theme to this movie is one that needs to be told but unfortunately Green Zone's execution of its important messages is lacking. Green Zone looks great and is decently acted but is a little dull and predictable. PerhapsThe message and central theme to this movie is one that needs to be told but unfortunately Green Zone's execution of its important messages is lacking. Green Zone looks great and is decently acted but is a little dull and predictable. Perhaps the story lacks the depth and impact to the war in Iraq and how tragic the war really is but in the end the film is ok and worth watching but wont be too memorable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
islandDec 9, 2011
I was pretty impressed by this movie. It doesn't work with the common cliches fortunately. It's recommended to see. If you are considering to watch you should do that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Nikaki2004Jul 3, 2011
A superb film on many accounts: realism, ethics, exposure, acting, environment, photography. I gave it a 9 instead of a 10, because at times it resembles more a journalistic expose rather than a directed script/scenario. But overall "right,A superb film on many accounts: realism, ethics, exposure, acting, environment, photography. I gave it a 9 instead of a 10, because at times it resembles more a journalistic expose rather than a directed script/scenario. But overall "right, riveting, good". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jefflyn90Apr 7, 2012
This movie shows that it had the same people that worked on Bourne work on this because on a lot of respects it is very similar...so if you liked Bourne you're surely to like Green. Something that shows what a great movie this is, is thatThis movie shows that it had the same people that worked on Bourne work on this because on a lot of respects it is very similar...so if you liked Bourne you're surely to like Green. Something that shows what a great movie this is, is that even though it is about Iraq it is very relevant to what was happening now within Libya. Here is where the action meets the substance. It is a very intelligent action movie, Damon showing an impeccable performance of a soldier trying to come to term with the incompetence that surrounds him. Its frantic to say the least and a great action movie to date. The journalist is the only wasted character here and could have easily been a more compelling protagonist, besides that the supporting cast is equally great. Another minor flaw is on the emphasis that every character is either good or bad when I think the tone should have been much more in the middle. Besides from that Green Zone is a great, honest and intriguing movie and a fantastic blockbuster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
vidkidMar 18, 2012
Shot in documentary style by Bourne director Paul Greengrass, Green Zone is an excellent thriller. It pulls you in at the outset and doesn't let up at all. The movie's premise is that the intel for the Iraqui War was fraudulent and that weShot in documentary style by Bourne director Paul Greengrass, Green Zone is an excellent thriller. It pulls you in at the outset and doesn't let up at all. The movie's premise is that the intel for the Iraqui War was fraudulent and that we went to war on false pretenses. Not only this, but that certain political factions in Washington knew the intel was false and used it as an excuse to invade the country.

The movie wiill be liked by those loyal to the administration at the time and to the belief that WMDs existed in Iraq. The movie is not a documentary nor based on fact, but merely gives us this storyline to ponder. For me, it asks the question,: Will we ever know what went on in Iraq?

Damon is the non-stop action hero out to pursue the truth. While the story is not always believable and is filled with improbabilities, it works well as a thriller and as a film that attempts to show the mass confusion of a country just beginning to fall apart.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleAug 2, 2016
Green Zone is a terrific film that may take some creative liberties at times, but is always incredibly well paced, edge of your seat thrilling, and a fantastic look at the Iraq War from the inside. Matt Damon is great in this role as aGreen Zone is a terrific film that may take some creative liberties at times, but is always incredibly well paced, edge of your seat thrilling, and a fantastic look at the Iraq War from the inside. Matt Damon is great in this role as a soldier who quickly realizes their intel is bad and Iraq has no WMDs. Tense and thrilling, there are rarely films nowadays that leave me on the edge of my seat, but Green Zone made me think I was going to have a heart attack - it was that thrilling and energizing. The film, politically, has been criticized as "anti-American". I am not seeing it. If anything, it is pro-understanding. Those who try to learn more instead of sticking their head in the sand are rewarded. Those who put down dissenters are villains. That said, the film's simple point of, only Iraqis should run Iraq is very well built up to and a fair point. With so many factions in Iraq, nobody is better equipped to handle running the country than them. We certainly know that now. As for Green Zone, it is a terrifically entertaining and thrilling action war film that is wonderfully directed by Paul Greengrass and his action muse Matt Damon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dev92Aug 24, 2012
An intelligent film which tries to realistically portray the issues around the current war in the Middle East. It's a well thought-out film with a great actor and director who have obvious chemistry, especially when producing these similarAn intelligent film which tries to realistically portray the issues around the current war in the Middle East. It's a well thought-out film with a great actor and director who have obvious chemistry, especially when producing these similar military-based films. Perhaps just a little bit more action was required to make this a truly great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ehiemNov 2, 2012
In my opinion Green Zone is a good movie. It features more a political aspect compared to other movies in its genre, so if you watch Green Zone expecting an action packed-thriller then you will be slightly disappointed. Instead it focuses onIn my opinion Green Zone is a good movie. It features more a political aspect compared to other movies in its genre, so if you watch Green Zone expecting an action packed-thriller then you will be slightly disappointed. Instead it focuses on important issues that cause you think about the world we live in today and our involvement in the war abroad. In Green Zone, the movie shines a light on the US government and its involvement in Iraq. More closely its search for "weapons of mass destruction". With Matt Damon as the protagonist, he begins to question his chain of command, and the mission at hand. With an underlying political aspect, the plot unravels and at the end, your wanting more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
b0mbardiniMar 6, 2013
As a Middle Eastern, the only thing I liked and appreciated about the movie is how true and detailed almost everything was said about IRAQ in that period of time. It was an okay and kinda boring action movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ThegodfathersonFeb 13, 2015
Green Zone works well as a war thriller, caught up with major real life conflicts. But, the pace is slow, the writing is dull, and that makes for a longer experience than usual. Director Paul Greengrass throws everything at it, to makeGreen Zone works well as a war thriller, caught up with major real life conflicts. But, the pace is slow, the writing is dull, and that makes for a longer experience than usual. Director Paul Greengrass throws everything at it, to make viewers grasp its attention, but by that time, it's too late. Greengrass, who brought us the brilliant Captain Philips and the Bourne movies, comes up with a dull, lukewarm thriller about the chemical ramblings in Pakistan. Matt Damon, does well with what he is given. But not much is given. If you expect action, there are a few scenes, that do well to get your attention. But by then, you're already asleep. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
oDjentoJan 1, 2015
A pretty average action movie. Obviously made in Matt Damons stardom of the Bourne Trilogy, but trying to be more blockbuster. It's story is typical and predictable, and sure Matt Damon does a good job as his character but the performances asA pretty average action movie. Obviously made in Matt Damons stardom of the Bourne Trilogy, but trying to be more blockbuster. It's story is typical and predictable, and sure Matt Damon does a good job as his character but the performances as a whole are pretty "meh". The film is simply this: is a typical middle eastern war film that doesn't bring anythinf special other than Matt Damon. A pretty easily missable film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeApr 9, 2014
For an action movie starring Matt Damon i was expecting better.But the movie gives some good action scenes.Matt Damon like always is a good actor.The movie is realistic compared to those movie with bad CGI effects. So i was not thatFor an action movie starring Matt Damon i was expecting better.But the movie gives some good action scenes.Matt Damon like always is a good actor.The movie is realistic compared to those movie with bad CGI effects. So i was not that disappointed but i expected better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews