Focus Features | Release Date: March 19, 2010
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 143 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
34
Negative:
48
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
TerenceSMar 30, 2010
First of all, if you're expecting any moments where Ben Stiller freaks out in the movie and makes funny voices, you'll be sadly disappointed (which is a positive in my mind). However, that's the only good thing about the film. First of all, if you're expecting any moments where Ben Stiller freaks out in the movie and makes funny voices, you'll be sadly disappointed (which is a positive in my mind). However, that's the only good thing about the film. Baumbach struck out for me again. I hated Margo at the Wedding, and while this was slightly better than that film. It was still bogged down with so much complaining about getting old (which seems to be a predominant theme in Baumbach's movies), that I couldn't enjoy it. I actually think most of the actors did a fantastic job, but in the end, it is the screenwriting and the directing that is a monumental fail for me. Nothing redeemable about this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
NachoC.Apr 11, 2010
I feel the need to defend this film. I feel like I understood where Noah was getting at. The entire film was meant to be minimalist and awkward. Greenberg, being an unlikable character has to be unbearable, and the audience must feel the I feel the need to defend this film. I feel like I understood where Noah was getting at. The entire film was meant to be minimalist and awkward. Greenberg, being an unlikable character has to be unbearable, and the audience must feel the discomfort that the characters do on screen whenever he is present in a scene. The film is about the reality that most people grow up to be nothing and simply take up room. Greenberg felt as though he had some sort of life calling but chickened out and ruined it for the rest because he was selfish. He did nothing just as many people do here in real life. He was stuck in his past. In one scene which he is sitting with several teenagers he is essentially acting the same age as them; refusing to grow up and conversing about the contradicting ideologies of their generations. When a friend approaches him and tells him that he has come to "accept the life that he did not plan," Greenberg refutes his opinion. It is because most people cannot accept the irrefutable reality that is unpredictability and instead find it easier to find comfort in productivity. Greenberg was more of a mirror to 20-40 year old's than any other film I have ever seen. I recommend it 100%. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
CatherineApr 2, 2010
Don't believe the critics (75? Really?) this film is a stinker. Ben Stiller trying so hard to act, and you never forget for a minute it's him. Loathsome characters, unfunny dialog, a really jaundiced look at Los Angeles which Don't believe the critics (75? Really?) this film is a stinker. Ben Stiller trying so hard to act, and you never forget for a minute it's him. Loathsome characters, unfunny dialog, a really jaundiced look at Los Angeles which I'm sure many people who don't live here will think is true. It's not. It's a tiny little slice of a microcosm of horrible narcissists who hang out with people like Jennifer Jason Leigh and make this world a slightly more depressing place. Don't subject yourself to this film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
Ron&LindaApr 4, 2010
This movie couldn't move any slower. It seemed longer than a 2 1/2 hour movie we saw yesterday. How disappointing--a bad movie and almost two hours of our lives we'll never get back. Some people got up and left the movie, even at This movie couldn't move any slower. It seemed longer than a 2 1/2 hour movie we saw yesterday. How disappointing--a bad movie and almost two hours of our lives we'll never get back. Some people got up and left the movie, even at the price of movies these days. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
TerryB.Mar 27, 2010
Very interesting premise; some very powerful scenes; high-quality acting. Just wish the lead character were not so thoroughly hard to like and the ending were stronger. But well worth seeing.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
MitchS.Mar 27, 2010
Excellent movie. Greta Gerwig is a true revelation. The dialog is fantastic. Definitely on a level with the director's other outstanding film, Margot at the wedding...
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JHApr 1, 2010
Brilliant movie. SEINFELD meets ANTONIONI
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
AngelaCApr 12, 2010
Great performances couldn't save this insufferable script. Only a few laugh out loud lines (pretty much all included in the trailer). I loved The Squid and the Whale and found Margot at the Wedding morbidly fascinating, but his movie Great performances couldn't save this insufferable script. Only a few laugh out loud lines (pretty much all included in the trailer). I loved The Squid and the Whale and found Margot at the Wedding morbidly fascinating, but his movie was a chore to sit through. You're either going to love it or hate it, so don't spend theater ticket prices and just wait for it to come out on DVD or On Demand. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EvanSApr 13, 2010
Easily one of my favorite movies of all time. This movie has an emotional depth like no other.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
RichardWApr 2, 2010
Excellent work by Gerwig and Ifans don't offset Stiller's self-absorbed performance in this boring drama about a self-destructive character. Writing and directing produce one singular boring piece of dreck.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisMApr 2, 2010
This movie isn't for everyone, but if you like indie type movies and enjoy quirky and sometimes dark humor, give this one a shot. Ben Stiller and all the other actors give great performances. His character is a self absorbed jerk, but I This movie isn't for everyone, but if you like indie type movies and enjoy quirky and sometimes dark humor, give this one a shot. Ben Stiller and all the other actors give great performances. His character is a self absorbed jerk, but I think many of us can find a little bit of ourselves in him if we take the time to look. It's not a feel good movie where you are rooting for the character and he overcomes his failings and ultimately redeems himself for a cheap dramatic payoff. It is just a good story with a valuable message to us all. Even if you don't take anything else away, it is still a damn funny movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
8
LindaMApr 3, 2010
If you like a self-absorbed narcissistic protagonist (Stiller) admist similar people in LA, you'll love this movie. Greta Gerwig as the easy-going housesitter, is a gem. Rhys Ifans as an old band buddy gives a solid andhonest If you like a self-absorbed narcissistic protagonist (Stiller) admist similar people in LA, you'll love this movie. Greta Gerwig as the easy-going housesitter, is a gem. Rhys Ifans as an old band buddy gives a solid andhonest performance. The cinematography is creative. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JaneSApr 3, 2010
Utterly boring and pointless. Doesn't even have a point of view, in the sense that it makes Los Angeles look like it has some sort of character. Could be set anywhere. Ugh.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
KrisF.Apr 5, 2010
Tedious, boring, predictable, interminable movie. Very disappointing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JosephF.Mar 22, 2010
Just dragged. The story went nowhere and the characters were boring. Don't know what the producers saw in the script.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
AnnF.Mar 27, 2010
Boring, nothing redeemable,and I am a Ben Stiller fan...the audience was unresponsive, and in the lobby after the film, lots of complaints...no one liked it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DaleMMar 28, 2010
Stiller does a good job of portraying an narcissistic artistic type guy who once had idealistic dreams but now finds himself middle-aged and feeling bitter at life. Not a film for everyone, but this is a good film. Despite how unlikeable the Stiller does a good job of portraying an narcissistic artistic type guy who once had idealistic dreams but now finds himself middle-aged and feeling bitter at life. Not a film for everyone, but this is a good film. Despite how unlikeable the character Greenburg is, you still end up kind of living him and hoping he will find more happiness. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
DWillyMar 28, 2010
I was so, so very disappointed in this movie because I absolutely loved Noah Baumbach
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
LeoFMar 30, 2010
Ben Stiller channels Woody Allen, but without Woody's wit, insight, and intelligence. Just another self-loathing neurotic doing a dull vanity piece as self-therapy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
TroggL.Apr 11, 2010
People who rated lower than 2 are idiots who saw Ben Stiller's name and expected Meet the Fockers.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
AndreaG.Apr 10, 2010
Overrated piece of crap. the movie didn't go anywhere. watching gerwig made me feel claustropobic and there were only a handful of good scenes. overall the movie was slow and painful to sit through. just because a man is angry, bitter Overrated piece of crap. the movie didn't go anywhere. watching gerwig made me feel claustropobic and there were only a handful of good scenes. overall the movie was slow and painful to sit through. just because a man is angry, bitter and caustic, that alone is not enough to make a movie around. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JRS.Apr 15, 2010
Another great film made by a interesting and intelligent director.. Obviously, this film is for people who are capable of abstract thought and not for the mindless dreck that encompasses most of America. If you didn't like this movie, Another great film made by a interesting and intelligent director.. Obviously, this film is for people who are capable of abstract thought and not for the mindless dreck that encompasses most of America. If you didn't like this movie, you are not smart enough to be going to real films.. where u see this as boring, the thinking man will find truth in great writing and original thought. here's how you know I'm right: you went to see this movie because ben stiller is in it. sad sad sad.. how dumb people are. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
judyf.Apr 15, 2010
This is one of the worst movies i ever saw. I kept waiting for the point, or it to make ane sense. The reel broke 1/3 of the way through,& house lights. came on till theyfixed it. I was going to leave then, & should have Waste of my time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
howardpApr 16, 2010
Two words: Simple Jack. (Fans of Tropic Thunder will get my reference to the Oscar-bait film Stiller's character starred in.) I get why viewers hate the film. And I get why critics basically like it -- it's so not Hollywood Two words: Simple Jack. (Fans of Tropic Thunder will get my reference to the Oscar-bait film Stiller's character starred in.) I get why viewers hate the film. And I get why critics basically like it -- it's so not Hollywood mainstream. The seduction scene was so explicit, so awkward, so awful and so hard not to watch. But it stuck in my head. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
MikeK.Apr 4, 2010
I've seen worse movies, but not many.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MikeMikeApr 4, 2010
Nearly complete bore. A couple of laughs here an there were not enough. Plotless and pointless. Too bad, I love Ben Stiller. He couldn't single-handedly save this yawner, but he tried. I kept looking for the nuances all the critics must Nearly complete bore. A couple of laughs here an there were not enough. Plotless and pointless. Too bad, I love Ben Stiller. He couldn't single-handedly save this yawner, but he tried. I kept looking for the nuances all the critics must have seen. Couldn't find anything. Renewed my contempt for the megacritics. Zzzzzzzzzzzz. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ArnoldE.May 3, 2010
Could see nothing positive about the movie. A waste of time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DavidB.Mar 27, 2010
This was a disappointing movie. Surprised that it received such critical acclaim. It was boring, had no real plot or direction, and lacked any sort of dramatic tension to propel it forward. The funny moments were few and far between. It was This was a disappointing movie. Surprised that it received such critical acclaim. It was boring, had no real plot or direction, and lacked any sort of dramatic tension to propel it forward. The funny moments were few and far between. It was another one of those indie flicks that are about nothing and think they can get away with it. Granted, I like a lot of those indie flicks, but this one did not cut it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JeffS.Mar 28, 2010
A horror movie. The film convinces you these people may exist which is chilling. The Stiller character is 90% zombie and 10% pure evil. His romantic interest is 50% zombie and 50% 3 year old child......totally dysfunctional. The movie should A horror movie. The film convinces you these people may exist which is chilling. The Stiller character is 90% zombie and 10% pure evil. His romantic interest is 50% zombie and 50% 3 year old child......totally dysfunctional. The movie should never have been made. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
DanG.Mar 28, 2010
The best part about this flick was the cashews i snuck in. how refreshing, i thought... no explosions, no blaring fx, just a story. then it started... a snail slow pace. it'll pick up fer sure, i thought. ha! in a pig's behind! thisThe best part about this flick was the cashews i snuck in. how refreshing, i thought... no explosions, no blaring fx, just a story. then it started... a snail slow pace. it'll pick up fer sure, i thought. ha! in a pig's behind! this self-absorbed (stiller, not me) creature... fresh out of a 'hospital'... trying (more at being an ass than getting civil) to put his life back together. from the look of it, he'd always been an ass. and the earwig woman... why'd she fall for him? ickypoo. don't see this movie. guaranteed to put you off your popcorn. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful