User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 418 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 418

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RickA.
    Apr 10, 2007
    3
    I find it hard to give a rating to Grindhouse because of the two very different movies that make up the double bill. First the fake trailers, they were all funny. The standout to me was Thanksgiving, a laugh out loud riot. Next comes Planet Terror. A gore filled campy zombie flick that is as fun and light hearted as can be. Enjoy the ride because this one is fun. Finally Tarantino comes I find it hard to give a rating to Grindhouse because of the two very different movies that make up the double bill. First the fake trailers, they were all funny. The standout to me was Thanksgiving, a laugh out loud riot. Next comes Planet Terror. A gore filled campy zombie flick that is as fun and light hearted as can be. Enjoy the ride because this one is fun. Finally Tarantino comes along and kills the whole expierence. I can't really explain how bad I thought Deathproof was. I absolutely hated the movie. The long drawn out dialogue about nothing. The complete bad ass Kurt Russell turned into a comical whiny loser. The camp of the whole thing ruined by the seriousness of Deathproof. Complete and utterly bad movie. Tarantino's way overrated by critics. Expand
  2. KenG.
    May 17, 2007
    4
    There seems to be a lot of disagreement among the critics and others as to who made the better movie, Rodriguez or Tarantino, but the fact is, neither one did a good job. Rodriguez got so carried away with the idea of making a "bad" movie, that he actually wound up with a bad movie, rather than a clever, funny imitation of that type of "bad" movie. His movie is a mess, and the fact that There seems to be a lot of disagreement among the critics and others as to who made the better movie, Rodriguez or Tarantino, but the fact is, neither one did a good job. Rodriguez got so carried away with the idea of making a "bad" movie, that he actually wound up with a bad movie, rather than a clever, funny imitation of that type of "bad" movie. His movie is a mess, and the fact that it was an intentional mess, is not enough to make it work. On the other hand Tarantino really didn't seem that interested in this project. He seemed much more interested in doing his version of a chick flick, with all the non-stop gab (much of it uninteresting, no matter how much the critics drool over it) that seems to go on forever. The action just seems to be tacked on to fullfill his obligation to the project. Between the 2, I'd say Rodriguez did the better job, simply because he was more into the spirit of the project. But the only thing in the movie that was done well, well the previews. I also wasn't impressed with the intentionally shabby feel of the films, for 2 reasons. One is that I gotta think it's not hard to capture that feel. The other reason is that much of the charm of the old shabbily done films they are copying is that those films weren't done shabbily on purpose. By being shabby on purpose they are cutting the charm out of it. They are trying to capture an effect that you really can't, at least not intentionally. Expand
  3. LR.
    Sep 24, 2007
    1
    I was going to tell you how i feel about this movie but joey summed it up the only thing i can add is you can skip chapters till you see cars driving. if you do this you will enjoy this movie all 15 minutes of it.
  4. JamesO
    Sep 16, 2008
    4
    I saw both of these movies through Netflix on separate occasions. I thought Planet Terror was awesome, but Death Proof was completely awful. Seriously, what's so great about a movie where 75 minutes of the film is dialogue between a bunch of women who talk about absolutely nothing (e.g. their daily lives, their occupations, their boyfriends, etc.)?! I don't get it. Planet I saw both of these movies through Netflix on separate occasions. I thought Planet Terror was awesome, but Death Proof was completely awful. Seriously, what's so great about a movie where 75 minutes of the film is dialogue between a bunch of women who talk about absolutely nothing (e.g. their daily lives, their occupations, their boyfriends, etc.)?! I don't get it. Planet Terror, on the other hand, was radical in every respect and didn't try and pretend to be something it wasn't: that is, a balls to the wall zombie/action movie. Tarantino is a highly regarded director by both critics and the public, but with this one he just fails miserably. I'd give Planet Terror an 8 and Death Proof a 0. So, using the power of averages, the overall score for Grindhouse comes out to a 4. Expand
  5. DouglasB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    1
    Death Proof is simply terrible, to top it of, you folks in America got it as part of a double feature called "Grindhouse" here in Australia we got it as a separate film entirely, which is probably why it seems even worse. I can't believe it, so much useless dialog, no back story, no story in general, just 2 action sequences that are separated by 14 months and a long prelude of dialog Death Proof is simply terrible, to top it of, you folks in America got it as part of a double feature called "Grindhouse" here in Australia we got it as a separate film entirely, which is probably why it seems even worse. I can't believe it, so much useless dialog, no back story, no story in general, just 2 action sequences that are separated by 14 months and a long prelude of dialog before each one, between 2 separate groups of women. When the ending suddenly came, i felt robbed of my time and money. I'm even more pissed with the trailer for the movie, the way it was edited, it made the film look like a full throttle action movie. I can't believe this is the work of the same guy who made Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill Vol. 1 & Vol. 2. movie structure: Part 1: Group of girls - lots of useless talking Random action moment Part 2 14 months later New group of girls - lots of talking (even more than the first time round) Random action sequence no back story, no story in general. terrible, you've been warned, screw what the critics are saying. Expand
  6. RippedOff
    Oct 1, 2007
    1
    I am growing tired of Tarantino's self indulgent attempts to recapture the magic of Pulp Fiction...with clever dialogue between edgy buddies! I have time to watch one movie a week...and just wasted it on this crap!!!!
  7. Eldon
    Oct 2, 2007
    2
    I give it a 2 for the first 10 minutes alone. And, as as been finely noted, what the hell happened to the rest of the movie?! Sheesh! And I have to say that in the end, it IS NOT worth it. I don't want to feel that way, but I did and do. And how can you, when choosing to cast Zoe Bell, give her all that dialogue?? My god she sucked the life right out of all the dialogue. I guess that I give it a 2 for the first 10 minutes alone. And, as as been finely noted, what the hell happened to the rest of the movie?! Sheesh! And I have to say that in the end, it IS NOT worth it. I don't want to feel that way, but I did and do. And how can you, when choosing to cast Zoe Bell, give her all that dialogue?? My god she sucked the life right out of all the dialogue. I guess that may have been the "intention" of Tarantino, to have it be bad acting. But next to say, Dawson, she truly stinks up the place and I could just see the veil dropping over and over again until I was out of it all together. That is not doing your job as a director... it doesn't work man, it just doesn't. Lame. Collapse
  8. KyleM.
    Apr 12, 2007
    0
    It's easy to see why this movie flopped. Aside from Critics who were desperate to seem "hip" and "with it", there was hardly anyone in American that wanted to be submerged in this cesspool of a movie for 3+ hours.
  9. TerryR.
    Apr 6, 2007
    3
    Really tedious. The first one: Ok, we get it..old movies had scratches in the film and drop-outs. Not sure what he was trying to accomplish..folks dressed like people in 70's movies, driving old cars, sending messages on their PDA's (?). Some shots borrowed directly from old films, other stuff shot very contemporary...should have picked a style and stuck with it.Tarantino needs Really tedious. The first one: Ok, we get it..old movies had scratches in the film and drop-outs. Not sure what he was trying to accomplish..folks dressed like people in 70's movies, driving old cars, sending messages on their PDA's (?). Some shots borrowed directly from old films, other stuff shot very contemporary...should have picked a style and stuck with it.Tarantino needs to quit sticking that mutant mug of his in front of the camera..the guy is not an actor. First one went on WAY too long. Second movie...did anyone really buy Kurt Russell as a menacing old stuntman? A few moments, but about 1.5 hours in I started checking my watch and saw quite a few folks give up and walk out. Meatheads will give it a good review because they think that this shows they have an appreciation of what the two hack directors were trying to do. Don't believe the hype...spend your time watching actual old grindhouse movies. Expand
  10. SpiroDolemite
    Apr 7, 2007
    2
    Absolutely terrible and a waste of time! My girlfriend and I walked out about 30 minutes in. Some of the most disgusting things I have ever seen in my life. I certainly don't understand why people were laughing and clapping at what looked to me like graphic images of boils and genital lesions. We asked for refunds and both saw Firehouse Dog which a much better movie and was much more Absolutely terrible and a waste of time! My girlfriend and I walked out about 30 minutes in. Some of the most disgusting things I have ever seen in my life. I certainly don't understand why people were laughing and clapping at what looked to me like graphic images of boils and genital lesions. We asked for refunds and both saw Firehouse Dog which a much better movie and was much more entertaining Expand
  11. DaveA.
    Apr 7, 2007
    2
    Just because something is supposed to be a parody, and is aware of its intentional kitchiness, that doesn't make it any better than what it's attempting to lampoon. Rodriquez proves himself a hack once again. His piece of this was totally boring and stupid but, then again, so was From Dusk 'till Dawn. Tarantino is a much better film maker but "Death Proof" suffered from a Just because something is supposed to be a parody, and is aware of its intentional kitchiness, that doesn't make it any better than what it's attempting to lampoon. Rodriquez proves himself a hack once again. His piece of this was totally boring and stupid but, then again, so was From Dusk 'till Dawn. Tarantino is a much better film maker but "Death Proof" suffered from a totally implausible, ridiculous and stupid ending (again, I'm aware that it's parody but still . . . ) and too much self conscious dialogue which is becoming a bad trait of Tatantino's films. It could have been much, much, better than what it was with a little more effort and skill. Expand
  12. GaborA.
    Apr 8, 2007
    4
    Both the movies are tediously long. If you just shave 30 minutes off each you get a nice 2 hour and 20 or so minute sitting which is fine. The difference between the two features specifically is that if you cut 30 minutes of pretentious dialogue and set up out of Death Proof you get an enjoyable hour film. If you cut 30 minutes out of Planet Terror you merely carry it over to bearable Both the movies are tediously long. If you just shave 30 minutes off each you get a nice 2 hour and 20 or so minute sitting which is fine. The difference between the two features specifically is that if you cut 30 minutes of pretentious dialogue and set up out of Death Proof you get an enjoyable hour film. If you cut 30 minutes out of Planet Terror you merely carry it over to bearable from unbearable territory. Expand
  13. ZackS.
    Oct 20, 2007
    0
    Awful. Tarantino, already the most self indulgent, ego stroking filmmaker, takes it up a notch. It consists of girls talking for the entire movie with two action scenes. If only he were clever, or talented, or produce anything worth watching. Easily the most overrated talent of his generation proves again that critics don't know what they are talking about.
  14. EricS.
    Nov 20, 2007
    3
    I'm not gonna lie, I was super-pumped to see this movie. I thought it was going to be amazingly fun as the PR had me believe. Christ, was I wrong. PLANET TERROR was the first half, the better half, and essentially consisted of B-movie zombie gore and occasional biting (no pun intended) humor. Ok, not bad, nice job Rodriguez. The pseudo-trailers were entertaining, and wonderfully I'm not gonna lie, I was super-pumped to see this movie. I thought it was going to be amazingly fun as the PR had me believe. Christ, was I wrong. PLANET TERROR was the first half, the better half, and essentially consisted of B-movie zombie gore and occasional biting (no pun intended) humor. Ok, not bad, nice job Rodriguez. The pseudo-trailers were entertaining, and wonderfully over-the-top. At this point I should have left--had I, I would have walked out nodding my head thinking that Grindhouse was actually decent. Unfortunately that wasn't that case. DEATH PROOF was garbage. Complete and utter garbage. What happened Tarantino? PULP FICTION (among others) was phenomenal! And now nonsense about girls driving around angrily spewing pointless and inane dialogue chasing after Kurt Russell? Honesly My level of respect for Quentin just dropped a good dozen notches. My advice to anyone intent on watching Grindhouse: enjoy the first (enjoyable/disgusting) half, stay for the previews, skip the second half. PLANET TERROR: 6. DEATH PROOF: 0. Don't blow your time on this--toss it in the junk heap and go watch Reservoir Dogs. Expand
  15. [Anonymous]
    Apr 15, 2007
    0
    Politically correct garbage.
  16. BradR
    Oct 21, 2007
    3
    Death Proof was Awful. The only saving grace was the action scenes of which there were two, Kurt Russell lines were genius. The second half of the movie is what killed it. The movie goes on forever with a group of girls talking about nothing interesting the whole time I was waiting for kurt russel to kill all of them. Tracie Thomas' character was extremely annoying. It was a blatant Death Proof was Awful. The only saving grace was the action scenes of which there were two, Kurt Russell lines were genius. The second half of the movie is what killed it. The movie goes on forever with a group of girls talking about nothing interesting the whole time I was waiting for kurt russel to kill all of them. Tracie Thomas' character was extremely annoying. It was a blatant attempt to recreate a female version samuel jackson from pulp fiction, and it failed horribly. Expand
  17. Tyleru
    May 1, 2007
    3
    planet terror was alright. death proof sucked though
  18. PatrickC.
    May 7, 2007
    3
    The best thing about Grindhouse is the fake trailers, which are farely cool. Planet Terror is the better of the two but still a poor version of Dawn of the Dead. Death Proof is just bad. The whole movie feels rushed and over done. Quentin Tarantino has finally missed the mark. A mark which he has hit several times with Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown and my personal favorite, Reservoir Dogs. The best thing about Grindhouse is the fake trailers, which are farely cool. Planet Terror is the better of the two but still a poor version of Dawn of the Dead. Death Proof is just bad. The whole movie feels rushed and over done. Quentin Tarantino has finally missed the mark. A mark which he has hit several times with Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown and my personal favorite, Reservoir Dogs. Please don't waste your time and money and go see this movie in theaters. All this movie deserves is space thirteen on your Netflix Quota. Expand
  19. RossC.
    Sep 20, 2007
    1
    Most overrated piece of crap movie I have ever seen. The dialog is terrible, the characters are annoying, and this is not a Grindhouse horror flick.
  20. JoeyD.
    Sep 20, 2007
    1
    Rented Deathproof. Starts off with some cool 70's stylishness, but then slowly...slowly...ever so slowly turns into a complete bore. This is by far the most dull movies I've ever seen. If you rent this, save yourself some time by just fast forwarding through the tedious dialog. You won't miss a thing. Just get to the action scenes. All in all, there's only about 15 Rented Deathproof. Starts off with some cool 70's stylishness, but then slowly...slowly...ever so slowly turns into a complete bore. This is by far the most dull movies I've ever seen. If you rent this, save yourself some time by just fast forwarding through the tedious dialog. You won't miss a thing. Just get to the action scenes. All in all, there's only about 15 minutes of action and entertainment in the entire film. Expand
  21. NathanielD.
    Sep 24, 2007
    3
    I also rented Deathproof and high hopes - but the first disappoint was that post-theater consumers were going to have to rent both movies individually. I knew going into it that the pacing was going to be very slow, but I thought it would all be worth it in the end. It wasn't. If you're someone who's convinced you're going to like this no matter what and just know I also rented Deathproof and high hopes - but the first disappoint was that post-theater consumers were going to have to rent both movies individually. I knew going into it that the pacing was going to be very slow, but I thought it would all be worth it in the end. It wasn't. If you're someone who's convinced you're going to like this no matter what and just know it's going to be a 'masterpiece' in cinema, you'll probably like it. But for those who are on the fence or unsure, prepare for a bore. I didn't think the action scenes in Death Proof were disturbing at all, and the whole film is mostly a girl-power thrill ride, complete with what must be over an hour of high-school slumber party dialogue. I also feel that Tarantino completely missed the mark in getting the film to have that classic cheesy feel and pay proper tribute. It looked more like they tried to make what was supposed to be a bad movie good, and the results didn't satisfy. Hopefully Planet Terror will be more fun. Expand
  22. SamK.
    Sep 27, 2007
    1
    I agree with what Joey said. The movie was a complete waste of money, and I only rented it. For all the hype about Tarantino's 70's-esque direction and arty-stylish production, the dialogue is painfully boring, the plot non-sensical and the end result the destruction of two perfectly good Mopar muscle cars. And all for what? Is it trendy to watch a Tarantino movie?? Absolutely. I agree with what Joey said. The movie was a complete waste of money, and I only rented it. For all the hype about Tarantino's 70's-esque direction and arty-stylish production, the dialogue is painfully boring, the plot non-sensical and the end result the destruction of two perfectly good Mopar muscle cars. And all for what? Is it trendy to watch a Tarantino movie?? Absolutely. Will this movie have a cult following because it's a Tarantino movie? For sure. Was it any good? No, it sucked huge balls. Kill Bill and Jackie Brown were way better if you're looking for a girl-power movie, which this tried to be. I think Tarantino's been smoking too many banana leaves... Expand
  23. fsafasfafdgdfgfger3
    Mar 23, 2008
    4
    This double feature was overall pretty poor. The best parts, with out doubt, were the trailers. I loved 'Machete' and everything about that two minute clip was gold. "Planet Terror" took a little while to heat up and for the first half I was seriously contemplating leaving as I was that bored. However after a sex scene stops abruptly due to 'lost footage', the movie This double feature was overall pretty poor. The best parts, with out doubt, were the trailers. I loved 'Machete' and everything about that two minute clip was gold. "Planet Terror" took a little while to heat up and for the first half I was seriously contemplating leaving as I was that bored. However after a sex scene stops abruptly due to 'lost footage', the movie becomes an entertaining and over the top gory horror comedy. Even the terribly cliche characters and intentionally bad dialogue works well in both mimicking the zombie - genre films and in achieving laughs from the audience. The film carries Robert Rodriguez's trade mark of over the top gore, wacky and comedic violence and pretty outrageous and funny characters. Quentin Tarantino's 'Death Proof' starts mundane and ends pretty much the same way. A poor attempt of trying to mimick the the slasher / thriller genre. Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction were clearly Tarantino's pinnacle in script writing, as they were packed with cleverly well written dialogue. Jackie Brown was a bit long winded and Kill Bill Vol.1 and 2 were pretty much a waste of time, with some fun action but poor and unlikeable characters and useless and drawn-out banter. Death Proof marks Tarantino's fall as a great script writer. More or less the movie focuses on two seperate groups of 4 girls girls. The first four girls hang around a bar and just talk endlessly about scoring weed, their boyfriends, lapdances and their opinion of the movie's antagonist , Mike the Stuntsman, who is hanging around the bar. The dialogue is completely unintelligent and pointless and the characters poorly developed. The second half focuses on a completely unrelated group of girls and their attempts of trying to convince a man in allowing them to test - ride his car. Overall there's maybe around 10 minutes worth of action in Death Proof and it's atrociously bad, mainly involving the antagonist purposely crashing his car into victims or knock them off the road. It takes absolutely no inspiration from similiar and much better movies, such as Spielberg's 'Dual'. This is without doubt the most boring thriller / slasher movie ever made and overall 'Death Proof' truly deserves its total score of 0 (the score of 4 was given to Planet Terror only, while Death Proof doesn't deserve anything). Both movies were also plagued by Tarantino's presence, as he played semi - leads. In Terror Planet he played a zombie with a lot of dialogue, but his voice is far too soft and feminine to play this badass, touchy and aggresive character. In Death Proof he played a bar owner and clearly demonstrated his poor acting ability. Overall Rodriguez's Planet Terror get's 4 / 5, as it was a bit slow to begin with but overall was more satisfying and fun than most zombie movies preceding it. Death Proof gets 0 as it was one of the worst movies I've seen in years, a thriller that doesn't even fulfill the basic criteria of it's genre - lots of action and not too much discussion. Even then the level of dialogue would have been fine if it was interesting, but it wasn't, instead maintaining a continuous monotonous boring drawl. Expand
  24. John
    Jul 28, 2008
    1
    Trailers were great. I was really excited to see this. But it was just not good. I loved Pulp Fiction. But people talking in cars for 90 minutes. Why wasn't I warned? The king has no clothes metacritics. You are usually reliable. Put this with Titanic and Independence Day as movies that were just bad, but no one wants to look uncool so they say they are edgy. I love edgy, this was Trailers were great. I was really excited to see this. But it was just not good. I loved Pulp Fiction. But people talking in cars for 90 minutes. Why wasn't I warned? The king has no clothes metacritics. You are usually reliable. Put this with Titanic and Independence Day as movies that were just bad, but no one wants to look uncool so they say they are edgy. I love edgy, this was just a snooze. Made for TV at best. Expand
  25. NotbrainwashedB.
    Oct 28, 2007
    0
    To anyone not brainwashed by the pr around these two egomaniacal directors who surround themselves only with sycophants who won't tell them their this is garbage: we all know that these two "films" are worthless. Saying, "that's the point!" is no excuse. From the standpoint of fundamental storytelling, these films are garbage. The dialogue and directing/cinematography take a To anyone not brainwashed by the pr around these two egomaniacal directors who surround themselves only with sycophants who won't tell them their this is garbage: we all know that these two "films" are worthless. Saying, "that's the point!" is no excuse. From the standpoint of fundamental storytelling, these films are garbage. The dialogue and directing/cinematography take a creators' SELF-INDULGENCE to sinful, shameful levels. Shame on Tarantino and Rodriguez and all who sweat them while blinded to their masturbatory film-making. It's like these two tools who never got a girl until their careers took off are behind their cameras saying, "YEAH, LOOK HOW COOL THIS SHOT IS!!!" Who wants to watch reams of footage of some homely chicks (no, being on camera does not automatically make you attractive) babbling about inane topics? Tarantino's dialogue scenes are not "slices of real life," they are self-indulgent tangents that bore and drag and do not advance a story at all. They do not make us know or like the characters at all. Having a full conversation while hanging out a speeding car windshield? And PLANET TERROR? What kind of lowbrow gore toilet-bowl flick was that? Just think about it: a machine gun for a leg. Any 12 yr old boy can hatch an idea like that. Not every 12 yr old boy has agents and an enabling system of jockers. The fact these flicks made relatively no money shows at least the masses weren't too fooled. Quentin's produced Nathan since Pulp (which he cowrote) and Rodriguez should stick to kid flicks as he's never made a tight joint in his life. Sin City? Please. Incoherent drivel. Try King of New York or Warriors or French Connection or Pan's Labyrinth if you want to see a movie, just off the cuff. Toss these, Kill Bill, Jackie Brown, and Sin City in the boring and incoherent bin. Expand
  26. JoeM.
    Apr 10, 2007
    3
    One point for the fantastic "Thanksgiving" trailer, and two points for Rodriguez's "Planet Terror." Tarentino's "Deathproof" was his worst project to date. The dialogue was his usual, drawn out discussion of trivial things, but instead of enlightening us about the characters, it was simply boring and uneventful. The ending was incredibly anticlimactic and feeble.
  27. JimmusMaximus
    Apr 10, 2007
    3
    So Tarantino and Rodriguez set out to pay homage to bad movies, and made two bad movies. Success! Tarantino, like Kevin Smith, is very over-rated, and could literally crap on film and people would watch it. Not a complete waste of time, since it makes you appreciate good movies more.
  28. KevinN.
    Apr 12, 2007
    4
    I can't quite understand the buzz surrounding this double feature. If you want to see a bad b-movie, why do you need the biggest directors and clearly largest budgets to painstakingly recreate things which already exist? Planet Terror was a typical gross-out gorefest. It features more explosions than I've seen in recent memory. And Rose McGowan is great to look at. But I can't quite understand the buzz surrounding this double feature. If you want to see a bad b-movie, why do you need the biggest directors and clearly largest budgets to painstakingly recreate things which already exist? Planet Terror was a typical gross-out gorefest. It features more explosions than I've seen in recent memory. And Rose McGowan is great to look at. But we've seen this zombie movie 100 times already. As for DeathProof, it drags at first and features a good car chase. Ultimately, however, DeathProof is ONLY a car chase. That the vengeance is enacted by a carload of sexy swomen seems somewhat new, but they are ultimately as barbaric as men could be--It just wasn't satisfying. I also object to the presence of Quentin Tarantino in both films for roles more than just cameos. He looks like a bloated baby and has the screen magnetism of balsa wood. Both of the films use "wink-wink" gimmicks which make the copies seem old: like scratches, burning, mismatched edits and sound at times. But these two very good directors clearly spent much time and effort trying to get effects which I'm glad are largely gone. I did like the trailers;they were short and funny. In my mind Rob Zombie's two previous films are of the same genre as this film but rthey espect their heritage without trying to completely imitate them. If Grindhouse had been truly scary or exciting or provocative or insightful, I would feel differently. Maybe it will stand up to other art pieces in the style of Rene Magritte's famous pipe canvas, "Ceci n'est pas une pipe." Grindhouse is not really a bad, old film; but it sure looks an awful lot like one. Expand
  29. GeorgeH.
    Apr 12, 2007
    2
    Ugh!!! If you're gonna make B-Movies that were supposed to be made in 1972, stick with it! Keep the references in the era. It was confusing at first during "Planet Terror" when pagers and video games were mentioned even though the look of the film was pretty consistently early 70's. Then along comes "Death Proof"! It started out hysterically with deliberately bad continuity but Ugh!!! If you're gonna make B-Movies that were supposed to be made in 1972, stick with it! Keep the references in the era. It was confusing at first during "Planet Terror" when pagers and video games were mentioned even though the look of the film was pretty consistently early 70's. Then along comes "Death Proof"! It started out hysterically with deliberately bad continuity but it slowly - SLOWLY - starts to unravel from there. Tarantino just couldn't mantain the concept. Worst of all is the meanderingly "hip chick" dialogue. It just wouldn't stop. Tarantino needs an editor to say, "OK. Tighten it up. Take what you've written and cut it in half." On the plus side, strong performances especially by Rose McGowan and of course the faux trailers were the highlight. Expand
  30. StedmonW
    Apr 26, 2007
    4
    Tarantino delivers some of the worst dialogue this side of The Marine starring John Cena. It took Rodriguez two movies to get away from his faded mexican in the desert trademark and now he's better than ever. When will Tarantino finally grow up and do something else besides write such long-winded and uninspired crap? Leave after Planet Terror is over and you'll get your moneys worth
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. If you were keeping score, it would be Quentin Tarantino 1, Robert Rodriguez 0.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    Planet Terror delivers only momentary kicks...while Tarantino's Death Proof is a juicy, delicious treat, its pleasures stem much less from the play with genre conventions than from great dialogue and electric performances.
  3. Reviewed by: Nathan Lee
    100
    This monumentally pointless movie is best summarized by a line from Planet Terror: "At some point in your life, you find a use for every useless talent you have." Rodriguez, Tarantino, and Co. aim for nothing more noble than to freak the funk, and it's about godd--- time. Go wasted, go stoned, go without your parents' permission. In paying homage to an obsolete form of movie culture, Grindhouse delivers a dropkick to ours.