Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: April 6, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 514 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
414
Mixed:
46
Negative:
54
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
KeithL.Apr 7, 2007
"Planet Terror" was sheer schlocky genius. RR totally gets it and used the film damage effects at perfect points in his story to compliment story lines. The trailers had me laughing so hard it hurt. I loved seeing the bumpers for previews "Planet Terror" was sheer schlocky genius. RR totally gets it and used the film damage effects at perfect points in his story to compliment story lines. The trailers had me laughing so hard it hurt. I loved seeing the bumpers for previews and feature presentation. Took me back to my youth. "Death Proof" however takes the momentum and crushes it. QT is such an ego-maniac that he refuses to cut long dialog scenes that do not serve the story at all. He also uses all of his "film damage" effects in the first reel of "Death Proof" and then settles into modern techniques of photographing and directing. Check the diner scene in which the camera circles the 4 women and dialog is delivered in 1 take. 70's style? Hell no. The payoff of "Death Proof" almost makes up for the dull, drawn meandering babble that QT seems to proud of to CUT. This one is an underachiever. I truly believe a real Grindhouse version of this would have had Kurt Russell running down many more pretty young girls versus gab and babble. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JustinC.Apr 8, 2007
More like Robert Rodriguez 1 Tarantino 0.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TylerDrainvilleSep 27, 2007
Pretty enjoyable movie. Not amazing, but it was very entertaining. Props to Quinten for the final scene being kick-ass. Literally.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AMovieCriticApr 14, 2007
Robert Rodriguez's (Sin City) movie, "Planet Terror," is one of the best zombie movies I've ever seen. So insanely over the top and completely violent, yet also extremely funny, it had the audience CHEERING. It is an extremely fun Robert Rodriguez's (Sin City) movie, "Planet Terror," is one of the best zombie movies I've ever seen. So insanely over the top and completely violent, yet also extremely funny, it had the audience CHEERING. It is an extremely fun movie and really, REALLY worked well. The best parts involve Cherry and her machine gun leg. Over the top violence with the zombies, some really graphic death scenes, some really cool action, very likable characters, and AWESOME music. Plus...it's funny. It's got a real great sense of humor. It's a crowd-pleaser, designed to allow the audience to have a complete blast and we do; it's a really cool movie. Again, REALLY, REALLY great movie. Then Quentin Tarantino's "Death Proof" comes along to completely ruin the fun. This has got to be one of the worst movies I've ever seen. EVER. Tarantino's movie not only does NOT, whatsoever, fit in with the whole "Grindhouse" theme they were going for, but it has no plot, it's not funny, it's not exciting...it is just horribly boring and self-indulgent. You sit there for a half hour and watch a group of stoned, drunk women sit at a bar and talk about NOTHING.......for an entire half hour. It's torture. Then, you're teased with some action, then....it stops, and you meet a new cast of women, and you have to sit through it AGAIN. It just goes on and on. Insanely boring. There's a good car chase for the final 20 minutes of the movie. But....by that point I just wanted to get the hell out of the theater. (And the audience did too.) The movie is not just bad. It's UNBEARABLE. But don't let that stop you. See Grindhouse, enjoy the fake trailers, enjoy the AMAZING "Planet Terror," but save yourself; get the hell out of there before Death Proof starts, you'll be glad you did. Looking at critic reviews, I see most preferred Death Proof; figures. The critics (once again) couldn't possibly be more out of touch with what moviegoers think. I recently read an article that blamed Grindhouse's poor box office performance on "Planet Terror" ....what a joke. Audiences will love Planet Terror. Grindhouse's films will be released separately in many countries; hopefully box office numbers will be superior for Planet Terror. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EstherN.Apr 7, 2007
Planet Terror was bang on. Go to see it for Planet Terror and the trailers. As to the enormous problem... Holy Crap did Tarantino's Death Proof suck. There was endless, witless, meaningless dialogue ad infinitum. I saw it with a group Planet Terror was bang on. Go to see it for Planet Terror and the trailers. As to the enormous problem... Holy Crap did Tarantino's Death Proof suck. There was endless, witless, meaningless dialogue ad infinitum. I saw it with a group of very bright, very funny people, and it nearly had the group of us screaming in frustration and fleeing to watch paint. Death Proof could be a successful 35 minute short. The man has no ideas. Anyone who praises his tedious writing in this film hates you, and wants you to die an unhappy death. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HelenaIMar 14, 2008
I can only talk about 'death proof'. Forget the first story and enjoy the second.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyencokeApr 12, 2007
Planet Terror was cool, commercail were awesome. Death Proof was far the boring and fairly lame. Planet Terror was easily better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamM.Apr 22, 2007
Not much to add that hasn't been said before - the fake trailers were brilliant. Planet Terror is the superior film - Rodgriguez has become the superior technical filmmaker. He still doesn't have the flair for dialogue that Not much to add that hasn't been said before - the fake trailers were brilliant. Planet Terror is the superior film - Rodgriguez has become the superior technical filmmaker. He still doesn't have the flair for dialogue that Tarantino has, but... Then comes Death Proof which we've taken to calling "Quentin makes up chicks who talk and act exactly the way his dream woman would be." Tarantino's flair for dialogue was an obvious crutch for this film. I got the distinct feeling that he wasn't all that interested in his half of the movie beyond outlining "hot chicks...Stuntman...Car Chases...reference car films that are not 'The French Connection' to show knowledge of the genre..." The Weinstein Brothers need to reel Quentin instead of letting him be this self-indulgent brat. He has good ideas, but much like "Kill Bill 1 & 2," he has developed a nasty habit of trying to cram a 100-minute story into 200 minutes... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Sep 3, 2010
Death Proof - Quentin Tarantino pays homage to 70's B Movies.
Great dialogue as you would expect from QT & Kurt Russell is superb as Stuntman Mike. The car chases & stunts are top notch but the whole thing just seems a bit pointless. Oh &
Death Proof - Quentin Tarantino pays homage to 70's B Movies.
Great dialogue as you would expect from QT & Kurt Russell is superb as Stuntman Mike. The car chases & stunts are top notch but the whole thing just seems a bit pointless. Oh & Vanessa Ferlito, wow!! Planet Terror - Robert Rodriguez's take on the B-Movie genre.
Plenty of cheesyness & over the top gore & also very watchable. Some genuine laugh out loud moments in it.Much better than Death Proof in my opinion.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeMar 7, 2016
Death Proof: It may not be Tarantino's finest piece of work - but it is one hell of a ride once it picks up speed. The first act requires patience, but fully prepares you for the brilliant second sequence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KevinR.Apr 8, 2007
An interesting take on the terrible B movies of the past, but it unfortunately comes of as less satire and more as a concerted effort that just failed. None of the stories seen all that interesting, other than the trailers (especially Eli An interesting take on the terrible B movies of the past, but it unfortunately comes of as less satire and more as a concerted effort that just failed. None of the stories seen all that interesting, other than the trailers (especially Eli Roth's Thanksgiving and Rob Zombies Werewolf Women of the S.S.) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ShawnC.Apr 6, 2007
Death Proof is almost good enough to make it worth sitting through the overlong, quite tedious Planet Terror. Kurt Russell is really quite good in Death Proof, and the story, if simple, is still captivating. Nothing in Planet Terror comes close.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MarcD.Apr 8, 2007
Planet Terror is excellent - Freddy Rodriquez and Rose McGowan are perfect in their roles, and it's just a hell of a lot of fun. Death Proof is flat out boring. It brought nothing at all to the table except a really fun car chase, but Planet Terror is excellent - Freddy Rodriquez and Rose McGowan are perfect in their roles, and it's just a hell of a lot of fun. Death Proof is flat out boring. It brought nothing at all to the table except a really fun car chase, but in a vacuum - which Death Proof is, a car chase doesn't cut it. So go see Planet Terror, check out the previews that follow, then hit the exits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillW.May 6, 2007
Planet Terror was 20 minutes too long. Death Proof was about an hour too long. Granted, I watched it during a matinee, so there were only 5 others when the movie started, but I was the only one left when it was over. Planet Terror is a Planet Terror was 20 minutes too long. Death Proof was about an hour too long. Granted, I watched it during a matinee, so there were only 5 others when the movie started, but I was the only one left when it was over. Planet Terror is a sometimes funny zombie gore-fest, but you can only be entertained by that for so long before it starts to get dull. Death Proof just drags and drags. Tarantino trys to get by with his great dialogue again, but it's just not there this time and the first hour of the movie is just puttering along trying to set up but the big car chase scene at the end. No car chase is worth sitting through an hour of absolutely nothing happening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JHApr 24, 2007
Fans of outlandish and gory horror flicks will probably love this movie, especially Planet Terror. My wife and I enjoyed Death Proof more because it wasn't as "over the top" as Planet Terror, and girls kicking ass are cool. I wish we Fans of outlandish and gory horror flicks will probably love this movie, especially Planet Terror. My wife and I enjoyed Death Proof more because it wasn't as "over the top" as Planet Terror, and girls kicking ass are cool. I wish we had waited for DVD on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeApr 8, 2007
Not my types of movies.... But they were "ok" The trailers were the best part of both movies! Great stuff. Planet terror was a a little too silly, if they made it more serious I think it would of been better. Death proof: i have to say thatNot my types of movies.... But they were "ok" The trailers were the best part of both movies! Great stuff. Planet terror was a a little too silly, if they made it more serious I think it would of been better. Death proof: i have to say that the dialogue between the women, was intresting. I liked that part. Overall, a very different movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ZekeC.Sep 17, 2007
This movie was alright but I was very disappointed. With the status of great cult movies like Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs and Kill Bill I expected this to be a new classic from a master film maker-instead what I saw was an hour and a half This movie was alright but I was very disappointed. With the status of great cult movies like Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs and Kill Bill I expected this to be a new classic from a master film maker-instead what I saw was an hour and a half of meaningless girl talk with two half exiting parts. I would say this is a rent and nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
drlowdonMay 25, 2013
As of yet I haven't seen Planet Terror so can't comment as to its quality. As for Death Proof, it features the usual entertaining dialogue, stunts and bursts of violence you'd expect from a Tarantino movie but just lacks the flair that madeAs of yet I haven't seen Planet Terror so can't comment as to its quality. As for Death Proof, it features the usual entertaining dialogue, stunts and bursts of violence you'd expect from a Tarantino movie but just lacks the flair that made films like Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill into cult classics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
potatoes351Mar 16, 2013
Drugs, sex and a hell of a lot of violence, what else do you need in a film? A story would have gone amiss though. Grindhouse is a modern day...Grindhouse film, it brings together the amazing writing skills of Trantino and the not veryDrugs, sex and a hell of a lot of violence, what else do you need in a film? A story would have gone amiss though. Grindhouse is a modern day...Grindhouse film, it brings together the amazing writing skills of Trantino and the not very talented at anything Rodriguez to make two films and put them in the same box.
Planet Terror, directed by Rodriguez, is the more violent of the two films. It is a family friendly horror film that you can sit down, watch, then forget about in 10 minutes because there was no plot, bad actors and some pretty special effects...but then again it wouldn't be Grindhouse if it didn't have these attributes. Very fun if you are drunk, a bit of a bore if you aren't.
Deathproof is Tarantino's baby. Now you will only like Deathproof if you like Tarantino, take that as a warning. The film is already about 50 minutes in before anything exciting happens and then there is only one other action sequence after that, but it does provide some very good quotes for you and your buddies to bust out, just like Pulp Fiction did (lets face it, who doesn't quote Pulp Fiction).
Personally I prefer Deathproof, but that's because I like Tarantino and I dont like Rodriguez. But both films are worth it for a reasonable price, nothing over £10 for the Blu-Ray though.
P.S: Deathproof is also better because of Mary Elizabeth Winstead wearing a cheerleader costume...dat body
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
nippu33May 15, 2013
Tribute to zombie movies a nifty produced by Robert Rodriguez, but gets to be a bit weird and super disgusting, yet guarantees fun with ridiculously bizarre scenes funnier. good movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysDec 31, 2013
Grindhouse is a trip down memory lane for the 70's and 80's moviegoers. The great thing is that both movies could stand alone. Planet Terror is okay, but Tarantino's Death Proof takes the cake. Planet Terror is more pulpy while Death Proof isGrindhouse is a trip down memory lane for the 70's and 80's moviegoers. The great thing is that both movies could stand alone. Planet Terror is okay, but Tarantino's Death Proof takes the cake. Planet Terror is more pulpy while Death Proof is more gory. Definitely not Tarantino's best movie (and in that right, it's probably his least best), but still fun to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JohnN.Apr 8, 2007
I give it a 5 for the fun I had in Planet Terror, but Death Proof was like watching paint dry. The dialogue was painfully boring, and I LOVE QT films. I see many reviews here saying how "groundbreaking" this film was. Come on, guys. I give it a 5 for the fun I had in Planet Terror, but Death Proof was like watching paint dry. The dialogue was painfully boring, and I LOVE QT films. I see many reviews here saying how "groundbreaking" this film was. Come on, guys. Seriously? Really, really pointless. And I love how some people say: "You low IQ people just don't get the sheer brilliance of Death Proof." Brilliance? Wow. I guess I saw a different movie. Because Death Proof was better than a sleeping pill. The girls dialogue seens were like 20 minutes at a time of NOTHING. If Planet Terror was not attached to my rating, Death Proof would get a 2. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
NilsK.Sep 23, 2007
Well in order to enjoy this movie you'll have to belong to a very limited group of people. I read the reviews about this movie, witch described it as a superb movie. Well let's just say I was VERY disappointed after watching this Well in order to enjoy this movie you'll have to belong to a very limited group of people. I read the reviews about this movie, witch described it as a superb movie. Well let's just say I was VERY disappointed after watching this movie. The movie has no story line whatsoever, basicly you see a group of people talking about random things and experiencing random ( uninteresting ) things, and then they get killed. Then you see another group of people again talking about random things and again experiencing random things, the psycho tries to kill them too but fails, and then gets chased by these girls in an over the top ridiculously stupid catchphrase. Thats it. The whole story in 3 seconds. There's nothing more to it, the whole movie is made out of 1:15 hours of random chitchat and 15 minutes of ridiculously over the top action. I advise you to not even give this a rent. The masterly director that Quentin is ( or at least was ) shows nowhere and I mean nowhere in this movie. I expect the only reason why this movie gets such good reviews is because it was directed by Tarantino and we wouldn't dare to diss him would we now, nah this movie sucks donkey dick. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DenizY.Apr 7, 2007
The first one was pretty good, but the second one had about an hours worth of Tarantino that was SOOOO BORING. I love Pulp Fiction, but the second movie, Death Proof, had horrible dialogue to the point where I was just spacing out in the The first one was pretty good, but the second one had about an hours worth of Tarantino that was SOOOO BORING. I love Pulp Fiction, but the second movie, Death Proof, had horrible dialogue to the point where I was just spacing out in the drive-in and me and my friends were just talking on and on. It reminded me of Sex in the City, and then later on in the second movie they had a pretty sweet car scene that was cool for about 2 minutes but then they just kept recycling the same idea over and over again Do yourself a favor and wait till it's out on DVD or sneak into a drive-in and only pay for 1/3 of the people in your car Tarantino, this is my biggest disappointment with your work since Kill Bill 2. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MichaelE.Apr 8, 2007
Exploitation movies are often stupid and bad, and I can forgive that in a recreation of this sort - but exploitation movies are usually boring too, and that I can't forgive. Planet Terror begins with Rose McGowan go-go dancing. Exploitation movies are often stupid and bad, and I can forgive that in a recreation of this sort - but exploitation movies are usually boring too, and that I can't forgive. Planet Terror begins with Rose McGowan go-go dancing. It's sexy. I turned to my buddy and said: "Bet it's all downhill from here." It was. Planet Terror is spectacularly dull, filled with fake frenetic action worthy of one of the Star Wars prequels. There's nothing much to latch onto. It's about as exciting as watching really violent paint dry. Death Proof is a little bit better, but not great. While the already infamous boggy dialogue scenes definitely hurt the movie (one such scene would have been nice, but not nothing but)), the real problem is the pointlessness of those scenes: nothing revealed about the characters ends up mattering, (except "She's a stuntwoman," I guess). There's no real plot either, just talk talk talk, then action - like a Godzilla movie. That said, the car chase is awesome. But it belongs in a better movie. It would have been nice to have a real ending, too, but since there was no plot how could there be an ending? The trailers are the best part. I would much rather have seen "Machete" than Planet Terror. It's kind of sad to think that Rob Zombie and Eli Roth, both of whom make Rodriguez look like Brian De Palma and Tarantino like Hitchcock, provide some of the best material here. They, I think, understood that this was supposed to be a joke. I saw The Queen in the very same theatre. It was far more exciting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
f308gtAug 26, 2008
The best bits = Rose McGowan and especially the soundtrack of Planet Terror. The worst bits = Tracie Thoms and the fact she lived (unforgivable) Planet Terror. Rose McGowan and especially the soundtrack were the best bits of a sexy, witty The best bits = Rose McGowan and especially the soundtrack of Planet Terror. The worst bits = Tracie Thoms and the fact she lived (unforgivable) Planet Terror. Rose McGowan and especially the soundtrack were the best bits of a sexy, witty and enjoyable film. The timing of the dodgy movie craft missing reels etc. was spot on Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
5
JosephD.Nov 10, 2007
the characters arent as strong ,compared to his pryor movies, with the exception exception of the dark skinned girl in the second part,she was great. kurt russell was decent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RoccoD.Apr 13, 2007
If you see Grindhouse , watch Planet Terror , skip Deathproof. I'm a fan of Tarantino's work but his movie is too slow, not funny and pointless, there is nothing good about it sadly. Planet Terror on the other is more action packed If you see Grindhouse , watch Planet Terror , skip Deathproof. I'm a fan of Tarantino's work but his movie is too slow, not funny and pointless, there is nothing good about it sadly. Planet Terror on the other is more action packed and far more entertaining. But it wasn't good enough to make up for DP. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
FrancoisL.Nov 12, 2007
Both movie lacks pretty much everything except it has its moments...Planet Terror had about 2 funny moments and the rest of the movie was a pointless massacre, no story and quite boring. As far as Deathproof goes, the famous car chase was Both movie lacks pretty much everything except it has its moments...Planet Terror had about 2 funny moments and the rest of the movie was a pointless massacre, no story and quite boring. As far as Deathproof goes, the famous car chase was pretty awesome, other than that it had its moments but the dialogues are really long. Even though the actors are really good in both movies, Planet Terror is still horrible while Deathproof is somewhat very good except for some long dialogues. Anyway, I do not recommend Planet Terror to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
So far I have seen only "Planet Terror" for this movie, but its just bloody and gruesome. What is the point of remaking a 80's exploitation film? I definitely gave up watching "Death Proof" after the end of the film. I just can't.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobFeb 10, 2013
Planet Terror was ok, I give it a 5. Ending was poor and I hated how it skipped a huge sequence near the end of the film (they arrive at the bar and then it skips to it being being set on fire after a huge fight). Still entertaining, AlthoughPlanet Terror was ok, I give it a 5. Ending was poor and I hated how it skipped a huge sequence near the end of the film (they arrive at the bar and then it skips to it being being set on fire after a huge fight). Still entertaining, Although in a stupid sort of way. I liked Death Proof but it was too long imo, It could have been a lot shorter. Also, The ending absolutely ruined the film imo, It was terrible and was a huge slap to the face after sitting through the near 2 hour run time. Overall, I went into it with no expectations so I wasn't greatly disapointed but I was disapointed none the less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GaborA.Apr 8, 2007
Both the movies are tediously long. If you just shave 30 minutes off each you get a nice 2 hour and 20 or so minute sitting which is fine. The difference between the two features specifically is that if you cut 30 minutes of pretentious Both the movies are tediously long. If you just shave 30 minutes off each you get a nice 2 hour and 20 or so minute sitting which is fine. The difference between the two features specifically is that if you cut 30 minutes of pretentious dialogue and set up out of Death Proof you get an enjoyable hour film. If you cut 30 minutes out of Planet Terror you merely carry it over to bearable from unbearable territory. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
4
KenG.May 17, 2007
There seems to be a lot of disagreement among the critics and others as to who made the better movie, Rodriguez or Tarantino, but the fact is, neither one did a good job. Rodriguez got so carried away with the idea of making a "bad" movie, There seems to be a lot of disagreement among the critics and others as to who made the better movie, Rodriguez or Tarantino, but the fact is, neither one did a good job. Rodriguez got so carried away with the idea of making a "bad" movie, that he actually wound up with a bad movie, rather than a clever, funny imitation of that type of "bad" movie. His movie is a mess, and the fact that it was an intentional mess, is not enough to make it work. On the other hand Tarantino really didn't seem that interested in this project. He seemed much more interested in doing his version of a chick flick, with all the non-stop gab (much of it uninteresting, no matter how much the critics drool over it) that seems to go on forever. The action just seems to be tacked on to fullfill his obligation to the project. Between the 2, I'd say Rodriguez did the better job, simply because he was more into the spirit of the project. But the only thing in the movie that was done well, well the previews. I also wasn't impressed with the intentionally shabby feel of the films, for 2 reasons. One is that I gotta think it's not hard to capture that feel. The other reason is that much of the charm of the old shabbily done films they are copying is that those films weren't done shabbily on purpose. By being shabby on purpose they are cutting the charm out of it. They are trying to capture an effect that you really can't, at least not intentionally. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JamesOSep 16, 2008
I saw both of these movies through Netflix on separate occasions. I thought Planet Terror was awesome, but Death Proof was completely awful. Seriously, what's so great about a movie where 75 minutes of the film is dialogue between a I saw both of these movies through Netflix on separate occasions. I thought Planet Terror was awesome, but Death Proof was completely awful. Seriously, what's so great about a movie where 75 minutes of the film is dialogue between a bunch of women who talk about absolutely nothing (e.g. their daily lives, their occupations, their boyfriends, etc.)?! I don't get it. Planet Terror, on the other hand, was radical in every respect and didn't try and pretend to be something it wasn't: that is, a balls to the wall zombie/action movie. Tarantino is a highly regarded director by both critics and the public, but with this one he just fails miserably. I'd give Planet Terror an 8 and Death Proof a 0. So, using the power of averages, the overall score for Grindhouse comes out to a 4. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
fsafasfafdgdfgfger3Mar 23, 2008
This double feature was overall pretty poor. The best parts, with out doubt, were the trailers. I loved 'Machete' and everything about that two minute clip was gold. "Planet Terror" took a little while to heat up and for the first This double feature was overall pretty poor. The best parts, with out doubt, were the trailers. I loved 'Machete' and everything about that two minute clip was gold. "Planet Terror" took a little while to heat up and for the first half I was seriously contemplating leaving as I was that bored. However after a sex scene stops abruptly due to 'lost footage', the movie becomes an entertaining and over the top gory horror comedy. Even the terribly cliche characters and intentionally bad dialogue works well in both mimicking the zombie - genre films and in achieving laughs from the audience. The film carries Robert Rodriguez's trade mark of over the top gore, wacky and comedic violence and pretty outrageous and funny characters. Quentin Tarantino's 'Death Proof' starts mundane and ends pretty much the same way. A poor attempt of trying to mimick the the slasher / thriller genre. Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction were clearly Tarantino's pinnacle in script writing, as they were packed with cleverly well written dialogue. Jackie Brown was a bit long winded and Kill Bill Vol.1 and 2 were pretty much a waste of time, with some fun action but poor and unlikeable characters and useless and drawn-out banter. Death Proof marks Tarantino's fall as a great script writer. More or less the movie focuses on two seperate groups of 4 girls girls. The first four girls hang around a bar and just talk endlessly about scoring weed, their boyfriends, lapdances and their opinion of the movie's antagonist , Mike the Stuntsman, who is hanging around the bar. The dialogue is completely unintelligent and pointless and the characters poorly developed. The second half focuses on a completely unrelated group of girls and their attempts of trying to convince a man in allowing them to test - ride his car. Overall there's maybe around 10 minutes worth of action in Death Proof and it's atrociously bad, mainly involving the antagonist purposely crashing his car into victims or knock them off the road. It takes absolutely no inspiration from similiar and much better movies, such as Spielberg's 'Dual'. This is without doubt the most boring thriller / slasher movie ever made and overall 'Death Proof' truly deserves its total score of 0 (the score of 4 was given to Planet Terror only, while Death Proof doesn't deserve anything). Both movies were also plagued by Tarantino's presence, as he played semi - leads. In Terror Planet he played a zombie with a lot of dialogue, but his voice is far too soft and feminine to play this badass, touchy and aggresive character. In Death Proof he played a bar owner and clearly demonstrated his poor acting ability. Overall Rodriguez's Planet Terror get's 4 / 5, as it was a bit slow to begin with but overall was more satisfying and fun than most zombie movies preceding it. Death Proof gets 0 as it was one of the worst movies I've seen in years, a thriller that doesn't even fulfill the basic criteria of it's genre - lots of action and not too much discussion. Even then the level of dialogue would have been fine if it was interesting, but it wasn't, instead maintaining a continuous monotonous boring drawl. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinN.Apr 12, 2007
I can't quite understand the buzz surrounding this double feature. If you want to see a bad b-movie, why do you need the biggest directors and clearly largest budgets to painstakingly recreate things which already exist? Planet Terror I can't quite understand the buzz surrounding this double feature. If you want to see a bad b-movie, why do you need the biggest directors and clearly largest budgets to painstakingly recreate things which already exist? Planet Terror was a typical gross-out gorefest. It features more explosions than I've seen in recent memory. And Rose McGowan is great to look at. But we've seen this zombie movie 100 times already. As for DeathProof, it drags at first and features a good car chase. Ultimately, however, DeathProof is ONLY a car chase. That the vengeance is enacted by a carload of sexy swomen seems somewhat new, but they are ultimately as barbaric as men could be--It just wasn't satisfying. I also object to the presence of Quentin Tarantino in both films for roles more than just cameos. He looks like a bloated baby and has the screen magnetism of balsa wood. Both of the films use "wink-wink" gimmicks which make the copies seem old: like scratches, burning, mismatched edits and sound at times. But these two very good directors clearly spent much time and effort trying to get effects which I'm glad are largely gone. I did like the trailers;they were short and funny. In my mind Rob Zombie's two previous films are of the same genre as this film but rthey espect their heritage without trying to completely imitate them. If Grindhouse had been truly scary or exciting or provocative or insightful, I would feel differently. Maybe it will stand up to other art pieces in the style of Rene Magritte's famous pipe canvas, "Ceci n'est pas une pipe." Grindhouse is not really a bad, old film; but it sure looks an awful lot like one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
StedmonWApr 26, 2007
Tarantino delivers some of the worst dialogue this side of The Marine starring John Cena. It took Rodriguez two movies to get away from his faded mexican in the desert trademark and now he's better than ever. When will Tarantino finally Tarantino delivers some of the worst dialogue this side of The Marine starring John Cena. It took Rodriguez two movies to get away from his faded mexican in the desert trademark and now he's better than ever. When will Tarantino finally grow up and do something else besides write such long-winded and uninspired crap? Leave after Planet Terror is over and you'll get your moneys worth Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidB.Apr 8, 2007
Two mediocre movies for the price of one. Rodriguez already made a zombie/action homage movie: Dusk to Dawn. And Tarantino's contribution is a 15 minute car chase plus over an hour of chit-chatting women. T always does great chit-chat, Two mediocre movies for the price of one. Rodriguez already made a zombie/action homage movie: Dusk to Dawn. And Tarantino's contribution is a 15 minute car chase plus over an hour of chit-chatting women. T always does great chit-chat, but usually tells a good story too. Not this time. Neither movie would be credible by itself, and doubling them up doesn't make it better, just longer. For a better homage stay home and re-watch Sin City and Jackie Brown. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RickA.Apr 10, 2007
I find it hard to give a rating to Grindhouse because of the two very different movies that make up the double bill. First the fake trailers, they were all funny. The standout to me was Thanksgiving, a laugh out loud riot. Next comes Planet I find it hard to give a rating to Grindhouse because of the two very different movies that make up the double bill. First the fake trailers, they were all funny. The standout to me was Thanksgiving, a laugh out loud riot. Next comes Planet Terror. A gore filled campy zombie flick that is as fun and light hearted as can be. Enjoy the ride because this one is fun. Finally Tarantino comes along and kills the whole expierence. I can't really explain how bad I thought Deathproof was. I absolutely hated the movie. The long drawn out dialogue about nothing. The complete bad ass Kurt Russell turned into a comical whiny loser. The camp of the whole thing ruined by the seriousness of Deathproof. Complete and utterly bad movie. Tarantino's way overrated by critics. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TerryR.Apr 6, 2007
Really tedious. The first one: Ok, we get it..old movies had scratches in the film and drop-outs. Not sure what he was trying to accomplish..folks dressed like people in 70's movies, driving old cars, sending messages on their Really tedious. The first one: Ok, we get it..old movies had scratches in the film and drop-outs. Not sure what he was trying to accomplish..folks dressed like people in 70's movies, driving old cars, sending messages on their PDA's (?). Some shots borrowed directly from old films, other stuff shot very contemporary...should have picked a style and stuck with it.Tarantino needs to quit sticking that mutant mug of his in front of the camera..the guy is not an actor. First one went on WAY too long. Second movie...did anyone really buy Kurt Russell as a menacing old stuntman? A few moments, but about 1.5 hours in I started checking my watch and saw quite a few folks give up and walk out. Meatheads will give it a good review because they think that this shows they have an appreciation of what the two hack directors were trying to do. Don't believe the hype...spend your time watching actual old grindhouse movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TyleruMay 1, 2007
planet terror was alright. death proof sucked though
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PatrickC.May 7, 2007
The best thing about Grindhouse is the fake trailers, which are farely cool. Planet Terror is the better of the two but still a poor version of Dawn of the Dead. Death Proof is just bad. The whole movie feels rushed and over done. Quentin The best thing about Grindhouse is the fake trailers, which are farely cool. Planet Terror is the better of the two but still a poor version of Dawn of the Dead. Death Proof is just bad. The whole movie feels rushed and over done. Quentin Tarantino has finally missed the mark. A mark which he has hit several times with Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown and my personal favorite, Reservoir Dogs. Please don't waste your time and money and go see this movie in theaters. All this movie deserves is space thirteen on your Netflix Quota. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NathanielD.Sep 24, 2007
I also rented Deathproof and high hopes - but the first disappoint was that post-theater consumers were going to have to rent both movies individually. I knew going into it that the pacing was going to be very slow, but I thought it would I also rented Deathproof and high hopes - but the first disappoint was that post-theater consumers were going to have to rent both movies individually. I knew going into it that the pacing was going to be very slow, but I thought it would all be worth it in the end. It wasn't. If you're someone who's convinced you're going to like this no matter what and just know it's going to be a 'masterpiece' in cinema, you'll probably like it. But for those who are on the fence or unsure, prepare for a bore. I didn't think the action scenes in Death Proof were disturbing at all, and the whole film is mostly a girl-power thrill ride, complete with what must be over an hour of high-school slumber party dialogue. I also feel that Tarantino completely missed the mark in getting the film to have that classic cheesy feel and pay proper tribute. It looked more like they tried to make what was supposed to be a bad movie good, and the results didn't satisfy. Hopefully Planet Terror will be more fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EricS.Nov 20, 2007
I'm not gonna lie, I was super-pumped to see this movie. I thought it was going to be amazingly fun as the PR had me believe. Christ, was I wrong. PLANET TERROR was the first half, the better half, and essentially consisted of B-movie I'm not gonna lie, I was super-pumped to see this movie. I thought it was going to be amazingly fun as the PR had me believe. Christ, was I wrong. PLANET TERROR was the first half, the better half, and essentially consisted of B-movie zombie gore and occasional biting (no pun intended) humor. Ok, not bad, nice job Rodriguez. The pseudo-trailers were entertaining, and wonderfully over-the-top. At this point I should have left--had I, I would have walked out nodding my head thinking that Grindhouse was actually decent. Unfortunately that wasn't that case. DEATH PROOF was garbage. Complete and utter garbage. What happened Tarantino? PULP FICTION (among others) was phenomenal! And now nonsense about girls driving around angrily spewing pointless and inane dialogue chasing after Kurt Russell? Honesly My level of respect for Quentin just dropped a good dozen notches. My advice to anyone intent on watching Grindhouse: enjoy the first (enjoyable/disgusting) half, stay for the previews, skip the second half. PLANET TERROR: 6. DEATH PROOF: 0. Don't blow your time on this--toss it in the junk heap and go watch Reservoir Dogs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JoeM.Apr 10, 2007
One point for the fantastic "Thanksgiving" trailer, and two points for Rodriguez's "Planet Terror." Tarentino's "Deathproof" was his worst project to date. The dialogue was his usual, drawn out discussion of trivial things, but One point for the fantastic "Thanksgiving" trailer, and two points for Rodriguez's "Planet Terror." Tarentino's "Deathproof" was his worst project to date. The dialogue was his usual, drawn out discussion of trivial things, but instead of enlightening us about the characters, it was simply boring and uneventful. The ending was incredibly anticlimactic and feeble. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JimmusMaximusApr 10, 2007
So Tarantino and Rodriguez set out to pay homage to bad movies, and made two bad movies. Success! Tarantino, like Kevin Smith, is very over-rated, and could literally crap on film and people would watch it. Not a complete waste of time, So Tarantino and Rodriguez set out to pay homage to bad movies, and made two bad movies. Success! Tarantino, like Kevin Smith, is very over-rated, and could literally crap on film and people would watch it. Not a complete waste of time, since it makes you appreciate good movies more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BradROct 21, 2007
Death Proof was Awful. The only saving grace was the action scenes of which there were two, Kurt Russell lines were genius. The second half of the movie is what killed it. The movie goes on forever with a group of girls talking about nothing Death Proof was Awful. The only saving grace was the action scenes of which there were two, Kurt Russell lines were genius. The second half of the movie is what killed it. The movie goes on forever with a group of girls talking about nothing interesting the whole time I was waiting for kurt russel to kill all of them. Tracie Thomas' character was extremely annoying. It was a blatant attempt to recreate a female version samuel jackson from pulp fiction, and it failed horribly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MrPugApr 27, 2007
Tarantino will have to come up with something new for his next film as his pretty much dried out the whole retro old film fad. Some of the dialogue for this film was awful.. it was as if tarantino and his buddies were sitting around the Tarantino will have to come up with something new for his next film as his pretty much dried out the whole retro old film fad. Some of the dialogue for this film was awful.. it was as if tarantino and his buddies were sitting around the table getting high and thinking..wouldn't this be cool .. lets do this.. take these wacky ideas and make it into a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ATRISKTEENMay 31, 2007
Purely indulgent junk, sounding the death knell on two once-promising filmmakers now becoming smug, self-parodic shells of their former selves. Tarantino has become embalmed in his alleged cool cache & his dialogue gets more interminably Purely indulgent junk, sounding the death knell on two once-promising filmmakers now becoming smug, self-parodic shells of their former selves. Tarantino has become embalmed in his alleged cool cache & his dialogue gets more interminably precious with each new film. Worthless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MeritCobaSep 29, 2015
If Planet Terror had been cut back to the length of the preceding Machete trailer with only the high lights left in, it might have amused as yet another fake trailer, but with a running time of two hours this one is unfortunately meant asIf Planet Terror had been cut back to the length of the preceding Machete trailer with only the high lights left in, it might have amused as yet another fake trailer, but with a running time of two hours this one is unfortunately meant as full length Grindhouse imitation.

The movie is basically a string of 'cool' scenes connected by the flimsiest of plots and filled with equally flimsy characters.This might have all been in reference to the Grindhouse movies as known in the United States, but fortunately for my country we were spared the second rate flicks as they never crossed the ocean and thus the reference is meaningless to me and I assume also to those too young to recall the good old days when these rubbish exploits kept people entertained..

Not only is it meaningless to a sizable portion of the worlds population, but Grindhouse features are something you really do not want to get to understand as these movies were bad for a reason and it begs the question why you want to reference bad motion pictures by making another movie that is exactly the same, that is: as equally bad.

Now I will go as far as to say that there is some difference, like the actors in Planet Terror are somewhat better no doubt and some of the camera handling seems better, but it is all marvelous ruined by the lack of essential things that makes for a captivating movie: a well written story, interesting characters and strong dialogues.

This movie has enough stamina for a trailer, a lengthy one perhaps, but something more makes it a boring grind and one we can thank Rodriguez and Tarantino to have burdened the world with. Thanks guys!.

Please go and watch Zombieland or Shaun of the Dead instead.

(I am perfectly aware Planet Terror only covers about half the Grindhouse feature.Metacritic hasn't got it as a separate entry.)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EldonOct 2, 2007
I give it a 2 for the first 10 minutes alone. And, as as been finely noted, what the hell happened to the rest of the movie?! Sheesh! And I have to say that in the end, it IS NOT worth it. I don't want to feel that way, but I did and I give it a 2 for the first 10 minutes alone. And, as as been finely noted, what the hell happened to the rest of the movie?! Sheesh! And I have to say that in the end, it IS NOT worth it. I don't want to feel that way, but I did and do. And how can you, when choosing to cast Zoe Bell, give her all that dialogue?? My god she sucked the life right out of all the dialogue. I guess that may have been the "intention" of Tarantino, to have it be bad acting. But next to say, Dawson, she truly stinks up the place and I could just see the veil dropping over and over again until I was out of it all together. That is not doing your job as a director... it doesn't work man, it just doesn't. Lame. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SpiroDolemiteApr 7, 2007
Absolutely terrible and a waste of time! My girlfriend and I walked out about 30 minutes in. Some of the most disgusting things I have ever seen in my life. I certainly don't understand why people were laughing and clapping at what Absolutely terrible and a waste of time! My girlfriend and I walked out about 30 minutes in. Some of the most disgusting things I have ever seen in my life. I certainly don't understand why people were laughing and clapping at what looked to me like graphic images of boils and genital lesions. We asked for refunds and both saw Firehouse Dog which a much better movie and was much more entertaining Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DaveA.Apr 7, 2007
Just because something is supposed to be a parody, and is aware of its intentional kitchiness, that doesn't make it any better than what it's attempting to lampoon. Rodriquez proves himself a hack once again. His piece of this was Just because something is supposed to be a parody, and is aware of its intentional kitchiness, that doesn't make it any better than what it's attempting to lampoon. Rodriquez proves himself a hack once again. His piece of this was totally boring and stupid but, then again, so was From Dusk 'till Dawn. Tarantino is a much better film maker but "Death Proof" suffered from a totally implausible, ridiculous and stupid ending (again, I'm aware that it's parody but still . . . ) and too much self conscious dialogue which is becoming a bad trait of Tatantino's films. It could have been much, much, better than what it was with a little more effort and skill. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
GeorgeH.Apr 12, 2007
Ugh!!! If you're gonna make B-Movies that were supposed to be made in 1972, stick with it! Keep the references in the era. It was confusing at first during "Planet Terror" when pagers and video games were mentioned even though the look Ugh!!! If you're gonna make B-Movies that were supposed to be made in 1972, stick with it! Keep the references in the era. It was confusing at first during "Planet Terror" when pagers and video games were mentioned even though the look of the film was pretty consistently early 70's. Then along comes "Death Proof"! It started out hysterically with deliberately bad continuity but it slowly - SLOWLY - starts to unravel from there. Tarantino just couldn't mantain the concept. Worst of all is the meanderingly "hip chick" dialogue. It just wouldn't stop. Tarantino needs an editor to say, "OK. Tighten it up. Take what you've written and cut it in half." On the plus side, strong performances especially by Rose McGowan and of course the faux trailers were the highlight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
wordfuryMay 21, 2017
A staggering bore. Two puerile, overpraised filmmakers engaging in the worst kind of cinematic masturbatory exercise and all for nothing. Tarantino's contribution in particular contains all his worst qualities. In particular, his much vauntedA staggering bore. Two puerile, overpraised filmmakers engaging in the worst kind of cinematic masturbatory exercise and all for nothing. Tarantino's contribution in particular contains all his worst qualities. In particular, his much vaunted dialogue which is, in actuality, tedious, meaningless and self-indulgent. Don't waste your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
LR.Sep 24, 2007
I was going to tell you how i feel about this movie but joey summed it up the only thing i can add is you can skip chapters till you see cars driving. if you do this you will enjoy this movie all 15 minutes of it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DouglasB.Nov 5, 2007
Death Proof is simply terrible, to top it of, you folks in America got it as part of a double feature called "Grindhouse" here in Australia we got it as a separate film entirely, which is probably why it seems even worse. I can't Death Proof is simply terrible, to top it of, you folks in America got it as part of a double feature called "Grindhouse" here in Australia we got it as a separate film entirely, which is probably why it seems even worse. I can't believe it, so much useless dialog, no back story, no story in general, just 2 action sequences that are separated by 14 months and a long prelude of dialog before each one, between 2 separate groups of women. When the ending suddenly came, i felt robbed of my time and money. I'm even more pissed with the trailer for the movie, the way it was edited, it made the film look like a full throttle action movie. I can't believe this is the work of the same guy who made Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill Vol. 1 & Vol. 2. movie structure: Part 1: Group of girls - lots of useless talking Random action moment Part 2 14 months later New group of girls - lots of talking (even more than the first time round) Random action sequence no back story, no story in general. terrible, you've been warned, screw what the critics are saying. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RippedOffOct 1, 2007
I am growing tired of Tarantino's self indulgent attempts to recapture the magic of Pulp Fiction...with clever dialogue between edgy buddies! I have time to watch one movie a week...and just wasted it on this crap!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RossC.Sep 20, 2007
Most overrated piece of crap movie I have ever seen. The dialog is terrible, the characters are annoying, and this is not a Grindhouse horror flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoeyD.Sep 20, 2007
Rented Deathproof. Starts off with some cool 70's stylishness, but then slowly...slowly...ever so slowly turns into a complete bore. This is by far the most dull movies I've ever seen. If you rent this, save yourself some time by Rented Deathproof. Starts off with some cool 70's stylishness, but then slowly...slowly...ever so slowly turns into a complete bore. This is by far the most dull movies I've ever seen. If you rent this, save yourself some time by just fast forwarding through the tedious dialog. You won't miss a thing. Just get to the action scenes. All in all, there's only about 15 minutes of action and entertainment in the entire film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SamK.Sep 27, 2007
I agree with what Joey said. The movie was a complete waste of money, and I only rented it. For all the hype about Tarantino's 70's-esque direction and arty-stylish production, the dialogue is painfully boring, the plot I agree with what Joey said. The movie was a complete waste of money, and I only rented it. For all the hype about Tarantino's 70's-esque direction and arty-stylish production, the dialogue is painfully boring, the plot non-sensical and the end result the destruction of two perfectly good Mopar muscle cars. And all for what? Is it trendy to watch a Tarantino movie?? Absolutely. Will this movie have a cult following because it's a Tarantino movie? For sure. Was it any good? No, it sucked huge balls. Kill Bill and Jackie Brown were way better if you're looking for a girl-power movie, which this tried to be. I think Tarantino's been smoking too many banana leaves... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnJul 28, 2008
Trailers were great. I was really excited to see this. But it was just not good. I loved Pulp Fiction. But people talking in cars for 90 minutes. Why wasn't I warned? The king has no clothes metacritics. You are usually reliable. Put Trailers were great. I was really excited to see this. But it was just not good. I loved Pulp Fiction. But people talking in cars for 90 minutes. Why wasn't I warned? The king has no clothes metacritics. You are usually reliable. Put this with Titanic and Independence Day as movies that were just bad, but no one wants to look uncool so they say they are edgy. I love edgy, this was just a snooze. Made for TV at best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MooApr 29, 2007
I really liked those Tarantino's and Rodriguez' in the 90ies. They were charming, funny, intelligent and very gory. There was a lot of reference to those trashy 70ies movies. But with all that reference in mind they still had fresh I really liked those Tarantino's and Rodriguez' in the 90ies. They were charming, funny, intelligent and very gory. There was a lot of reference to those trashy 70ies movies. But with all that reference in mind they still had fresh ideas like "From Dusk Till Dawn". Nowadays they pay respect to those crappy zombie/killer movies no one wanted to watch in the 70ies and 80ies. And believe me, there are a lot of good ones no one has seen yet. But what's the use of paying respect to movies no one wanted to watch then? ...it seems they wanna watch it now and think it's fun... Go ahead and have fun! But i didn't laugh at any scene in any of those two features... The trailers were fun! They should have made movies like those instead!!!!! I hope the future holds a little more to come for both directors... Something with more... sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BoancMay 1, 2007
Jeez! Having to suffer thru that lame zombie movie was the worst. Very unoriginal gorefest, and mediocre in every way. Boring, boring, boring. Deathproof much better, but still not great. I knew I had made a mistake when I found myself to be Jeez! Having to suffer thru that lame zombie movie was the worst. Very unoriginal gorefest, and mediocre in every way. Boring, boring, boring. Deathproof much better, but still not great. I knew I had made a mistake when I found myself to be one of TWO people in the theater. But I doggedly persevered, thus piling on wasting my time to wasting my money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexHoeferAug 22, 2011
No one asked for this. Why would we want to go back in time and make crap movies. And meta please remove Edgar Wrights name as director. He did a same fake trailer not these useless movies. You disgrace his name and the fine work he does byNo one asked for this. Why would we want to go back in time and make crap movies. And meta please remove Edgar Wrights name as director. He did a same fake trailer not these useless movies. You disgrace his name and the fine work he does by attaching him to this trash. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ZackS.Oct 20, 2007
Awful. Tarantino, already the most self indulgent, ego stroking filmmaker, takes it up a notch. It consists of girls talking for the entire movie with two action scenes. If only he were clever, or talented, or produce anything worth Awful. Tarantino, already the most self indulgent, ego stroking filmmaker, takes it up a notch. It consists of girls talking for the entire movie with two action scenes. If only he were clever, or talented, or produce anything worth watching. Easily the most overrated talent of his generation proves again that critics don't know what they are talking about. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful
0
KyleM.Apr 12, 2007
It's easy to see why this movie flopped. Aside from Critics who were desperate to seem "hip" and "with it", there was hardly anyone in American that wanted to be submerged in this cesspool of a movie for 3+ hours.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NotbrainwashedB.Oct 28, 2007
To anyone not brainwashed by the pr around these two egomaniacal directors who surround themselves only with sycophants who won't tell them their this is garbage: we all know that these two "films" are worthless. Saying, "that's To anyone not brainwashed by the pr around these two egomaniacal directors who surround themselves only with sycophants who won't tell them their this is garbage: we all know that these two "films" are worthless. Saying, "that's the point!" is no excuse. From the standpoint of fundamental storytelling, these films are garbage. The dialogue and directing/cinematography take a creators' SELF-INDULGENCE to sinful, shameful levels. Shame on Tarantino and Rodriguez and all who sweat them while blinded to their masturbatory film-making. It's like these two tools who never got a girl until their careers took off are behind their cameras saying, "YEAH, LOOK HOW COOL THIS SHOT IS!!!" Who wants to watch reams of footage of some homely chicks (no, being on camera does not automatically make you attractive) babbling about inane topics? Tarantino's dialogue scenes are not "slices of real life," they are self-indulgent tangents that bore and drag and do not advance a story at all. They do not make us know or like the characters at all. Having a full conversation while hanging out a speeding car windshield? And PLANET TERROR? What kind of lowbrow gore toilet-bowl flick was that? Just think about it: a machine gun for a leg. Any 12 yr old boy can hatch an idea like that. Not every 12 yr old boy has agents and an enabling system of jockers. The fact these flicks made relatively no money shows at least the masses weren't too fooled. Quentin's produced Nathan since Pulp (which he cowrote) and Rodriguez should stick to kid flicks as he's never made a tight joint in his life. Sin City? Please. Incoherent drivel. Try King of New York or Warriors or French Connection or Pan's Labyrinth if you want to see a movie, just off the cuff. Toss these, Kill Bill, Jackie Brown, and Sin City in the boring and incoherent bin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Apr 15, 2007
Politically correct garbage.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RaynaS.Jan 19, 2008
I don't like this movie,in fact i hate it!!!!! i dont see why the other users gave it 8,9 or 10?what is so fantastic about this movie?Zombie's eating flesh?!!!wow.that's really awesome!!! i personally gave it a 0 mark because I don't like this movie,in fact i hate it!!!!! i dont see why the other users gave it 8,9 or 10?what is so fantastic about this movie?Zombie's eating flesh?!!!wow.that's really awesome!!! i personally gave it a 0 mark because for me its a trash!!! ok,its a horror,but can't we have a decent horror movie?(yuck!!!)the acting,the dialogue etc!what is it the others comment?funny and great?it surely was!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LizzyS.Jan 19, 2008
Trash!!!its not worth my time,and my money! Completely useless!very indecent!full of exploitation,violence,not worth seeing, I'm sorry,but that's what i think of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HumbertoBNov 14, 2007
I was recently watching an interview with Tarantino where he compared his dialogue with Shakespeare. Is that some kind of sick joke? There's Twelfth Night and then there's four girls screaming "I'M A KICK ASS BLACK CHICK! I was recently watching an interview with Tarantino where he compared his dialogue with Shakespeare. Is that some kind of sick joke? There's Twelfth Night and then there's four girls screaming "I'M A KICK ASS BLACK CHICK! WHOOOOO!" the entire film and a stoned Eli Roth in the background chuckling at the dialogue he probably wrote and Tarantino stole. Tarantino and Rodriguez think that by using a camera more expensive than all of Hal Hartley's movies combined they can hide their Nashville-playground hillbilly dialogue but they can't. But they've shown us one thing they can do, pay off the critics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
UncleDougBigelowNov 9, 2007
Trash. Both of them. I'm so sick of Tarantino and all of his overrated/shallow "films". Rodriguez is starting to piss me off too. Anything's better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
corkbornDec 1, 2011
How in Holy hell is this at 7.4???
Watched Death Proof. Women talking for the vast majority of the film with the single dumbest **** ending ever.
Anyone that says this is good would gladly get on their knees and let Tarantino spunk in their
How in Holy hell is this at 7.4???
Watched Death Proof. Women talking for the vast majority of the film with the single dumbest **** ending ever.
Anyone that says this is good would gladly get on their knees and let Tarantino spunk in their mouth.
**** hell...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews