User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 269

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    There is clever shock value and forced shock value. For 100 minutes Grown Ups 2 assaults you with some of the most tasteless, gross, and insulting comedy known to mankind. The bar has been set so low for this franchise that I am actually scared to see even trailers for the inevitable third film. Mark my words; Grown Ups 2 is so insufferably awful it will win Razzie awards. Good luck searching for a worse comedy in 2013. Collapse
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    2
    This movie is awful and lazy, even by Adam Sandler standards. It's just pretentious how bad his films are now because he knows people will pay to see any of his crap. People were laughing throughout this and look if you like Sandler movies then more power to you. Just know you're sense of humor isn't too intelligent and Sandler thinks you're an idiot.
  3. Jul 13, 2013
    0
    This movie was horrible on so many levels, from all the gay and pee jokes, to the objectifying of women and awful acting. This movie is not a comedy,it is a hot, steaming pile of crap... which would be a WHOLE lot funnier than this nonsense. If you feel like dropping your IQ over 100 points, this is the movie for you. The fact that this movie and the first one makes money goes to show how bored people are. Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2013
    0
    I had a free pass to see any movie this weekend, and I chose this since it wasn't redeemable for IMAX 3D Pacific Rim, after the extensive use of lame fart jokes and lack of plot I did something I've never done before: I walked out
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    The ending of Grown Ups 2 encapsulates the cultural legacy of Adam Sandler: He is simultaneously farting, burping, and sneezing while having sex with Salma Hayek. Mr. Sandler how does it feel to be a complete and utter sell out?
  6. Aug 10, 2013
    2
    Adam Sandler's very first sequel... my A**! It's just another excuse for Sandler to hang out with his buddies. Honestly, it feels like all of Sandler's movies are sequels of one another. The real problem with this movie is that its not funny. The only thing I laughed at were the raft scenes. Other than that, it was just completely stupid and unfunny! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" and let me know what you think. Overall, it's a waste of time and potential! Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2013
    0
    people that likes bad comedies like grown ups 1 and 2 and other bad movies are idiots and losers that needs to get a life, that you shouldn't trust them you should trust the critics and smart people like me! but what's the use of telling you not to see it, you'll still see it anyway, so why am i wasting my time with you?
  8. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    The hope is that whatever studio execs Adam Sandler blackmails into funding his garbage will eventually call his bluff and tell him to release the photographs and video of their crimes. Sandler, who earned $37m in 2012, releases yet another unfunny and offensive film on the public. That he genuinely thinks his films have worth reveals more about Sandler's state of mind than the state of the industry. Eventually the rest of Hollywood will see the light. Terrible. Expand
  9. Jul 20, 2013
    1
    Although I am a huge Adam Sandler fan, I felt he really let us down in this movie. Easily one of the worst he has put together. Yet I will go back for the next but the loyalty is starting to run out.
  10. Nov 3, 2013
    1
    Adam Sandler just stop your not funny biggest piece of movie of the year lucky for it their another movie this year that pissed me off more SCARY MOVIE V
  11. Aug 30, 2013
    1
    Have you watched The Hangover? Well, this is basically a water down, kid friendly version of it. The story is unappealing and some of the gags just drag on forever. You will get a couple of laughs but that doesn't make up for the irritating characters and cheesy dialogue.
  12. Aug 5, 2013
    3
    I give this a 3 because of SHAQ alone. I laughed on occasion (mostly because of SHAQ) but when you look back on this film you begin to realize just how stupid it really is. I know it's Adam Sandler so don't expect and Oscar nominee but this was on a whole other level of stupid. The fact that this was top box office shows just how dumb our country is. Save this for a rental at home. 2.5/10
  13. Jul 27, 2013
    0
    Forced to see this movie with a couple of guys, and I had very low expectations (and I thought the original grown ups was good). I was 100% correct. This movie is one of the worst films I have ever seen in the past decade. There is no plot/story whatsoever, a bunch of pee/poop/ass jokes that even kids can't laugh at, and terrible acting by nearly the entire cast. This film is so bad it should not be considered a movie, but a f****d up, very bad sitcom from the 90s that never hit tvs. Never see this movie in your life. Expand
  14. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    I wish, I really really wish, I had something nice to say about this film. I won't be mean (my score of 0 I feel is mean enough) but this is a film, people worked on it, actors..."acted" in it, and it was boring, horrible, 7th grade-level humor at it's best.
  15. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    The worst movie I've ever seen. I didn't even smile once, let alone laugh. I wasn't expecting much, but I was expecting at least a 3/10. The absolute worst part about this movie is that Sandler and his washed-up buddies laugh at ALL of their own jokes. On screen. That is not good. Just an insult to films as a form of entertainment.
  16. Jul 20, 2013
    0
    This is the worst "comedy" ever made, and literally the worst movie I've ever seen...do something else and don't waste your time or money on this, it's just rubbish and DONT DARE to compare this to the sacred expendables 2 but for comedians, just don't.
  17. Jul 25, 2013
    1
    This was horrible, I felt like I was being attacked by an onslaught of rejected Saturday Night Live sketches. Don't watch it, I don't want Adam Sandler to carry on with these films, we need him to return to the good old days or at least fun films like Hotel Transylvania!
  18. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    If your a fan of stupid movies watch Grown Ups 2 but if you like good movies watch something else. This is what you get when Adam Sandler makes a movie a piece of garbage that is not worth 12 dollars to go see I mean I felt like they should have at least bring down the price a couple of bucks because I felt like I wasted a night of my life. Now I will say this though some parts will make you laugh but it's not enough to take your mind off the stupidness of this movie. I have to say this though I felt this movie had potential a lot to because it has such a funny trailer but when you watch this you fell like you watched a lie. So I would give it a little less if I didn't laugh at something's but this is a movie that you rent and watch with your friends because I rather get it a redbox for 1 dollar than pay 12 for this garbage. Expand
  19. LTR
    Aug 9, 2013
    1
    The only reason why this movie was made was because Adam Sandler wanted us to pay $6 and 50 cents to watch him have fun with his friends.This movie is horrible and I can't believe that people like this.
  20. Aug 9, 2013
    4
    I don't think there was really even a story behind this movie. Some parts had a bit of humor in it, but other parts were really stupid. Taylor Lautner just made the movie about 20x worse.
  21. Oct 23, 2013
    0
    Gave up on it after barely being able to get through the first 10 minutes of it. I actually quite liked the first film because it did well with it's mixture of drama and comedy. This film is all about pathetic shock humor that is far more stupid than funny. A perfect summary of this film by Rotten Tomatoes "It's certainly the movie event of the year for filmgoers passionate about Deer Urine humor". Couldn't agree more because Grown Ups 2 is easily one of the worst films of all time. Expand
  22. Dec 15, 2013
    1
    This is one the worst comedies I've ever seen. There was not one funny joke and anyone who has a sense of humor above an 8 year old will find this movie garbage. It feels like a bunch of rejected SNL skits that Adam Sandler took and morphed into this frankenstien of a movie.
  23. Jul 28, 2013
    2
    This sloppy second of semi-funny predecessor looks like a collection of leftover clips parsed hastily together. Grown Ups 2 is not for anyone who has actually grown up. To add to its misery, the appreciating audience for boobie and pee pee humor is not able to see it due PG-13. Razzie award awaits.
  24. Aug 14, 2013
    2
    Although I must admit, I did laugh several times, most of this humor is silly, dumb, and frankly, not funny. Even though I didn't expect this movie to be good whatsoever... I was still very disappointed. Don't waste your money going to see it in theaters, wait till it comes out on DVD.
    The first movie is better by far.
  25. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    I really wanted to like Grown Ups 2: I've developed a soft spot for Adam Sandler and I enjoy feel good movies. stupidity is fine, crudeness is to be expected but there's no excuse for lazy acting or a poor script. The backstories are boring except for David Spade's character who brings most of the laughs. Sandler is just wastefully unfunny. James is himself as usual (which isn't a compliment) I preferred him in 'King Of Queens' and Rock doesn't unleash his full potential. This movie really missed Rob Schneider and botched the talents of Steve Austin and Taylor Lautner by not giving them enough screen time. Everything feels forced and the laughs are beyond lame. Expand
  26. Jul 18, 2013
    2
    Short answer "Grown Ups 2" complete waste of time! It's not the worst comedy movie of the year (Scary Movie 5 reserved that title), but having that cast and delivering this dull, dumb, pointless picture
  27. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    Please Mr Sandler stop embarrassing yourself with these god awful movie just do something different and for the rest of the cast I like Chris Rock David Spade Kevin James but why do films like this they have not meaning not funny in anyway what happened to these actors they use to be good now i have lost hope my advice stay away from this piece of
  28. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    I thought the first movie was bad but leave it to Adam Sandler to once again out do himself in the god awful film department. The movie has no story to speak of and the plot was forgotten in a haze of bad bodily function jokes and Nick Swardson once again trying way to hard to be funny and failing at every turn. The film sets up dozens of potential plotlines but most are forgotten about or quickly thrown back in to try and recover by giving it a poorly constructed resolution. To top it off, the jokes in the film are so painfully bad that it should come with a warning that expecting mothers should avoid the film and how it will destroy your ability to ever find joy in this world again. The worse part, Adam Sandler will make sure to be a part of something even worse in 2014. Expand
  29. Mar 3, 2014
    1
    This was a complete waste of time to watch. Everything was off color or topic or whatever . Apparently ever aspect of this turd was hit with a shovel .
  30. Sep 10, 2013
    1
    I can barely explain how bad this movie is, It's horrendous and why? Well the first problem in the movie was the jokes they're so immature it'll only make 9 year olds giggle and that about it. It's plot doesn't get any better its just a bunch of adults acting like they're 18 and doing stupid crap There's NO POINT IN IT! The last movie was so much better than this because it actually had something to tell, A story. But this is Awful why couldn't the movie have some more adult jokes other than a baby talking (Not like i've seen that before *FacePalm*) and a bunch of fart jokes? Just why Hollywood... Why? Expand
  31. Aug 11, 2013
    0
    My expectations were low when I watched this movie but apparently not low enough. All the funny scenes are shown in the preview so don't bother to watch this movie. Another Adam Sandler movie. I'm not sure how he keeps getting funded for these movies and why we keep falling for them?
  32. Aug 12, 2013
    3
    Okay, so because this movie is a sequel and we all know how sequel's generally only exist due to the production team wanting to cash in on the success of the first movie, this review is based on this movie living up to the same standard of it's predecessor. Grown Ups (The first one) was quite a heart-warming film, about a group of childhood friends reuniting to bid their Basketball couch farewell, who seemed to have given all of them a sense of purpose and drive to continue their lives into adulthood. The second film, has none of the first movie's seemingly moral stature. There doesn't seem to be any apparent plot, and it merely follows the group of friends around their everyday existence in their neighborhood. There were a few minor chuckles here and there, but with the amount of lame, "teenage" toilet humor jokes, it's clear that the only reason this movie had a theatrical release was because of the cast, and I suppose also because they expected the same crowds that flocked to the first installment. This movie was a disappointment, and not worth paying money to watch at the cinema. Wait for dvd, even better, wait till your local broadcaster airs it, because technically it's a bit embarrassing people would contribute to a million plus in box office sales, as it certainly isn't worth it. Expand
  33. Jan 9, 2014
    1
    Lo único que hicieron con esta película es recordar que no hay esperanza para la carrera de Adam Sandler como actor y Dennis Dougan como director; casi todos los roles en esta película fracasan casi por completo, cero risas, cero diversión, cero entusiasmo, cero homenaje, porque todos estabamos esperando que esta espantosa y barata película terminara y pudiera apagar la televisión. Una vergüenza total aún peor que la ya basura primera parte. Una de las peores películas del año y destinada a competir en los Razzie Awards para ver como (otra vez) Adam Sandler gana el "Peor Actor del Año" y (otra vez) Dennis Dougan gana al "Peor Director del Año" y finalmente ver como la película triunfa en lo único que va a triunfar: ser una deshonra ganando la estatuilla a la "Peor Película del Año". Traten de evitarla. Expand
  34. Oct 31, 2013
    2
    Grown Ups 2 is not like 1. It is gross, insulting and stupid. Occasionally, you will get laughs, but you will most likely be grossed out by the things that they do in this movie. I mostly didn't like the movie.
  35. Dec 21, 2013
    0
    This was a horrible movie. I can't say anything positive about it. WHERE'S THE PLOT? They gave the masses this atrocious movie, just to make a great amount of money off of prepubescent boys. The humor offended me greatly with insipid toilet jokes that a twelve year old could think of very easily. Where's my $11 refund check? If you want your I.Q to be drastically lower after a short amount of time (approximately an hour and a half), view this movie. Expand
  36. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    SPOILER ALERT! This movie is so much worse than the first! How the f#ck is this possible?! Usually the sequel is worse than the original but my God man! Not even a slight chuckle the entire time. I swear it was so painful I couldn't leave my friend's house so I was forced to sit there the entire time and waste my life and brain cells on this septic tank of pathetic stupid filth. I honestly think they pay these idiotic actors to make these movies to dumb down the American people and see how freakin stupid we really are, especially the ones who "enjoy it!" Expand
  37. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    Holy god, this was bloody terrible, the 'only' laugh and kinda excitement I got out of this film was when one of the cast members wore a Devo outfit for that Costume party.
    (1 for Devo)
  38. Jan 29, 2014
    0
    This movie isn't really a movie. Rather it is a series of fart joke skits edited together with one bad joke repeated through said fart skits. 0/10

    The first movie had some funny parts, this series of fart jokes edited together feels like a money grab. Very poorly written and directed. By far the worst Adam Sandler movie of all time, even worse than 50 first dates.
  39. May 1, 2014
    0
    This is an insult to movies. The first one was already awful, but the sequel is way more awful, with laughable acting and nonsense flat plot, that tries to make us laugh, buy it only make us want to walk out of the theatre before it finishes.
  40. Jul 30, 2014
    0
    This is the worst movie I've ever seen. It's awful in every single way and has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. What is Steve Buscemi doing in this? What is anybody doing in this? Why was this even made? Why? WHY?
  41. Nov 13, 2013
    4
    Wow, what a humongous drop off from Grown Ups 1 to Grown Ups 2. While the first movie had an actual plot, solid development, and endless laughs, the sequel was really just a stupid attempt at a cash in from the first film's greatness. The kids were too prominent in the film and all are horrible actors so that hurt the film quite a bit. The plot was pretty stupid. The main four lacked the same chemistry they had in the first one. Honestly, the only reason this movie was even watchable, and barely, was because of the cameos. Nick Swardson provided almost all of the humor, and guys like Peter Dante, Shaquille O'Neal, Steve Buscemi, and so many more were great as well. There were some smoking hot women in the film too, so that didn't hurt, but honestly, I was very disappointed in this film. Expand
  42. Aug 23, 2014
    1
    This movie annoyed me in so many ways. I just had to shut it off. Everything about it is pointless. They just go around town doing nothing.They made Grown Ups 2 just to for the sake of it. You could tell they had no story for it.
  43. Jan 18, 2014
    2
    I honestly actually liked the first Grown Ups movie. This one? Not so much. Worse than the previous film. Pretty much forcing bad jokes all throughout and is just plain dumb for a good chunk of it. A few good laughs here and there to be sure, but not worth seeing unless you have no other better options available.
  44. Jul 18, 2014
    0
    Ouso dizer que esse é um dos piores filmes de todos os tempos!!! Lastimável, deveriam ganhar todos os prêmios do "Framboesa de Ouro" sozinhos. Parabens ao Sandler, por mais essa vergonha.
  45. Apr 27, 2014
    1
    This is one of the worst comedies EVER. Almost as bad as Bio-Dome and Freddy Got Fingered. The only reason it escapes a 0 is the fact that I chuckled at one scene. That's it. One scene in a 100 minute movie. What a waste.
  46. Aug 26, 2013
    4
    Not the movie of the decade. This movie wasn't bad, but a serious decline happened between the two movies. Not really funny, just don't watch it. It's not worth it.
  47. Feb 3, 2014
    4
    Grown Ups 2 has been called the worst movie of 2013. While not far from the truth, the movie has its moments. That being said, the bulk of the film is packed with product placement, bad acting, jokes that fall flat, I could go on and on.
  48. Dec 8, 2013
    1
    This movie is absolutely terrible. Don't waste your time watching it. Sure it has some silly funny jokes, but that's not the expected, and the rest is a pain.
  49. Nov 25, 2013
    2
    Plot, conflict, character development, and cinematography are some of the most basic and crucial elements that are absolutely quintessential in creating, at the very least, a film that will remain in the viewers mind. I would not only be generous in saying that these 4 elements were present in the movie, but I would also be lying. Quickly rushed and horribly written, Grown Ups 2 is nothing more than an afterthought, a waste of time, and, most importantly, a waste of money. In fact, after second thought, this "movie" was probably made more as a torture device, rather than for enjoyment. 2/10 Expand
  50. Jan 17, 2014
    1
    I can't believe I used to like Adam Sandler, but now I hate him, and this movie is a perfect example, unfunny jokes, and even more painful celebrity cameos. This is one of Sandler's worse movies, and somehow worse than the original, which is saying something, think some about that.
  51. chw
    Aug 9, 2014
    3
    Grown Ups 2 was really stupid. Again, there is no point or plot to the film, it's basically improvisation put on by the whole cast, which means Dennis Dugan didn't actually direct this film. Nobody did.
  52. Mar 29, 2014
    2
    Unfortunately Grown ups 2 is just absolutely bad, All the jokes just don't work despite the odd few, I actually enjoyed the first one, But this one is just badly done.
  53. Sep 17, 2014
    1
    Oh my god. Where is the storyline? This movie was so confusing I had to stop the movie. Plus, There's just bad and old jokes in the movie. Adam Sandler is not a good director, producer, writer, or actor. All of his movies is NOT SO GREAT! Do not see this movie. You might be confused like me. Skip it. Please, I'm Begging you!. Skip it, Please!
  54. May 23, 2014
    3
    An absolute disappointment after the first grown us witch I actually did enjoy. I probably only laughed once or twice during this whole entire movie, and it was near the end. The entire movie was just so stupid and the comedy just wasn't there like it was in the first one. It is really the same movie as the first one but not funny because it wasn't executed well even with all of these great actors. Expand
  55. Jul 10, 2014
    3
    Adam Sandler used to be a funny and good actor. NOW WHAT THE F*CK IS THIS. It's another plotless sequel with more terrible actors. Don't see this ish,
  56. Jun 21, 2014
    3
    Its not a good movie. I had no fun while watching it and it was so lazy that its unbelievable. "Oh yeah the grown up sequel is great" No its not. It's a bad movie. Adam Sandler did not do a good job in this and it felt a lot like padding. "Oh negative review." Its not funny, cute, or cool.

    Grown Ups 2 gets a 3/10 :(
  57. Sep 21, 2014
    4
    Wow, this movie is shockingly bad. Its like a teeming hub of disgust and perversion, where Adam Sandlers has reached a new low.

    I don't plan simply to say "this poop" and just leave, because the movie has some positives...hm... I cant seem to think of anything. The movies abysmally crude humour, never makes me laugh, and it seems like the casting was so badly done, that not a single
    character feels convincing, let alone likeable. The movie, worst of all has no fixed plot. I just don't get it.

    So if you are considering to buy this movie... well, don't.
    Expand
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 24 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Aug 15, 2013
    20
    So, what happens in Grown Ups 2? Almost absolutely nothing.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jul 17, 2013
    11
    The Land of Lazy can crown a new king because with Grown Ups 2 Adam Sandler has officially nabbed the throne.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 14, 2013
    20
    A few decent one-liners notwithstanding, the movie comes off as willfully uninspired.