Universal Pictures | Release Date: January 16, 1998
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 76 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
9
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Castiel_AngelSep 5, 2016
This movie has awesome humor. You don't have to be stoned out of your mind to be totally cracking up at all the jokes in this movie. So for that I am giving it a 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jpwelsh101Dec 21, 2013
Its funny how different the critic reviews and the user reviews are.. this is a stoner man it dont get any better than this for a pothead film! Definitely in my top 5 stoner flicks of all time. This is the movie that setdave chappelle on fireIts funny how different the critic reviews and the user reviews are.. this is a stoner man it dont get any better than this for a pothead film! Definitely in my top 5 stoner flicks of all time. This is the movie that setdave chappelle on fire and if you love dave youll love this Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SockbutlersJun 5, 2014
I like some of the critics vocabulary when reviewing. It's obvious this movie wasn't designed for these people. If you like a good laugh to some stoner jokes this movie can't really be beat. What else are you really looking for in a movieI like some of the critics vocabulary when reviewing. It's obvious this movie wasn't designed for these people. If you like a good laugh to some stoner jokes this movie can't really be beat. What else are you really looking for in a movie called Half-Baked? Some epic with Russel Crow? Definitely in the top 5 best stoner movies Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JimB.Oct 10, 2005
Lighten up! This is a great party movie. Or anytime movie! Laugh and quit worrying so much about the script. Sometimes it's not what is said...but how you say it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JacksonG.Jan 4, 2007
First off, the critics "one-liners" are terrible. "It's a bomb, man, not the bomb," "A couple of hash brownies short of a satisfying cinematic picnic," "Sitting on your couch watching these morons sit on their couch and get wasted is First off, the critics "one-liners" are terrible. "It's a bomb, man, not the bomb," "A couple of hash brownies short of a satisfying cinematic picnic," "Sitting on your couch watching these morons sit on their couch and get wasted is like being the only straight guest at a pot party. Everyone else is laughing, and you're left wondering why." Those are way worse than any of this movie's "failed laughs". Secondly, Half-Baked can be enjoyed by people that smoke pot and those that do not. Although, their probably is an age cap of about 50 though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeYJul 20, 2007
Funnest movie I have ever seen, hence the best. I enjoy myself more with this movie than ANY other. It is too ironic to see that whoever wrote/copied the NY times review can't spell INTELLIGENT. duh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GleepW.Apr 23, 2008
Kasey, think about you dumbass. Who else would come in here 10 years after the movie first came out? Strictly fans of this movie! The movie itself was pretty horrible. Curiosity just brought me in here.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CashA.Feb 25, 2009
One of my favorite movies to watch when I'm bored. Granted, the second half drags on a little bit, but this movie gave my generation some great stoner quotes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanDSep 29, 2005
This movie is just plain stupid. I didn't laugh once and didnt think any of the jokes were funny in the least. Skip this sorry excuse for a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyP.Jul 30, 2006
Classic cult film...before dave chappelle was dave chappelle. Classic stoner scenerio, original in getting laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
fink-Nov 28, 2005
I must agree, not david chapelle's best work, but I was still laughing. It is one of those stupid/funny comedies, it's about weed for heaven sake! I'm sorry but it was funny!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ValSep 15, 2005
I love this move its to funniest ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianKApr 5, 2007
This is an example of "sometimes even the best critics get it wrong" this is the best Pot movie since Cheech and Chong. David Chapelle is hilarious. This movie is his stand up and it is funny, from start to finish, I don't understand This is an example of "sometimes even the best critics get it wrong" this is the best Pot movie since Cheech and Chong. David Chapelle is hilarious. This movie is his stand up and it is funny, from start to finish, I don't understand why the dumber, more dismal and lamer Harold and Kumar is lauded by critics so much and this movie gets horrible reviews. I know critics smoked up, so it's not like they can just sit there and not get it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KaseyS.Mar 29, 2008
They need to add a section where we can find the highest USER rated movies. because if this movie scored a freakin 16/100 you can't trust a critic!! Half Baked is absolutely hilarious... I could watch it 100 times... every time They need to add a section where we can find the highest USER rated movies. because if this movie scored a freakin 16/100 you can't trust a critic!! Half Baked is absolutely hilarious... I could watch it 100 times... every time it's been on tv I'm there! hell I'm gonna go buy it on dvd just for the good karma that will result in having this awesome movie in my house. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
joeb.Dec 13, 2005
BEST MOVIE EVER.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrezKNov 15, 2006
Could be one of the best of all times. Unfortunatly, the critics have trouble laughing at any movie that doesn't have some baby boomer slant to it. Anyone else will feel stoned from laughing so hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DuckSpeakApr 16, 2006
A must have for any comedy collection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonnyO.Jun 24, 2006
idk what the critics were thinking on this one. half-baked is one of those movies like grandmas boy, or freddy got fingered that will have u laughing the whole way throught but the critics just cant seem to find anything funny about it. idk what the critics were thinking on this one. half-baked is one of those movies like grandmas boy, or freddy got fingered that will have u laughing the whole way throught but the critics just cant seem to find anything funny about it. Instant classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JBAug 11, 2006
This is the film that made Chappelle the household name he is today. It's very funny without ever trying to give itself a serious undertone, even at the end (where I think it broke the mold). Ignore the critics on this one. They must This is the film that made Chappelle the household name he is today. It's very funny without ever trying to give itself a serious undertone, even at the end (where I think it broke the mold). Ignore the critics on this one. They must have been stoned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamT.Aug 26, 2008
Half Baked is an amazing comedy, you don't have to be stoned to be busting up laughing through the whole movie. Half baked is deffinatly a stoner comedy though, so if you smoke pot, this movie will almost certainly be in your top 10 Half Baked is an amazing comedy, you don't have to be stoned to be busting up laughing through the whole movie. Half baked is deffinatly a stoner comedy though, so if you smoke pot, this movie will almost certainly be in your top 10 favorite movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SallyB.Jul 22, 2009
This movie is halarious and I'm surprised to see it in the bottom 100 list.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveF.Dec 23, 2005
It's Reeferrific!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ph05llJan 10, 2015
Its is best if you smoke before and during, but I first seen it at the movie theater with a friend and his father neither of them smoked and at that time I had only a few times, and not before seeing it my first time...but that did notIts is best if you smoke before and during, but I first seen it at the movie theater with a friend and his father neither of them smoked and at that time I had only a few times, and not before seeing it my first time...but that did not tarnish this movie, I have loved it,will love it going into my next life... thank you for all the great memories! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews