Halloween

Halloween Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 317 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: On Halloween night in 1963, 6-year old Michael Myers stabbed his sister to death. After being in a mental hospital for 15 years, Myers escapes and returns to Haddonfield, Illinois to kill.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Buy On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 100
    Halloween is an absolutely merciless thriller, a movie so violent and scary that, yes, I would compare it to “Psycho.”
  2. 100
    From a shock-and-suspense point-of-view, Halloween is the rival of Alfred Hitchcock's "Psycho." With only a few arguable exceptions (such as "The Exorcist"), there isn't another post-1970 release that comes close to it in terms of scaring the living hell out of a viewer... A modern classic of the most horrific kind.
  3. 90
    Carpenter displays an almost perfect understanding of the mechanics of classical suspense; his style draws equally (and intelligently) from both Howard Hawks and Alfred Hitchcock.
  4. There's nary a drop of blood on screen in this rollicking funhouse of a movie but there is enough sheer cinematic ingenuity on display to coax screams out of the most jaded gorehound.
  5. 78
    Not entirely without some laughable or dated scenes, Halloween remains an original that continues to inspire a genre and probe middle America's fears about what's really lurking in the laundry room after midnight.
  6. Carpenter's brutally efficient exercise in tension and release.
  7. Reviewed by: Gary Arnold
    Oct 31, 2015
    37
    Halloween is a stab at a derivative minor classic. It's apparent where Carpenter got his horror devices - and a minor misfortune that he hasn't been able to synthesize them in a fresh or exciting way.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 74
  2. Negative: 3 out of 74
  1. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    Greatest horror film that has ever been made. This movie is amazing and will always be my favorite. It is so creepy and scary without evenGreatest horror film that has ever been made. This movie is amazing and will always be my favorite. It is so creepy and scary without even showing blood and gore. I can't imagine not loving this movie. This movie is horror! You can't top Michael Myers. John Carpenter is amazing!! Collapse
  2. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest horror films ever made; Halloween has an impeccable system of suspense, and echoes the great classic, Psycho.
  3. DavidN.
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    The best horror film ever, a masterpiece.
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Halloween One of the best horror movie's 0f the 70's The Exorcist (1973). The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974) . The Omen (1976). CarrieHalloween One of the best horror movie's 0f the 70's The Exorcist (1973). The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974) . The Omen (1976). Carrie (1976). Halloween (1978) Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    The fun scare-fest that it is, Halloween fulfills all your expectations. It's creepy, messes with your mind, and suspense and horror areThe fun scare-fest that it is, Halloween fulfills all your expectations. It's creepy, messes with your mind, and suspense and horror are there. It avoids some horror movie clichés, but still uses some. But, maybe we can forgive that, since this movie was in 1978 when the clichés we see in horror movies nowadays were just starting out then. Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2014
    8
    The first half of this classic is rather uneventful, we see Michael escape the hospital, and college girls banter on about their personalThe first half of this classic is rather uneventful, we see Michael escape the hospital, and college girls banter on about their personal life. I'm not much of a fan of this kind of character development. I found it rather trite.

    The suspense does eventually get running as Michael starts killing off these characters, and the soundtrack does justice to this psychotic mass murderer. The movie relies less on gore and more on the creeping murderer around every corner.

    Less is more, in this case.

    The presence of Donald Pleasence really makes the character of Michael Myers come to life, and without him, I doubt that I would have given much of a hoot about this film. He adds a more psychological side to Michael's otherwise uninteresting (but still rather creepy) presence.
    Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am a very easily scared person my sister has told me about scary movies and its scared me just so you get an idea of how easily frightened I am and quite frankly this movie was not scary I was only startled at two of the jump scares and it wasn't the big ones because I predicted where all of the other ones would be if i watch a horror movie and go home and walk into my house then go straight to my bedroom without turning any lights on i dont think a horror movie did its job and on top of the fact that this movie doesn't really have any good actors besides the professor who wasn't even that talented at that this movie was one of the worst movies I've ever seen and that's not an exaggeration Expand

See all 74 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 15 Reboots Worse Than the Original Movies

    15 Reboots Worse Than the Original Movies Image
    Published: July 5, 2016
    While we await the verdict on the new Ghostbusters, we look back at 15 other recent film reboots that failed to match the quality of their predecessors.
  2. 20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder

    20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder  Image
    Published: June 16, 2016
    We pick out 20 great examples of lousy movie sequels.
  3. Six Picks for the Week of October 31-November 6

    Six Picks for the Week of October 31-November 6 Image
    Published: October 30, 2011
    Halloween week brings a few treats, including game-of-the-year candidate "Uncharted 3," a new album by Florence and the Machine, a lost album by The Beach Boys, and AMC's latest original drama series. Get all of this week's picks inside.
  4. Six Picks for the Week of October 25-31

    Six Picks for the Week of October 25-31 Image
    Published: October 24, 2010
    Our 6 Tricks -- er, Picks -- this Halloween week include television treats like "The Walking Dead" and "Dead Set," a rally that may or may not trigger fear, a thrill-inducing Blu-ray trilogy, and two new videogames that look to be far from horrific. Where we're going, we don't need roads.