Lions Gate Films | Release Date: April 14, 2006
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 269 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
215
Mixed:
26
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
jimmytancrediSep 3, 2011
The tense atmosphere created by the David Slade is sensational, fully appropriate to the situation. The script outputs can find some questionable time to time, but the film is directed behind to perfectness. The performances need no comment.The tense atmosphere created by the David Slade is sensational, fully appropriate to the situation. The script outputs can find some questionable time to time, but the film is directed behind to perfectness. The performances need no comment. Page and Wilson support the film with great skill, the progression of the tension is admirable, the expressions full of nuances and subjectivity. Movies that are supported primarily through dialogue efficiently are difficult to make. It all depends on how elaborate and interesting are the characters, their goals and their stories. â Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JeremyF.Jan 20, 2007
I have no idea how anyone can say this movie is horrible. A couple people on here have said that Ellen Page is terrible and overacts in every scene. This is beyond untrue. Her performance is one of the best and most perfect performances of I have no idea how anyone can say this movie is horrible. A couple people on here have said that Ellen Page is terrible and overacts in every scene. This is beyond untrue. Her performance is one of the best and most perfect performances of the decade so far. She is powerful, passionate, and sadistically awing. She goes beyond "pulling off" every aspect of her role. As the movie goes, it's impossible to look away. A lot of people and critics say it's sick, and disgusting, and how you can barely sit through it. And that's true. You can barely sit through it, appalled, disgusted... etc. But you do. It's grossness, disgust, and sadistic thrill is what really grabs you. It lands it's claws in you and doesn't let you get away. Your eyes are glued to the screen because you're sitting at the edge of your seat, saying "what's she gonna do to him next?" or "what's he going to do to her." It's suspense is pulled off immensely, which is 85% true because of the beyond spectacular performances from Page and Wilson. The one thing that I think rattles most people is that during the film you don't know who to side with. He's a pedophile, so it's wrong what he's doing. Or is he? Is he a pedophile? Or is she just assuming and insanely torturing him? But also, on the other hand, if he is a pedophile, you agree with Hayley that he should be punished, and despite her sick technique and skill, you almost feel like you're siding with her. But then you feel bad for the pedophile, almost, and that makes you feel bad. It's just an overwhelming thought: who is right? who is wrong? are they both wrong? true, it is sick. true, it is sadistic what she does. but it's also true, that "Hard Candy" is one of the decades best put-together, and best acted films yet. 100 / 10 !!! ps: it's not overhyped, kids, don't worry. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
potatoes351Sep 13, 2012
Hard Candy is one of those films that you just have to see, one of the films that should be on an all time greatest movies list. Ellen Paige plays Haley, a 14 year old girl who is being sexually groomed by 30 something year old Jim. When JimHard Candy is one of those films that you just have to see, one of the films that should be on an all time greatest movies list. Ellen Paige plays Haley, a 14 year old girl who is being sexually groomed by 30 something year old Jim. When Jim invites Haley back to his for a 'photoshoot' Jim gets unexpected surprise. After awakening from unconsciousness Haley explains to him that she has had her eye in him for a long time and that he should pay for his involvement for a rape and murder of a teenage girl. As Haley uncovers more secrets to Jim's past she forces him into one very tough decision.
The film is not overly bloody nor gory for the most part, even its claim to fame scene doesn't have that much blood which at times made me question the 18 certificate, especially when the film is a thriller yet it has no real heart racing moments like a thriller should. Though the acting and storytelling are top notch Hard Candy falls flat when it comes to its 'edge of your seat' moments. Despite this the film is great and should be watched by everyone
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gagaforeverSep 20, 2010
A very disturbing, but great movie. When I first saw that Ellen Page was the lead I watched it. I soon found out that young people are not always innocent. The last line of the movie when she says "Or Not" really shows that if you areA very disturbing, but great movie. When I first saw that Ellen Page was the lead I watched it. I soon found out that young people are not always innocent. The last line of the movie when she says "Or Not" really shows that if you are convincing you can get anyone to believe you. A shocking thrill ride that will make you cringe, cry and maybe even smile a little Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
LilHMay 19, 2008
Loved it. The recoloring was amazing, not to mention Ellen Page's performance. Very thought provoking too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StaceyflipDec 3, 2007
I was frozen in my seat! Spectacular and Gripping! to say the least. If anyone says the movie is disgusting- You don't really See anything! Ok? Some guys will hate it because of the strong female role and the male character going I was frozen in my seat! Spectacular and Gripping! to say the least. If anyone says the movie is disgusting- You don't really See anything! Ok? Some guys will hate it because of the strong female role and the male character going through..what he goes through. I love that you constantly change your opinion on who's side you're on. The acting was superb and completely suited the character's age, mental stability and the event occurring. Fantastic camera and editing work that feels so deep and so raw. See it and make up your own mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebC.Dec 6, 2007
I thought it was Awesome!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenH.Oct 6, 2006
I couldn't take my eyes off the screen...harrowing, in a word...Wilson and Page are superlative and pull of very difficult material that could have gone overheated. These are Oscar-worthy performances in a challenging yet fascinating I couldn't take my eyes off the screen...harrowing, in a word...Wilson and Page are superlative and pull of very difficult material that could have gone overheated. These are Oscar-worthy performances in a challenging yet fascinating film. Relentless, rewarding, with no copping out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Mari-eveMay 3, 2006
It's a good thriller movie. Actual subject, good actress, intriguing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlossomMarieSep 20, 2006
This movie was amazing. I ran out and rented it because I couldn't wait for Netflix and I'm a huge fan of Patrick Wilson from his performances in Angel in America and Phantom. I had read a few reviews and expected the film to be a This movie was amazing. I ran out and rented it because I couldn't wait for Netflix and I'm a huge fan of Patrick Wilson from his performances in Angel in America and Phantom. I had read a few reviews and expected the film to be a lot gorier than it actually was. In reality, it's the mind of the viewer that creates the gore and horrors, as the film is almost shot entirely in close ups of Wilson and Page. As to the content, the film basically asks the viewers "who is more sick, this pedophiliac or the crazed girl who tortures him in the name of young girls everywhere?" I think the end of the film shows us the answer the producers would give, but the ambiguity of victim and predator leaves a deliciously eerie afterglow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RazvyT.Dec 13, 2007
Very, very, very good movie with a nice script and a very good director.Oh and the actors played awesome !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeuroticRampageApr 30, 2007
These critics have absolutley NO idea what they are talking about. The acting, the story, the feeling is all there and its solid. The disturbing and often dark side to both characters will leave you on the fence with who is right and who is These critics have absolutley NO idea what they are talking about. The acting, the story, the feeling is all there and its solid. The disturbing and often dark side to both characters will leave you on the fence with who is right and who is wrong. In a sense, they're both a little right and wrong, which is just a side effect in the hurling suspense this movie winds up to in its main plot. I'd urge you to buy this movie, since its unparalleled to anything I have ever seen in film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaniaC.Nov 4, 2008
Absolutely great, brave movie. I think now a days it´s very important to show such a controversial topic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlanN.Apr 7, 2008
I find it strange that some of the critics marked this movie so low. It is an extremely intense experience that takes place mostly in the confines of a single location. I never go into too much plot detail on my reviews but suffice to say I find it strange that some of the critics marked this movie so low. It is an extremely intense experience that takes place mostly in the confines of a single location. I never go into too much plot detail on my reviews but suffice to say this is a storyline that will offend some people, so beware. That said, I thought it was fairly tastefully done with no truly graphic scenes of either sexually or violence. The actors performances, the claustrophobic nature of the setting and the fact that the two main characters are both damaged keeps the intensity alive throughout the movie. An excellent feat considering it is heavily dialogue driven. I very much recommend this movie. It should be noted that Ellen Page, the lead actress was 18 when she made the movie, despite playing a younger person. That may help some reconcile their morals and not miss out on a viewing. Oh and I urge you NOT to read Ms Habanera's review below if you wish to avoid a massive spoiler which will definitely spoil your enjoyment of the movie. Luckily I'd already seen the film prior to coming on here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmanueleS.Jul 22, 2008
Absolutely fantastic: actors director and photography are perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
spikeleejointJun 13, 2009
Whats with this movie, its too good. Not allowed. This town isn't big Enough for two incredible dream come trues. There's orgasms and "hard candy". Damn right I made fu**ing room for two. Twos company, threes a party with God.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JunomacguffJun 13, 2009
Holy sh**! What did just witness. A true masterpiece. How did the oscars miss this and catch a horrible movie like crash. The script for this movie was incredible. Patrick Wilson was perfect and very real and ellen page was truly godly Holy sh**! What did just witness. A true masterpiece. How did the oscars miss this and catch a horrible movie like crash. The script for this movie was incredible. Patrick Wilson was perfect and very real and ellen page was truly godly magnificent. She was more then extraordinary. She usually gives performances like thus and I know it but I'm still always surprised. Really amazing movie. I don't know what other adjectives to describe this movie as(or ellen page) but its needs to be watched. The ending is awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobCOct 24, 2006
The very good acting of the two lead characters was crucial in this film as their interactions commanded nearly all of the screen time. The story keeps you guessing until the end who's the victim and who's the predator? .... And The very good acting of the two lead characters was crucial in this film as their interactions commanded nearly all of the screen time. The story keeps you guessing until the end who's the victim and who's the predator? .... And does the punishment fit the crime? My primary complaint is that I found the many and varied abilities of the young teenage female lead character to be unbelievable and well beyond her years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffreyL.May 3, 2006
A fantastic breaktrhough performance by Ellen Page, who creates a "psycho ....." of the same caliber as Glen Close in FATAL ATTRACTION and Kathy Bates in MISERY. (And with better one-liners!)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanM.May 5, 2006
Very intense and unsettling psychological drama. Great performances, not over the top, although some of the scenes definitely are. Two big thumbs up from me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FredW.Sep 24, 2006
I liked the uncertainty of who is actually the protagonist, as well as the absolutely agonizing climax and excellent performances, but in the end something that you can't put your finger on just doesn't feel right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayMustYouKnow?Nov 1, 2007
The film was...pleasing. I rather enjoyed the turn of events and I think Mr. Wilson and Miss Page are wonderful actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeH.Oct 3, 2008
Amazing. One of the most perfect movies you will ever see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MsHabaneraFeb 8, 2008
This movie was fantastic. The acting was superb, the direction and cinematography top notch. A tough subject. I agree with Stacey flip - it was gripping. And just when the story threatens to be monotonous, Jeff figures out the castration was This movie was fantastic. The acting was superb, the direction and cinematography top notch. A tough subject. I agree with Stacey flip - it was gripping. And just when the story threatens to be monotonous, Jeff figures out the castration was faked, and the film turns again. Simply astonishing & gutsy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakobL.Jul 13, 2008
This intense thriller shocks with its intense visuals and explicit content. Young actress Ellen Page succeeds with acting the part of you Haley that captures a person she suspects to be a pedophile and tortures him until he admits to the This intense thriller shocks with its intense visuals and explicit content. Young actress Ellen Page succeeds with acting the part of you Haley that captures a person she suspects to be a pedophile and tortures him until he admits to the crime, if he even committed such? The audience will constantly have to reconsider who's the good guy in the movie, is it the young girl who's rightfully punishing a killer and a rapist or is it the innocent 30 year old photographer thats a victim of a young girls insanity, remember four out five doctors do agree that she is in fact insane. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleK.Jul 21, 2008
A raw, disturbing film that keeps you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. This is a hard film to watch. Its not for everybody (remorseless torture is involved) but for those who aren't bothered by its explicit subject A raw, disturbing film that keeps you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. This is a hard film to watch. Its not for everybody (remorseless torture is involved) but for those who aren't bothered by its explicit subject matter, this is a must see. If for nothing else watch it for the performances. Patrick Wilson and Ellen Page are phenominal (probably the best two performances of 2006). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TashaAug 3, 2008
Weird but great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DarrenWAug 12, 2009
I'm no relation to Matthew W, and while all are entitled to their opinion, am glad as I could not disagree any more vehemently. I have to point out that (spoiler warning!!) his assertions that Jeff was tortured for no reason are I'm no relation to Matthew W, and while all are entitled to their opinion, am glad as I could not disagree any more vehemently. I have to point out that (spoiler warning!!) his assertions that Jeff was tortured for no reason are misguided, as is apparent to any who pay attention to the film all the way through instead of tuning out to ponder their expectations of the next blockbuster on show (or, in Matthew W's case, perhaps "too" ponder it). As for my review, I found the roles to be incredibly well portrayed, with Ellen's blend of adolescent enthusiasm and intriguing insight a rival for Dakota Fannings role in "Man on Fire". Patrick Wilson was a brilliant counterpart to this, leaving the audience wondering till near the end as to his true role in the story. Not since "2 girls and a guy" have I seen as good a counter play between characters. The cinematography was excellent, with only one exception, (another spoiler warning here) early on in the film which, for the insightful, may give a hint as to one of the early twists in the story.The remainder excels in it's efforts, and helps emphasize said counter play between the characters. For the story, I can only say enthralling. A psychological thriller is push and pull by definition, and if I give any criticism, it is that I found it a little too one sided. That being said, the twists were original, and the audience was regularly left asking where the line was to be drawn. I enjoy blockbusters as much as the next person, but is relieving to see some writers able to make a film that doesn't rely on any special effects, able instead to find a way to use the acting to carry the audience on a journey. Often it is said the book is better than the movie, but I feel that in this case, were the book readily available, I would still rave about the movie. I look forward to the stage production. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonB.Dec 11, 2006
A fascinating revelation: It's a Hollywood movie that is actually thought provoking. Who would have thought it possible? Superb performances add to a plot that finds you constantly questioning your moral judgment of both characters A fascinating revelation: It's a Hollywood movie that is actually thought provoking. Who would have thought it possible? Superb performances add to a plot that finds you constantly questioning your moral judgment of both characters throughout the film. Tense, challenging, occasionally gruesome, but a refreshingly orginal take on the long suffering thriller genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CatS.Dec 29, 2006
Wow! Disturbing ,beautifuly shot , Ellen Page is an unbeliveably complex actress. Patrick Wilson plays off her preformance with such realism. Subject matter is difficult ,taboo for some, but for those that enjoy a film with charecters sound Wow! Disturbing ,beautifuly shot , Ellen Page is an unbeliveably complex actress. Patrick Wilson plays off her preformance with such realism. Subject matter is difficult ,taboo for some, but for those that enjoy a film with charecters sound and visuals this is a must see peice of art! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful