Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2011
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1536 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,291
Mixed:
119
Negative:
126
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
genxmoviegoerJul 19, 2011
My children are 9 and 10. When this all began they were too small to enjoy Potter and I was not a fan. They were not allowed to watch the movies until they read the books. I remember the pride I felt the first time they sat in my lapMy children are 9 and 10. When this all began they were too small to enjoy Potter and I was not a fan. They were not allowed to watch the movies until they read the books. I remember the pride I felt the first time they sat in my lap reading the big potter book to me. Soon enough they both finished the first book and declared they were ready for the movie. There was rhythm as the kids devoured the books and demanded the movies. Their reading out paced the production and have waited with the rest of the world for the movies to come. Something is lost as the series ends. The first big books they ever read, and the first big kid movies they ever watched. The movie is wonderful. The series is wonderful. Watching my children experience both has been a joy of fatherhood. Expand
37 of 41 users found this helpful374
All this user's reviews
10
TheAngryN00bJul 15, 2011
A wonderful movie, and if you've ever lost a loved one, you'll truly connect with the emotion in this story. Many people grew up reading and watching the Harry Potter story, and this final movie reaches the peak of maturity in subject matter.A wonderful movie, and if you've ever lost a loved one, you'll truly connect with the emotion in this story. Many people grew up reading and watching the Harry Potter story, and this final movie reaches the peak of maturity in subject matter. It deals with honor, death, love, and sacrifice. Thank you Ms. Rowling for teaching our younger generation these important values. Expand
20 of 29 users found this helpful209
All this user's reviews
10
JoradJul 15, 2011
First off, let me start by saying that I never read the books, so I'm not going to go about making comparisons between the book and the movie. However, I have watched every film so I've managed to keep up with the series. As a result, IFirst off, let me start by saying that I never read the books, so I'm not going to go about making comparisons between the book and the movie. However, I have watched every film so I've managed to keep up with the series. As a result, I will rate this AS A FILM rather than a book adaptation. As a film, this is fantastic on every front. Splitting the film into two parts was the best thing they could've done. I felt the first part had a couple of pacing issues, but was still pretty great. This one is perfectly paced. I was gripped constantly. A fantastic balance of story and action. Every character was excellent portrayed and I really felt that each one of them had a good level of depth. The script was also fantastic. It never felt cliché, the amount of humour was just right and it's just overall very well written. The action, the story, the character development, the romance, the humour. It's all so perfectly balanced. Nothing ever felt forced. Overall this is a phenomenal film. Every Harry Potter fan should see this, and even if you aren't a fan, watch it because it's a GOOD film (though I would recommend at least watching a couple of the previous films beforehand to have some sort of an idea of what's going on). Expand
16 of 24 users found this helpful168
All this user's reviews
5
JLWAug 2, 2011
Ultimately a disappointing film; simply because it was soulless and hollow. More emphasis should have been placed on the characters who died and on the trauma of the whole battle. Sadly, it ends up being a utterly forgettable B grade actionUltimately a disappointing film; simply because it was soulless and hollow. More emphasis should have been placed on the characters who died and on the trauma of the whole battle. Sadly, it ends up being a utterly forgettable B grade action film. Shame.... Expand
17 of 45 users found this helpful1728
All this user's reviews
3
SradJul 15, 2011
I am convinced that the critics who have raved about this movie and have given it such positive reviews haven't actually read the books. This movie diverges from the actual book way more than I could appreciate as a HP fan. The HogwartsI am convinced that the critics who have raved about this movie and have given it such positive reviews haven't actually read the books. This movie diverges from the actual book way more than I could appreciate as a HP fan. The Hogwarts battle scenes seem to be the director's own version of the events rather than a recreation of the book (if you've seen the trailers, you would have suspected as much). Unfortunately, while the first four movies brilliantly followed the books (given the time constraints of a movie), ever since director David Yates got involved, the movies have moved away from the books (Half Blood Prince being a great example of Yates doing his own thing). Deathly Hallows 2 in my view does an even poorer job of visually recreating the book than Half Blood Prince did. In summary a most disappointing end to the Harry Potter years Expand
20 of 104 users found this helpful2084
All this user's reviews
10
comfyconfessionOct 14, 2011
I grew up with Harry Potter, and in my opinion this is a wonderful sendoff for a brilliant series. It was emotionally satisfying in every way, and beautifully acted by Allan Rickman and Daniel Radcliffe in particular.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
starwooowMar 8, 2015
very bad film. seriously every element from this film are chessy except music score. it just doesn't deserve got high rating. the effects battle really totally trash if you compare with some movie has great visual such as star wars or thevery bad film. seriously every element from this film are chessy except music score. it just doesn't deserve got high rating. the effects battle really totally trash if you compare with some movie has great visual such as star wars or the lord of the rings. only one character have a good acting, that is Alan Rickman the rest not. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
god-amaterasuJun 26, 2012
The latest Harry Potter film concludes an epic saga: we're talking about one of the most successful episodes, but that does not appeal to those who never liked the boy wizard. Not bad, though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SchroederRockApr 16, 2012
Figuring out how to appropriately explain this film in a fair light is impossible. Without reading the books I can't say how much was left out. But what I can say is that, while the books are incredible (from what I hear), most movies areFiguring out how to appropriately explain this film in a fair light is impossible. Without reading the books I can't say how much was left out. But what I can say is that, while the books are incredible (from what I hear), most movies are not true screen adaptations that capture everything that might be important or wonderful from the text. Yates did a wonderful job wrapping up the series. Deathly Hallows Part 2 comes off as more engaging and more fun than Part 1 as a movie, given that there is a lot more going on, and ultimately ends up being one of the most enjoyable Harry Potter films of the whole series. I would have gladly given another 20 minutes for Yates & crew to explain and appropriately tie up the entire story as many fans (both those who enjoyed and were disappointed) have commented on. But what's done is done. It's not quite perfect, but it's a wonderful and successful ending to what has been one of the most important adaptations ever. I'll certainly miss seeing the world and characters of Harry Potter in new ways, but at least there were so many films to give breath visually to a series JK Rowling created... and in the scope of a childrens novel. The movie is great, and it leaves you wanting more as it makes an exit in "styyyle". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheBearJan 9, 2013
It seems a lot of Potter fans are so lost and deluded in their love of the source material that they forget that the films here actually need to be films and not primarily a soulless copycat of the novels. This isn't perfectly judged but theIt seems a lot of Potter fans are so lost and deluded in their love of the source material that they forget that the films here actually need to be films and not primarily a soulless copycat of the novels. This isn't perfectly judged but the vast majority of it has been and it is an exceptionally well made blockbuster with enough soul to match the heavy effects that feature this time. However what is really testament to the success of not just this film but also of the whole series, is that the quieter and more character drive moments really outshine the action and spectacle. Exceptional performances from the whole cast and it has a rousing and satisfying conclusion. It's a shame not all the secondary characters get the send off most would have liked but it is a minor quibble. A powerful end to a mighty series. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SpellkidDec 28, 2011
What a perfect way to finish such a inspirational and moving series. Overall everyone perfect. the best actor was by far Alan Rickman as Severus Snape. The darkness adds the emotional and action pack fim. everything was perfect and acting wasWhat a perfect way to finish such a inspirational and moving series. Overall everyone perfect. the best actor was by far Alan Rickman as Severus Snape. The darkness adds the emotional and action pack fim. everything was perfect and acting was not overdone like part one was. I am really proud to call the best film of 2011. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
eagleNov 18, 2011
I am a very big fan of Harry Potter movies. But I don't find myself enjoying reading the Harry Potter books, it's probably the books are too long. The sotry plot and visual in this movie is really good. It provide a good ending to the series.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MagnificentMDec 22, 2011
This was an amazing end to a series of (mostly) great movies. Though it may be difficult to watch for some fans of the book (like me) without being slightly disappointed with all of the things left out of the movies, but it stands very wellThis was an amazing end to a series of (mostly) great movies. Though it may be difficult to watch for some fans of the book (like me) without being slightly disappointed with all of the things left out of the movies, but it stands very well on its own. The best part of the movie for me were the performances of Alan Rickman as Snape (especially during the scene in the Pensive) and Ralph Fiennes as Voldemort which were both perfect. There were also great visual effects and a beautiful score by Alexandre Desplat though the epilogue was pretty terrible in my opinion. Still, it was a satisfying, and well made conclusion to the phenomenon that my entire generation has grown up reading and loving. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ShuteTheRunnerJan 18, 2012
Hello and I am aspiring critic. I am 16 years of age and have created a blog for a few reviews that I have written. I was hoping that you may be interested in checking it outHello and I am aspiring critic. I am 16 years of age and have created a blog for a few reviews that I have written. I was hoping that you may be interested in checking it out http://shutethecritic.blogspot.com/2012/01/inbetweeners-movie-2011-film-review.html
One day I hope to have a an impact on metascores, but first I need some feedback
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AquophisDec 28, 2011
Arguably ties with Sorcerer's Stone for the title of The Very Best Harry Potter Movie Ever Made In The Whole Wide World. The film was both breathtakingly epic and breathtakingly emotional, to the nth degree. Although not done by JohnArguably ties with Sorcerer's Stone for the title of The Very Best Harry Potter Movie Ever Made In The Whole Wide World. The film was both breathtakingly epic and breathtakingly emotional, to the nth degree. Although not done by John Williams, the film score is excellent and speaks so much without words. Snape's flashbacks were brilliantly done, and this time, every departure from the book only makes the impact greater. And at the very end, the film wraps back around in mood to the warm, enchanting feel of the first film by using John Williams's original movie score, invoking both nostalgia and satisfaction. Everyone is sad to see Harry Potter go and the director knows it, and he pulls out all the stops to tease the viewers' tear ducts. A wonderful conclusion to a wonderful series. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22May 2, 2015
To be fair, I never read any of the books, so I can simply judge this based on that. Whether it is loyal to the source material or not is of no consequence to me.

With that said, I really enjoyed this movie. It was fun. Sure it isn't as
To be fair, I never read any of the books, so I can simply judge this based on that. Whether it is loyal to the source material or not is of no consequence to me.

With that said, I really enjoyed this movie. It was fun. Sure it isn't as good as some of the earlier movies, and the acting still OK-ish, but I still thought it was entertaining.

I will say I was a little disappointed about who Harry ended up with.

Overall:
HPatDHpt2 was a great conclusion to the Harry Potter movies. Flawed, but fun.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Sep 8, 2013
I never thought that the conclusion to a beloved series would end as magnificently as it did. Part 2 of the big finale really delivers. It's action-packed, heart-felt, dramatic and thrilling the whole way through. It delivers in bringing backI never thought that the conclusion to a beloved series would end as magnificently as it did. Part 2 of the big finale really delivers. It's action-packed, heart-felt, dramatic and thrilling the whole way through. It delivers in bringing back old quality Harry Potter feel and delivering new quality Harry Potter feel that doesn't withdraw from the movie. I've seen this so many times. It's FREAKING FANTASTIC! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Ashley1998Aug 17, 2013
What an outstanding end to such a brilliant film series, excellent acting, great scenery, great acting, extremely interesting and exciting start to finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLJul 14, 2015
Brillante, emocionante, divertida, oscura, impactante y única. "The Deathly Hallows Part 2" supera en todos los aspectos a su primera parte, logrando un espectáculo épico para todo el publico. Coloca las 2 partes juntas y obtendrás 4 horas yBrillante, emocionante, divertida, oscura, impactante y única. "The Deathly Hallows Part 2" supera en todos los aspectos a su primera parte, logrando un espectáculo épico para todo el publico. Coloca las 2 partes juntas y obtendrás 4 horas y media de aventura épica y mágica. Harry Potter se une a la gloria de las mejores sagas junto con "Star Wars" o "The Lord of The Rings". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
CameraBounceGodMar 16, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this movie was great but i felt like it wasn't for adults...and instead it was for teens who are not adults yet.....anyway......the black kid there seems forced ....wade actually thought it was the other fat kid.....for a second there......whats abloody diadem.....i wanted malfoy to steal the diadem...just kidding....the ghost scene was pretty bad i thought....but its all good......voldemort was pissed there at the end there.....if we die for this im gonna kill you is lame......the kicking of the horcrux was badass.....he doesn'tseem to even want to keep nagini safe any more....before the night is out he will come to me...why does voldemort know that **** excellent question....maybe hes scene it in a vision....but didn't know about the way harry can come back from heaven....which i actually forget right now so i don't blame him.....LOL Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
LOTRfanMar 13, 2015
Pretty dissapointed conclusion to end mediocre sagas of all time. Yes all harry potter films are mediocre and so bad adaptation. I love fantasy and sci-fi film but what's this ? I really hope the battle are more bigger and spectacular butPretty dissapointed conclusion to end mediocre sagas of all time. Yes all harry potter films are mediocre and so bad adaptation. I love fantasy and sci-fi film but what's this ? I really hope the battle are more bigger and spectacular but that's only dream. I more prefer read the book than watching this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
crovieliciousMar 13, 2015
I absolutely hated this film. To be fair i like fantasy and sci-fi film but this is not fantasy film this is baby film. The story totally stolen from LOtR. Destroyed horcrux - destroyed the one ring. This rip - off well deserved got ratingI absolutely hated this film. To be fair i like fantasy and sci-fi film but this is not fantasy film this is baby film. The story totally stolen from LOtR. Destroyed horcrux - destroyed the one ring. This rip - off well deserved got rating -10/10 but 0 is the lowest rating. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
xXAnthonyXxJul 15, 2011
2 Harry Potter haters here. It'd be 11 of 13 users or 7 of 9 users. I really liked the movie it was the best summer movie of year. I hope it does very good well it is going to do very good. I love the movies and this is a perfect end to an2 Harry Potter haters here. It'd be 11 of 13 users or 7 of 9 users. I really liked the movie it was the best summer movie of year. I hope it does very good well it is going to do very good. I love the movies and this is a perfect end to an awesome franchise. Bye Harry. :( Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Nov 5, 2011
It's all magical and fabulous, splendid cast and powerful performances with a impressive ride of top notch CGI. The environment and tone of the movie starts grim and strong; however the only thing that prevented me from giving "Harry PotterIt's all magical and fabulous, splendid cast and powerful performances with a impressive ride of top notch CGI. The environment and tone of the movie starts grim and strong; however the only thing that prevented me from giving "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows" a 9 was the corny ending that loosened up the mood it made. Nevertheless it is a masterpiece and a movie definitely to watch, normal people and HP fans all alike. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
ZacharyMatsonJul 15, 2011
Nothing comes close to this film. It is the best of 2011, and possibly one of the best films of all time. It's rare to see a movie that is the eight installment of a series and is so darn good. Everything about this movie is magical, no punNothing comes close to this film. It is the best of 2011, and possibly one of the best films of all time. It's rare to see a movie that is the eight installment of a series and is so darn good. Everything about this movie is magical, no pun intended. I could do with out the cheesy ending(not a spoiler), but besides that, I'd have to say there was no better way to finish off one of the greatest, if not THEE greatest movie franchise in history. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
PeenutCButterJul 15, 2011
Fantastic film, the few stylistic changes that were made were of little significance. I think most people have come to understand that writers and directs make minor artistic changes and at the end of the day they are not worth getting upset about.
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
6
jarndyceJul 15, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here's the thing: reviews from all the major critics are unfailingly unhelpful, and I'm always left wondering what movie they saw that I didn't, usually when, as here, they just love the film. The Potter finale is not bad, by any means. Nor am I concerned that it takes liberties with the books. The problem is that, as a rousing finale, it is lacking, chiefly because the pace is all wrong. We've been set up for 11 years for the momentum that must carry this film, and it's all stops and starts. Not good. Then, and also irrespective of Rowling's story, I was deeply disturbed by Voldemort's weak agenda. Haven't we been led to anticipate that, in full power, he is going to consume the world? So - why is he so triumphant at the Hogwarts scene, as though the school were his ultimate goal? The Voldemort I've been expecting would not bother making a recruitment speech to the kids. They join or die, period, and he's too flimsy here to be truly scary. On the plus side: Rickman is fabulous. Radcliffe is better than he ever was. AT LAST, Maggie Smith gets to strut her stuff. That makes it worth it. But...this was not a truly successful film conclusion to the saga. And, to be rather **** I so wanted a bit more oomph when Mrs. Weasley takes out Bellatrix. PS All the reviews indicate lots of casualties from adult and young characters. Hmm. A few, none terribly shocking. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
jok90Jul 15, 2011
A perfect film for a perfect series. Visuals were fantastic, acting was way beyond any of the previous films and the soundtrack was epic. I think people should stop complaining, J. K. Rowling was a producer for this movie and it ended gracefully.
13 of 17 users found this helpful134
All this user's reviews
8
Abraham_91Jul 15, 2011
It would be a lie if I said I was completely happy with this movie. The main reason being that, given the movie was split into two films for the purpose of staying true to the book, there was still many variations to Rowling's text in HallowsIt would be a lie if I said I was completely happy with this movie. The main reason being that, given the movie was split into two films for the purpose of staying true to the book, there was still many variations to Rowling's text in Hallows Part 2. These variations however, proved to make the movie more action orientated, cinematic and easy to understand for fans of the movies and not the books. I am only disappointed at the fact that because of past movies, Hallows Part 2 needed to tie loose ends in accordance with what was seen on screen and not in the books. As an adaptation, I feel somewhat cheated, due to the fact that the text was so rich with detail that went unseen in the film. As an action film however, Hallows Part 2 does extremely well. The main plot-line is still there, and I am pleased that Yates really delivered in the final battle. (In the book, the final battle is not as tense nor engaging and I commend Yates for his work). Soundtrack was magnificent, which really added to certain scenes in the film, especially 'Snapes Memories' and the scene where Harry knew he was going to die. These amendments all add to the missing scenes from the text, which makes this film a fitting finale. Expand
12 of 16 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
10
Eric_LevengoodJul 15, 2011
Ten years ago, we were presented with a story on the silver screen about a boy wizard, whose parents were killed by a man named Voldemort. Along the way, he met Ron Weasley and Hermonie Granger, who became his party companions as he questedTen years ago, we were presented with a story on the silver screen about a boy wizard, whose parents were killed by a man named Voldemort. Along the way, he met Ron Weasley and Hermonie Granger, who became his party companions as he quested to learn more about himself and come closer to his ultimate destiny; to kill Lord Voldemort.

This one was a very emotional, but beautiful ending to a series that a majority of people my age grew up with, and it added more to its grand power by great direction, an excellent scrript, and powerful acting (especially from Alan Rickman, who really impressed me with his performance in both parts. I actually began to sympathize with Professor Snape when they showed his backstory from his last tear, as it almost made me cry), along with top-notch visual effects and a grand score.

I can easily call this the best movie of the year, and I hope that people don't miss their last chance to see the boy wizard (unless they decide to reboot the series 20 years from now, which will anger a lot of people, including myself).

So, in total, if I give this one 5 stars and the first part a 4-star rating, that would make the 2 parts together a 4.5 out of 5, which is solid for a Harry Potter film considering all the others except the 4th (never watched Azkaban) were not all that great.

Harry had a good run, quite an impressive one at that.

Part 1: B+
Part 2: A

Together: A-
Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews