User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 799 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 799
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    By far the best film of the franchise, and the darkest in tone. Long gone is the light, cheerful score of John Williams, being replaced by Alexandre Desplat's haunting adult, haunting score. Basically all the characters and the spells has been layed out in the six previous movies and The Deathly Hallows straight away picks up where it left off in The Half-Blood Prince. To be honest, when IBy far the best film of the franchise, and the darkest in tone. Long gone is the light, cheerful score of John Williams, being replaced by Alexandre Desplat's haunting adult, haunting score. Basically all the characters and the spells has been layed out in the six previous movies and The Deathly Hallows straight away picks up where it left off in The Half-Blood Prince. To be honest, when I heard that the movie was going to be two and a half hours I was really worried that it'll drag on and on, but not suprisingly David Yates proved me wrong. I thoroughly enjoyed it and it didn't feel like 147 minutes at all. It's definitely a stand-out than all the other Potter films as there's no Hogwarts in sight. The sense of security the trio had before inside the four walls of Hogwarts and under the watchful eye of Dumbledore has been torn down. Instead, they have to face "the real world". Being hunted down like fugitives and the feeling of anxiety that anyone can pop up anywhere, and if they're not alert, they're done for. It definitely takes it's toll on all of them. My favorite scene was one that wasn't in the book, after Ron stormed off, Harry and Hermione were dancing to Nick Cave's O' Children. All the gloominess was slightly and briefly lifted by a few of the lighter bits of the movie, but basically it's all doom and gloom. The cinematography was absolutely brilliant, the best looking movie of the franchise, Exceptional acting by all three of them, a stand-out performance by Emma Watson. Part 1 ended with the death of a friend and a minor cliffhanger. What a way to kick-off the long emotional inevitable goodbye and I trust David Yates to knock it out of the park on July 2011. Bring it on. Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Harry, Ron, and Hermione leave their homes to find and destroy the horcruxes as they are being hunted by Voldemort and his dark forces while reuniting with old friends and allies before they realize that their friendship is being torn apart and must stay close together as ever. Caught the screening of this in November six days after it came out and enjoyed it. Now for my opinion. I amHarry, Ron, and Hermione leave their homes to find and destroy the horcruxes as they are being hunted by Voldemort and his dark forces while reuniting with old friends and allies before they realize that their friendship is being torn apart and must stay close together as ever. Caught the screening of this in November six days after it came out and enjoyed it. Now for my opinion. I am really entralled at how brilliant this installment is. The storyline was well-paced it tried everything it can to get to the cliff hanger, the acting was brilliant, the fantasy action was dark, yet very amazing, and the soundtrack from Alexandre Desplat (The Golden Compass, The Twilight Saga: New Moon) was epic and very emotional. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 is a satisfying epic entry of the series and will be concluded with part 2 in only 10 more days left.

    9/10
    Expand
  3. Feb 10, 2011
    7
    Excellent addition to the Potter franchise and a huge step up from the Half-Blood Prince which lacked so much!

    The music is disappointing with Desplat's promise of using John William's themes as they have been so unused in the last three films but he broke it and the actual Harry Potter theme had more or less of a cameo during the traditional sky writing title credits. The visual effects
    Excellent addition to the Potter franchise and a huge step up from the Half-Blood Prince which lacked so much!

    The music is disappointing with Desplat's promise of using John William's themes as they have been so unused in the last three films but he broke it and the actual Harry Potter theme had more or less of a cameo during the traditional sky writing title credits.

    The visual effects are at their best since Prisoner of Azkaban, the art direction is fab and the cinematography is good too!
    Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Harry Potter is back and better than ever. The war has consumed all and it hasn't even got going yet. The story to Deathly Hallows is the darkest and most unforgiving of all the Harry Potter stories making it one of the best as it never holds back. Most of Part I is the trio running and hiding from the dark lord Voldemort but it really brings it close to home, makes it human once again andHarry Potter is back and better than ever. The war has consumed all and it hasn't even got going yet. The story to Deathly Hallows is the darkest and most unforgiving of all the Harry Potter stories making it one of the best as it never holds back. Most of Part I is the trio running and hiding from the dark lord Voldemort but it really brings it close to home, makes it human once again and really fleshes out who the characters really are. Deathly Hallows Part 1 may not be an action heavy film but it is more than absolutely needed. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    One of the best harry potter movie. Had action and great fantasy .The plot was good and the actors as usual great.
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Fans will love this film. It's action packed and very emotional, and is the perfect appetiser for Part 2. Non-fans may be confused, but it's so well filmed that it should be appreciated nonetheless.
  7. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Un-be-lie-va-ble.

    This'll easily remain in my top 10 of the best movies of the year. Easily. Every single thing about this was just...perfection. The ensemble, Yates's direction, Serra's cinematography, Craig's production design: A+'s all 'round. Keep watch for one of the most memorable scenes of 2010 in an exquisite chase that's sans any musical soundtrack. The editing is just on.
    Un-be-lie-va-ble.

    This'll easily remain in my top 10 of the best movies of the year. Easily.

    Every single thing about this was just...perfection. The ensemble, Yates's direction, Serra's cinematography, Craig's production design: A+'s all 'round.

    Keep watch for one of the most memorable scenes of 2010 in an exquisite chase that's sans any musical soundtrack. The editing is just on. point.

    Oh, and while I'm at it: I'm currently putting it in the running for a Best Picture nod. When it inevitably makes 50 bajillion dollars at the b.o., audiences & technical guilds eat it up, and reviews are at the very, infinitesimal least "positive," it'll be on the Academy's radar.

    I mean, The Blind Side did it.
    Expand
  8. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Boasting with surprising maturity and good direction from director David Yates, "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1" is a good start to the ending of the Harry Potter franchise.
  9. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This one is quite easily the best of the Harry Potter movies. I think they really nailed it with this one. The acting was right at oscar worthy, the cinematography was spellbinding, the music was great, they really got the mood of the book right, that nowhere was safe and they couldn't trust anyone. Now I am uber excited for Part 2.
  10. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    I am the first one who write the review, because at this time (GMT +7), a lot of people in my country INDONESIA (Bali & Java is in INDONESIA), have already watched the International Release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I. This movie is fantastic, phenomenal and thank god, this movie not using (converted) 3D. I am a true fans, so my score (10) is reasonable enough.I am the first one who write the review, because at this time (GMT +7), a lot of people in my country INDONESIA (Bali & Java is in INDONESIA), have already watched the International Release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I. This movie is fantastic, phenomenal and thank god, this movie not using (converted) 3D. I am a true fans, so my score (10) is reasonable enough. Recommended ! because this is the final chapter of Harry Potter and friends Saga, I will miss the characters and I 'm looking forward to see Part 2 next year. Expand
  11. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    As a massive fan of the books, I always look upon the films as a chance to see J.K. Rowling's characters and universe come to life. The films are by no means perfect, but in comparison to all other films in the fantasy genre (LOTR not withstanding) they are truly entertaining and visually inventive. This latest adaptation is no exception - funny, thrilling, beautiful and touching - IAs a massive fan of the books, I always look upon the films as a chance to see J.K. Rowling's characters and universe come to life. The films are by no means perfect, but in comparison to all other films in the fantasy genre (LOTR not withstanding) they are truly entertaining and visually inventive. This latest adaptation is no exception - funny, thrilling, beautiful and touching - I eagerly await part 2. Expand
  12. Nov 19, 2010
    9
    This is a beautiful movie, and I enjoyed the vast majority of it. The complaints about the camping scenes (in the book and movie) mean nothing to me, as I loved them. The only thing I did not like about the movie is how unfinished it is. The ending was so bad that I like the movie considerably less because of it.
  13. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,Part I is a "cup of tea" of my coolness and actually a very good movie. They split between two parts before the new Part II will come out in July,but the movie keeps on. Harry,Ron and Hermoine returns back to the seventh movie and they acted like young adults,no longer becoming as a kid or a teenager at the same time,now they're acted like spies nowHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,Part I is a "cup of tea" of my coolness and actually a very good movie. They split between two parts before the new Part II will come out in July,but the movie keeps on. Harry,Ron and Hermoine returns back to the seventh movie and they acted like young adults,no longer becoming as a kid or a teenager at the same time,now they're acted like spies now and that's awesome. The scenes are pretty good,I like the action scenes for me,my favorite part is the motorcycle chase,when the Death Eaters starts attacking in the sky with multiple Harry Potters,but it's more compelling to the other three films like Sorcerer's Stone,Chamber of Secrets,and Order of the Phoenix. The screen is changing back to the same effect like the Order of the Phoenix (Sometimes it change the screen all the time with each scene that turns bright,dark,blue,and happy,when I saw Harry Potter films. I don't know? It's why they set up too much,if you feel happy or depressing while you watching.) It has some scary scenes that made me scare the whole time and it's very emotional that every movie got killed by those beloved characters and I won't spoil it for you,it's really sad. The story is very good and it needs some time when the new one is coming by for the finale of Harry Potter must face against Voldemort. The seventh movie is really done well and it's a great film that they show Harry is becoming as an adult and he could actually be a brave guy,that's really important for us that we watch the entirely films that what we read entire series. Expand
  14. Nov 20, 2010
    7
    I think what "Deathy Hallows Part One" does more than any other HP movie is proves how successful this series is. This isn't a great movie, but it's a good one, yet because its predecessors were so fantastic we see it as a disappointment. People may not like "Deathy Hallows Part One" that much because it has a cliffhanger ending and it doesnt do much in a rather long running span, but giveI think what "Deathy Hallows Part One" does more than any other HP movie is proves how successful this series is. This isn't a great movie, but it's a good one, yet because its predecessors were so fantastic we see it as a disappointment. People may not like "Deathy Hallows Part One" that much because it has a cliffhanger ending and it doesnt do much in a rather long running span, but give it this; this movie is rarely dull (I only checked the time once; near the end of that long camping trip) and it's quite beautiful at times with some really tender moments. I believe it's best to wait until Part Two comes out in order to properly judge Part One. Remember, many people disliked Kill Bill Vol. 1 when it first came out, until Vol. 2 came in and blew everyone away. Expand
  15. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    Honestly, the movie went farther than I expected. While there really was no actual climax, it's kinda expected by David Yates. I think they should have shown more of Harry pondering over Dumbledore than just the two five second periods they gave him.
  16. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    I think that this is a great movie. It isn't my favourite Harry Potter film, but it was definitely a great film. First I'll actually start off with what was bad about it. Since I'm someone that hasn't read the books and has only seen the films, I found this a tad confusing at times. This is partly because of the way that the film is paced. It dives straight into an action sequenceI think that this is a great movie. It isn't my favourite Harry Potter film, but it was definitely a great film. First I'll actually start off with what was bad about it. Since I'm someone that hasn't read the books and has only seen the films, I found this a tad confusing at times. This is partly because of the way that the film is paced. It dives straight into an action sequence right at the beginning, the rapidly slows down throughout the rest of the film, with another brief action scene at the very end. This slow pace did make it drag on a bit at times, but strangely I felt that the movie went along fairly quickly despite being almost 2 and a half hours long. Now onto what was good about this film. The CGI is definitely the best it has ever been. Some of the scenes looking pretty stunning. Also, the acting is as solid as ever. Daniel Radcliff and co put on an excellent performance once again. The main positive though is the atmosphere that was built. It did a great job in building a dark, but well rounded (unlike Half Blood Prince) atmosphere to the film. This is definitely a great film to see if you are a fan of the franchise. Expand
  17. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Heartwarming, emotionally depth, and visually appealing, this is greatly positioning the second part to be a fantastic film. Definitely one of the best of the Potters. Ha they all are great. I give this film 93% of a good movie.
  18. Jul 12, 2011
    7
    Part 1 is definitely a rather good film. One of the better ones of the franchise. With a well balanced storyline, the writers have managed to make an exciting, yet reasonably paced and well-explained part of the Potter films. The visual effects have been improving from film to film, with some of the most amazing effects we've witnessed. The biggest surprise for me was the acting - it wasPart 1 is definitely a rather good film. One of the better ones of the franchise. With a well balanced storyline, the writers have managed to make an exciting, yet reasonably paced and well-explained part of the Potter films. The visual effects have been improving from film to film, with some of the most amazing effects we've witnessed. The biggest surprise for me was the acting - it was actually pretty good! Daniel Radcliffe was actually acting well, which is rather refreshing. Overall, it is a rather interesting and smooth transition into the last film, which seems to be very promising!! Expand
  19. Nov 19, 2010
    9
    Arguably the best of the series, this penultimate instalment of the Harry Potter saga is dark, exciting and adventurous, and despite the verbose and somewhat confusing expository scenes, they will surely make for a continuation youâ
  20. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    As long as Rowling's books capture mainstream culture, the Potter films will always be judged by a different set of criteria than other movies. Though undeniably derivative of the novels, the film series by now has developed into another pole of imagination, between which the fuller landscape of the Harry Potter universe has been stretched from--even as it shapes--the books themselves.As long as Rowling's books capture mainstream culture, the Potter films will always be judged by a different set of criteria than other movies. Though undeniably derivative of the novels, the film series by now has developed into another pole of imagination, between which the fuller landscape of the Harry Potter universe has been stretched from--even as it shapes--the books themselves. Large portions of the last three books feel as if Rowling was writing with cinematic consciousness. In this sense, each new movie is judged by the way it shapes the imaginative realm in which an astonishing amount of human beings live. How does Deathly Hallows impact this cultural world? It evolves it considerably. Even more than Rowling's book, this movie shifts tone (not just scenery), matures themes, and simply expects more from all its players. The result is a movie that startles in its distinctive approach, most notably its willingness to visit extremes of loneliness and chaotic terror from scene-to-scene. It's not an easy movie, but it's by far Yates' best addition to the franchise and improves on Rowling in many ways. For those who criticize its financially beneficial half-ing, it must be said that, if anything, the movie suffers from being too concentrated--especially for the first hour--rather than being too drawn out. As a reference point, only Azkaban deserves (and probably slightly eclipses) placement in the same realm of filmaking quality. The Deathly Hallows is a moving experience in more ways than one; those who are disappointed probably simply need time to catch up with how far this movie has advanced the imaginative world our real world has inhabited for a comfortable decade. Expand
  21. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    One of the best movies of this year, and one of the best movies of de fanchise. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows have action, good actors, good soundtrack and perfect effects. The movies is not good as the book, but is awesome.
  22. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This movie Excels in every sense: Acting, Plot, Adaptation, Visual and Special Effects. Best HP Sequel to Date! Go see it yourself. Don't let others tell you what to think!
  23. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    It's not maybe the most remarkable movie of the year but it's fun and truly entertaining one. Despite, the hole world's belief that the movie is just a try for more money and that the movie will not be able to stand alone, I think that this one proved that everyone of us was wrong. The acting from the trio was truly mind-blowing, all of the three have proved that they grown up to be moreIt's not maybe the most remarkable movie of the year but it's fun and truly entertaining one. Despite, the hole world's belief that the movie is just a try for more money and that the movie will not be able to stand alone, I think that this one proved that everyone of us was wrong. The acting from the trio was truly mind-blowing, all of the three have proved that they grown up to be more than great actors and even better than some aged ones. The tone of the movie was a lot "brighter" than usual but my conclusion is that the movie was more entertaining than expected and it greatly prepares the viewer for the grand finale. Expand
  24. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    As someone who was really disappointed with the movie version of The Half-Blood Prince, I was wondering whether this movie would go down the same path. Thankfully, it hasn't, and instead, is now one of my three favorite Harry Potter movies (the others being Goblet of Fire and Order of the Phoenix). All I can say is, the magic is back with this movie! Can't wait for Part 2!
  25. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Definitely the best Harry Potter film so far. I'm really disappointed that the other films weren't this accurate to the book. The Half-Blood Prince totally destroyed the original story, which they are paying for now, because fans that have never read the books are like "I don't get what's happening" in places. If you've read the book's this is the Harry Potter film we've been waiting for,Definitely the best Harry Potter film so far. I'm really disappointed that the other films weren't this accurate to the book. The Half-Blood Prince totally destroyed the original story, which they are paying for now, because fans that have never read the books are like "I don't get what's happening" in places. If you've read the book's this is the Harry Potter film we've been waiting for, it captures the book's atmosphere and the character's feelings really well. I can see alot of negative reviews from people who have never read the books, which is a shame. I think the film automatically made more sense to me because I've read the books, and because the story is so close to the books my mind sort of just automatically linked the missing things. Expand
  26. Dec 26, 2010
    7
    Entertaining and certainly well-crafted, but I couldn't help but look at this solely as a build-up to the final film. I wish this was better able to stand alone as a story, but I'm sure it will play very well to all Potter fanatics. On the bright side, its cinematography was unexpectedly beautiful and almost poetic. at times.
  27. Nov 20, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the deathly hallows was different then i thought coming in into it. There was alot of down time then i execpted, but that is fine cause they filled it with some good conversations and diologe. also movie i though it would go very slow cause of the 2:30 min run time but supriseingly it went pretty fast. The acting was great, and the dark tone was a nice touch it made me really feel for the characters exspecaly at the part where herminny was getting torcherd it really made me sad for her. Expand
  28. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    This movie was great, thrilling (especially if you do not know what is coming) and emotional.
    I do not understand how ANY Harry Potter fan could be disappointed with this movie. Nonetheless there are still a minority sooking and complaining about stupid little things. The fans of the books finally got what they want; the perfect adaption yet there are still fools having a whinge.
    Maybe
    This movie was great, thrilling (especially if you do not know what is coming) and emotional.
    I do not understand how ANY Harry Potter fan could be disappointed with this movie. Nonetheless there are still a minority sooking and complaining about stupid little things. The fans of the books finally got what they want; the perfect adaption yet there are still fools having a whinge.

    Maybe it is just the fact that people imagine the books different when they are reading , expect too much from the movie and then simply cannot like them.

    Emma Watson steals the show and bloody hell she has gotten very very attractive. She is especially good at the malfoys her screams are very believable and will give you chills.
    It is action packed with death eater attacks and threats every 10 or 15 minutes giving the sense that danger never alludes the trio. The movie is also emotional especially the opening when Hermione is erasing her parents memories. The ending is also saddening. I would say one of the best in the series but i would not recomend it to anyone with no harry potter knowledge. It would be impossible to follow.
    Expand
  29. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As Harry races against time and evil to destroy the Horcruxes, he uncovers the existence of three most powerful objects in the wizarding world: the Deathly Hallows. Expand
  30. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    This film is perfect , it gives a feeling of the calm before the struggle, the characters are fighting for themselves to survive against the difficulties. Every calm scene, the beautiful locations, the action, everything is fueled by an huge emotional scale. I personally enjoyed the film because it turns to be more adult, with more intricate and challenging conflicts for the characters.This film is perfect , it gives a feeling of the calm before the struggle, the characters are fighting for themselves to survive against the difficulties. Every calm scene, the beautiful locations, the action, everything is fueled by an huge emotional scale. I personally enjoyed the film because it turns to be more adult, with more intricate and challenging conflicts for the characters. It's a perfect 10 to David Yates. Expand
  31. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    This was my favorite out of all the Harry Potter movies so far and the best movie in 2010 in my opinion. I saw this one twice. Once at a midnight premiere, aka, thursday night/friday morning and i saw it again a couple weeks after. This movie has it all. I really like the actors and I'm glad that they chose to split the movie into two parts.
  32. CRL
    Jul 28, 2011
    10
    Part I is the best since Azkaban, and shows how great David Yates can be when he's paying attention to the source material instead of doing his own thing. Atmospheric and amazingly detailed, Part I paints the new and oppressive version of the wizarding world with almost macabre beauty, and some of the series' best acting creates one of the most immersive films I've ever seen. Part IPart I is the best since Azkaban, and shows how great David Yates can be when he's paying attention to the source material instead of doing his own thing. Atmospheric and amazingly detailed, Part I paints the new and oppressive version of the wizarding world with almost macabre beauty, and some of the series' best acting creates one of the most immersive films I've ever seen. Part I doesn't skimp on the emotion either, and sometimes it even delivers a laugh or two. Also, the cinematography was some of the best of the series, and I still can't figure out why it missed out on an Oscar. In the end, the only thing that let Part I down was lack of an ending, but even that doesn't take away from its greatness. Expand
  33. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    The only Character driven Harry Potter movie and it was a very good set up for the climactic final installment. The performances by Radcliffe and Grint but mostly Watson were the best in the series
  34. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    I get the feeling this entire film was made to give the screen time that Harry, Ron, and Hermione deserve with one another. It is one of the darkest and most emotional films in the series and really does a great job leading up to the conclusion. It is beautifully filmed and acted and happens to be very faithful to the novel. My only warning is that if you've never read any of the novels,I get the feeling this entire film was made to give the screen time that Harry, Ron, and Hermione deserve with one another. It is one of the darkest and most emotional films in the series and really does a great job leading up to the conclusion. It is beautifully filmed and acted and happens to be very faithful to the novel. My only warning is that if you've never read any of the novels, the film will be hard to understand at some points. If you haven't read the book, do so. It tells the story better than any movie ever could. Expand
  35. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    The movie was even more amazing if you had read the book. Absolutely stunning. Although there wasn't a lot of action in Part 1 of the Deathly Hallows, it was still a movie worth watching - well, obviously, otherwise you wouldn't have a clue of what's going on in Part 2. The entire Harry Potter saga is one of my all-time favorites.
  36. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    I was suprised that I liked it as much as I did, I didnt like the earlier HP films but I did enjoy the HBP. I think the film was solid through out - Good acting, Good action, and it stayed true to the book for the most part. I think that the entire time they were on the run could have been a bit shorter though, I felt that it was a little too dragged on. Still, Its a good film.
  37. Nov 19, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know what "DearDear" is thinking. This movie was amazing. It's been a while since I've seen the first six, so I can't say it's the best in the series, but it's got to be right up there.
    The first scene, where Hermione has to modify her parents' memories was actually shown, while it is just mentioned in the book. It really shows how dedicated Hermione is to this cause. The chase scene with the 7 Harry's was chaotic and hard to follow, but that's how it was described in the book. A particularly cool moment followed when Hagrid looped the loop in the tunnel. I couldn't stop smiling. Mad-Eye Moody's death was barely mentioned. Nobody really shed a tear about it, and I was disappointed by how little they spent on it. Bill and Fleur's wedding was supposed to be a happy moment in the darkness (until Kingsley's patronus shows up,) but in this movie even that seemed a bit dark, due to sound effects. Nearly nobody was smiling.
    The movie had some funny parts to break the tension, but mostly the tone is dark. I'd say even too dark. But I still loved the crap out of this movie, and can't wait until July to see part 2!
    Expand
  38. Nov 22, 2010
    8
    Is it me or are the films of this franchise getting better? I don't claim to be a fan of the series (actually I don't really care about the books in the slightest), but as the years go on, the movies are becoming more enjoyable for me. This film won't appeal to as many people due to the dark tones, but I feel that it fits the mood very well and does something that many mainstream,Is it me or are the films of this franchise getting better? I don't claim to be a fan of the series (actually I don't really care about the books in the slightest), but as the years go on, the movies are becoming more enjoyable for me. This film won't appeal to as many people due to the dark tones, but I feel that it fits the mood very well and does something that many mainstream, big-budget films fail to do: the tone and mood of the characters fits the severity of the world/situation that they are in. This is by far the most gloomy/depressing one yet; with Harry and his friends slowly descending into the darkness with each moment as all their hopes begin to fail. To me this is reminiscent of The Empire Strikes back (my favorite of the Star Wars movies) which leaves you with a somber feeling at the fact that the heroes don't come out on top, but manage to just scrape by. Of course this is all setting up the finale for a "come back", but that's pretty much to be expected. The journey there is very meaningful; although there are moments that are weak here and there, but that could also be that I'm not aware of their significance to the past and current events of this very long series. All in all this movie kept my attention and I'm glad that it didn't try to soften that harsh reality of their situation, which makes me live for the day when they hopefully mete out some much needed justice to Voldemort and the somehow eviler Belatrix. I'm definitely looking forward to the finale... Expand
  39. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    You will hate this film or love it. As you can tell by the giant 10 I loved it. The movie is long and emotional, though there is not as much action as there is dramatic exposition when the action is done it is by far the best in the series. It is certainly dark but I loved this because the first parts of the book were extremely dark as well, though this might through a few people off.You will hate this film or love it. As you can tell by the giant 10 I loved it. The movie is long and emotional, though there is not as much action as there is dramatic exposition when the action is done it is by far the best in the series. It is certainly dark but I loved this because the first parts of the book were extremely dark as well, though this might through a few people off. Yates filmmaking is beautiful and even when the three are just sitting there it's a joy to look at. This is a great movie for those who want to enjoy it, please don't listen to those who say it's boring in the middle, they just don't understand the plot enough to be drawn in. This is first and foremost for people who have actually seen the previous movies, so if you haven't... why not? Expand
  40. Nov 23, 2010
    7
    The biggest issue with the 7th movie is the stupidity that it needs to be split into two. The filmakers were just stalling for the entire film until Voldemort found the object he was desperately trying to find. It was long, the plot had an inconsistent pace, but was otherwise decent. It was hard to appreciate the beginning of the end for the series, and how the movie's "epicness" wasThe biggest issue with the 7th movie is the stupidity that it needs to be split into two. The filmakers were just stalling for the entire film until Voldemort found the object he was desperately trying to find. It was long, the plot had an inconsistent pace, but was otherwise decent. It was hard to appreciate the beginning of the end for the series, and how the movie's "epicness" was overdone and quickly overated. Although, I do expect part 2 to compensate for the overwhelming "epic" tone and a faster paced, more intelligent plotline that the filmakers lacked in this one. When fans who haven't read the book view this, I expect them to focus on the plot and the mysteries that unfold. As far as i'm concerned, this one became a slight dissapointment as they tried to make it feel big with a lack of a dark score, overdevelopment of characters, which made me feel uneasy. I do expect to give a perfect review for part 2 because of the plotline set in place. Harry, Ron, and Hermoine are no longer in Hogwarts. They are on the search for the horcruxes, and time is closing in on them. Expand
  41. Dec 7, 2010
    9
    I'm a fan of Harry Potter Saga, i've read all of 7 books the saga and i've watched all film's compose this,but this particular episode, was badly scripted, i think the screenwriters want to be faithful to the book, but with it's own particular interpretation, in doing so gave more importance to them that are constantly in the woods, rather than make more sense of the Deathly Hallows,I'm a fan of Harry Potter Saga, i've read all of 7 books the saga and i've watched all film's compose this,but this particular episode, was badly scripted, i think the screenwriters want to be faithful to the book, but with it's own particular interpretation, in doing so gave more importance to them that are constantly in the woods, rather than make more sense of the Deathly Hallows, this is what transpires from the tradition in italian Expand
  42. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Just like the book, but more fancy, exciting, dark and ever yet so entertaining. I admit it's a bit sad to see the house elf Dobby go to his death, but that is how Voldemort works.
  43. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Part 1 of Deathly Hallows is a total Potter package. Fans will love the enthralling score, enchanting visuals and impeccable story-telling. It's refreshing to get a great flick in the theater, and one that has no 3D support at all. The directors knew they didn't need three-dimensional pops to make a magical night at the movies, and I was amazed how well the overall package turned out.
  44. Dec 6, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Guauuu ... a very complete movie with a great script and a fantastic interpretation and fantastic special effects ... very advisable. It does not have 10 for my part for lack of action .. but equally harry's sixth movie is for already very well. Very advisable they do not lose it. Expand
  45. Dec 4, 2010
    9
    After spending 6 movies of keeping the film within the same boundaries over and over, this prelude delivers slick animation, plot exploration, and war-like action that all give the audience the sensation of stretching your spine after getting out of bed.
  46. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    Really enjoyed this chapter of the Harry Potter series. Superbly made and beautifully shot, this is a film for adults and older children alike, though you would be very confused if you haven't followed the books closely. Skantea, you are clearly far more intelligent and mature than the vast majority of people who watch this film. I applaud you for taking the time out to alert us all to this fact.
  47. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    Saw this a few hours ago, and i loved it. i am not a die hard fan im just a guy who thinks its really good. i love how the series just gets darker yet is still funny at times and entertaining. effects were really good and i love voldermorts character! -1 point cause it can always be better and for the **** that wouldnt shutup in the theatre.
  48. May 22, 2011
    8
    harry potter and the deathly hallows, is the pen ultimate installation of the series. dividing into two parts was considered since it has lot to say explain and deliver the things. the first half here explains the situation is getting worse. dark lord rising and awaiting for an occasion to find harry potter and kill him. meanwhile the whereabouts of the people are getting worse. someharry potter and the deathly hallows, is the pen ultimate installation of the series. dividing into two parts was considered since it has lot to say explain and deliver the things. the first half here explains the situation is getting worse. dark lord rising and awaiting for an occasion to find harry potter and kill him. meanwhile the whereabouts of the people are getting worse. some attacks at every instant reflects that it is no longer safe to be here. so where do they go? definitely one place, the order of phoenix headquarters. there they find a clue and things move on here. but sooner or later, jungle enters into life and emotions touch their lives and characters split apart and harry desperate to finish this off. in his quest, he finds the sword of griffindoor and something unexpected happens. a real turn back here and some regular touches and revealing a riveting climax. of course the loss of one dearest friend. take a seat back and relax for first 10 min till the proceedings begin. no sooner , one will hook up straight from then till the end of first half. of course some anguish, jealousy would reflect that it is taking a wild turn here. but sooner the qualities disappear and it builds up for riveting climax. the last 20 minutes has lot to see and stick to the seats. no where to relax. direction and screenplay takes a next level in this franchise and reflects the best filming here with everything at appropriate levels. opening scene and last scene are surely stunners and way to begin and end. lead cast performances by daniel radcilffe emma watson and rupert grint are always the best. they are matured and emotions oh my god!! that is really good here. ralph fiennes as deadly voldemort is good and grint evil smile surely will do the sayings oh he is the bad guy here! rest characters are supportive and useful for the narrative. there was some confusion for non book readers about the film, but surely the second half has answers for everything. the chase, the initial sky battle and the infiltration in the ministry are the best action sequences one can never get. the camera work is way too fast here, but it is required for the action to build up. cinematography is awesome here. every frame is dark, bright and of course darker. some visuals are stunning here. during action scenes, you would enjoy the work surely. editing was a bit problem in first 30 min with sufficed scenes that might bore a bit. but the later part picks up and gives a spine ride. dialogs are good and sometimes commendable too. overall we got here a perfect drama set up in the cities and dark forests, rich with colors and action performances and darker with deadly death eaters. one of the best in the harry potter franchise. i am waiting for the last part!!! Expand
  49. Jul 13, 2011
    8
    this is the most boring movie in the series, but i don't know ; something about it made me watch at least 15 times ! the movie follows the book greatly, the first and final scenes form the best parts of the film..ii should've focused more on the action scenes ,but it still gave me chills when i watched it !!
  50. Dec 4, 2010
    7
    The biggest insight one can get from Deathly Hallows Part I is that this did not need to be two movies and it was split up so that the studio could make twice as much money on the last film of the franchise. I'm sure they're disappointed they didn't think of this earlier. The film is good, but bloated and poorly edited. There are many unnecessary scenes, such that this movie could haveThe biggest insight one can get from Deathly Hallows Part I is that this did not need to be two movies and it was split up so that the studio could make twice as much money on the last film of the franchise. I'm sure they're disappointed they didn't think of this earlier. The film is good, but bloated and poorly edited. There are many unnecessary scenes, such that this movie could have been an hour and still told the story. That being said, it has a great melancholy and brooding atmosphere and is a welcome rebound from the last installment, which was so fixated with high school romantic melodrama that it was quite frankly the worst film of the franchise. It jumps right into action that is sadly not consistent. There is a lot of waiting. But for a fan of the characters and story, one cannot miss this and we are left with an obvious cliffhanger and half a year to see this to the end. Expand
  51. Dec 24, 2010
    9
    I think the only way to enjoy this, or any of the Harry Potter films is leave the book at the door when you enter the theater. As a huge fan of the books, that only seems to limit the enjoyment you get out of each and every film. If you are able to do that, you will notice that the Potter films are a huge amount of fun, mixed with a great cast of actors (the minor characters, played byI think the only way to enjoy this, or any of the Harry Potter films is leave the book at the door when you enter the theater. As a huge fan of the books, that only seems to limit the enjoyment you get out of each and every film. If you are able to do that, you will notice that the Potter films are a huge amount of fun, mixed with a great cast of actors (the minor characters, played by classic British thespians are always the best. This film is probably the biggest departure from the rest of the series, and does a good job at creating a world that is so palpable and magical. You would think leaving Hogwarts would be a problem for the filmmakers, but I think the film thrives outside of Hogwarts doors. As always, it is probably one of the best times you could have at the movies, and delivers on all levels. Expand
  52. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    This is how you do a Harry Potter film. After being completely disappointed by the mess that is Half-Blood Prince, the first part of the Harry Potter finale is a must see. Its more carefully paced, more well acted and its as dark as it can be. This film will completely make you wait in agony for the second part. It's that good.
  53. Dec 6, 2010
    7
    I really enjoyed the movie and thought that it was well done. I think that if I was a Harry Potter fanatic and read the book series, I would have enjoyed the movie a bit more. It was a great escape movie and one that my entire family went to see together. One thing for sure is that the movie was applicable to all age groups.
  54. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    this one really kept to the book and i like that. actually made me feel like i was reading the book again XD. overall i really enjoyed this movie, and i cant wait to see part 2.
  55. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    If you read the book, you will appreciate the attempt made to include as much as possible from the source material. The only problem isn't this movies fault, prior books did not do a worthy job of establishing the mythology. Many of the movies before it were too short for their own good and had to pass over the history and culture of the wizard world. So while some characters seem likeIf you read the book, you will appreciate the attempt made to include as much as possible from the source material. The only problem isn't this movies fault, prior books did not do a worthy job of establishing the mythology. Many of the movies before it were too short for their own good and had to pass over the history and culture of the wizard world. So while some characters seem like a convenient filler for a plot hole, people who read the book will be thrilled to see all the little things that made them cherish the book included. I think its the best one so far, even if it is a little slow. But the slowness pays dividends as it makes the more tense scenes all the more nail biting. July is a long time to wait though, for what is sure to be the most thrilling Harry Potter yet. Expand
  56. Nov 30, 2010
    7
    Even though the world is always an abnormally grey color and there are a couple parts that are a bit weird (i.e. a silver Harry/ Hermione make-out illusion), "The Deathly Hallows" is put together very well and doesnt have many problems with itself, but in all, it just drags out the franchise and adds more fuel to the fire for the wait of the final conclusion.
  57. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    This is unlike any previous HP movie. If you have not see the others, I don't recommend this as your first. That said, the emotional depth and character defining moments in this movie make this more than just your standard adventure flick. This movie is much less about wand waving, special affects with a dash of humor. There is some of that, but it is about the isolation, angst andThis is unlike any previous HP movie. If you have not see the others, I don't recommend this as your first. That said, the emotional depth and character defining moments in this movie make this more than just your standard adventure flick. This movie is much less about wand waving, special affects with a dash of humor. There is some of that, but it is about the isolation, angst and cost of persevering in doing what is right, when it seems that everyone has deserted you. It left me feeling depressed, which is exactly how I expect the characters feel. I am hoping for a triumphant ending this summer. Expand
  58. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    Very well done. Although, they seemed to drag on in certain parts almost as an excuse to make a "part 2". But altogether, this movie is probably one of the closest adaptions of the book in the whole series. I can't wait for Part 2!!
  59. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    By far the best film in the series to date. They did the one thing I wish was evident in ALL of the Harry Potter movies: they took the risk of taking their time to explain the storyline, and to give the characters time to develop, instead of everything happening within days of each other. The traveling scenes, the vast landscapes, really touched me; they separated the three teenage wizardsBy far the best film in the series to date. They did the one thing I wish was evident in ALL of the Harry Potter movies: they took the risk of taking their time to explain the storyline, and to give the characters time to develop, instead of everything happening within days of each other. The traveling scenes, the vast landscapes, really touched me; they separated the three teenage wizards from the world, as they were in the books. I also love the Three Brothers sequence; one of the coolest things I've scene in the Harry Potter movies. Why people say this movie wasn't good is in no way apparent to me; it was incredible. Yeah, a little slow, but that's the point: to build the feeling of isolation and loneliness, to distance the audience from the rest of the wizarding world, and focus on the three main characters and their own personal challenges. CANNOT wait until the last movie! Expand
  60. Nov 22, 2010
    8
    One of the best films from the Harry Potter series. Prisoner of Akaban is my favorite but Deathly Hallows comes in at a close second. Action sequences were amazing and David Yates is able to give you more emotional depth with the three main characters. Deathly Hallows Part 1 will make you fall in love with Harry Potter.
  61. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Harry Potter, like most film or book franchises has it's own rabid fan base. The people who will go to see Deathly Hallows are people that have fallen in love with the series as a whole. David Yates and company have made a film for the fans and it is beautiful. If you have spent the last over a decade invested in the story that is Harry Potter. If you have read every book and seenHarry Potter, like most film or book franchises has it's own rabid fan base. The people who will go to see Deathly Hallows are people that have fallen in love with the series as a whole. David Yates and company have made a film for the fans and it is beautiful. If you have spent the last over a decade invested in the story that is Harry Potter. If you have read every book and seen every movie again and again because you can't get enough then you will love this film. If you have never jumped on the bandwagon that is Harry Potter and never considered yourself a fan then quite honestly, you will never understand. Anyone who has read the book knows that it is full of bleakness and raw emotion. It's the kind of book that can ruin your day after reading a few chapters and this is pulled off perfectly on screen. The film pulls on your heartstrings and plays with your nostalgic mind the entire way through. The battle between good and evil has truly reached it's highpoint and you can actually feel the character's struggles while watching these events unfold. The acting from this veteran cast is, as expected, superb. The music matches the mood perfectly. The slower scenes in the movie are in some way just as tense as the action scenes and that is a very big compliment. So what you have is a movie that was made for a very loyal fan base and as a fan I can say that we got exactly what we wanted. And just to address the point that this film feels unfinished, that would be because it is. And when Part 2 hits us next summer i'm sure we will be just as happy with the conclusion. Expand
  62. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    This movie is pretty fantastic. It might just be the greatest Potter film yet. It's very well-made, with great acting, cinematography and incredibly creative touches throughout. Of course, it feels like reading half of a book, but never have 2 1/2 hours rushed by so fast. Bring on part 2 now!
  63. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    If your a Harry Potter fan, your gonna like this movie ! If not, you will hate it. Of course, there's a lot of details from the book (for those who had read the books) that weren't in the movie. But the main parts from the story where their, which is good. The drama between the characters was perfect. For those you give a bad review of this movie is that they only saw the movies and hadIf your a Harry Potter fan, your gonna like this movie ! If not, you will hate it. Of course, there's a lot of details from the book (for those who had read the books) that weren't in the movie. But the main parts from the story where their, which is good. The drama between the characters was perfect. For those you give a bad review of this movie is that they only saw the movies and had never read the books. I recommend to read the books before seeing the movie, because you will understand even better the film and sometimes, the books give more information. I tough it was a great film. Expand
  64. Nov 22, 2010
    8
    "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" does exactly what it is meant to do--develop characters and create tension in anticipation for the great climax that will be coming in less than a year.

    Is there some action? Yes, but only enough to create more tension. The core of HP 7.1 revolves around our three young heroes (Harry, Ron, and Hermione) and their dynamic relationships with
    "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" does exactly what it is meant to do--develop characters and create tension in anticipation for the great climax that will be coming in less than a year.

    Is there some action? Yes, but only enough to create more tension. The core of HP 7.1 revolves around our three young heroes (Harry, Ron, and Hermione) and their dynamic relationships with each other and the world at large as Voldemort steps into the driver's seat to create a kind of world/empire not unlike the Third Reich.

    Moviegoers should already have a strong grasp on the franchise and its characters by this point, and you assuredly will not be disappointed. Those who are not familiar with the characters or what a muggle or a horcrux is are better off skipping over this one.
    Expand
  65. May 18, 2011
    10
    My favourite film of last year and arguable the best in the franchise while the film is essentially a fetch quest David Yates and the rest of his crew turn it in to a wonderful movie which visits tonnes of beautiful locations within great Britain the acting is phenomenal the actors have matured greatly in the 10 years and so have there acting abilities.

    This one is worth anybody's money
    My favourite film of last year and arguable the best in the franchise while the film is essentially a fetch quest David Yates and the rest of his crew turn it in to a wonderful movie which visits tonnes of beautiful locations within great Britain the acting is phenomenal the actors have matured greatly in the 10 years and so have there acting abilities.

    This one is worth anybody's money buy the Blu-Ray and enjoy the magic over and over again. Because you will definitely want to after you've watched the movie once.

    Deathly Hallows part 2 will be a fantastic finale and I can't wait to see it!
    Expand
  66. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    By far... it is the best movie of the harry potter so far. The story of harry potter has at last, reached its climax! The Boy who lived is going to risk his life....
  67. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This is a piece of genius. Nothing short. All the scenes in the movie looked exactly like they did while I was reading, or better. That's magic. Perfect blend of humor and tension. The parts left out, don't bring the movie down at all. Not a disappointment. Twilight joke=win
  68. Nov 19, 2010
    7
    As a HUGE fan of the books, I'm shocked that my score for this movie is as high as it is. My expectations were consistently lowered from movie to movie over the years due to key characters being left (older Weasley brothers, Dobby removed from all but one movie, etc.) and the omission of key moments from the books (Dumbledore's funeral, blah blah blah). But I have to say, they did not doAs a HUGE fan of the books, I'm shocked that my score for this movie is as high as it is. My expectations were consistently lowered from movie to movie over the years due to key characters being left (older Weasley brothers, Dobby removed from all but one movie, etc.) and the omission of key moments from the books (Dumbledore's funeral, blah blah blah). But I have to say, they did not do a bad job! Sure, if you want to sit back and nit-pick, you'll have your chance. But most of the liberties taken with the story are in the action department and I would much rather have an action scene embellished rather than a major plot moment glossed over, ignored or changed into a warped version of itself. The movie is well directed, the casting is near-perfect and each member of the cast turns in a solid performance. The pacing is handled incredibly well with scares, laughs and tears sprinkled throughout. If you're a fan of the book and immediately wanted to stab yourself in the throat with a wand after seeing the train wreck that was The Goblet of Fire, don't be so quick to write this one off! If you approach it with an open mind, more often than not you will find yourself pleasantly absorbed in this film instead of sitting on the outside staring at it with scorn. Expand
  69. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Finally we have a Harry Potter movie full of dark enviroments and situations like all we imagine in the books. This new Potter movie is a great mix of sentimental and tragic moments with Ron and Hermione relationship and with the fury and power of Lord Voldemort, in this part Harry, Ron and Hermione takes the lead in the movie, this is a movie of his adventures to find the Horrocruxs,Finally we have a Harry Potter movie full of dark enviroments and situations like all we imagine in the books. This new Potter movie is a great mix of sentimental and tragic moments with Ron and Hermione relationship and with the fury and power of Lord Voldemort, in this part Harry, Ron and Hermione takes the lead in the movie, this is a movie of his adventures to find the Horrocruxs, nothing more nothing less, the exciting final part is coming (8 months) and i enjoy this part like no other in the series. The technical information like the score is awesome always adaptable according the situation of cou rce with the base of John Williams original score. The movie running time is nice (146 Min's) you are not going to be bored, Photography, Special Effects nice like always in the series. Not everything is perfect i miss some parts of the book but im pretty sure that this part is the best book-adaptation in the series, now we have to wait 8 months to see the epic final battle Potter vs Riddle Expand
  70. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    A thrill ride from the very first scene. I laughed, I shed a tear; this is not a movie to miss, especially if you're a fan. For me, the disappointment from movies 5 and 6 were vindicated. This is it. This is the film us Muggles have been waiting for for a while now. Its here. Go see it!
  71. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    It's about time that they decide to make a movie that stays true to the book. As a huge fan of Rowling's entire series, I absolutely loved this movie. I will admit it did feel dreary around the middle, but it was supposed to. It was a long and frustrating journey they embark on to find the Horcruxes. Cannot wait to see the thrilling conclusion in July.
  72. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    considering the enormity of their task, the filmmakers did a fantastic job at adapting an massive book, all with an eye towards setting up the last 1/4 of the book. loved it.
  73. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Disappointing. Sucks the utter life out of this finale. Part 1 begins with an exciting tone, but continues to disappoint and surprisingly drags to a state beyond any form of dullness in movies. Leaving unexcited, confused, and not knowing what to think. Giving it time for the movie to settle in, it begins to stick. It had by far the best level of acting from the main three so far in theDisappointing. Sucks the utter life out of this finale. Part 1 begins with an exciting tone, but continues to disappoint and surprisingly drags to a state beyond any form of dullness in movies. Leaving unexcited, confused, and not knowing what to think. Giving it time for the movie to settle in, it begins to stick. It had by far the best level of acting from the main three so far in the series. As well as the manner in which the reminiscent elements and major plot points were visualized gave it somewhat an unforgettable essence. In combination, the two parts probably deliver the ultimate Potter conclusion harmoniously. But as being a part of a movie doesn't take away the fact this will be treated as a movie by itself. This movie alone, made well, just stalls the flow of the story. It needs some push, some audacity, some passion. With some interesting elements in the story and something unforgettably alluring in its tone and filmmaking, making some powerful moments, this altogether is a molding story that drags to a dud and sucks the utter life and excitement out of this finale. It's shrieking for Del Torro's pizzazz. In spite of, overdue David Yates synthesizes a thoroughly sauteed and seared production, but lacks any density of zest, or moxie, or hurrah. A bitterly soulless Potter film with no magic, yet still a ravishing and stimulating & extraordinary vision. Expand
  74. Nov 21, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They did a good job making the movie stand on it's own. I was expecting a really lame and dragged out setup for the second part and a silly cliffhanger ending out of nowhere with "AND NOW WE GO FIGHT VOLDEMORT" before the credits. Luckily, that didn't happen. As always there are omissions from the books and differences altogether, but for what it was, it was a good movie overall. Not the best Potter film (Prisoner of Azkaban and Goblet of Fire still hold those honors) but I enjoyed it more than all of the other movies in the series aside from the two already mentioned.

    I wish they would have shown some of the deaths, particularly Mad Eye Moody. It didn't give the same impact when something happens and they just mention that a person died, it was kind of lame. I did like the extensive torture that Bellatrix does to Hermione though. Even though it didn't happen that way in the book, it was really gruesome sounding and cringeworthy when it first happens.
    Expand
  75. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    I agree, best movie of the Franchise so far... I'ts exciting, and so like the book I'm a little sad because of Part II won't be available until the next year...
  76. Nov 22, 2010
    7
    As a huge Harry Potter fan, and as somebody not dissuaded by a slow burning plot, I enjoyed every second of the film. That's what makes the abrupt ending such a slap in the face. Even die-hard fans will leave wishing the studio had either committed to making a complete, behemoth final film or had picked a different spot to end the film. Depending on your patience for the series, you willAs a huge Harry Potter fan, and as somebody not dissuaded by a slow burning plot, I enjoyed every second of the film. That's what makes the abrupt ending such a slap in the face. Even die-hard fans will leave wishing the studio had either committed to making a complete, behemoth final film or had picked a different spot to end the film. Depending on your patience for the series, you will either find the movie gorgeously true to the novels and emotionally well-wrought, or a mind numbing snore-fest. People who think the latter probably disliked the book, and there's no shame in that, but people who enjoyed the relative desolation of the first half of the book (because of the psychological and emotional impact it had on our heroes) will be equally transfixed. It almost seems a shame that the first six movies weren't this devoted to detail, until you consider having to go through 14+ films (admittedly, I would probably preferred each film to be as long as necessary, but I am more patient than most).

    As a final note, this is easily the least family-friendly film in the series...which should be expected. Keep the little ones at home for this film. There is little they will gain from it, and plenty to lose.
    Expand
  77. Nov 22, 2010
    8
    This movie is dark in a very, very good way. All the material that fits inside this installment will make fans happy the book was separated into two parts. The pacing of is good, as are Watson and Radcliffe's performances. There is finally substantial character development and a focus more on story than special effects. The scene in the ministry is a clear highlight, and the only drawbackThis movie is dark in a very, very good way. All the material that fits inside this installment will make fans happy the book was separated into two parts. The pacing of is good, as are Watson and Radcliffe's performances. There is finally substantial character development and a focus more on story than special effects. The scene in the ministry is a clear highlight, and the only drawback is the overabundance of shots depicting picturesque locations where the teenagers camp. Expand
  78. Nov 22, 2010
    7
    As a fan of the HP movies, this film was ok but the middle was too slow and could have been cut out to make the movie faster paced and more exciting. I almost fell asleep during the boring camping scene.
  79. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    Absolutely brilliant. Firstly, I have to believe that the naysayers are probably self made HP cynics, which is fair enough, but this is the series that defined a generation and its influence still carries on; my own 7 year old brother is devouring the books at a frantic pace and watched the film with me. This film does that legacy immense justice. It completely outstrips the previous 2 orAbsolutely brilliant. Firstly, I have to believe that the naysayers are probably self made HP cynics, which is fair enough, but this is the series that defined a generation and its influence still carries on; my own 7 year old brother is devouring the books at a frantic pace and watched the film with me. This film does that legacy immense justice. It completely outstrips the previous 2 or 3 films which were mediocre at best. The most faithful, well acted film in the series, the effects are also brilliant and the way the dark atmosphere is created and sustained is fantastic. This film has rekindled my love of the series. Go and watch it. Now. Expand
  80. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Don't look at the bad reviews, for real Harry Potter fans this is the movie of the year! And by far the best film in the franchise! Awesome action scenes, camera work & perfect acting!
  81. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    So here we are at the beginning of the end. Speaking of the end I hated it: I wished part 2 came out next week. Ok, though I am a big fan of the books, I am very lenient (though not a pushover) when it comes to adaptations. This adaptation was the bomb. We're at a point in the series that if you haven't been following the movies and/or not paying close attention, you're going to beSo here we are at the beginning of the end. Speaking of the end I hated it: I wished part 2 came out next week. Ok, though I am a big fan of the books, I am very lenient (though not a pushover) when it comes to adaptations. This adaptation was the bomb. We're at a point in the series that if you haven't been following the movies and/or not paying close attention, you're going to be dazed,confused and frustrated. Though every film since the Goblet of Fire has ended with the death of an important character, none of them has the scale of darkness that Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1 has.

    Harry, after the devastating conclusion of the Half-Blood Prince, walks away from his childhood in order to begin his dangerous hunt to destroy Lord Voldemort's Horcruxes, evil objects that contain portions of Voldemort's soul. Seeing as these Horcruxes act almost like fail-safes to prevent death, Lord Voldemort cannot be stopped until they are destroyed. As Harry and his best friends, Ron and Hermione, skip their final year at Hogwarts, Lord Voldemort is choking the life out of the Wizarding world grows stronger and stronger. No longer guided, fed, disciplined and protected by adults, the three young wizards have to apply everything they have ever learned in order to prepare for the final battle.

    As a college freshman, Harry, Ron and Hermione's plight hits a lot closer to home for me than it does a lot of people. Now, one may say I'm bias because not only am I a fan, I have grown up alongside these characters. But it doesn't. At first, splitting the films in half sounded like an unpleasant money grab but now (even though it still is a money grab) it feels totally necessary to give the series the justice it deserves.

    Did film drag a bit in the middle. Yes, but that's a part of the story. The characters are aimless, tired and frustrated and it puts a serious strain on their friendship, allowing the actors what they haven't been allowed before inside Hogwarts: a time to shine. Rupert Grint and Emma Watson especially deliver some award-worthy performances. When you add the exceptionally eerie score, magnificent animation sequence and the spectacular cinematography, it almost doesn't feel like a Harry Potter movie: it feels adult. I was a little worried of how David Yates would handle this sort of movie but not only did he deliver, but he delivered with style.

    Whether the Deathly Hallows can be called the strongest movie of the series has yet to be seen (Part 2 opens July 2011), it can be easily said that this is the most emotional and darkest of all Harry Potter movies.

    Problems: everyone knows the pacing in the middle act dragged. And it certainly did drag with a vengeance. If you aren't into passive acting (body language, facial expressions, subtle characterization), and pure plot, it's going to make you anxious and bored. Other than the aggravatingly perfect cliffhanger, that sums up the film's cons.

    Now, as I wrap this up, there will be people who will dislike the movie for it drags in the middle, has holes, doesn't feel like Harry Potter and an anti-climatic (albeit tear jerking) ending. Keep in mind that this is only part 1. No true movie warrants a 0. And there will be people who will like the movie simply because it's very similar to the book, and otherwise, would be and are very upset because it's not verbatim. Get over yourselves. The human imagination works wonders and the books are brilliant. Read them. Movies tend to suffer if they slave themselves to their source material.

    You don't have to be a die-hard fan to love this film. You just have to get it.
    Expand
  82. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    It's quite amazing how much the Harry Potter movies have matured since the release of the first installment. This film has by far blown me away more than any other outing I have seen yet. Much like "The Half-Blood Prince," the dark tone of the film seems to have advanced the hard-hitting emotional bareness of the franchise, and has truly brought out the most genuine and visceralIt's quite amazing how much the Harry Potter movies have matured since the release of the first installment. This film has by far blown me away more than any other outing I have seen yet. Much like "The Half-Blood Prince," the dark tone of the film seems to have advanced the hard-hitting emotional bareness of the franchise, and has truly brought out the most genuine and visceral performances we have yet to see from this set of actors. "The Deathly Hallows" is truly a spine-tingling thriller, which seems at times like more of a horror movie than an adventure flick. The performances are truly advanced in nature; the actors, especially the young three main stars of the franchise, show just how much the they have grown since the young and somewhat immature outing that was "The Sorcerer's Stone." The franchise has truly become a respectable and memorable film series, mostly attributed to the continuously darkening tone. Having said that, the darkness of the film may surprise you. It's a killer emotional thrill ride at moments, and some of the scenes made me, an avid movie buff, cringe and shudder. Be prepared for a truly amazing thriller which will shake your spine to the core, and impose the most unexpected tones on a series once seen as a magical and bright children's fantasy. The nine may have been a ten had this film been a little bit more masterful in it's entirety. Though I feel that the film was almost brilliant, the tone still feels like it's missing something... heavy. Maybe the final film can fulfill my ultimately insatiable hunger for this series to hit the dark, emotional core I know it is capable of hitting. It's so close, but the echoes of the first films are still bouncing around these sequels. For the last one, I hope it's as dark as can be; a true emotional beatdown that brings the series to a hellish climax before we never see another installment again. I loved the flick. Go see it. Even if you aren't into Harry Potter, you will still see that this film is doing what it is supposed to. 9/10 Expand
  83. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Fantastic beginning of the end of the series that has captivated the whole world over a decade. A true gift for fans of the books, and an incredible cinema masterpiece. With a dark tone, the hunt for the Horrocruxes begins in an intense run in which our beloved trio must do their best to keep alive. Congratulations to director David Yates, the cast that has highly improved, and theFantastic beginning of the end of the series that has captivated the whole world over a decade. A true gift for fans of the books, and an incredible cinema masterpiece. With a dark tone, the hunt for the Horrocruxes begins in an intense run in which our beloved trio must do their best to keep alive. Congratulations to director David Yates, the cast that has highly improved, and the marvelous crew. Can't wait for the second part! Expand
  84. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    This is the best of Harry Potter ever. I don't know how people think about the story, some people just go to the cinema for the action and want to cut all of the moment which made a lot of change to Harry. This book and maybe this movie would only the rubbish without those moment. This is the best installment of the Harry Potter franchise so far.
  85. cfh
    Dec 18, 2010
    9
    I loved the movie, but I didn't like that there was two parts. At the end of the movie, it let you hanging. The thing that disapointed me was that Harry and his friends didn't go to Hogwarts. If you didn't see 5 or 6 you will be confused because they go back to some of the things in the last 2 movies.
  86. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    One of the best movies of all time. I was really doubtful when they announced that Deathly Hallows would be split up into 2 parts. I understood why, since the book was so long, but I remained doubtful that splitting the movie would be a good idea. After watching it however, I'm really glad they did. If they hadn't I'm not sure what would have came out, but Deathly Hallows part 1 was anOne of the best movies of all time. I was really doubtful when they announced that Deathly Hallows would be split up into 2 parts. I understood why, since the book was so long, but I remained doubtful that splitting the movie would be a good idea. After watching it however, I'm really glad they did. If they hadn't I'm not sure what would have came out, but Deathly Hallows part 1 was an amazing film. I loved every moment of it. It manages to entertain you even with scenes that seem like they should be boring. Just an all around awesome movie. Definitely recommend it. I'm going to go watch it again in a week. If you haven't watched it. GO SEE IT! Expand
  87. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    It is a shame that Warner Bros decided to split the franchise into 2 parts, but that was however a very smart move. Even though the movies were made to satisfy the fans, but its main reason was to make more money with Harry, Ron, and Hermoine. We'd watched all three of them grow for a decade, now to think that they're all adults and the franchise is going to be over soon, it is an oddIt is a shame that Warner Bros decided to split the franchise into 2 parts, but that was however a very smart move. Even though the movies were made to satisfy the fans, but its main reason was to make more money with Harry, Ron, and Hermoine. We'd watched all three of them grow for a decade, now to think that they're all adults and the franchise is going to be over soon, it is an odd feeling to say the least. The wizard world is corrupting because Lord Voldemort is back with his powers. Even the Ministry of Magic has to hide. The movie takes us on a journey with the three friends rather than giving us a battle between Harry and Voldemort. This is the number one reason fans are complaining about: there wasn't enough action and adventure. But in my opinion, the movie is just building tension for the next one. Even though the film doesn't give much on action, the acting is perfectly where we want it. The three friends give it their all but standing out is Ralph Fiennes (Voldemort) and his evil companion Bellatrix (Helena Bonham Carter). The make-up part in the franchise is always mesmerizing to see. These artists must've worked really hard to have Voldemort's face looked like that! Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows: Part 1 does not disappoints at all, not with its fine acting and brilliant make-up. Expand
  88. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    A very intriguing movie that keeps you on the edge of your seat and wanting more. Though the movie seemed to be choppy and leaving gaps to where you wonder if there are clips of the movie gone. This is the first part to a compelling two part movie leaves the second a most see and a want to see.
  89. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    not my favorite harry potter movie but it provided good performances from the cast and continued the story of harry potter well. the only disappointing thing was it felt like an incomplete story by the end so now welll just have to wait for the next one.
  90. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. DEFINITELY the best movie of the series so far, i loved the dark tone and the much more mature tone to the film, something the earlier films lacked, with the exception of OOTP. the acting from dan, rupert and emma has more passion by far. i enjoyed the fact that this film is one that adults can go and watch by themselves without looking foolish. The film reminded me of the prisoner of azkaban, it is as David yates says "a road movie" the trio are constantly changing location in order to escape the snatcher and death eaters. i think some of the scenes were very well done, especially ones involving heavy VFX like the kiss between harry and hermione and the interaction with the house elves. some scenes like the one with the snake in godrics hollow was a pure suspense moment, it had a real dark edge to it and it almost felt like i was watching a horror movie (i love horror movies) the harry potter movies never dissapoint me, infact i would go as far as saying this movie could really win an oscar, if not this one then definitely part 2 because because i know that movie will be insanely dramatic and unique. i think the main success of this movie is down to Yates who i admire, all 4 of the potter movies he has directed have had a proper fitting theme to them, the style of directing is instantly recognizable from that of Chris Columbus or Alfonso, and i think Yates if it were possible should have directed ALL potter movies, although i would like to have seen quentin tarantino direct the deathly hallows. lol. Overall this film IS the best and i cannot wait until part 2 Expand
  91. Dec 7, 2010
    9
    HP7 is the best of the series. I thought it was going to be a disappointment, but I really got into this one. It has everything you would want from a movie, action,drama,suspense. You dont need to be a die hard fan to like this movie. it grabs you from the start and never lets go, cant wait for the finale.
  92. Dec 9, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. it is so trilling this first part...like an intro to the real action that it's gonna be on the second part...however...this film individually...is not more exciting that the sixth film was... Expand
  93. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    One best of the best in the Harry Potter series; it did end a little suddenly, however, this isn't something that is negative, it just makes the anticipation for part 2 so much harder to deal with. More on the positive note, it's nice to see the actors you've grown up with come full circle. This film reminds you that the journey that started a decade ago, is almost over. Harry Potter 7One best of the best in the Harry Potter series; it did end a little suddenly, however, this isn't something that is negative, it just makes the anticipation for part 2 so much harder to deal with. More on the positive note, it's nice to see the actors you've grown up with come full circle. This film reminds you that the journey that started a decade ago, is almost over. Harry Potter 7 part 1 is full of action, drama, and great lighthearted comedy. It's Definitely a must see for any Harry Potter addict. Expand
  94. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    Absolutely mesmerizing. It almost captured the book in the best way it possibly could have done. DH surely is the best of David Yates' achievements.
    The score would have been better with John Williams returning to the series, but I must admit that Desplat did a great job which shouldn't been overseen.
    Anyway, the movie is amazing!
  95. Dec 15, 2010
    8
    I find this film does not quite grasp the atmosphere that Rowling created in her work.. Nonetheless, in it's own way, this film is a success. Dark, captivating, and visually stunning, it gives us a better look at the inner worlds of the main characters as they set out to find Voldemort's horcruxes, and makes us start looking at the Wizarding World, with all it's wand-waving andI find this film does not quite grasp the atmosphere that Rowling created in her work.. Nonetheless, in it's own way, this film is a success. Dark, captivating, and visually stunning, it gives us a better look at the inner worlds of the main characters as they set out to find Voldemort's horcruxes, and makes us start looking at the Wizarding World, with all it's wand-waving and spell-casting, much more seriously.
    The down side is that it was rather dull, emotionally. The scenes that in the book appeared moving were rushed through and did not leave an impression on the viewer. Turning a blind eye on this, Deathly Hallows: Part 1 is one of the best Harry flicks made.
    Expand
  96. Jan 14, 2011
    8
    Having read the books a number of times and being a huge fan of the Harry Potter series (particularly the books) I expect the best. And the latest in the Harry Potter saga has just about lived up to that standard. This was a huge step up from the previous film which was a huge disappointment in my opinion. Though certain areas became very slow and somewhat boring the newest addition toHaving read the books a number of times and being a huge fan of the Harry Potter series (particularly the books) I expect the best. And the latest in the Harry Potter saga has just about lived up to that standard. This was a huge step up from the previous film which was a huge disappointment in my opinion. Though certain areas became very slow and somewhat boring the newest addition to Harry's journey was the best that it could be, missing very little with stunning effects truly capturing the magic of Harry's world. Expand
  97. May 31, 2011
    9
    After the last two Harry Potter films I was beginning to feel the series was beginning to lose it's magic (no pun intended), the plots were getting lame, and they were losing there humor, but this movie changes that, the plot is enjoyable, and it's funny again, and it never really felt over dramatic, a must see for fans of the series.
  98. Dec 19, 2010
    7
    Definitely one of the better films of the franchise, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows provides viewers with a much darker, more dramatic view on the story of our favorite wizard. Unfortunately, parts of the film are poorly explained which ultimately ends up negatively effecting the quality of the film.
  99. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I is one of the most satisfying entries into the franchise. The action scenes are dark, violent and scary and the emotional core of the film runs higher than before. That said, there is also time for some extremely fun old-school style Potter too, most notably in the Ministry of Magic infiltration sequence. All in all, this is truly one of theHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I is one of the most satisfying entries into the franchise. The action scenes are dark, violent and scary and the emotional core of the film runs higher than before. That said, there is also time for some extremely fun old-school style Potter too, most notably in the Ministry of Magic infiltration sequence. All in all, this is truly one of the best Potter films. Expand
  100. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    KateM is a blubbering lunatic who knows nothing about the flow of the movie. It is EASILY the most accurate of all tthe HP films and definately feels the most mature. It turns a fru fru kiddy franchise into a legitimate film. Don't listen to the crazy critics, this is far more than a 65.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Dec 8, 2010
    70
    The best portion is an animated story-within-the-story, supervised by Ben Hibon, that recalls Lotte Reiniger's filigreed shadow puppets as it sets the stage for armageddon.
  2. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 8, 2010
    50
    To be fair to Deathly Hallows, the filmmakers have tried hard to fill the proceedings with battles and chases and debilitating curses. Genuine filmmaking excitement, however, is harder to provide.
  3. 50
    I hope that in Part 2, Yates and screenwriter Steve Kloves give Fiennes a better send-off than Dame J.K. did in her less-than-wizardly climactic wandathon. Having made us sit through two and a half hours with no payoff, they'd better not go all Muggle on us. Next time, we want magic, people.