Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 19, 2010
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 912 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
712
Mixed:
137
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
TokyochuchuDec 8, 2014
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I is one of the most satisfying entries into the franchise. The action scenes are dark, violent and scary and the emotional core of the film runs higher than before. That said, there is also time forHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I is one of the most satisfying entries into the franchise. The action scenes are dark, violent and scary and the emotional core of the film runs higher than before. That said, there is also time for some extremely fun old-school style Potter too, most notably in the Ministry of Magic infiltration sequence. All in all, this is truly one of the best Potter films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SugarFloydTysonDec 21, 2010
KateM is a blubbering lunatic who knows nothing about the flow of the movie. It is EASILY the most accurate of all tthe HP films and definately feels the most mature. It turns a fru fru kiddy franchise into a legitimate film. Don't listen toKateM is a blubbering lunatic who knows nothing about the flow of the movie. It is EASILY the most accurate of all tthe HP films and definately feels the most mature. It turns a fru fru kiddy franchise into a legitimate film. Don't listen to the crazy critics, this is far more than a 65. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NicholasandrewJan 1, 2011
Harry Potter is the world's best known film, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, for me it was the best Harry Potter story, very funny and engaging, with enough adventure and thrills that can come to leave the audience crying with someHarry Potter is the world's best known film, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, for me it was the best Harry Potter story, very funny and engaging, with enough adventure and thrills that can come to leave the audience crying with some scenes I hope that makes the most success, and I hope the second part is even better ... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
2GUI2Dec 30, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's obvious that this Part I was going to be "unfinished". But the film wasn't bad... It was good! The problem was that all Harry Potter movies end in a good way and this was the only one that didn't... It was a little boring in the beginning... And we all expect the last movie to be awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dumbuldoreFeb 11, 2011
Absolutely the best one yet. I know it's gloomy but I've read the book and it's about to get A LOT better. In the next movie (and hopefully they don't cut it out because it's my favorite chapter) there's a scene where they go to Gringotts toAbsolutely the best one yet. I know it's gloomy but I've read the book and it's about to get A LOT better. In the next movie (and hopefully they don't cut it out because it's my favorite chapter) there's a scene where they go to Gringotts to steal from Bellatrix Lastrage"s vault. It's really exciting because they take the thieves drop and they have to get out and they do. Then they go to the vault and open it but the treasure burs them because it's hexed. It's really exciting!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
seiferJan 6, 2011
This is truly a world class film, suitable for 12+, The plot is fantastically constructed but the down side is that it needs a little bit more difference to the other movies... I have many people tell me the exact thing......
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
absiddJan 5, 2011
Fantastic job by David Yates and also the other cast and crew. It's dark, it's mystery, it's adventure, overall a delightful watch. Congratulations! Dying to see what happens in the second part. Come on July, come faster so that I can watchFantastic job by David Yates and also the other cast and crew. It's dark, it's mystery, it's adventure, overall a delightful watch. Congratulations! Dying to see what happens in the second part. Come on July, come faster so that I can watch Lord Voldemort die in Harry's hand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ALangdonJan 5, 2011
I think that thtis film was definatly been the best in the franchise. The main three have all improved (even somewhat suprisingly Emma Watson). Daniel Radcliffe has some actually powerful moments. I feel out of all the films if this filmI think that thtis film was definatly been the best in the franchise. The main three have all improved (even somewhat suprisingly Emma Watson). Daniel Radcliffe has some actually powerful moments. I feel out of all the films if this film hadn't been associated with the Harry Potter franchise I would still love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyFendiJun 25, 2012
We have finally come to the last page of J.K. Rowling
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Commen0136Jan 6, 2011
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows isn't the bast Potter movie but its still really good. The movie didn't feel like a movie it felt like an incomplete one. The movie was really good though. The movie was interesting but there were someHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows isn't the bast Potter movie but its still really good. The movie didn't feel like a movie it felt like an incomplete one. The movie was really good though. The movie was interesting but there were some parts that confuses people who haven't read the book. Overall this was a good Potter movie(better than the 5th one) its the darkest of all Potter films and its really good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
juan1224Jan 7, 2011
increadible movie, the best of the series and it also follows the book pretty acurately, funny and sad all in one movie. I actually teared up a little when dobby died.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheTimJan 9, 2011
Some people will expect a work as great as Shakespeare's Hamlet from any and every movie they critique, but be honest with yourselves, a sequel of a book-to-movie children's series will always be a different matter from a non-series originalSome people will expect a work as great as Shakespeare's Hamlet from any and every movie they critique, but be honest with yourselves, a sequel of a book-to-movie children's series will always be a different matter from a non-series original such as the first Jurassic Park or the first Jaws. Sequels are always somewhat disposable by nature because there's not much they can do new.

I have read all of the books and seen the previous movies before watching this installment and personally I was impressed: most specifically when part of the movie plunged us into a stylized cartoon atmosphere slightly reminiscent of A Nightmare Before Christmas to me.

In a lot of the other scenes in the other movies (particularly in the fight scenes where all the evil wizards just zoom around the rooms as black clouds for some completely random reason) I would think to myself "Wow, this fight sucks, such a let down, some college interns could've written a more interesting scene..." The above-mentioned deathly hallow scene was not that kind of disappointment though, it was actually an art-worthy depiction which would be worth saving even after many of the "Let's use our wands like guns, BANG BANG BANG" scenes get thrown in the trash where they belong.

See this movie if you enjoyed the previous Harry Potter movies. This movie is certainly an improvement over many of the previous films which focused on wearing dresses and dancing (that seems like half of Goblet of Fire.) I do not know why anyone would watch a sixth sequel to an original movie if they did not like it already.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SCJ1991Jan 13, 2011
This movie is absolutely amazing. I've been a fan of the Harry Potter franchise for a long time. The filming was just perfect. The acting was mind-boggling. Fans will enjoy this film for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MalasawasJan 14, 2011
Well... diffincult to talk about... I think Harry Potter franchise has been passing thru a lot of steps... we've got the ''children'' one (Chris Columbus)... that it's almost the book itself but... it was intended to be seen by children...Well... diffincult to talk about... I think Harry Potter franchise has been passing thru a lot of steps... we've got the ''children'' one (Chris Columbus)... that it's almost the book itself but... it was intended to be seen by children... not a decission of Columbus himself but JK Rowling's books. The we've got a ''poor'' one from Alfonso Cuaron (3rd movie), it has funny stuff but no so much at all. Following... Mike Newell's one... which give more ''attention'' to adults, because of the movie of course, but it comes from the book also. Ok then. And then we've got David Yates starting from the Order of the Phoenix... don't know neither if it's the fact he came when the story plot was gaining more... maturity, nor if it was just him... but the movies have been raising from there a lot. And here is almost the last prove of it... it really comes as no surprise after watching the 6th movie that this one was gonna be a success. But... in my case, even saying that this movie is terrific and really powerful, it kept a lot of things aside... like important events in Dumbledore's life (if you read the book you know better, or in this case, you KNOW something), while the 6th (which tell us the life of Lord Vodemort) is more accurate to the book and tell us what we expect (if we read) or what we need to know about Voldemort's life (what ends in his propose in real time). So... good enough to be an ''epic final'' but not better than the Half Blood Prince. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LillyanneS1Jan 16, 2011
This film really gets you wondering what will happen next. With a brilliant ensemble cast & amazing special effects it at least deserves & Golden Globe Or An Oscar
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewJun 19, 2011
Dazzling, emotionally gripping, wonderfully acted, and faithful to the source material, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I is a masterpiece, and is the best Harry Potter film in the series! I can't wait for Part 2 to blow audiences away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlnORTIZJul 11, 2011
Deathly Hallows: Part I is part epic and part narrative. The plot is as complex as ever (a good thing) and the performances show how the characters felt throughout the first half of the novel. The visuals are another part of what makes thisDeathly Hallows: Part I is part epic and part narrative. The plot is as complex as ever (a good thing) and the performances show how the characters felt throughout the first half of the novel. The visuals are another part of what makes this film great! The spells look like spells and there is no abuse of CGI! Overall, make this a definite watch in preparation for the this final chapter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Sparkyibew100Jan 30, 2011
This movie is a very good setup for the second half. Now let's hope that the second half delivers. I agree with some other reviewers that it is hard to rate a film that has no ending, however, if you assume the ending holds up to the firstThis movie is a very good setup for the second half. Now let's hope that the second half delivers. I agree with some other reviewers that it is hard to rate a film that has no ending, however, if you assume the ending holds up to the first half then the movie leaves you wanting more, in a good way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jrmintMay 8, 2011
Out of all the later films, this one is the best. If you're a HP fan this should deliver on all the important aspects: romance, action, cinematography, storyline - and I think they stopped at a great part in the novel in order to keepOut of all the later films, this one is the best. If you're a HP fan this should deliver on all the important aspects: romance, action, cinematography, storyline - and I think they stopped at a great part in the novel in order to keep interest between the two last films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
By far the best in the saga. In this, Kloves could make a great script that appeals both fans whose worry too much about fidelity to the book about the fans who prefer a movie that flows well (like me). Yates proves to be the best director ofBy far the best in the saga. In this, Kloves could make a great script that appeals both fans whose worry too much about fidelity to the book about the fans who prefer a movie that flows well (like me). Yates proves to be the best director of the saga, and hits in all scenes, including creating beautiful scenes like the dance between Harry and Hermione and when Harry visits the grave of his parents, scary scenes like the house of Bathilda Bagshot and great action scenes like the battle of the seven Potters. In terms of performances, it's also the best one. Radcliffe finally shows a nice dramatic flair, Grint won't disappoint those scenes (and still shows its good comic timing). However the highlight of the trio goes all the way to Emma Watson, as her character Hermione also gets an interesting highlight in this chapter because it is the best in magic, it is she who takes care of Harry and Ron on the journey in search of the Horcruxes. And Emma doesn't disappoint, delivering a fantastic performance (the scene in which it erases the memory of their parents is one of the most beautiful of the saga for sure, thanks to her acting). The older actors do not appear much in this, since the movie focuses on the trio most of the time, but it doesn't disappoint in small moments in the scene (as always Raplh Fiennes as Voldemort is fantastic). Technically, is not the best of the series but is one of. The visual effects, Oscar nominations, although they are well used, are way far from being very realistic (the Chamber of Secrets, Dobby, was better than the new and the Prisoner of Azkaban, dementors, were much more realistic). The art director Stuart Craig has always been perfect, and that, even without the backdrop of Hogwarts, is still very good (the landscapes are gorgeous, and some scenes of destruction are great), deservedly nominated for an Oscar as well. The photograph although not as good as the Half-Blood Prince, is beautiful. But the coach will focus entirely on the soundtrack of Desplat. Many fans were calling for the return of Williams for the final chapters of HP, and I can say it was good he didn't return. Williams could hardly write a novel as beautiful as that Desplat composed. Besides beautiful tracks, Desplat also appears to be able to create good tracks for scenes of action and horror. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
UNAPCriticJun 2, 2011
Handsome. Exciting. Harrowing. That along with J.K. Rowling's vision, and good film techniques equals quite a good film. The filmmakers stretch out for it quite far, but they reach it. Since the end is coming, they try and put as much as theyHandsome. Exciting. Harrowing. That along with J.K. Rowling's vision, and good film techniques equals quite a good film. The filmmakers stretch out for it quite far, but they reach it. Since the end is coming, they try and put as much as they can in it. Trying to stuff back in what they left out in the previous chapters. Maybe it was a miracle, maybe it was with new producers J.K. Rowling's help, but whatever it was, they succeeded. From the start of the film, I can tell they have advanced in their film-making ways. No more depending on the greatest and never tiring land of Hogwarts to save you anymore. They must bring something new to the table, but making us feel just as much as watching a Harry Potter movie of any others. Whether the film felt like a trailer for part 2, or not, there is no doubt that the film can still satisfy any hardcore Harry Potter fan and critics. However, may not do the same for those entering the Harry Potter world for the first time. Those newcomers might just expect a cheery group of kids at a magical school, and everything is wonderful in the bright world of magic. They were quite confused on the absent of a magical school, and the dark talk of murder and soul philosophy. The characters aren't these little kids anymore. The filmmakers perfect in drawing out all the character development created by Rowling. It was perfect in a character aspect. Overall, this movie is a little more than your average blockbuster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
commonviewerFeb 28, 2011
I loved the film, but as just according to my opinion there should have been a bigger fight scene - one of the many things I like about the movie. But I didn't get - for a fraction of a second - bored. I understand that making the last filmI loved the film, but as just according to my opinion there should have been a bigger fight scene - one of the many things I like about the movie. But I didn't get - for a fraction of a second - bored. I understand that making the last film in two parts is important to the storyline. As a true Harry Potter fan I just wish they'd realized that sooner and perhaps with the previous film(s). Can't wait for the 2nd part which will be spectacular without any doubt. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sohelMar 5, 2011
deathly hallows is delicious from every possible angle...its by far the most faithful adaptation but all fueled with endless magical innovations....its like a comment on the book itself.....the Nazi undertones....the gripping spine-chillingdeathly hallows is delicious from every possible angle...its by far the most faithful adaptation but all fueled with endless magical innovations....its like a comment on the book itself.....the Nazi undertones....the gripping spine-chilling music....the heart-breaking scenes....emotional scenes.....cinematography is spell-binding,and what amazing performances.....it was a visual treat as well as a treat for the brains....its intelligent....its a beautifully crafted movie....it doesn't drag....and remains true to the spirit of friendship.....i loved the dark and gloomy feel....the ominous speech of scrimgeour at the starting of the movie.....its one heck of a movie......finally David Yates proves that Harry potter is all grown n mature...and clearly its not fit for the younger audience...it requires lot of maturity to understand the tale...as it picks up loads of references from the past.....its absolutely brilliant and should have got a nomination for best picture this year at he Oscars....but it still remains bloody amazing..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KendylKlownfishMar 5, 2011
Even for unfamiliar audiences, The Deathly Hallows packs enough action, laughs, and drama to sporadically entertain and garner itself an even larger fan base.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ImUnavailableMay 12, 2011
This is a strange movie to review. It is based on half a book so you can't fault the movie for having no real conclusion or resolution. The first half of any story is usually comprised of the build-up before the big finale and that's whatThis is a strange movie to review. It is based on half a book so you can't fault the movie for having no real conclusion or resolution. The first half of any story is usually comprised of the build-up before the big finale and that's what this movie is. It's a build-up, and cannot stand on its own until the second part is released. Part 1 is a movie with flaws, the biggest of which is its pacing problems. The first 40 minutes are action packed and frantic but soon things slow down and stay that way for most of the movie. I don't want to judge Part 1 too harshly for this, however, because it is in the unfortunate position of being one half of an adventure. Other than that, I found this movie very enjoyable, with all three leads giving their best performances of the series so far. The emotional toll and tensions of life on the run were well-handled and made for a more mature movie. As I mentioned, Part 1 is a strange movie to review. To enjoy it, the viewer must accept the compromises the filmmakers had to make. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
anonreviewMar 14, 2011
If I had never read the books, this movie would have been given a 10. However, due to my expectations (that Warner Brothers never live up to in making HP films), this movie has been given an eight. The best plot of any story ever written, itIf I had never read the books, this movie would have been given a 10. However, due to my expectations (that Warner Brothers never live up to in making HP films), this movie has been given an eight. The best plot of any story ever written, it would have been pretty hard to get any worse than an eight. Effects, visuals, audio- these elements are all alright. I hope you understand what you have done to the greatest book series of all time, Warner Brothers. Disappointingly worse than the books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Ridz43Mar 21, 2011
They've done it again! The penultimate film in the Harry Potter franchise brings forth the new dark tinge of Harry Potter's journey to defeat Lord Voldemort. Without a doubt, you'll be salivating for more and more until the last second ofThey've done it again! The penultimate film in the Harry Potter franchise brings forth the new dark tinge of Harry Potter's journey to defeat Lord Voldemort. Without a doubt, you'll be salivating for more and more until the last second of what a breath taker! Love it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RoscoMay 25, 2011
A spectacular return to form for the Potter series in what is arguably the best film of the franchise. A much darker outing than previous installments resulting in a more direct approach all the light-hearted and cheerful themes are long goneA spectacular return to form for the Potter series in what is arguably the best film of the franchise. A much darker outing than previous installments resulting in a more direct approach all the light-hearted and cheerful themes are long gone bar a few funny comments to break the ice at times. Part 1 of The Deathly Hallows picks up from were The Half Prince left off with Harry, Hermione and Ron on the search of Horcruxes to bring and end to Voldemort once and for all. The start is frantic and doesn't mess around with a chase through London very well shown as the dark forces hunt for Potter. However very quickly the focus switches purely to the Harry and co and their quest for the Horcruxes. I was worried about the setting as for the first time in a film Hogwarts is not at the heart of things but any doubts I had were soon forgotten and thus really drives at home that the protection they were all once under is truely gone! The search for Horcruxes sees Harry, Ron and Hermione face danger at every turn they, under false identites, head to an infiltrated Ministry. However their quest takes its tole as the effects of a Horcrux are shown by Ron who wonders off half way threw. During this a clever scene involving Harry and Hermione dancing which was a great inculsion to lighten the tone ever so slightly. When Weasley eventually returns it leads to the destruction of a Horcrux but leads to the unravelling of an old myth - The Deathly Hallows. As the pieces of the puzzle begin to fall into place Harry is now aware of exactly what Voldemort is after. The climax to Part 1 left us with a teary-eyed goodbye to an old favourite and with a minor cliffhanger setting things up perfectly for the enevitable emotional finale and the final chapter of an epic series. Part 2 can't come quick enough! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pulkmeesApr 6, 2011
Can't believe people criticize this movie, because of it's pace in the 2nd act.Have you morons actually read the damn book ? They can't just skip the whole part THAT TOOK PLACE DURING MONTHS IN THE BOOK.Watch less Michael Bay movies, you ****Can't believe people criticize this movie, because of it's pace in the 2nd act.Have you morons actually read the damn book ? They can't just skip the whole part THAT TOOK PLACE DURING MONTHS IN THE BOOK.Watch less Michael Bay movies, you **** imbeciles, not every HP movie doesn't have to be full of CONSTANT action.I hate the previous movies for being basically summaries of the books.They were just mixed scenes of the books.All I could think of was the important parts they left out.At least this HP FEELS like an actual movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
phxsikhJul 8, 2011
Contains the major events, but as I have read the books, i'm quite biased toward how the book was "better" in the sense that I truly felt everything was tied much better as opposed to the movie's quick entrance. Still worth to watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CAGUYCAMay 19, 2011
PART 1 is a very disappointing Harry potter film it doesn't have any magical feeling that the other films have.Its more of a Dark dull and often boring journey. Hopefully the Second part will have more of that magical world that we have comePART 1 is a very disappointing Harry potter film it doesn't have any magical feeling that the other films have.Its more of a Dark dull and often boring journey. Hopefully the Second part will have more of that magical world that we have come to love.Also the cliffhanger feels very strange and out of place,then again splitting the movie into two parts is also a very weird idea in the first place.That is why i have given it a 7 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ScottyLovinsMay 22, 2011
Hopefully the final one will blow us away because this one was good but not great!! This may have been the darkest so far in the series. I'm banking the final chapter will be darker yet. The character's are shaping up very nicely for theHopefully the final one will blow us away because this one was good but not great!! This may have been the darkest so far in the series. I'm banking the final chapter will be darker yet. The character's are shaping up very nicely for the final chapter. Can't wait!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
misssassyMay 30, 2011
The Harry Potter movies leave out a lot of details from the book.Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows was my absolute favorite book in the Potter series,but a lot of detail got left behind in the movie.....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
randomdudeJun 6, 2011
Better than the book by far, but then all the movies have been...

This installment reveals Harry is not a god, which is refreshing... In the realm of magical competence he's reduced to the standard of, above-average, but no more. That was
Better than the book by far, but then all the movies have been...

This installment reveals Harry is not a god, which is refreshing... In the realm of magical competence he's reduced to the standard of, above-average, but no more.

That was rather a nice turn of plot from the chosen-one, uber-retarded theme of the past.


Harry isn't so special, he just lives in special circumstances. Nice save JK.

Anyway, the cast give solid performances, cinematography rocks, effects are great... good fun all around.

Honestly, I think Emma Watson is the most interesting talent to come from the franchise. I like guys, but can't wait to see what she makes of her fame(cache), she's just a treat to watch!!! Is it just me, or is she a force we'll see on the silver screen for some time to come?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
filmtrashreviewJul 11, 2011
It's a great film and the latest in the franchise. It's amazing that it is able to still hold it's own after six films. I know it's pretty redundant to say but the film does feel incomplete and because of that it gets a slightly lower score.It's a great film and the latest in the franchise. It's amazing that it is able to still hold it's own after six films. I know it's pretty redundant to say but the film does feel incomplete and because of that it gets a slightly lower score. It is just part one but if you make a film, I expect to see a complete one not just part of one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
blumuunJun 14, 2011
It is so nice to see the Harry Potter franchise "all-growed-up". The actors and their respective characters have morphed into mature, sympathetic, and genuine individuals. The 'trio' shine in their determination and quiet [yet palpable]It is so nice to see the Harry Potter franchise "all-growed-up". The actors and their respective characters have morphed into mature, sympathetic, and genuine individuals. The 'trio' shine in their determination and quiet [yet palpable] sadness. The scene in which Harry and Hermione dance to a well-placed Nick Cave tune (which was demonstrably absent from the novel) was both enthralling and calmly tragic in its pure simplicity. It is part of what makes the film convey a desperate longing for some sort of peace from the inevitable conflict that follows. Although I have loved each installment of Harry Potter--in both novel and film format, Deathly Hallows Part I has surpassed the previous films by leaps and bounds. It is a dark and beautiful portrayal of the main characters' inner turmoil; coupled with brilliant screenwriting, impressive [and what I would call understated, based on the previous films] visual effects, and what amounts to an honestly sincere coming-of-age narrative. All of these factors make this film more than merely entertaining. In fact, it leads the viewer into a world that is no longer that of the silly storybook tales that they have seen in the previous films. Deathly Hallows Part I makes the viewer at once both truly feel for the characters and their many troubles and desperately wish for the final film to be released. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asjklasAug 5, 2011
Even for noobies -- like myself -- Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 is a magical experience with a ton of action, thrills, laughs, and melodrama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bender99Jul 5, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a huge fan of Harry Potter (books and movies) but today I'm reviewing from a normal person's point of view. I thought that some of the action scenes were a bit cheesey and corny. It is one of the better Harry Potter films, but not the best. Dobby is one of my favorite characters and seeing him die was so sad that I almost cried. I can't wait for Part Two the finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
Magnificence. With its darker tone and melancholic mood, not to mention it's spellbinding effects and the dazzling acting of the older cast, Deathly Hallows Part 1 comes forth as the best Harry Potter film to date, even if it does have someMagnificence. With its darker tone and melancholic mood, not to mention it's spellbinding effects and the dazzling acting of the older cast, Deathly Hallows Part 1 comes forth as the best Harry Potter film to date, even if it does have some problems with pace and an over reliance on the still patchy acting of Radcliffe, Watson and Grint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
manurockAug 6, 2011
A great film, much better than the second one, which makes you want to read the book again and go for the second (which is a little deceptive) film. It was a good idea to split the film in two as this made it 90% follow the book. It reallyA great film, much better than the second one, which makes you want to read the book again and go for the second (which is a little deceptive) film. It was a good idea to split the film in two as this made it 90% follow the book. It really makes you thrill and touches you like very few films of this saga do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Dec 18, 2011
Beautifully photographed, loaded with a tense, gloomy tone and displaying touching performances of its young leads, the first-half of "Deathly Hallows" serves as a magnificent build-up for the climax of the series .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheMudDoctorAug 26, 2011
The Harry Potter films are the highest grossing film franchise of all time. This is precisely why when I heard that the final of J.K. Rowlingâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marnee96Nov 4, 2011
The story is compelling and thrilling, the characters are well developed and expertly acted. Although, my only problem with this is that the pace can be a little too quick, thus, certain bits of the story feel rushed and are quite confusingThe story is compelling and thrilling, the characters are well developed and expertly acted. Although, my only problem with this is that the pace can be a little too quick, thus, certain bits of the story feel rushed and are quite confusing for those who haven't read the book. 3/4 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZilcellMar 23, 2012
Deathly Hallows Pt 1 is definitely a breath of fresh air after having 6 movies take place at Hogwarts, as the setting is more of a traveling fantasy movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFJul 17, 2013
The penultimate entry and the first half of the final book of the massive Harry Potter franchise is truly the best for so many reasons, its well-paced, its real, its frightening but most of all, its human. It is truly heart-wrenching,The penultimate entry and the first half of the final book of the massive Harry Potter franchise is truly the best for so many reasons, its well-paced, its real, its frightening but most of all, its human. It is truly heart-wrenching, emotionally exhausting but brings these characters to full light and makes us realise why we care for them so much.
The wizarding world is in a true form of terror, murder, abduction and general abandonment, Harry and his friends have decided not to return to Hogwarts but instead search for the remaining Horcruxes that Lord Voldemort uses to split his soul, therefore he cannot die. But their journey is of course the hardest challenge they have ever had to face, after the tragic events of the sixth film they are very much alone. The absence of help, and their limited knowledge on what exactly they are looking for puts a strain on the once foolproof friendship of our hero, Ron and Hermione. Ron is growing increasingly frustrated with Harry's lack of results, while Hermione simply doesn't know which side to take.
The film visits many avenues it hasn't gone to before, we see scenes included that were not even in the book, yet fit so perfectly within the film, its a story of perseverance and loyalty, but also a journey into the unknown, so trust is in there too. The fact that there are less characters for a better part of the film outlines the strength these three unlikely heroes can carry, with superb acting, particularly that of Emma Watson, who leaves behind the know it all schoolgirl and becomes the mothering, edgy and loveable female of the trio, holding the other two together and making sure they are always looking ahead.
The heartache and depth of drama unfold as the film goes on, but it is the humanly touch of seemingly everything that we see, Harry visiting the grave of his parents, Hermione reminiscing about going on holiday with her parents, whose memories of herself she erased, these, while magical and part of the books, seem so down to earth that there is a unique and almost vulnerable feel to the film, and while obviously not clear to anyone who joins the franchise this late on, it could stand on its own as a perfect pre- swan song.
Certainly the most emotional journey of the lot, with some excellent effects and landscapes put in as Harry and his friends travel across the country.
Well acted and superbly tied in to be the first half of the end, probably the best to date.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
javis10Jan 11, 2012
In my opinion this movie was executed very fast, making the lack of action. Although it was OK for starting the ending of a wonderful saga. I feel this movie very depressing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722Jan 11, 2013
This is probably the best of the movies so far in terms of how closely they stayed to the book. Obviously there are many things differing but they seemed to capture the essence of every major point from the book... at least up to the point ofThis is probably the best of the movies so far in terms of how closely they stayed to the book. Obviously there are many things differing but they seemed to capture the essence of every major point from the book... at least up to the point of the break before the final installment. It's tough to give the movie a perfect rating because as an individual film, it obviously lacks the conclusion that's provided in the last film. Nonetheless, awesomely done and I can't wait to watch the final film in the series! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AquophisDec 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can sorta understand why this penultimate installment to the HP film series was received so tepidly. Much of DH Part 1 is spent milling around, looking for horcruxes, and it doesn't do much justice for those who haven't read the book. Many people may just skip this one in favor of the impeccably epic Part 2, but there's still much to be enjoyed in Part 1 - the only difference is that it tells more of a human story than an adventure story. Ron's insecurities and resentments rear their ugly head in the form of the locket, and we watch as he comes to terms with them and makes his peace with his friends. Dobby's death is made all the more heartbreaking with the addition of a few choice lines of dialogue, and the climax in Malfoy Manor is satisfying enough. The appeal lies more in the scene's emotional execution than its actual action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MegWhiteleyMar 28, 2012
I think that the movie can be better, in some parts is boring, but is an excellent first part, because if you watching this film with Deathly Hallows Part 2 is an epic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
I will admit my dislike for David Yates' previous work with the Harry Potter series, but I found this to be more than redemption. A unbelievable prologue to the final installment--it's remarkable and a return to form.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 1, 2013
"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" is directed once again by David Yates. He gives us the action sequences early in the film but slowly becomes a slightly dull camping sequence where not much is happening. However, the film ends"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" is directed once again by David Yates. He gives us the action sequences early in the film but slowly becomes a slightly dull camping sequence where not much is happening. However, the film ends with the perfect cliffhanger, making us anxious for the final film in the Harry Potter series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
This film may just be a prelude, but it is an outstanding one. You get a shiver running down your spine at the end, you can just tell what's coming. Boy, did I not want this film to end! The acting is superb, the camera work is beautiful andThis film may just be a prelude, but it is an outstanding one. You get a shiver running down your spine at the end, you can just tell what's coming. Boy, did I not want this film to end! The acting is superb, the camera work is beautiful and the cast continues to charm. What a great series! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
axelkochJan 13, 2014
The film may be too complex to grasp the first time watching it and also doesn't exactly spare clichés and silly exposition conversations, yet is still a rich and multiply-layered film that succeeds in including all the necessary genres andThe film may be too complex to grasp the first time watching it and also doesn't exactly spare clichés and silly exposition conversations, yet is still a rich and multiply-layered film that succeeds in including all the necessary genres and making it seem genuine. All of this is due to a top-notch crew and a huge gathering of immensely talented British actors, this time expanded by Bill Nighy and Rhys Ifans above others. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 is intense, moving, and highly entertaining and serves as a perfect set-up for the finale of this fantastic franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jack97Dec 17, 2016
Deathly Hallows Part 1 is a much slower paced film compared to it's predecessors, but the story it has to tell is engaging enough to compensate as well as the three leads who all get to shine even brighter here given their bigger focus.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmEqualsJoyNov 10, 2012
The first year out of Hogwarts. By far the darkest and deepest entry yet. One almost feels unsafe when the main characters are out and about. Anything could happen. This is a highpoint of the HP films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jfrotylpe532Dec 21, 2012
3 words describe this movie. So damn exciting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It is a little slow at times, but in the end "Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 1" does ultimately make itself feel like a worthwhile cinematic experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HaithamBayazeedMay 11, 2013
It is better than ever Harry Potter is now finding the evil in himself, and the war that is coming is consuming all, thoughts are playing in characters' minds and Lord Voldemort is getting stronger than ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
forestvilleMar 30, 2013
This movie gives a real impression, really, but there are many details that make this not quite good.
It has a good start, a good fight to avoid boredom aerial fast.
The film is very tense and accelerated to give you that excitement comes
This movie gives a real impression, really, but there are many details that make this not quite good.
It has a good start, a good fight to avoid boredom aerial fast.
The film is very tense and accelerated to give you that excitement comes from despair and anxiety, but the pace has accelerated, many incoherent things about the plot, I will not say them because if you read the book and see the movie you can give cueta what they are. It incoeherente with the series, not the movie itself.
The acting is good but many of the cast are still acting like it's supposed to be your scene, many scenes are very raw and should act as unique are the three main characters really were glorious this time, they have proven to the world grandeur film but the ones I liked were Rupert Grint and Emma Watson really make the viewer feel that anguish, fear and fury of that journey to defeat the Dark Lord, but the rest of the cast does not align very well and paper consumption that's a good problem.
The special effects are good, make it look all relista movie, the music is good but loose, is very good and disturbing scenes with street style and adult can enjoy especially people who do not usually like this kind of movies Adaptation is the best of the series, even if inconsistent with the series, but ruling that the film is consistent with itself, arguably no need to read the first part of the book, only if you do not want to confuse you with the characters but generally not necessary.
It is a good movie worth watching all the public, is entertaining and is the most mature of the entire Harry Potter series. You must see it.
My Score: 8.0
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGAug 9, 2015
Although the drama between Ron and Harry in this film bothers me and it's resolution is laughable to some extent, you just have to give credit to this movie and it's psychological aspect to how the dark arts are messing with someone's headAlthough the drama between Ron and Harry in this film bothers me and it's resolution is laughable to some extent, you just have to give credit to this movie and it's psychological aspect to how the dark arts are messing with someone's head and how death leaves a mark on even the happiest occasions. I just got to give credit to this film for so superbly setting up what is to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mds03Apr 14, 2013
Such an improvement over the sixth one. Almost constantly entertaining, riveting, and unpredictable the whole running time. You will never know what hit you. Such a good start to ending the fantastically written and directed Harry Potter series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SEROJMar 28, 2013
I couldn't believe that the end of Harry Potter is near! This part was great and very important, because you must watch it before the last part, or you'll not understand! The only reason why i'm not giving it a 8/10 is because it was a bitI couldn't believe that the end of Harry Potter is near! This part was great and very important, because you must watch it before the last part, or you'll not understand! The only reason why i'm not giving it a 8/10 is because it was a bit boring and it reminded me of Twilight,especially when they were in the forest. But that's why it has 2 parts, because it's not unfinished and the best is yet to come. It's a MUST WATCH if you're going to watch the Deathly Hallows Part 2 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Sep 8, 2013
There are people that think that this one is bad because of its slow pace. Honestly, I think it works well for what it has to offer. Probably not the best place for a slow Harry Potter story, but for sure picks it up in the end, along with aThere are people that think that this one is bad because of its slow pace. Honestly, I think it works well for what it has to offer. Probably not the best place for a slow Harry Potter story, but for sure picks it up in the end, along with a sad death scene. Overall, slow is the case for making Part 1 of the big finale work. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MalevolentMay 31, 2013
This is my favorite film in the franchise. Any Harry Potter fan who doesn't like this movie is just downright crazy. The action sequences were great and the movie was very similar to the book. I remember watching this in theaters and I wasThis is my favorite film in the franchise. Any Harry Potter fan who doesn't like this movie is just downright crazy. The action sequences were great and the movie was very similar to the book. I remember watching this in theaters and I was just blown away. The acting was great and the suspense will have you at the edge of your seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Pranay6Mar 15, 2014
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 1 also bravely faces the future, slipping with expert ease among the thrilling mass of complications (and complicated set pieces) that Rowling throws fans in the final sprint, then guiding theHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 1 also bravely faces the future, slipping with expert ease among the thrilling mass of complications (and complicated set pieces) that Rowling throws fans in the final sprint, then guiding the faithful to the fate that awaits everyone in this world, the moment called The End. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrunoADJun 14, 2013
A very well done movie road.

The first time I saw HP7 Part 1 liked, loved the second, and I must say it was a great movie, great moments from the great effect at the Battle of the Seven Potters scene in the ministry, until the death of
A very well done movie road.

The first time I saw HP7 Part 1 liked, loved the second, and I must say it was a great movie, great moments from the great effect at the Battle of the Seven Potters scene in the ministry, until the death of Dobby, great track sonoroa made the cast remains good, Emma Watson stands out among the trio, film photography is brilliant as that of HP6 and script does not fail at all, only I forgot to say that the scenes of Hogwarts, but because not only I but like all fans also wanted to have seen what was happening at Hogwarts while the trio was on the road.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 25, 2013
This time Harry Potter is different in a good way, it is certainly excellent, by far the best, with some disturbing imagery and scenes, and enchanting over the top action sequences, it is the best one and the most thrilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jeff_reviewsJul 12, 2013
"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" is darker than ever, but unlike Part 2, it has issues with its usage of deep dark depth in its plotting. The film is still interesting enough to watch, and as a Harry Potter fan, I thought they"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" is darker than ever, but unlike Part 2, it has issues with its usage of deep dark depth in its plotting. The film is still interesting enough to watch, and as a Harry Potter fan, I thought they managed to pull parts off well, but I thought that the book it portrayed did a much better job hooking readers, as did the film hooked audiences. The film does have a lovely soundtrack that fits the darker tone and in all honesty, it is a wonderful film to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
The darkest film in the series also contains some of the best and most fresh sequences in the entire series. It has heart, true heart; great direction, fantastic music (Alexandre Desplat is another one of the greatest composers that everThe darkest film in the series also contains some of the best and most fresh sequences in the entire series. It has heart, true heart; great direction, fantastic music (Alexandre Desplat is another one of the greatest composers that ever lived), amazing acting and visuals- this film really does the source material justice by splitting the last book into two. This film really gets you involved emotionally and it delivers, always. It is a fantastic piece of work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeFeb 19, 2014
A mysterious movie that has entertaining scenes and an spectacular story.

The opening scene in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I is great and exciting. The movie is very well made and the actors couldn't have been more awesome
A mysterious movie that has entertaining scenes and an spectacular story.

The opening scene in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I is great and exciting. The movie is very well made and the actors couldn't have been more awesome as they are, and the story is spectacular. The movie also contains some humorous scenes that I really enjoyed. The negative things about this movie is that it contains to much slow scenes that doesn't got a high amount of action, which made it a little boring. Another bad thing is that the movie itself didn't contain anything new or spectacular, and I think it might could have happened more in this movie, but also that the music could have been more touching.
Even though this movie contains slowness is it still a great movie, because it got an awesome ending and the movie overall felt mysterious well made.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I gets a 8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FreedomFightersDec 5, 2016
I still remember my reaction when I heard that the final Harry Potter film would be divided into two parts. It was a resounding, "what?" I wasn't sure if that would be the best idea in the world, because even if the book is pretty long, is itI still remember my reaction when I heard that the final Harry Potter film would be divided into two parts. It was a resounding, "what?" I wasn't sure if that would be the best idea in the world, because even if the book is pretty long, is it worth two movies? The answer is "yes." "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" (which I'll probably just call "Part 1" for the rest of the review) is well-acted, well-filmed, visually great, and successful in its darker tone and mood. Even if it doesn't stand as the best film in the franchise, "Part 1" is a great film that fans of the franchise will absolutely enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nickrovertOct 24, 2013
'Deathly Hallows: Part I' is an incredibly well-acted and visually stunning precursor to the franchise's final installment and serves as a tense character-driven penultimate film. However, it can't help but feel like an obvious prelude.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
Everything is different now, the trio is on the run having to survive on there own. Things are very dark and more adult themed in part 1. While the film takes a while to build the performances are what is so good about this film, the actionEverything is different now, the trio is on the run having to survive on there own. Things are very dark and more adult themed in part 1. While the film takes a while to build the performances are what is so good about this film, the action is enjoyable as well. But Deathly Hallows 1 does have a long down time....as personal drama comes between the trio...then picks up for an epic part 1 finally that leaves you craving part 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the seventh and final adventure in the Harry Potter film series, is a much-anticipated motion picture event to be told in two full-length parts. Part 1 begins as Harry, Ron and Hermione set out on theirHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the seventh and final adventure in the Harry Potter film series, is a much-anticipated motion picture event to be told in two full-length parts. Part 1 begins as Harry, Ron and Hermione set out on their perilous mission to track down and destroy the secret to Voldemort's immortality and destruction--the Horcruxes. On their own, without the guidance of their professors or the protection of Professor Dumbledore, the three friends must now rely on one another more than ever. But there are Dark Forces in their midst that threaten to tear them apart. Meanwhile, the wizarding world has become a dangerous place for all enemies of the Dark Lord. The long-feared war has begun and Voldemort's Death Eaters seize control of the Ministry of Magic and even Hogwarts, terrorizing and arresting anyone who might oppose them. But the one prize they still seek is the one most valuable to Voldemort: Harry Potter. The Chosen One has become the hunted one as the Death Eaters search for Harry with orders to bring him to Voldemort...alive. Harry's only hope is to find the Horcruxes before Voldemort finds him. But as he searches for clues, he uncovers an old and almost forgotten tale--the legend of the Deathly Hallows. And if the legend turns out to be true, it could give Voldemort the ultimate power he seeks. Little does Harry know that his future has already been decided by his past when, on that fateful day, he became "the Boy Who Lived." No longer just a boy, Harry Potter is drawing ever closer to the task for which he has been preparing since the day he first stepped into Hogwarts: the ultimate battle with Voldemort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnMasterLJul 14, 2015
A pesar de que " THE HALF-BLOOD PRINCE" ignora por completo la trama y las situaciones del libro original, David Yates hace una maravilla en "The Deathly Hallows Part 1" no solo es de las mejores adaptaciones que podras ver en mucho tiempo,A pesar de que " THE HALF-BLOOD PRINCE" ignora por completo la trama y las situaciones del libro original, David Yates hace una maravilla en "The Deathly Hallows Part 1" no solo es de las mejores adaptaciones que podras ver en mucho tiempo, sino también regresa el estilo original y oscuro que Harry Potter tenia desde "The Prisoner of Azkaban" y "The Goblet of Fire" Divertida, oscura e increíble. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
Contrary to popular belief, this isn't the worst Potter installment and while it may be slow-paced, it is the most true to the book adaption besides the first two. The Ministry of Magic and Malfoy Manor scenes are true standouts in the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
Once again, the Harry Potter filmmakers and actors have done a magnificent job translating JKR's masterpiece to the screen. I'm sop glad they decided to divide this movie into two parts since it's allowed them to be even truer to the 759 page story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrMovieBuffNov 16, 2016
It's not easy to adapt J.K. Rowling's longest "Harry Potter" book, so the safe choice was to split it into two movies. Obviously, this means that the first half would be least eventful, and the second portion of the story would be fast-pacedIt's not easy to adapt J.K. Rowling's longest "Harry Potter" book, so the safe choice was to split it into two movies. Obviously, this means that the first half would be least eventful, and the second portion of the story would be fast-paced and always moving. 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1' is a haunting, effective, emotionally stirring and chilling chapter into the iconic franchise. We see our main heroes; Harry (Daniel Radcliffe), Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson) running around alone in the woods looking for more horcruxes to destroy. Lord Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) has also planned on how he is to attack Harry, with the help of Snape (Alan Rickman) telling him where he might be at all times. This informs that Harry is unsafe, and even anyone who knows him is also at risk of getting killed since they are to tag along with him on their journey. There isn't much to the movie's premise as it does mostly follow our three heroes running in the woods, but what I loved most is that, without the overlong presence of Fiennes, Rickman, Maggie Smith, Emma Thompson etc. this movie gives more room for Radcliffe, Watson and Grint to showcase their emotional weight for their characters. You feel exactly what they feel, they are confused, angry, upset... a whole roller coaster of emotions just escape these characters, and the actors play them well. This might not be everyone's favorite "Potter" chapter, but it's definitely worth seeing if you're a fan of acting and atmosphere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
From a purely business standpoint, the decision to bifurcate Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is a winner. Instead of cashing in about $300 million at the domestic box office, Warner Brothers can now count on at least $600 million (biggerFrom a purely business standpoint, the decision to bifurcate Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is a winner. Instead of cashing in about $300 million at the domestic box office, Warner Brothers can now count on at least $600 million (bigger world-wide). And, if the second part is released in 3-D (as has been threatened), the surcharge could boost that total to stratospheric levels. Still, what's good for the cash box isn't always good for the audience. From a creative perspective, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part One is a disappointment. It's tough to review what amounts to half a movie since, by its nature, the story remains rough-hewn and unfinished. A year from now, once both pieces are available and stitched together into a mammoth 5-hour epic, perhaps the experience will more closely resemble The Return of the King than Return of the Jedi.

With Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, it appears that the filmmakers have given up on making the saga accessible to those not steeped in Potter lore - or at least those who have not read the books. There were indications of this in the previous film, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, but it's more evident in this one. Lacking a handy cheat-sheet, it's almost impossible to understand everything that's going on. For example, where does Brendan Gleeson's Mad-Eye Moody disappear to? Readers of the book know, but you have to listen carefully to get the rushed explanation in the movie. His fate is not shown; it's relayed in a perfunctory fashion in the midst of a chaotic scene. There are other problems along this line - characters appearing who have never been properly introduced (or may not be remembered). Where did John Hurt come from? It would take an impressive memory to recall his previous Harry Potter appearance, which occurred in 2001. Subplots are concluded with nary a word of explanation. Those who know the books won't be the least bit put off or confused - they have the necessary background. Neophytes (do those exist?) or those who have experienced the Harry Potter universe solely through the cinematic representations will experience at least a degree of frustration.

Speaking of frustration, there's the ending. As one might anticipate, it's a cliffhanger, although not of the sort that will have fans throwing empty popcorn containers at the screen. The story simply stops, and that's annoying. It's like sex where one of the participants has a change of heart after foreplay. There's some enjoyment to be had but that's overshadowed by the desire to bring the experience to a completion. All the previous Harry Potter movies have existed as self-contained stories within a larger framework - even The Half-Blood Prince, which was as much set-up as narrative. That's not the case with The Deathly Hallows Part One. There's no payoff. The movie builds erratically to the moment when the end credits start rolling. After sacrificing nearly 2 1/2 hours to this movie, there's a sense that more is deserved. Perhaps that "more" is waiting for us, and The Deathly Hallows Part Two will redeem Part One but, as I write this review, I have only the first movie to make judgments on, and those are mixed.

The pace is uneven, with sluggish passages interspersed with taut action scenes and more meaningful instances of character interaction and exposition. There's an entertainingly original animated sequence (telling the story behind the title), but its inclusion seems more an indulgence than a necessity. Approximately half the running length follows the intrepid trio on a camping expedition - something that might work well on the written page but tends to drag on screen. The unhurried approach also defuses some of the suspense, although it helps to build the sense of dread. The Deathly Hallows Part One is working up to the final confrontation between Harry and Voldemort, but that's all it does - works up to it. From beginning to end, this movie is a study in anticlimax. There's a sense of the narrative going in circles and not advancing much. Quests are a fantasy staple, but rarely has a movie been made in which there is so little progress. Even Frodo's trek to Mordor, despite taking three very long movies to complete, wasn't this torpid.

Despite providing an opportunity to spend 147 minutes in the company of people we have grown to know and love over the years and advancing the narrative toward its final cataclysmic confrontation, The Deathly Hallows Part One underachieves. At a time when Harry Potter should be soaring to new heights, it remains curiously grounded.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
damien_k98Apr 29, 2015
This is the poorest of the films but it's still great. Deathly Hallows Part 1 is a more darker Harry Potter film and still has the Harry Potter spark. If only there were more action scenes I would give this movie a 10,but still great though.This is the poorest of the films but it's still great. Deathly Hallows Part 1 is a more darker Harry Potter film and still has the Harry Potter spark. If only there were more action scenes I would give this movie a 10,but still great though. WARNING You will cry at the end! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rutger-KikkertJun 5, 2016
This movie is of course the setup for the last movie. And that causes things to go really slow, since one book is spread out over two lengthy movies.
This movie starts off really promising, lots of action and excitement, but then it slows
This movie is of course the setup for the last movie. And that causes things to go really slow, since one book is spread out over two lengthy movies.
This movie starts off really promising, lots of action and excitement, but then it slows down and repetitiveness starts to occur. Lots of scenes where not too much happens fill most of the run-time of this movie. and during the few action scenes this movie has to offer there is little to no music, also some lazy writing with too much coincidences is again a fact. But the performances and the cinematography are amazing. And even though there is slow pacing this movie still can be very entertaining at some parts.
And tells a very decent part of the story with some decent character development.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Excellent addition to the Potter franchise and a huge step up from the Half-Blood Prince which lacked so much!

The music is disappointing with Desplat's promise of using John William's themes as they have been so unused in the last three
Excellent addition to the Potter franchise and a huge step up from the Half-Blood Prince which lacked so much!

The music is disappointing with Desplat's promise of using John William's themes as they have been so unused in the last three films but he broke it and the actual Harry Potter theme had more or less of a cameo during the traditional sky writing title credits.

The visual effects are at their best since Prisoner of Azkaban, the art direction is fab and the cinematography is good too!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 20, 2016
Before the epic conclusion comes, this "Deathly Treatment" tells us that Harry Potter's coming to an end way before Part 2 came out. It's Part 2 that was better than this, but it's still good anyways.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FuturedirectorApr 16, 2017
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 may be even paler and atmospheric than it's predecessors, but it still has it's smart storytelling and indispensable interpretations that live's up to Harry Potter's epic name of the saga.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
superbatJul 16, 2016
I was so hyped for this movie after watching the Half-Blood Prince. It was still a great movie but it wasn't excellent either. Sure, the visual effects and acting were great, but the plot had several holes and the tone was too dour. You comeI was so hyped for this movie after watching the Half-Blood Prince. It was still a great movie but it wasn't excellent either. Sure, the visual effects and acting were great, but the plot had several holes and the tone was too dour. You come away from this feeling miserable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HPFANBOY1237Apr 9, 2017
Deathly Hallows Part 1 feels disjointed at times and is slow, but it is gritty and dark and mostly enjoyable the whole way through. Definitely one of the weakest entries in the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews