Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2009
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1046 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
713
Mixed:
201
Negative:
132
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Half-Blood Prince had potential to be the best, most magical Potter film yet. Instead, the movie veers unspeakably off course, not at all staying true to the novel, and ends like a light being softly lowered, when the novel ended in chaos andHalf-Blood Prince had potential to be the best, most magical Potter film yet. Instead, the movie veers unspeakably off course, not at all staying true to the novel, and ends like a light being softly lowered, when the novel ended in chaos and bloodshed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
David Yate's Harry Potter is not magical anymore. The movie spins confusing romance between the 3 main protagonists and also focuses more on the violence of the scary Voldemort. This is not a franchise I was hoping to watch....
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
5
GoldenEye16Aug 21, 2010
Although the movie did follow the book very well (the best since #2), the movie was incredibly slow and boring, and the since that they added made no sense at all, like the weasley's house fire scene (what was that?). Also they barelyAlthough the movie did follow the book very well (the best since #2), the movie was incredibly slow and boring, and the since that they added made no sense at all, like the weasley's house fire scene (what was that?). Also they barely mentioned the Half-blood Prince and really didn't go in depth or include enough on the memories of Tom Riddle which was very significant in the books. The magic and effects also seemed very cartoonish instead of real and authentic. (Bring in Peter Jackson Please!) Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
sreekAug 17, 2009
Tremendous start but in the middle lost its seriousness and sudden astonishing pleasing end without much misery. i give for action sequences and 3-d effect 6.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MichaelDMar 1, 2011
It was way too long. But I was entertained but then again, I was bored at some parts in this movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Mar 25, 2012
Harry Potter seems to be gathering for the big battle but much too slowly. Someone like me the wait is becoming long and this movie is prolonging it even more. Still well made but you can begin to see it is getting rough around the edges.Harry Potter seems to be gathering for the big battle but much too slowly. Someone like me the wait is becoming long and this movie is prolonging it even more. Still well made but you can begin to see it is getting rough around the edges. Get to it already. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Half-Blood Prince had potential to be the best, most magical Potter film yet. Instead, the movie veers unspeakably off course, not at all staying true to the novel, and ends like a light being softly lowered, when the novel ended in chaos andHalf-Blood Prince had potential to be the best, most magical Potter film yet. Instead, the movie veers unspeakably off course, not at all staying true to the novel, and ends like a light being softly lowered, when the novel ended in chaos and bloodshed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
AaronWasserman1Mar 27, 2016
This movie has no idea what to focus on, the love, the humor, the threat on the wizarding and muggle world? Easily the worst Potter film. A film so uneven in scenes and tone, I think this movie was an unintentional comedy, and not exactly a good one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Aaron_WassermanJun 1, 2016
This movie has no idea what to focus on, the love, the humor, the threat on the wizarding and muggle world? Easily the worst Potter film. A film so uneven in scenes and tone, I think this movie was an unintentional comedy, and not exactly a good one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MattMJul 20, 2009
It was a good movie, if you've read the book though it is average. The storyline was completely twisted. The acting was good, the writing was horrible
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AllenSJul 20, 2009
I would rank this move 'last' with all the other Harry Potter movies. Leaving out major story arcs that led to the climatic battle scene, and then leaving out the battle scene itself was a major travesty to what should have made up I would rank this move 'last' with all the other Harry Potter movies. Leaving out major story arcs that led to the climatic battle scene, and then leaving out the battle scene itself was a major travesty to what should have made up at least one third of this movie. I was really looking forward to seeing that battle come to life on film. Secondly, the mystery and discovery of Voldemorts secret was poorly developed. I really believe these were the major arcs of the story that were sorely left out, leaving us watching a really different sort of adaption of the book that left a very unsatisfying ending. To those who think that adapting closely to major arcs of a book story and transferring it on film is challenging and therefore unfair to Yates, I say 'hogwash'. Peter Jackson and his crew did a great job with LOTR, I would rest my case with his example alone. Sure there were some, and I stress some liberties, but he did not digress from major plots of what were crucial to a satisfying ending to each film of that trilogy. To end with a positive note, watching these young actors grow up in this movie with all the teenage angst was enjoyable to watch. Hogwarts looked spectacular; and the adult actors were great to watch. I hope they can reclaim "the magic" in the final movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JonDJul 29, 2009
I thought it was disappointing way to much couple stuff that was all so predictable if you have half a brain. and tbh the past films 3,4,5 made harry look way ahead of the curve powers wise. but this film makes him look very very weak. hesI thought it was disappointing way to much couple stuff that was all so predictable if you have half a brain. and tbh the past films 3,4,5 made harry look way ahead of the curve powers wise. but this film makes him look very very weak. hes useless against snape. and cannot save himself in the cave. . .. its stupid. aswell as there are so many differences in the book which i thought would have been great in the movie instead of an hour's filla about relationships. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DoctorTAug 2, 2009
From a comment below: "This was for a person who read the books (sorry can't see How if you only saw the movies you can comment)" This perfectly sums up what is wrong with these plodding films. They are made purely as accompaniments to From a comment below: "This was for a person who read the books (sorry can't see How if you only saw the movies you can comment)" This perfectly sums up what is wrong with these plodding films. They are made purely as accompaniments to the books. More of a series of visual footnotes, they are, in fact, barely films at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EmericCAug 6, 2009
It's was too long and just boring. The book is much better, read it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LisaMAug 7, 2009
After reading the books one can discern the major short-comings of the moveies. However, we know the limitation of the screen adaptation process and understand the discrepancies. Having said that this sixth movie is DISAPPOINTING to say the After reading the books one can discern the major short-comings of the moveies. However, we know the limitation of the screen adaptation process and understand the discrepancies. Having said that this sixth movie is DISAPPOINTING to say the least. They left out too many important details so that the movie is very different from the book rather than slightly different as the other movies are from their books. I am very unhappy and am re-reading Book Six to refresh my memory and fully enjoy the story. Please, I dearly hope the screen play for the last two movies will honor the seventh book with accuracy, dignity and completeness. This movie left me cold and wanting so much more. Bravo to J.K. Rowling for her brilliant writing and storytelling; please talk to the producer and director and urge them to produce a top-knotch companion to the last book. We all need a great job to be done; Harry and the other characters deserve no less, nor does Ms. Rowling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndrewN.Jan 4, 2010
Half Blood Prince is bereft of any real drama and excitement. As such the challenge lies in trying to sit through the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MeggJul 15, 2009
I am utterly aghast that the parts of the story I looked forward to most were barely brushed upon. I very much desired to see all of Voldemort's past explained and illustrated on screen: how his mother and father were connected, the I am utterly aghast that the parts of the story I looked forward to most were barely brushed upon. I very much desired to see all of Voldemort's past explained and illustrated on screen: how his mother and father were connected, the Gaunt family, the murder of the three Riddles (not even mentioned!), etc. The memories we did see on-screen were bare-boned; we did not get to hear about the shenanigans young Tom was up to on his beach trip, only that he was a highly disturbing child. The Slughorn story-line was carried out effectively, but I felt like so much was missing. There was no scene with Dumbledore and the Dursley (which would have been highly amusin on-screen), no acknowledgement of Harry's grief for Sirius (which was redolent in the beginning of the book), nor did we see him receive his inheritance of Kreacher. I felt this movie missed the whimsy, magic, and familiarity of the first five films. It was dark, and I don't say this to imply that it should be daffodils and sunshine. While the sixth book was the darkest yet of the series, it still maintained a level comfort, of consistency, of familiarity. There was gloom and doom and sorrow, yes, but was taking place in a settings most familiar. Immediately, I felt like the presentations of the locations did not stay true to the first movies. For instance, the inside of the Weasley house beared no resemblance to the interior was saw in movies 1-5. The sixth year's bedchamber also looked (felt?) different. Even the panned out view of Hogwarts against the expansive sky and the mountains did not have the same feel to it. I suppose it had a lot to do with the camera and lighting work. Even the usual lively castle accompaniments, such as Peeves and Nearly-Headless Nick, or even the daily grind of classes, homework, and studying, were no where to be found. The one light-hearted departure from the gloomy affair of the story-line was the over-done teenage romantic adventures. Even the music was missing character and familiarity. When there was not silence behind the dialogue and action, long chords droned, void of variations on old themes and presentation of new. Still, it did cover the main bullet points of the film and stayed "true" to the book about as well as the other movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WesleySJul 15, 2009
Whether you have read the books or not, this is a yawnfest. The screenplay is horrible. At least the acting, cinematography and special effects are good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattK.Jul 16, 2009
Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge HP fan. I just wasn't a fan of this particular movie. Parts of the story that were really moving, such as 'somebody's' funeral, should've been included. Also, the director Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge HP fan. I just wasn't a fan of this particular movie. Parts of the story that were really moving, such as 'somebody's' funeral, should've been included. Also, the director couldn't choose between a dark or a light teen-comedy film. I felt like the many Ron jokes were so out of place and flat that they just shouldn't of been included. I think I smiled once in this whole 2 1/2 movie, but I can't really remember because I walked out with a headache when it was all finished. All in all, it was a decent movie, but I don't think it was put together exceptionally well, according to all the hype. It was just OK. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ElizabethBJul 16, 2009
I am a Harry Potter Fan. Read all the books but this movie fell below the expected standards. I get that they changed the air of the movie making it lose all of its charm and attractiveness to be dark and mysterious. However they just I am a Harry Potter Fan. Read all the books but this movie fell below the expected standards. I get that they changed the air of the movie making it lose all of its charm and attractiveness to be dark and mysterious. However they just skipped over all the key issues of the book. Didn't really explain the horixues, didn't show the tiara, no funeral, do bill and fleur, why the hell burn down the weasley hoouse?, no fight between death eaters and order of the phoneix just making the end boring and making harry look weak. I could of ignored all the differences in the screen but stop writing new crap and putting it in and just follow the book. The movies were made because of how good the book is so then why do the directors think they need to be changed so much. Just follow the book and you will have a hit. I don't know how they are going to figure out the horixues without being give any info especially the tiara. I did like the funny parts and the cave was good but thats it. Hopefully 7 is better because 6 really kinda sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CindyCJul 17, 2009
A better title for this movie would be "Harry Potter and the Half-Baked Plot". Important storylines are altered beyond recognition, barely touched upon or missing altogether, while trivial points that do not advance the story are dwelled on A better title for this movie would be "Harry Potter and the Half-Baked Plot". Important storylines are altered beyond recognition, barely touched upon or missing altogether, while trivial points that do not advance the story are dwelled on at length. Apparently it was more important to introduce a hypothetical waitress for Harry to flirt with at the beginning of the film than to retain the climactic battle between Death Eaters and Order members at the end. The spirit of what was already one of the more forgettable installments in the Potter series has been lost. The film does boast some highlights, including strong performances by Jim Broadbent, Tom Felton and the always-superb Alan Rickman. For every Slughorn, Draco or Snape, however, there's a Ginny Weasley, who is incapable of showing emotion even when sharing a first kiss with Harry. Other major characters (McGonnagal, Hagrid) are reduced to mere window dressing. While the film is visually stunning in places, the musical score matches Ginny Weasley's acting for blandness.. I can still hum music from the first four movies but can't recall a note from Half-Blood Prince -- and I saw the movie yesterday. Perhaps the most aggregious sin of this disappointing film is the ending, which has been gutted beyond recognition. Those who were looking forward to the battle between Death Eaters and Order members, or the tender scene between a greviously wounded Bill Weasley and Fleur Delacour, will be cruelly disappointed. What is left is an emotionless and rushed confrontation between Harry and Snape that is so poorly directed that the revelation regarding Snape at the end of Book 7 can be anticipated. I understand that one cannot remain 100% faithful when adapting books like this to film. However, decisions should remain true to the spirit of the book. (A superb example of this is Prizoner of Azkaban, still the best of the Potter films.) The screenwriter and director involved in Half-Blood Prince clearly don't get it, unfortunately. Their decision-making reminds me of scenes from the movie The Majestic, where film executives propose script changes that are increasingly ridiculous. "I've got a 'what if'...'" What if the screenwriter and director had left the ending of Half-Blood Prince intact? Then this would have been a much better film. I shudder to think that Book 7 is being handed to this same team. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
embJul 17, 2009
This movie, just like the fifth harry potter, left vital information out of the movie and added useless junk that was completely un needed. not only that but each sceen just jumped to the next one with no flow and the sceens never really This movie, just like the fifth harry potter, left vital information out of the movie and added useless junk that was completely un needed. not only that but each sceen just jumped to the next one with no flow and the sceens never really build up to anything. with everything that was left out i doubt the seventh movie will be anything remotely close to the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CameronLJul 18, 2009
The movie has a heavy focus on relationships and attraction. These moments led to awkwardly funny moments that at the most part made me laugh. It was worth sitting through the love scenes, as the last 30 minutes were amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
InnaBJul 18, 2009
I'm torn about this movie. The cinematography is breathtaking, details are exquisite ans the score is sublime. I really wanted to like it. I'm not a huge HP fan, but since it's such a cultural phenomenon I did read the books I'm torn about this movie. The cinematography is breathtaking, details are exquisite ans the score is sublime. I really wanted to like it. I'm not a huge HP fan, but since it's such a cultural phenomenon I did read the books and watched the movies, and after the third one the movies started to grow on me. So I was looking forward seeing this one, especially since trailers and previews were so compelling. But now I wish there was more substance in addition to the visuals. Since it was a while since I read the book, when I left the theater my overall feeling was ", what happened to the plot?". They either shouldn't make it more action packed (while trimming most of romantic stuff) or turn it into a two-parter w/ a better developed story. Maybe it's just a clever ploy to make people buy extended edition DVD and books to try to make sense of the story? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SamW.Jul 19, 2009
This movie left me ambivalent, nearly 2 and a half hours of unrequieted teenage love. About which nothing came to fruition. Wholesale rewrites of the book are unacceptable. The destruction of the burrow, and no clues given to the trio as to This movie left me ambivalent, nearly 2 and a half hours of unrequieted teenage love. About which nothing came to fruition. Wholesale rewrites of the book are unacceptable. The destruction of the burrow, and no clues given to the trio as to what the horcruxes are much less how to get them. Can someone please explain to me why this movie is called Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince? Because it is only in name that it has any relationship to the book. This one should have been named "Harry Potter and the Grips of Adolecent Love". Harry Potter and the Mundane Emotion of Rampant Teenage Hormones" . The reason the book is named as such is the mystery behind the name in the book that makes Harry such a briliant potions student, and his ongoing battle with the greasy former potions teacher. This movie should show people what happens when Warner Brother Execs. Start making artistic and Story decisions. This movie should have been directed by Alan Smithee. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ottomJul 22, 2009
It's really just an ok film. No big battles, no real crazy special effects. There were some witty moments that made me laugh a bit. In the end, it lacked action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JackJul 22, 2009
Seriously, how could anyone have this rated above 5? I love the series, but Daniel Radcliff has ruined the character of harry. Obviously no one told him that having the same expression on your face for 2 and a half hours isn't actually acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatriciavJul 25, 2009
So many golden opportunities were missed in this movie. A little more passion on Daniel Radcliff's part would be appreciated. It's visually stunning, but not very comprehensive. My husband, who has not read the books, actually So many golden opportunities were missed in this movie. A little more passion on Daniel Radcliff's part would be appreciated. It's visually stunning, but not very comprehensive. My husband, who has not read the books, actually dozed off, Emma and Rupert were the star actors in this one. And the ending, good grief. Did they run out of film? I love HP but I hope they do better on the last two movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MawMJul 25, 2009
The first half of the movie was a vast improvement from the previous films but the ending just didn't live up to the expectations. I felt that there were many missed opportunities in the execution of the climax which would have made The first half of the movie was a vast improvement from the previous films but the ending just didn't live up to the expectations. I felt that there were many missed opportunities in the execution of the climax which would have made this a truly epic film. I honestly felt that Cedric Diggory's passing in the Goblet Of Fire drew more emotions than the death of a central character in this film, which I attribute as a failure on Yates' part. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinGatesJul 20, 2009
This movie is not true to the book in any way. Most of the important details were removed, leaving only some of the memory portions, the potions book, and the entire romantic subplot. All of the interaction between characters has been dumbedThis movie is not true to the book in any way. Most of the important details were removed, leaving only some of the memory portions, the potions book, and the entire romantic subplot. All of the interaction between characters has been dumbed down, or removed, unless they are in looove.
Don't waste your time or money on a movie ticket, wait until it comes on TNT.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful