Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 994 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Voldemort is tightening his grip on both the Muggle and wizarding worlds and Hogwarts is no longer the safe haven it once was. Harry suspects that dangers may even lie within the castle, but Dumbledore is more intent upon preparing him for the final battle that he knows is fast approaching.Voldemort is tightening his grip on both the Muggle and wizarding worlds and Hogwarts is no longer the safe haven it once was. Harry suspects that dangers may even lie within the castle, but Dumbledore is more intent upon preparing him for the final battle that he knows is fast approaching. Together they work to find the key to unlock Voldemort's defenses and, to this end, Dumbledore recruits his old friend and colleague, the well-connected and unsuspecting bon vivant Professor Horace Slughorn, whom he believes holds crucial information. Meanwhile, one student remains aloof. He is determined to make his mark, albeit a dark one. Love is in the air, but tragedy lies ahead and Hogwarts may never be the same again. (Warner Bros.) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 100
    The most beautiful magic in it is left unseen. And still, it emerges with absolute clarity.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Dazzlingly well made and perhaps deliberately less fanciful than the previous entries, this one is played in a mode closer to palpable life-or-death drama than any of the others and is quite effective as such.
  3. 88
    It flows like fast-moving lava to a climax filled with pyrotechnics. And for once in a summer blockbuster, the fireworks are both emotional and physical. The movie leaves you sated, yet wanting more -- just what you want from a series with two entries left to go.
  4. The good news is that it comes closer than any of its predecessors, hitting the mark or coming close to it on almost all fronts. With "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows" being split into two films, the final installment stands an excellent chance of getting it right.
  5. 75
    Half-Blood Prince is the franchise's “Empire Strikes Back” -- the episode in which the pace slows down a bit, the characters deepen and mature, the good guys take a big hit, and all hell is gearing up to break loose.
  6. Slower and talkier than the five Potters that came before - but not necessarily in a bad way - Half-Blood Prince is a bubbling cauldron of hormonal angst, rife with romance and heartbreak, jealousy and longing.
  7. 60
    We get one lovely, cheering sequence of a trashed room putting itself in order, like the untidy nursery in "Mary Poppins," but the rest of the magic here feels randomly grabbed at.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 400
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Dazzling visuals, some incredible performances stand out Emma Watson, and some emotional depth make this easily one of the best film's in theDazzling visuals, some incredible performances stand out Emma Watson, and some emotional depth make this easily one of the best film's in the franchise. I give this film 95% of a good movie. Expand
  2. BobbyM.
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    Amazing!!!! the best movie in the series since azkaban and one of the best of the year!! cant wait 4 deathly hallows!!
  3. JonathanA
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    Beautiful cinematography, an immaculate ensemble, and a storyline that brilliantly mixes the humor of teenage lovestrucks with mystery and Beautiful cinematography, an immaculate ensemble, and a storyline that brilliantly mixes the humor of teenage lovestrucks with mystery and horror elements. I liked it a ton. Expand
  4. ConnorM
    Sep 5, 2009
    7
    As a movie, this is an enjoyable film and is worth anyone's money. However as a fan of the book I was quite dissaponted. There were too As a movie, this is an enjoyable film and is worth anyone's money. However as a fan of the book I was quite dissaponted. There were too many things to name that I wish were there while other things I wish were excluded (The burning of the burrow comes to mind). I have been frustrated so far with Yate's first 2 movies but with the next movie being split (and having a HUGE budget to work with) I can't help but look forward to them. As a movie it deserves its 7 (if I had never read the book it may have earned an 8 or 9) but prepare to be dissapointed if you've read the book. Expand
  5. WesK
    Jul 16, 2009
    6
    Pacing was terrible. Radcliff can't act. Not enough explanation about anything that was going on for people who did not read the book. I Pacing was terrible. Radcliff can't act. Not enough explanation about anything that was going on for people who did not read the book. I explained a lot to my wife during the movie because it doesn't make too much sense if you haven't read the book. The ending was less than emotional. Sure, I heard about 3 people in the theater bawling but they were little teenagers that are so wrapped up in the book that they can't differentiate between. The book was emotionally jarring but the movie lacked the right kind of build up. At the end of the movie, I almost didn't care. Expand
  6. AlexH
    Jul 30, 2009
    4
    There's nothing much to grade here. There was just no use to making Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. This film really just There's nothing much to grade here. There was just no use to making Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. This film really just repeated what the last one (Order of the Phenix) established: "we must kill Voldermort, but how o' how?" I'm sure you will do fine with missing this way-too-long, went nowhere, installment of the Harry Potter series. Expand
  7. AnonA
    Jun 10, 2009
    0
    user reviews are so arbitrary that so many of them are just based on first impressions as indicated by how many reviews are out right now evenuser reviews are so arbitrary that so many of them are just based on first impressions as indicated by how many reviews are out right now even though the movie hasn't even finished post production yet. User reviews should be limited to people who have metacritic accounts, because user ratings right now are completely pointless. Expand

See all 400 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Every Harry Potter Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Harry Potter Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: April 15, 2016
    Find a ranking by Metascore of every film in the Harry Potter series.
  2. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.

Awards & Rankings