User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 795 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 795

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 11, 2016
    7
    Very enjoyable installment in the Potter franchise, like the fourth it becomes darker and the Wizarding World is starting to truly learn what they are up against. This movie also is a lot of fun despite its dark tone.
  2. Aug 21, 2010
    5
    Aside from the fantastic dementor attack at the beginning, this movie was pretty much not good. WHAT happened at the end in the department of mysteries? All of the shelves just start falling down and there was no cool wand battling in the different rooms like in the book. That was the best part of the book and they left it out. The fifth book has a lot of really good important stuffAside from the fantastic dementor attack at the beginning, this movie was pretty much not good. WHAT happened at the end in the department of mysteries? All of the shelves just start falling down and there was no cool wand battling in the different rooms like in the book. That was the best part of the book and they left it out. The fifth book has a lot of really good important stuff and moments that they either butchered or just left out. Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    With newbie director David Yates in control of the Harry Potter franchise, the movie's 'order' has been severely complex, making the wonderful acting from the potter trio & the marvelous CGI kinda hard to follow.
  4. MattB
    Jul 16, 2007
    3
    This movie was a horrible addition to the series. We are not talking about minor adjustments to plot, which is, as I think all of us can agree, a neccessary evil for transforming a 900pg book into a 100-200pg script. I am by no means a die-hard fan, but felt that the director over-emphasized the smallest of scenes in an effort to make the more more appealing to the usual "dumb movie-goer" This movie was a horrible addition to the series. We are not talking about minor adjustments to plot, which is, as I think all of us can agree, a neccessary evil for transforming a 900pg book into a 100-200pg script. I am by no means a die-hard fan, but felt that the director over-emphasized the smallest of scenes in an effort to make the more more appealing to the usual "dumb movie-goer" audience. Take the Harry/Cho kiss. This wasn't even talked about in the book, yet was by far the longest single shot of the movie. It was the the rush rush rush of the movie was suddenly slowed-down for this one really unimportant moment. I wouldn't complain if that was an addition to an already true-to-the-story film. Changing the plot, as well, for unnecessary reasons is just pompus. I felt that by-far the acting in this movie was the worst, and that falls entirely on the director, not the actors, as we know they have done better. The young actors said they liked this director the best, which means he was probably the most laid back, which is obviously shown on screen in their portrayal. Evanna Lynch's pausing in between phrases was something that could have easily been fixed by building confidence with the character and the lines, another job that lies solely on the director. I have been told that the movie was easy to follow for someone who did not read the books, but I'm not sure how it's possible as I just read the book a few days ago, so it is fresh in my mind, and I could barely follow it myself. A waste of time and money. Next! Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    My personal favorite of the movies, the one I believe is most faithful to the books (while taking into consideration the changes made in the previous movies as well). The final battle between Voldemort and Dumbledore is one of my favorite moments fom the whole Harry Potter franchise.
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    4
    A disappointment. The worst in the series by far, and as Daniel Radcliffe gets older his attempts at acting get more pathetic. Julie Andrews clearly should have played Umbridge- they have all the money in the world, couldn't they have made that happen? Butchers the best book in the series, unfotunately.
  7. RjK
    Aug 10, 2007
    0
    There were to many thing missing. It went from discussing about the DA and then into getting into it. This harry potter movie was by far one of the worst because of all the crucial pieces of information that were missing. I sat through the whole confused even though i just read the book before the movie. It doesn't even tell how they found the room of requirement
  8. FredF
    Mar 8, 2008
    1
    What a mess - surely the most apalling of all the Potter films, and that's saying something because they are all pretty awful. I hated every minute of this crappola.
  9. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    It was a solid movie. There's not much to say about it. It is in the dead center of the Harry potter movies. The wickedness of Umbridge is probably the best part of it
  10. May 25, 2012
    6
    It still entertains, but this is the weakest Harry Potter movie of them all.
  11. Nov 8, 2012
    6
    Potter isn't the same in the Order of the Phoenix. The fantastical bliss has turned to a dark sadness, but there is a determination about the film that keeps it worthy. The signature franchise visuals are also in full bloom.
  12. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    With it being the longest book and shortest film they had a lot of work to make this not rushed and boy did they do fantastic. Strong performances, beautiful visuals, great action, thrills and some heartwarming moments. I give this movie 92% of a good film.
  13. ArielB.
    Feb 26, 2008
    3
    The film was good but it wasn't great. I've seen better and I was quite disappointed when I fist saw the movie. I though it would look great after the goblet of fire, but still the forth is the best Harry Potter movie although a lot of stuff had been left out. It's a shame that they left out Quidditch and Ron and Hermione becoming a prefects. When you see it several times The film was good but it wasn't great. I've seen better and I was quite disappointed when I fist saw the movie. I though it would look great after the goblet of fire, but still the forth is the best Harry Potter movie although a lot of stuff had been left out. It's a shame that they left out Quidditch and Ron and Hermione becoming a prefects. When you see it several times it clearly shows that it isn't great. Good,maybe even average, but not great. The best thing in the film is battle between Voldermort and Dumbldor, and the character of Dolores Umbridge. If the half blood prince turns out as his predecessor I very much doubt it that I'll buy that dvd. Expand
  14. Sam
    Jul 17, 2007
    3
    I have not read the books, yet even I could see that there is a large amount missing. There is no progression at all only poorly connected scenes with very little build up to the climax, which, whilst impressive on the special effects, has no intensity. Overall the film is just too shot and does not cover the subject matter that it is clearly trying too.
  15. Berie
    Jul 10, 2007
    0
    A Grave disappointment to Harry Potter fans everywhere.
  16. PaulD.
    Aug 11, 2007
    4
    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix fails on many levels. To put things simply, shoddy writing is the film's major flaw, but not the only one. Uninspired and ultimately weak (And often awkward) direction is not helped in the task of making up for a lackluster script (More interested in ripping basic ideas from the book than exploring them in any detail) by an uninspired Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix fails on many levels. To put things simply, shoddy writing is the film's major flaw, but not the only one. Uninspired and ultimately weak (And often awkward) direction is not helped in the task of making up for a lackluster script (More interested in ripping basic ideas from the book than exploring them in any detail) by an uninspired performance by an increasingly useless lead. Radcliffe's performance is stiff and lifeless, particularly in emotional scenes, such as those where has a go at this friends. Meanwhile, Warner Brothers set design continues their desire to make the mundain extraordinary, by making the Ministry of Magic - a conceivably dull place (Being a Governmental building) perhaps more impressive that Hogwarts itself. A big no-no. The book's most important scene, one in which Dumbledore shows Harry the Prophecy and tells him "everything", is butchered in a couple of awkward and considerably less well-conceived scenes. One scene in this set is considerably awkward and difficult to watch, being as it is so clearly out of place. It seems that after the series' superb fourth chapter, things have slipped to previously unheard of lows for Harry Potter. Even strong appearances from new cast members Imelda Staunton and Evana Lynch cannot rescue this train wreck. Avoid this movie at all costs. Expand
  17. NavinR.
    Aug 8, 2007
    2
    This movie was terrible.Other than the brilliant performances put down by Luna, Umbridge and Harry, there really wasn't anything good about it.
  18. VilmaD.
    Jul 11, 2007
    3
    being a big fan of the books, I was very very disappointed that they did not stay true to the book. changed things around and went from one thing to the next jumping around so much and didn't connect it smoothly.
  19. JohnS.
    Jul 11, 2007
    5
    This film was about half the length needed to do the book justice. Rushed and disjointed, missing some of the best scenes from the book and drastically reworking what was left in. The most unrealized potential of any of the films... tragic.
  20. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    The fifth installment of the series continues the adventures of Harry Potter and his friends as little do they know that their new teacher Professor Umbridge forbids them to ever use magic. When Lord Voldemort is already having armies at his command, Harry, Ron, Hermoine, and gang battle against him as they encounter new enemies and old enemies before Harry learns that "neither one canThe fifth installment of the series continues the adventures of Harry Potter and his friends as little do they know that their new teacher Professor Umbridge forbids them to ever use magic. When Lord Voldemort is already having armies at his command, Harry, Ron, Hermoine, and gang battle against him as they encounter new enemies and old enemies before Harry learns that "neither one can live while the other survives". I've saw this in a theater in Fredericksburg, Virginia, enjoyed it and now time for my opinion to make this review a little bit short. The fantasy action was amazing, the acting was neat and entertaining, the characters were a little bit developed, the villian Lord Voldemort was intimidating, but a lot of fun thanks to Ralph Fiennes' amazing performance, and the storyline was well-paced. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is an entertaining entry of the fantastic series. Next two reviews are HP6 and HP7 Part 1. 8/10 Expand
  21. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    good game:)
    I love the ability of being able to walk all over school-grounds.
    nice way to cast spells:) I think it is attached to the storyline of the book.
    mute-button for Hermione?

    Score: 10.0
  22. Mar 19, 2011
    4
    This has to be the worst Harry Potter movie I've seen so far, the darker tone makes this unenjoyable, the story is good but nowhere near what the others were, and the humor that was in the other movies is completely absent making this unenjoyable.
  23. Jan 8, 2016
    8
    The fifth installment of Harry Potter goes more character driven and less adventurous than the previous films. However the magic and performances of the cast is still there leaving this on a solid note.
  24. MikeJ.
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    Fun film, Yates took some steps away from Curon and Columbus- but overall a nice dark tale with excellent shots.
  25. BrutusO.
    Aug 14, 2007
    8
    Wow! Talk about a backlash. Did nobody like this film? This film is OK, despite all the naysayers. Given it is based on the worst book of the lot, it works surprisingly well. Admittedly, it would not have mattered much if it had never been made, because the overall plot does not advance all that far. Basically Harry worries about Voldemort for a while, irritates everyone, and then has Wow! Talk about a backlash. Did nobody like this film? This film is OK, despite all the naysayers. Given it is based on the worst book of the lot, it works surprisingly well. Admittedly, it would not have mattered much if it had never been made, because the overall plot does not advance all that far. Basically Harry worries about Voldemort for a while, irritates everyone, and then has another interminable face-off with the bad flunkies. But as far as these things go, not bad. I have to admit I did get the feeling there were too many British character actors (wonderful as they are) racing around doing nothing terribly significant. Imelda Staunton deserves special credit for bringing the delightfully awful Dolores to life. The principals were good, the sets were good, the script was ...OK. Bring on the next one. Expand
  26. Barone
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    I don't know what your guys comments say, but this movie was great. I'm a huge fan of the series and i thought this was the best one.
  27. MichaelP.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Awesome movie, it really captures the essence of the film.
  28. RyanD
    Jul 14, 2007
    6
    When are directors gonna stop improving and follow the story so as to not ruin future films and story lines?
  29. [Anonymous]
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    While it was a bit too fast paced, I think the filmmakers did an awesome job of taking a 900 page book and turning it in a tight, psychological thriller. The acting was top notch, especially from Imelda Staunton and Daniel Radcliffe, who gives a powerful, emotional performance. This is a film that leaves you wanting more, which is both criticism and praise. Bring on the Half Blood Prince, While it was a bit too fast paced, I think the filmmakers did an awesome job of taking a 900 page book and turning it in a tight, psychological thriller. The acting was top notch, especially from Imelda Staunton and Daniel Radcliffe, who gives a powerful, emotional performance. This is a film that leaves you wanting more, which is both criticism and praise. Bring on the Half Blood Prince, Mr Yates. Expand
  30. ShaneS
    Jul 20, 2007
    6
    Books are not films, of course, and that's why films should always take liberties with the source material. I've never been one to deny it. One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest is an example of a film that acted as an interpretation and not a flat-out cut-and-paste to screen. The latter is lazy film making. This fifth Harry Potter was rife with choices, but most of them were Books are not films, of course, and that's why films should always take liberties with the source material. I've never been one to deny it. One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest is an example of a film that acted as an interpretation and not a flat-out cut-and-paste to screen. The latter is lazy film making. This fifth Harry Potter was rife with choices, but most of them were poor choices. Characters are left underdeveloped, suspense is nowhere and--as opposed to, say, Prisoner of Azkaban--it lacks imagination and the visual verve that should define the series. One might gather that the film's largely expository parts act solely as necessary buildups to some climax and they never act on their own. A film should never, ever, be about the payoff: everything in-between matters just as much as the fireworks finish. And Rowling has a fundamental difficulty with her imagination that I cannot ignore and that I have long wanted to point out. She only plays at knowing her world, but when she hits a creative wall, she inserts some magnificent and magical plot device to move along the action and stir some tension. By that method, she leeches and manipulates us all into believing her world. She did it in Goblet of Fire with the triwizard tournament. Somehow a large maze appeared and there were other massive geographical elements that had heretofore been absent. To me, that's inept storytelling and, in fact, it cheats not only her readers, but her otherwise imaginative self. Now I can understand to an extent because people often rush her creative process along, but the effect is diminished by it and the story's credibility disintegrates evermore because of it. In Order of the Phoenix she added "the Room of Requirement," which I'll refrain from explaining in the interest of people who have yet to see the film--just take my word for it. But most importantly, the characters needed some development to make the themes more potent. The book exceeded 800 pages and clearly that complicates matters. A solution would be to break the film into two parts and release them separately. Ironically, the fifth book was my favorite in the series thus far (the seventh to be completed soon), but the adaptation was my least favorite of all. Expand
  31. JonnyF.
    Sep 1, 2007
    5
    It had it's moments, but Goldenberg's screenplay was laughable. A confused mess. Very few of the children have improved as actors. I am not anticipating the next movie.
  32. G-RadC.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is one of the best of the series so far, followed by Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. The ending action/fantasy scene in the end was amazing and had spectacular visuals and graphics. This one's intense and powerful. The acting was dazzling throughout all the cast. There's nothing wrong about this Harry Potter episode.
  33. Frank
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    Very well adapted... great special effects!
  34. KrysA.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    This is the best Harry Potter film yet and should not be missed by the fans of the series or anyone who enjoys fantasy thrillers.
  35. ShoR.
    Jul 11, 2007
    5
    This film was a major disappointment to this die-hard fan of the Harry Potter book and movie series. Big booms, no chemistry. Daniel Radcliffe's acting was good. Everyone else's was uninspired, except the Luna Lovegood role which was played badly. The director fell down on the job. This cast can do and has done so much better in the past. There were major plot holes due to poor This film was a major disappointment to this die-hard fan of the Harry Potter book and movie series. Big booms, no chemistry. Daniel Radcliffe's acting was good. Everyone else's was uninspired, except the Luna Lovegood role which was played badly. The director fell down on the job. This cast can do and has done so much better in the past. There were major plot holes due to poor choices of what to keep and what to cut from the original story. Bellatrix LeStrange's costumer should beg for forgiveness. Expand
  36. AmitK.
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    Best movie so far! Anger!
  37. ChristopherDavis
    Jul 11, 2007
    7
    Falls into the middle of the Potter films. Better than Sorcerer's Stone and Chamber of Secrets, y et pales in comparison to Goblet of Fire and Prisoner of Azkaban (the best still). Definitely enjoyable to watch Harry and the rest of the cast age, but I still felt this movie lacked a certain coherence and felt rushed.
  38. AndreaF.
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    Best of the Harry Potter films. The acting (especially Umbridge and Snape) was great, and the new writer seemed to finally figure out how to compress the story in a way that was brisk but true to the source.
  39. Jenny
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    They left out the swamp. They left out a lot of things, but I was still pretty happy, because it's not going to be perfect no matter what.
  40. CraigS.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    This movie was the best so far, the director cut the right story lines and combined appropriate story lines to create a solid, condensed film that should leave most Harry Potter fans happy.
  41. SusanM.
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    By far the best of the lot so far!! Caught a midnight showing last night and was pleasantly surprised. There were changes, so hardcore HP fans may be upset about that, but I thought they were good, added to the film and dare I say...may have even been an improvement over the book. Umbridge is also dynamic! You hate her and love her at the same time...she completely embodied the character. By far the best of the lot so far!! Caught a midnight showing last night and was pleasantly surprised. There were changes, so hardcore HP fans may be upset about that, but I thought they were good, added to the film and dare I say...may have even been an improvement over the book. Umbridge is also dynamic! You hate her and love her at the same time...she completely embodied the character. I can't believe the adventure will be over in less than two weeks when the book comes out. Expand
  42. Zoey
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    I think this was a great movie. Though I didn't really care for the ending, the movie had great effects and kept you on the edge of your seat.
  43. hollyc
    Jul 12, 2007
    7
    I basically agree with Stephanie Zacharek's review from Salon.com. If you haven't read the book, I'm not sure this film will work that well for you. But if you have read it, this is film is pretty good (at least I thought so). It's successful parts really made up for some of the bad screenwriting/editing (ugh, and some of the choices the screenwriter made were total I basically agree with Stephanie Zacharek's review from Salon.com. If you haven't read the book, I'm not sure this film will work that well for you. But if you have read it, this is film is pretty good (at least I thought so). It's successful parts really made up for some of the bad screenwriting/editing (ugh, and some of the choices the screenwriter made were total crap) but I loved Umbridge, Luna and Bellatrix--perfectly cast. Even little Ginny was pretty prominent in certain scenes (hint hint). Harry's emotional "growing" is still the centerpiece as in the book. Plot-wise, unless you read the book, you'll have no idea what ground was made as they really don't go that far (or show it anyway) & ironically the "Order of the Phoenix" is largely cut out of the film. The end climax scene in the Ministry is done very well though. I still think PoA might be the better Potter film so far, but OotP is definitely vying for the top. Expand
  44. ryanc.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    I think this was the best Harry Potter yet! Although I didn't read this book, but read the first four, I wasn't confused at all. It was very well made and extremely entertaining. The action was great in the end. It had a perfect balance of humor and seriousness. The acting was much better!!!! Finally, this was the first movie in the franchise to stray away from the juvenile I think this was the best Harry Potter yet! Although I didn't read this book, but read the first four, I wasn't confused at all. It was very well made and extremely entertaining. The action was great in the end. It had a perfect balance of humor and seriousness. The acting was much better!!!! Finally, this was the first movie in the franchise to stray away from the juvenile parts of the other films. Excellent MOVIE!!!!! Expand
  45. andret.
    Jul 12, 2007
    8
    I left the movie theater satisfied with HP:OP. Overall the movie is unequal in terms of rhythm, but much more believable in terms of presentation. The story shows a more internal side of Harry, and the movie as more decent special effects. During all the movie you want to help Harry and his friends against the Ministry, and that's a good thing...that means the story holds up I left the movie theater satisfied with HP:OP. Overall the movie is unequal in terms of rhythm, but much more believable in terms of presentation. The story shows a more internal side of Harry, and the movie as more decent special effects. During all the movie you want to help Harry and his friends against the Ministry, and that's a good thing...that means the story holds up emotionally. The special effects, the music are there for the story. Not the other way around. However, I am unsure if young kids would appreciate this movie because it has a underlining political scheme to it. It might not be entirely understandable to them...A very good movie with a more mature tone to it. Expand
  46. NathanC.
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    A great adaptation. The true magic here is squeezing this massive story into just over two hours of fun. For true Rowling fans, a true delight. For the rest, a solid film, and visual treat.
  47. AmberL.
    Jul 12, 2007
    4
    The movie butchered the book and changed things ,not just left out, of the story. Someone who never has read the books will be fine watching this movie, but the rest of us will be highly disappointed.
  48. JonD.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    This movie was easily the best of all the movies, there wasn't all that much filler compared to the book, they cut a lot of stuff out. But the action sequences are amazing, and this movie finally shows how harry potter isn't a children's book, goblet of fire started that but it still had some childish aspects. This movie between the opening scene to the final battle was This movie was easily the best of all the movies, there wasn't all that much filler compared to the book, they cut a lot of stuff out. But the action sequences are amazing, and this movie finally shows how harry potter isn't a children's book, goblet of fire started that but it still had some childish aspects. This movie between the opening scene to the final battle was dark, and very intense and in my opinion a very good movie. Expand
  49. JennP
    Jul 13, 2007
    8
    It was an overall good movie. However, the movie left out great story lines that were in the book. It is too bad J.K. Rowlings writing was not developed into its fullest visual extent.
  50. AzrielM.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    Harry's 5th year on the big screen has been the greatest of all so far if you ask me. As a matter of fact, I can't think of a better movie adaptation that the one that David Yates just did with the Order of the Phoenix. He just made a 2h18 movie -the shortest Harry Potter movie so far- from the thickest Harry Potter novel. Yates condensated the essential elements of the novel, Harry's 5th year on the big screen has been the greatest of all so far if you ask me. As a matter of fact, I can't think of a better movie adaptation that the one that David Yates just did with the Order of the Phoenix. He just made a 2h18 movie -the shortest Harry Potter movie so far- from the thickest Harry Potter novel. Yates condensated the essential elements of the novel, and filled the movie with a lot of non-spoken and subtle details not only taken from the book, but also setting up the table for what's about to come... Every single actor has been wonderful (except Daniel Radcliffe... sorry, but he really sucks). Especially Umbridge and Luna Lovegood; even if they didn't fit the mental image I had of them both, they were brilliant. and I'm glad that Dumbledore finally took his Ritalin... Those who red the book will probably agree that, among the 5 movies that came out, we just saw the best one. Expand
  51. ChrisD
    Jul 13, 2007
    3
    Oh noes! The first negative review not complaining about how it isn't faithful to the book?!?!? The script in the film was awful. Diabolical. At the end when Harry tells them what Dumbleydore said, was painful to anyone who has seen movies with good dialogue. The acting for the most part was substandard, especially Harry (again) The praise Staunton has received has perhaps been Oh noes! The first negative review not complaining about how it isn't faithful to the book?!?!? The script in the film was awful. Diabolical. At the end when Harry tells them what Dumbleydore said, was painful to anyone who has seen movies with good dialogue. The acting for the most part was substandard, especially Harry (again) The praise Staunton has received has perhaps been unwarranted as Umbridge. I got the impression she really overplayed it, and that is easier than playing someone more complex and middle of the road. She aslo got way too much screentime compared to all the other adult actors, who were largely reduced to cameos. Also when Ron said, "WHo are you... Hermione Granger" it was as laughable as the "Get me a laptop" line from oceans 13. The effects were good obviously, but at the fight at the end, seeing as practically nothing had happened til then they just decided to pour all the effects in then and hope to wow people with that rather than making a good action scene. There was no artistic style lent to this film by the director unlike the 3rd film, and generlally not that good. Expand
  52. Dan
    Jul 14, 2007
    4
    Tolerable as a movie, but it strays too far from the book. Scenes were changed around and whole scenes that I found to very important to the story were left our, which, frankly, pissed me off.
  53. Brandon
    Jul 14, 2007
    7
    This is only a so so film, and that's the honest truth. This is the fifth Potter film, and so anyoen walking int othe theatre is gong to know what they are in store for. Also anyone who has read the book knows the material already, so all we can really rate is the direction and the adaptation of the story. The direction is capable, but at times puzzing with eiditing that is breaknect This is only a so so film, and that's the honest truth. This is the fifth Potter film, and so anyoen walking int othe theatre is gong to know what they are in store for. Also anyone who has read the book knows the material already, so all we can really rate is the direction and the adaptation of the story. The direction is capable, but at times puzzing with eiditing that is breaknect during important scenes and laxadaisical when languishing on unimportant special effects. (Is it more important to spend 30 seconds on watching the kids make animated paper airplanes, or explaining how Harry feels about Cho in the third act of the film?). The adaptation was also weak, choosing to make the main story of the film about hte rise and fall of Delores Umbridge instead of about the feeling of hopelessness and insecurity at Hogwarts as the students have everything that makes them feel safe systematically stripped away. Harry choosing to form the D.A. and effectively fight BACK is supposed to be a big moment in his character and the story. This is not handled well in the film, I think, and thereby make the whole Order of the Phoenix story into a filler. This was an important chapter to nail, and it's sad that it was mishandled. Especially after how amazing the last two films have been. I'm sad to hear the director will be back again for the next Potter film. Expand
  54. AnthonyB.
    Jul 14, 2007
    8
    Well, I dont think its the best movie in the series. Im just to disappointed because my favorite scene in the book was not included ( The Prophecy Chapter ). Thats the part where Harry is shouting at Dumbledore. Although I love the effects, most specially the match between Dumbledore and Voldemort. I love the concept of Black VS White, as in literally! But the emotions that the novel Well, I dont think its the best movie in the series. Im just to disappointed because my favorite scene in the book was not included ( The Prophecy Chapter ). Thats the part where Harry is shouting at Dumbledore. Although I love the effects, most specially the match between Dumbledore and Voldemort. I love the concept of Black VS White, as in literally! But the emotions that the novel brought, it was not totally depicted in the movie. Overall, its a good one! Plus, in fairness, Harry and Cho knows how to kiss! Expand
  55. ChristopherW.
    Jul 15, 2007
    2
    The Harry Potter franchise has hit a wall with this one. The momentum that has been building through the previous 4 films lags in this disappointing film adaptation. The plot is so creaky and uninvolving that you may have to check your pulse at some point. The new 'headmaster from hell' is not all that scary, just really annoying. And, the final climactic battle is well The Harry Potter franchise has hit a wall with this one. The momentum that has been building through the previous 4 films lags in this disappointing film adaptation. The plot is so creaky and uninvolving that you may have to check your pulse at some point. The new 'headmaster from hell' is not all that scary, just really annoying. And, the final climactic battle is well choreographed, but it feels like it inhabits an all togetter different film. Also, many of the actors appear bored with reprising their roles for the fifth time. In addition, the greatest crime this installment commits is that it isn't any fun. Its downbeat tone and grim portents just make you want to see all of this wrapped up very soon. Not recommended! Expand
  56. SamF
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    Movie did a great job of incorporating as much detail & plot as allowed to make a coherent movie. It was a great experience to watch, and at times, almost improved upon the book
  57. DoloresUmbridge
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    Daniel Radcliffe CAN'T act, he just doesn't have talent he can't learn it. Dolores Umbridge is THE MOVIE. Good movie inspite of the main character.
  58. StanleyF.
    Jul 17, 2007
    6
    I found the movie reasonably enjoyable, with good special effects and action sequences. However, after a good start it quickly became rather jerky and telegraphic in pacing. I suspect many not familiar with the story may find it confusing. Because of the frenetic editing style, character development was limited. I also found the egregious addition of a new type of attack magic detracted I found the movie reasonably enjoyable, with good special effects and action sequences. However, after a good start it quickly became rather jerky and telegraphic in pacing. I suspect many not familiar with the story may find it confusing. Because of the frenetic editing style, character development was limited. I also found the egregious addition of a new type of attack magic detracted from the believability of the climactic sequence. Expand
  59. RyanB.
    Jul 19, 2007
    2
    This movie was absolutely awful, and it makes me sad to see Metacritic has granted such an awful movie a green score. The movie itself centered far to much around pointless scenes that did nothing to help the plot. For example, the scene with Harry kissing that girl. The movie put atleast 80% of the important information into corny, cliche spinning news paper montages. For example, nearly This movie was absolutely awful, and it makes me sad to see Metacritic has granted such an awful movie a green score. The movie itself centered far to much around pointless scenes that did nothing to help the plot. For example, the scene with Harry kissing that girl. The movie put atleast 80% of the important information into corny, cliche spinning news paper montages. For example, nearly half of the movie went by when they explained Umbridge (or whatever her name was) was arrested, and that Dumbledoor had been reinstated. That was not content worthy for new paper headlines. That deserved full scenes. Don't bother with the movie if you are a movie fan. You will spend the whole time pulling out huge plot holes, and shameless directing. Thanks for reading, hope this helps! Expand
  60. BryantR
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    The best Harry Potter yet! The special effects, acting and everything else. Especially the battle between Dumbledore and Voldemort was the best part. I can't wait until the next one and the last book
  61. CS
    Jul 25, 2007
    7
    This film can be rated in two ways: how good a Harry Potter film it is and how good a film it is. A Harry Potter film is never going to get a 10 on metacritic-its just too shallow. but based on the source material the producers and director had to work with, I don't think they could have done much of a better job. Sure, there were moments where some short scenes seemed unnecessary, This film can be rated in two ways: how good a Harry Potter film it is and how good a film it is. A Harry Potter film is never going to get a 10 on metacritic-its just too shallow. but based on the source material the producers and director had to work with, I don't think they could have done much of a better job. Sure, there were moments where some short scenes seemed unnecessary, but mistakes have to expected in films. And so i were rating this as a harry potter film, it would get a 10,, but, as a film, it's only a 7. Some of the reviewers need to sort that distinction out. Expand
  62. AdamL
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    This movie is the best Harry Potter movie yet. It is darker and more action packed. The overview shots of the lake and Hogwarts and the mountains in this movie are spectacular. The best thing about this movie is that they have more stuff from the book in here than any other Harry Potter movie yet.
  63. JaredC
    Jul 29, 2007
    0
    I haven't read the book and I can understand why its nothing like it. First of all, JK Rowling keeps the story with the same amount of character development and lets them have roles. In this, its just The Order of the Phoenix and Harry Potter's army of 5. Cho Chang is like being bullied with Harry who kissed her violating her. Its a powerfull movie but I didn't get much out I haven't read the book and I can understand why its nothing like it. First of all, JK Rowling keeps the story with the same amount of character development and lets them have roles. In this, its just The Order of the Phoenix and Harry Potter's army of 5. Cho Chang is like being bullied with Harry who kissed her violating her. Its a powerfull movie but I didn't get much out of it, it got annoying, the 3D sequence in IMAX was great, but all the movie is is training for a powerfull army to kill voldamort's, and the battle just begins at the very end. The movie felt so short, Most of the supporting roles are like taken out of the whole story. I am very dissapointed, it could have had more story. Expand
  64. GloriaB
    Jul 30, 2007
    2
    This move stank. Beginning with HP himself, Daniel Radcliffe. This guy is probably the worst actor on the planet despite his butt naked performance on stage to try and garner some acclaim. It was a cheap shot and it did not work apparently. So glad I didn't see that. You'd think Daniel would invest in some acting lessons but more likely his problem is deeper. He is devoid of This move stank. Beginning with HP himself, Daniel Radcliffe. This guy is probably the worst actor on the planet despite his butt naked performance on stage to try and garner some acclaim. It was a cheap shot and it did not work apparently. So glad I didn't see that. You'd think Daniel would invest in some acting lessons but more likely his problem is deeper. He is devoid of talent. He hasn't got IT. I'm sure they lose millions because of him, so why haven't they replaced him? Nobody knows, but I'll dance in the street if they do. And while they are replacing people they should re-cast Lupin. Who the hell is that puffy-faced actor? Lupin should look thin, tattered and tragically handsome--not like a puffer fish. Tonks was nicely cast though. I've always felt that Minerva looked much younger than the actor who portrays her. Nobody has mentioned how wasted Emma Thompson's performance iwas amongst that mess of a movie. You tend to forget the highlights because the rest was so overwhelmingly depressing. The movie is a shame, but I knew it would be since I have the fake screams of Daniel from the other movies (Aaaaahhhhhhh....Aaaahhhhh....Aahh....Ah) still ringing in my head. How stupid do these movie makers think we are? Plenty--we keep going to see this trash. Expand
  65. RichardS
    Jul 30, 2007
    7
    The Potter series can be divided into 2 - 1. the first four books which were each lean, full of mystery and adventure - each was a standalone story of merit and 2. the last three books which have a single story laboriously told across the three books. As a result the last 3 books are pretty boring, longwinded, and crucially bereft of new magic and thrills. TOOTP has no central storyline, The Potter series can be divided into 2 - 1. the first four books which were each lean, full of mystery and adventure - each was a standalone story of merit and 2. the last three books which have a single story laboriously told across the three books. As a result the last 3 books are pretty boring, longwinded, and crucially bereft of new magic and thrills. TOOTP has no central storyline, unless you think that the revelation that Voldemort is back is actually a story in itself. As a result the story is really lacking. True to the last 3 books Harry is crushingly dull - one-note whinging and feeling story for himself all the time. God help us when book 7 comes to the screen. Having a "bleak" or "dark" story doesn't make it better - just bereft of fun. The good news is that the acting from the adults is first rate. Oldman and Staunton are superb. Just a shame we can have more Thewlis, Smith, Gleeson and others. Gambon is great as usual too. The kids aren't too bad. JKR cannot write action scenes at all - they play so much better on screen than on the page. The battle scene at the end is far better than anything JKR has written. The Army practice scenes also have great effects. A better film than I feared since the book is almost unfilmably dull - top effects, good acting, snappy direction and no Quidditch! Expand
  66. sabretooth
    Jul 30, 2007
    8
    For the first time in the series, the Film improves on the book. I'm a big Harry Potter fan and just finished up book 7 last week. Order of Phoenix novel was long, drawn out with a very annoying, teenage angst Harry Potter. The film directed by David Yates (britsh TV director) surpasses the JK Rowlings book. OH yes there are unnecessary deviations from the book but overalll the film For the first time in the series, the Film improves on the book. I'm a big Harry Potter fan and just finished up book 7 last week. Order of Phoenix novel was long, drawn out with a very annoying, teenage angst Harry Potter. The film directed by David Yates (britsh TV director) surpasses the JK Rowlings book. OH yes there are unnecessary deviations from the book but overalll the film ehances the story. For the first time a Harry Potter movie moves briskly and is well paced. Yates cuts film sharp but leaves in the necessary elements. THe acting is the best we have seen in a Potter film, Radcliffe, Watson and Grint are all at their best along with well cast new comers of Umbridge and Luna. Gary Oldman is still a little off cast as Sirius Black but he manages well enough. My only disapointment is that the final battle is a little rushed and doesn't capture the struggle as nearly as well as the novel. Overall the best Harry Potter film yet followed in descending order by HP3, HP2,HP4 and then HP1. Much greater rewatch ability then previous Potte films, umbridge is used just enough to get the feel of her annoying ways without being over used in the film and becoming annoying. Expand
  67. TomK
    Jul 30, 2007
    8
    Order of the Phoenix is the best harry potter movie, yet. it's matching the book in spirit and the actors are great (especialy Helena Bonham Carter, Evanna Lynch and Rupert Grint)
  68. SamJ.
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    I thought it was the best one because there was darker magic involved and Harry, Ron And Hermione are getting older so there is a lot more humour in it. Because they are getting older they are becoming scarier and older.
  69. BerogTheDragon
    Aug 3, 2007
    0
    What a waste of money.
  70. Oligami
    Sep 1, 2007
    7
    I liked the opening scene and that duel between Voldemort and Dumbledore near the end, it really saved the movie from being forgettable.
  71. MaxS.
    Sep 2, 2007
    4
    Worst in the series. Its over before it gets going, and leaves a lot of content from the book out.
  72. GatsbyJ.
    Sep 2, 2007
    8
    -Love the books; 1st, 2nd, and 4th movies were great. 3rd one was the weakest, and Order the second weakest. This movie did some things very well, and others not so well. I thought the acting was good, the atmosphere was dark and foreboding as it's supposed to be, the special effects were great (I don't know what Charles C. is complaining about), but they messed up on the story, -Love the books; 1st, 2nd, and 4th movies were great. 3rd one was the weakest, and Order the second weakest. This movie did some things very well, and others not so well. I thought the acting was good, the atmosphere was dark and foreboding as it's supposed to be, the special effects were great (I don't know what Charles C. is complaining about), but they messed up on the story, which is the biggest disappointment. -It was great that a lot of the unneeded parts were cut from the book, which was far too long (even J.K. Rowling admits this), and in terms of plot, the fifth book had the least going on. BUT, they had only two parts that they needed to truly get right for the movie, which they messed up. [***SPOILER**] 1) The battle between Dumbledore and Voldemort. It could have been a bit longer and more imaginative. True, they didn't need to follow the fight exactly like in the book because it's just a fight scene and doesn't develop the story, but having Dumbledore bring those statues to life as in the book would've rocked (or they could have expanded the fight in their own way). 2) The prophecy. This is the MOST important part of book 5; it's the climax and moment of revelation. This is one of the few parts of the book where something actually happens and affects the overall stories. But all we get in the movie is some obscure voice (not knowing it's professor Trelawny makes her character pointless in the movie because her importance in the book was that she made the prophecy. So why is she in the movie if it's never explained she made the prophecy?) saying a few lines about Harry and Voldemort having to kill each other. Even if you like the movie better than the book, you have to admit that this was the most important moment of the story, and they did in fact ruin it. The prophecy serves not only to explain what happened in the prior stories, but also sets up what's to come. I.E. We learn that Neville will play a big role in the future (which he does). People who've never read the books thus miss out on a huge chunk of plot, especially why Voldemort chose to kill Harry. -So overall a good movie, but not spectacular. Expand
  73. SimonM.
    Sep 3, 2007
    1
    Another year same boring movie. I've seen every Potter movie once despite the fact that I am no fan of the series ( I keep hoping there's a reason for the legions of fanatics, this time i was had by promises of a darker story line) I guess I'm a sucker for epic special effects movies. I'm going to avoid the Half Blood Prince and maybe see Deathly Hollows depending on the word.
  74. CoffeeS.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    this is a great movie with a great emotional pull at the end. great movie only (minor) problem is a few events from the book are left out here. but that might be a good thing seeing as ootp was the weakest book (but still pretty good especially towards the end) in the series. either way great movie with great performances all around. see it, own it, love it.
  75. CherayeE.
    Jan 4, 2008
    3
    This was my favorite book and the movie ruined that for me. It was horrible that fact that were changed didn't make sense. They left out to much and it was not dark enough. It seemed like a bad summary rather than the harry potter movies that we are used to. Bring back director form 3 and 4 please.
  76. PeteE
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing, from the dementor attacks all the way through to Sirius' death.
  77. Nuggets
    Oct 2, 2007
    7
    The film is largely guilty of failing to remain faithful tto the novel with too many changes, often for the worse, and the fact the film often fails to explain what is happening ruins the beauty, drama and superb acting from all the main characters in one of my favourite Harry Potter books. As usual, the acting and CGI is decent enough and especially Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson and The film is largely guilty of failing to remain faithful tto the novel with too many changes, often for the worse, and the fact the film often fails to explain what is happening ruins the beauty, drama and superb acting from all the main characters in one of my favourite Harry Potter books. As usual, the acting and CGI is decent enough and especially Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint who continue to widen their reputation as decent British actors. The cast once again make the film almost believable and the portrayal as Lord Voldemort is captured perfectly. The plot, though one of the finest in the book series as the teenagers go through dark times as the Death Eaters rise, often misses out explaining key details with the film missing out parts of the book altogether making it hard to follow and hurried. Firstly, for whatever reason, the film was too short, as a result key parts would be ignored in order to make the film giving it a broken plot look. For those who have read the Harry Potter book, the film lives up to a majority of fans expectations with David Yates delivering a realistic, decent experience of the Harry Potter universe, switching between the happy times of Harry Potter series to more dark and sinister plot elements with apparent ease. Expand
  78. Furbydude
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    the Harry potter movies were amazing and they were VERY good and detailed and, best of all, exciting despite the separation from the JK Rowling books which resulted in drastic changes to the series, although the movie is better
  79. M.
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    you know whut Simon M. and Ian B.? You are both retards!! HATE YOU!!!! This movie was totally fun!
  80. SebB.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    Harry Potter and the order of the phoenix was mind blowing in my eyes. David Yates really captured the spirit of Harry Potter and the way J.K has written it. The only down fall is Daniel Radcliffe as I do not think his standard of acting is at the same level as Emma Watson and Rupert Grint, as they both so real flair in there rolls in the film. As well I think the film should be a little Harry Potter and the order of the phoenix was mind blowing in my eyes. David Yates really captured the spirit of Harry Potter and the way J.K has written it. The only down fall is Daniel Radcliffe as I do not think his standard of acting is at the same level as Emma Watson and Rupert Grint, as they both so real flair in there rolls in the film. As well I think the film should be a little longer as its virtually 10 - 20 minutes shorter than the rest and it seemed that the film had ended in no time at all. Another draw back was seeing that it was the longest book out of the 7 why wasn't it the longest film out of the 5 made so far, clearing showing not enough information was put in as a lot of unexplained answers will not been given to use, such as in the 5 book the lockets is in headquarters even though they didn't no of its importance. Even though I've given a lot of bad points i still think David Yates has done well and acting has improved over the cause of time from all characters and is only going to improve as the series continues. Expand
  81. JoyceC.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Crisper and more phenomenon than the previous installments.
  82. MichaelFazio
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    Solid movie, definitely the best HP movie so far.
  83. Nathaniel
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    I thought this was a really great movie! It had more story background than action, but I cared more to find out about background than having an action packed movie. This movie is a lot better than the previous film, Goblet of Fire. I liked the darkeness the movie had; reminded me of Prisoner of Azakaban. I can't wait for the next movie to come out. Hopefully, it'll be as good or I thought this was a really great movie! It had more story background than action, but I cared more to find out about background than having an action packed movie. This movie is a lot better than the previous film, Goblet of Fire. I liked the darkeness the movie had; reminded me of Prisoner of Azakaban. I can't wait for the next movie to come out. Hopefully, it'll be as good or better as the Order of the Phoenix! Expand
  84. KevinR
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    While the absence of Steve Kloves as screenwriter is noticeable, the cinematography more than makes up for it, as sweeping shots of the castle and touching emotional shots enhance this chapter of the series. All the actors turn in great performances, notably Dan Radcliffe, who is becoming quite the skilled actor. Finally, the story, while straying a little from the book, remains good, While the absence of Steve Kloves as screenwriter is noticeable, the cinematography more than makes up for it, as sweeping shots of the castle and touching emotional shots enhance this chapter of the series. All the actors turn in great performances, notably Dan Radcliffe, who is becoming quite the skilled actor. Finally, the story, while straying a little from the book, remains good, focusing on Harry and Voldemort's connection and how it affects Harry and those around him. Expand
  85. AndrewG
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Easily the best Potter movie, and much better than the book. I am glad that Harry's lameness/annoyingness in this story was not highlighted in the movie to the same extent that it was in the book.
  86. PaulK.
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    Worth it for the spectacular dual between Dumbledore and Voldemort. A great supercharger for the insanely anticipated Deathly Hallows. Best seen on the big screen.
  87. LarryH.
    Jul 11, 2007
    5
    Completely unfaithful to the book. I love the HP books as well as the movies. But this was a complete bastardization. I sure hope the 6th and 7th movies will be better than this.
  88. owenp.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    By far the best harry potter film yet.... simply stunning. all the adult actors are amazing.
  89. ChrisB.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    the harry potter books are amazing and the films (although not near as good as the books) still follow the basic thrill and excitement of the marvelous story.
  90. TJW
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    the third is still the best in the series, but this definitely gives it a run for the money. definitely the darkest of the series, and book purists will probably be pissed about some stuff that's left out (but what did you expect when you adapt a nearly 900 page book into a 2 1/2 hour movie?) and the movie purists (or whatever you want to call them) will probably be upset at the lack the third is still the best in the series, but this definitely gives it a run for the money. definitely the darkest of the series, and book purists will probably be pissed about some stuff that's left out (but what did you expect when you adapt a nearly 900 page book into a 2 1/2 hour movie?) and the movie purists (or whatever you want to call them) will probably be upset at the lack of whimsy or whatever, but i felt that the lack of whimsy was necessary. as harry gets older the story gets darker, so you shouldn't expect to have as much fun at the films. and the icing on the cake was the elimination of all Quidditch. Expand
  91. RobertGoodman
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    A great film but leaves out much from the Canon of the book. Dark & gritty. Umbridge is amazing.
  92. joshf.
    Jul 12, 2007
    8
    Second best in the series after Prisoner of Az. It was a real experience. Meditative really. It cant be judged as a Movie alone. It is a piece of the potter. 2 hours of over 15. If you view it this way it's weak points become minor. The adaptation and directing do what many of the previous films have failed to do, make the viewer feel involved and with just as much at stake as the Second best in the series after Prisoner of Az. It was a real experience. Meditative really. It cant be judged as a Movie alone. It is a piece of the potter. 2 hours of over 15. If you view it this way it's weak points become minor. The adaptation and directing do what many of the previous films have failed to do, make the viewer feel involved and with just as much at stake as the characters in the story. Well done. A huge step in the right direction away from Goblet. Expand
  93. JoeP.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    The movie, though a bit rushed, was awesome. The end could have been longer, but it was still great!
  94. Mike
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    being a huge fan of the books, every single movie has been a dissapointment, with the exception of the Order of the Phoenix. By far the best one yet, the acting, the special effects, and the loyalty to the book has made it fun and a good movie for a change. Props to the makers.
  95. jenb
    Jul 12, 2007
    6
    'Ho Hum' is the only phrase I can use to describe this movie really which is in the end left me feeling disappointed. Of course the book went on for far too long but the ending of HP and The Order of The Phoenix was it's strong point, very emotional and shocking, something which was not conveyed in the movie adequately. When Sirius dies in the book it is one of the saddest 'Ho Hum' is the only phrase I can use to describe this movie really which is in the end left me feeling disappointed. Of course the book went on for far too long but the ending of HP and The Order of The Phoenix was it's strong point, very emotional and shocking, something which was not conveyed in the movie adequately. When Sirius dies in the book it is one of the saddest parts of all the HP books, and the emotion just didn't come through. Whether that is from bad directing or acting... maybe a combination of the two I don't know. On a brighter note, I thought Imelda Staunton, Gary Oldman and Evanna Lynch were all impressive. I hope this director 'gets it' for the next one. He has far better material to work with so you would bloody well hope so. Expand
  96. GodComplex
    Jul 12, 2007
    5
    Not good. Not bad. Suprisingly mundane. Save your time and read the books...
  97. MattA
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    Best one yet... I've really come to expect less out of the movies in relation to the books, and going in with low expectations help as well. The movie was entertaining, and the acting was great. (Dorles Umbridge was Perfect). I can never give one of these movies a ten...but this one almost deserves it. almost.
  98. AMovieCritic
    Jul 12, 2007
    7
    David Yates......why? You made nearly the PERFECT HP movie. For once in this film series, these characters felt like real characters and they finally resembled their book counterparts. For once we have a coherent story that doesn't just jump from scene to scene. Finally we have characters who talk and act like real kids.Yes, this is a slower, more character-driven film than past ones David Yates......why? You made nearly the PERFECT HP movie. For once in this film series, these characters felt like real characters and they finally resembled their book counterparts. For once we have a coherent story that doesn't just jump from scene to scene. Finally we have characters who talk and act like real kids.Yes, this is a slower, more character-driven film than past ones (like the book,) but it all builds tension and dramatically builds up to huge action scenes at the end. Supposedly. And that's where director David Yates, unfortunately, dropped the ball. The action scenes at the end, meant to be a huge battle and the big stand of good vs. evil, is entirely ruined in the film. The main characters spend the entire movie preparing for a final battle that lasts...what...2 minutes? Similarly, the fight of 2 powerful wizards also goes by way too quickly and lacks intensity. And the explanations that take place after this big "finale" are probably the quickest and most inadequate in this film series so far, leading up to a tacked on ending. I don't know what happened. The movie was perfect, the last half hour was just entirely ruined. David Yates had better learn how to craft strong action scenes, because he's returning for Half Blood Prince. (Something I was thrilled about until I saw how he ruined the Ministry of Magic scenes.) And will these film people finally get Dumbledore right? He does not yell at students, EVER, and his facial expressions during the big battle at the end didn't fit his character at all. Expand
  99. Wesley
    Jul 13, 2007
    6
    I have to disagree with the large amount of votes here and say this was the worst of the Potter films so far. Even if you excuse the very slow start, the pacing was way off, and many characters were left just worrying about Harry rather than being developed at all. I place a lot of the blame on the fact that screenwriter Steve Kloves was apparently moved forward to the more important I have to disagree with the large amount of votes here and say this was the worst of the Potter films so far. Even if you excuse the very slow start, the pacing was way off, and many characters were left just worrying about Harry rather than being developed at all. I place a lot of the blame on the fact that screenwriter Steve Kloves was apparently moved forward to the more important sixth movie, and this movie was put in the hands of "Bed of Roses" and "Contact" screenwriter Michael Goldenberg. The choppy direction by David Yates does little more than attempt to sloppily mimic the two great directors that preceded him. Let's hope for better in the future. I left the theatre for the first time disappointed. Expand
  100. Leah
    Jul 13, 2007
    4
    It was an all right movie, but the "rushed" factor is definitely becoming a problem as the books get longer and more complex. It bothers me when in a movie transcribed from a book, little details are rearranged and altered for no reason, and that seemed to happen constantly in this movie. I know that for times sake this must be the case, but why couldn't Moody show Harry the photo of It was an all right movie, but the "rushed" factor is definitely becoming a problem as the books get longer and more complex. It bothers me when in a movie transcribed from a book, little details are rearranged and altered for no reason, and that seemed to happen constantly in this movie. I know that for times sake this must be the case, but why couldn't Moody show Harry the photo of the Order, and why did Cho rat the DA out, and why wasn't Sirius simply stunned instead of Avada Kedavra'ed, and why hasn't Peeves been in any of the movies, therefore preventing the Weasley's from uttering what is arguably the best line of the book, "give her hell from us, Peeves." The entire end of the movie was terrible. What happened to Harry screaming at Dumbledore in his office? What happened to, "Harry, I'm going to tell you everything." These were big moments in the book, and some of the most emotional, and they were reduced to nothing. The thing that probably bothers me the most, however, is Dumbledore. He has none of the wit and charm he possesses in the book. Bellowing "don't you have studying to do?" and being visibly pissed off in front of students is nothing something that is completely uncharacteristic of Dumbledore. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. "Phoenix" might go down as the problematic film, full of plot but little fun.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Considerably grimmer and grittier than the previous pictures.
  3. 88
    It will hook you good and keep you riveted.